Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: connection establishment processing unit and a communication control processing unit in claims 1,10, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,10,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1,10,16 recite the phrases “connection establishment processing unit " and “ a communication control processing unit” comprising a non-structural term “unit” and non-structural modifier “processing”, would invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph which proper structure from the specification. However, it is unclear from the specification what structure would be sufficient to achieve the function of the claimed processing device . The lack of sufficient structure in the specification renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Merlin et al. (US Application 2013/0235760, hereinafter Merlin).
Regarding claim 1, Merlin discloses a wireless communication device (Figs. 1-3,6-11) comprising:
a connection establishment processing unit (214) that performs a connection establishment process of establishing a first connection to a wireless terminal via a relaying device in which a function of referring to content of data in a frame to be used in wireless communication is limited([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107], which recites at block 602, the process 600 receives a request for relay connection from a STA. In an embodiment, the STA has associated with the AP. At block 604, the process 600 transmits a message to at least one relay based on the received request for relay connection); and
a communication control processing unit (204) that performs a process of controlling communication with the wireless terminal via the relaying device, after establishment of the first connection([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107], which recites the device 1100 further includes means 1104 for associating the device with the AP based on the association message. In an embodiment, means 1104 for associating the device with the AP based on the association message may be configured to perform one or more of the functions discussed above with respect to block 1004).
Regarding claim 10, Merlin discloses a wireless communication device (Figs. 1-3,6-11) comprising:
a connection establishment processing unit (214) that performs a connection establishment process of establishing a first connection to an access point, on a basis of a connection request indicating that a function of referring to content of data in a frame to be used in wireless communication is limited([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107], which recites at block 602, the process 600 receives a request for relay connection from a STA. In an embodiment, the STA has associated with the AP. At block 604, the process 600 transmits a message to at least one relay based on the received request for relay connection); and
a relay processing unit (204) that performs a process of relaying communication between a wireless terminal and the access point, after establishment of the first connection([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107], which recites the device 1100 further includes means 1104 for associating the device with the AP based on the association message. In an embodiment, means 1104 for associating the device with the AP based on the association message may be configured to perform one or more of the functions discussed above with respect to block 1004).
Regarding claim 16, Merlin discloses a wireless communication device (Figs. 1-3,6-11) comprising:
a connection establishment processing unit (214) that performs a connection establishment process of establishing a first connection to an access point via a relaying device, on a basis of a connection request for a connection to the access point, the connection request being directed to the relaying device in which a function of referring to content of data in a frame to be used in wireless communication is limited([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107], which recites at block 602, the process 600 receives a request for relay connection from a STA. In an embodiment, the STA has associated with the AP. At block 604, the process 600 transmits a message to at least one relay based on the received request for relay connection); and
a communication control processing unit (204) that performs a process of controlling communication with the access point via the relaying device, after establishment of the first connection([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107], which recites the device 1100 further includes means 1104 for associating the device with the AP based on the association message. In an embodiment, means 1104 for associating the device with the AP based on the association message may be configured to perform one or more of the functions discussed above with respect to block 1004).
Regarding claims 2, 11,17, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the frame includes a media access control (MAC) frame([0074],[0076],[0078]).
Regarding claims 3, 18, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the connection establishment processing unit performs the connection establishment process, on a basis of establishment of a second connection to the relaying device([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 4, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 3, wherein the connection establishment processing unit performs a process of generating information regarding whether to establish a connection in response to a connection request from the relaying device([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 5, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 3, wherein the connection establishment processing unit performs a request process on another access point capable of an operation as the relaying device, the request process being a process of requesting for an operation as the relaying device([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 6, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1, which broadcasts a signal including at least one piece of information indicating a capability of connecting to the relaying device or information indicating a capability of operating as the relaying device([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 7, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein wireless communication of a signal including information to be used in establishing the second connection is performed with the relaying device([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 8, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 7, which performs, with the wireless terminal, wireless communication of a signal including information to be used in establishing the first connection, on a basis of establishment of the second connection([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 9, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 8, wherein a destination of the signal including information to be used in establishing the first connection is the relaying device([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 12, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 10, which broadcasts a signal including information indicating that the wireless communication device is operating as a relaying device for communication between the wireless terminal and the access point([0058],[0101],[0118],[0121]).
Regarding claim 13, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 12, which broadcasts an operation parameter of the access point and an operation parameter as the relaying device([0058],[0101],[0118],[0121]).
Regarding claim 14, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 10, wherein a connection establishment signal that is transmitted from the access point and indicates establishment of a connection between the access point and the wireless terminal is wirelessly transferred to the wireless terminal, and a connection establishment signal that is transmitted from the wireless terminal and indicates establishment of a connection between the access point and the wireless terminal is wirelessly transferred to the access point([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 15, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 14, wherein the connection establishment signal includes a signal related to a connection request from the wireless terminal to the access point, and a signal related to a response from the access point to the connection request from the wireless terminal([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 19, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 18, wherein the connection establishment signal includes a signal related to a connection request to the access point, and a signal related to a response from the access point to the connection request([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Regarding claim 20, Merlin discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 19, wherein the signal related to the connection request to the access point includes information regarding an extension of a timeout from transmission of the signal related to the connection request, to reception of the signal related to the response([0060]-[0063],[0102]-0107]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418