DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 5-6 are illustrated using a black and white photo/photocopy. Black and white photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility patent applications (see Patent Rule 1.84).
India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the bottom plate of the manifold plate” as claim in at least claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Note: bottom plate #100 does not appear to be illustrated in the drawings. In Fig. 4, #100 is shown as a caption, rather than pointing to the specific part.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para [0043]; “the expansion valve 30 and 70” should read “the expansion valves 30 and 70”; and “the direction switching valve 40 and 50” should read “the direction switching valves 40 and 50”
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Correction of the following is required:
The claims call for the limitations “heat transfer barrier and connecting member” (see at least claim 7). The specification fails to provide clear support for said terms. In other words, the specification does not allow the meaning of each of the terms above to be ascertainable by reference to the description. To overcome this objection, applicant should:
(A) clarify the record by amending the written description such that it expressly recites what structure performs the function recited in the claim element in a manner that does not add prohibited new matter to the specification; or
(B) state on the record what structure performs the function recited in the means- (or step-) plus-function limitation.
See 112 section below, and MPEP, 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Each element or step of the plurality of elements or steps as set forth in the first paragraph of claim 1 should be separated by a line indentation in accordance with MPEP R-1.75.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 2-20 is/are objected to for their dependency on an objected base claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
heat transfer barrier and connecting member in at least claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 calls for the limitation “A manifold fluid module integrating at least one heat exchanger, at least one valve, and at least one expansion valve integrated into a single unit for a thermal management system including a compressor, a plurality of heat exchangers, a plurality of valves, and expansion valves, the manifold fluid module comprising:” in the first paragraph; which is indefinite for the following reasons:
It is unclear which previously recited limitation the word “including” is referring to. Is “including” referring to the thermal management system? the single unit, the at least one expansion valve? Or the manifold fluid module? It is uncertain. Appropriate correction is required.
It is unclear as to how the limitations “a compressor, a plurality of heat exchangers, a plurality of valves, and expansion valves” factors in the scope of the claim. Are the aforementioned limitations functional languages for the thermal management system? or are they required as part of the claimed manifold fluid module? It is uncertain. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 calls for the limitation “the evaporator” in the las two lines, which limitation lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination, “the evaporator” will be interpreted as “an evaporator”.
Claim 5 calls for the limitation “the accumulator”, which limitation lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination, “the accumulator” will be interpreted as “an accumulator”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “heat transfer barrier”, which is indefinite as it is unclear which particular structure the applicant is referring to as “heat transfer barrier”. The specification is devoid of adequate structure for the claimed heat transfer barrier. In other words, there is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, that is used as a heat transfer barrier to prevent heat transfer from the high-temperature fluid passage to the low-temperature fluid passage. Because the specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which mechanical structure correspond to the connecting member, the claim is indefinite.
Similarly, claim 7 also recites the limitation “connecting member”, which is indefinite as it is unclear which particular structure the applicant is referring to as “connecting member”. The specification is devoid of adequate structure for the claimed connecting member. In other words, there is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, that is used as a connecting member for connecting the high-temperature and low-temperature fluid passages. Because the specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which mechanical structure correspond to the connecting member, the claim is indefinite.
Note: the specification states that “the connecting member 130 is formed in a pipe shape, as shown in the drawings” (see [0079]). However, a “a pipe shape” is not a structure.
Note: MPEP 2181 states that a claim limitation expressed in means- (or step-) plus- function language "Shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure...described in the specification and equivalents thereof." "If one employs means plus function language in a claim, one must set forth in the specification an adequate disclosure showing what is meant by that language. If an applicant fails to set forth an adequate disclosure, the applicant has in effect failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by the 35 U.S.C. 112(b)." In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994). The proper test for meeting the definiteness requirement is that the corresponding structure of a means- (or step-) plus-function limitation must be disclosed in the specification itself in a way that one skilled in the art will understand what structure will perform the recited function. If there is no disclosure of structure, material or acts for performing the recited function, the claim fails to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 17 calls for the limitation “the accumulator”, which limitation lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination, “the accumulator” will be interpreted as “an accumulator”.
Claim(s) 2-20 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhejiang (CN114562832 A).
Regarding claim 1:
Zhejiang discloses a manifold fluid module #14 integrating at least one heat exchanger (one of #11 and #12), at least one valve #161 (best seen in Fig. 17), and at least one expansion valve #13 integrated into a single unit for a thermal management system including a compressor #501, a plurality of heat exchangers (#11 & #12), a plurality of valves (#1161 & #162; [0072]), and expansion valves (note that this limitation is not required for the manifold module. It is recited as a functional language tied to an unclaimed thermal management system), the manifold fluid module comprising:
a manifold plate including a plurality of fluid passages formed internally (via #148 & #149; [0062]), wherein the fluid passages include a low-temperature fluid passage through which heat- exchanged low-temperature fluid flows ([0096]) and a plurality of fluid inlets and a fluid outlet are connected (see Fig. 9; illustrating ports of flow in #100), with the fluid inlets including an evaporator inlet port connected to an outlet of an evaporator (Fig. 3 & 9. Note that #100 is an evaporator unit working with #14), the evaporator inlet port being arranged on the low-temperature fluid passage ([0039] & [0041]).
Regarding claim 2:
Zhejiang further discloses wherein the at least one heat exchanger comprises: a first heat exchanger coupled to the manifold plate that exchanges heat between a first fluid and a second fluid; and a second heat exchanger coupled to the manifold plate that exchanges heat between the first fluid discharged from the first heat exchanger and the second fluid (see description in [0056-0060]).
Regarding claim 3:
Zhejiang further discloses wherein the evaporator inlet port is arranged adjacent to a first inlet port through which the first fluid enters the second heat exchanger (see description in [0056-0060]).
Regarding claim 4:
Zhejiang further discloses wherein the first fluid, which enters through the first inlet port, is discharged through a first outlet port, and the evaporator inlet port is arranged between the first inlet port and the first outlet port (see description in [0056-0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang (CN114562832 A).
Regarding claim 5:
Zhejiang discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the fluid outlet is an accumulator port through which the first fluid is discharged to the accumulator, and the evaporator inlet port is arranged adjacent to the accumulator port.
However, Zhejiang teaches that it is known to provide accumulator in in similar system (see [0094]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Zhejiang with the fluid outlet being an accumulator port through which the first fluid is discharged to the accumulator, and the evaporator inlet port is arranged adjacent to the accumulator port; especially by adding an accumulator to the system.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have protected the compressor from liquid slugging; thereby, improving system reliability.
Regarding claim 6:
Zhejiang as modified discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the distance between the evaporator inlet port and the accumulator port is equal to or shorter than the distance between the first outlet port and the accumulator port.
However, arranging the distance of the evaporator inlet port and the accumulator port to be equal to or shorter than the distance between the first outlet port and the accumulator port is recognized as a simple matter of rearrangement of parts. It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative positioning and a device having the claimed relative position would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04- In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Zhejiang as modified with the distance between the evaporator inlet port and the accumulator port being equal to or shorter than the distance between the first outlet port and the accumulator port.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have reduced the bulkiness of the system; thereby, making the system optimal for small scale applications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ye (US 20230339284 A1), Wegner (US 20100071639 A1), and Calderone (US 20190039440 A1).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763