DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-32 are pending.
The U.S.C. 112 rejections have been corrected and the rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-19, 21-27, 29-31 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawasaki et al. (US 20230088041).
Regarding claim 18, Kawasaki teaches
A computer-implemented method performed by a controller (Fig. 2 (101-controller)) that is separate from a second interface device (Fig. 2, (200B – ECU)), wherein the second interface device is configured to exchange data with a first interface device via an Ethernet communication network, the method comprising: (Fig. 2, [0053], “ The communication unit 103 is an interface unit for connecting the DCM 100 to the in-vehicle network. In this embodiment, multiple vehicle components, including the electronic control units (ECUs 200), are connected to each other via an in-vehicle network bus 400. An example of the standard of the in-vehicle network is the controller area network (CAN). When the in-vehicle network uses multiple standards, the communication unit 103 may include multiple interface apparatuses compatible with the standard of the communication destination. Examples of communication standard other than CAN include Ethernet (registered trademark).”)
ascertaining, by the controller, first information which indicates whether at least one component of the second interface device is to be set to an energy-saving mode, wherein: (Figs. 9-10, [0093], “The ECU 200A generates data indicating the remaining battery level (remaining battery level data) and transmits the data to the DCM 100.” And [0130-131], “When the DCM 100 acquires the mode list in Step S13, the process proceeds to Step S21 where the mode management unit 1017 generates command data to be transmitted to each ECU 200 according to the mode list 102A. The command data is data for assigning an execution mode to one or more functions provided by the target ECU 200. … when the remaining battery level of the vehicle is 30%, the mode management unit 1017 transmits command data representing the message “provide a function B1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function B2” to the ECU 200B.”)
the first information is determined based on operating data of at least one system component that: ([0093], “The ECU 200A generates data indicating the remaining battery level (remaining battery level data)” where the system component is interpreted as the battery)
is external to the second interface device and to a connection of the second interface device to the Ethernet communication network; ([0093], “The ECU 200A generates data indicating the remaining battery level (remaining battery level data)”)
is configured to perform a system-level function independent of Ethernet link communication; and ([0093], “The ECU 200A generates data indicating the remaining battery level (remaining battery level data)” where the remaining battery level provides power to the system and is therefore is a system level function independent or the Ethernet link)
provides operating data representing an operating state, activity state, or an operating constraint compliance of the system component; and (([0093], “The ECU 200A generates data indicating the remaining battery level (remaining battery level data)” and ([0031], “when the remaining battery level of the vehicle is 30%, the mode management unit 1017 transmits command data representing the message “provide a function B1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function B2” to the ECU 200B. Similarly, it transmits command data representing the message “provide a function C1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function C2” to the ECU 200C.”)
the at least one system component comprises: a sensor module; a vehicle control unit; a data-processing unit configured to process sensor data; and/or a further unit connected to the controller via a communication bus different from the Ethernet communication network; and ([0028], “information indicating the remaining level of a battery (such as an auxiliary battery) for operating the electrical components of the vehicle.” Where the communication bus is interpreted as a power bus/rail communicating voltages to the system components and the auxiliary battery is interpreted as the further component.)
based on the first information indicating that the at least one component of the second interface device is to be set to the energy-saving mode, sending, by the controller, a first command to the second interface device via the Ethernet communication network, the first command signaling to the second interface device that the at least one component of the second interface device is to be set to the energy-saving mode. (Figs. 9-10, [0053], “When the in-vehicle network uses multiple standards, the communication unit 103 may include multiple interface apparatuses compatible with the standard of the communication destination. Examples of communication standard other than CAN include Ethernet (registered trademark).” And [0130-131], “Step S21 where the mode management unit 1017 generates command data to be transmitted to each ECU 200 according to the mode list 102A. The command data is data for assigning an execution mode to one or more functions provided by the target ECU 200. For example, when the remaining battery level of the vehicle is 30%, the mode management unit 1017 transmits command data representing the message “provide a function B1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function B2” to the ECU 200B.”)
Regarding claim 19, Kawasaki teaches wherein the first command sent to the second interface device signals that the at least one component of the second interface device is to be set to the energy-saving mode for a specifiable time period. ([0103-104], “ the “suspended” mode is illustrated as a mode for suppressing power consumption; however, other power-saving modes may also be defined. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, modes for changing the execution cycle of processing or the duration of processing may be defined. In either case, the execution mode is designated so that the total processing time is shortened (i.e., power consumption is reduced) as the remaining battery level decreases.”)
Regarding claim 21, Kawasaki teaches wherein the ascertaining of the first information includes any one or more of the following: a) forming the first information in the first interface device or in a target system including the first interface device, b) forming the first information based additionally on at least one operating variable of the second interface device or of a target system including the second interface device, wherein the operating variable of the second interface device can be received by the first interface device via the Ethernet communication, c) receiving the first information using the second interface device and/or at least one further unit. ([0093], “In Step S12, the ECU 200A acquires the remaining battery level of its vehicle in response to the remaining battery level request. The ECU 200A generates data indicating the remaining battery level (remaining battery level data) and transmits the data to the DCM 100. Remaining battery level can be expressed, for example, by a value such as state of charge (SOC).” Where ECU 200A is interpreted as using at least one further unit as referring to (c)
Regarding claim 22, Kawasaki teaches further comprising: receiving second information from at least one further unit; and either or both of the following: forming the first information based on the second information and sending the first information based on the second information. ([0093], “In Step S12, the ECU 200A acquires the remaining battery level of its vehicle in response to the remaining battery level request. The ECU 200A generates data indicating the remaining battery level (remaining battery level data) and transmits the data to the DCM 100. Remaining battery level can be expressed, for example, by a value such as state of charge (SOC).”)
Regarding claim 23, Kawasaki teaches wherein the sending includes: sending a sleep signal to the second interface device, and deactivating at least one component of the first interface device for a specifiable time period. ([0070-71], “The execution mode is a mode for specifying the operation of multiple functional modules, and examples include “normal mode”, “sleep mode”, and “power-saving mode”. The normal mode is a mode in which normal operation is performed, and the sleep mode is a mode in which power consumption is minimized by suspending the execution of processing.” And claim 6, “wherein the controller stops execution of processing to which the second mode is assigned, during a period when the running system of the vehicle is stopped.”)
Regarding claim 24, Kawasaki teaches further comprising: controlling and/or regulating: (i) an electrical power consumption of the second interface device, and/or (ii) a temperature of the second interface device or of a target system including the second interface device. (Figs. 9 and 10, [0074], “When the execution mode assigned to the functional module is a mode for reducing power consumption, the functional module changes at least part of the processing for providing the function in order to reduce power consumption.” And [0131], “For example, when the remaining battery level of the vehicle is 30%, the mode management unit 1017 transmits command data representing the message “provide a function B1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function B2” to the ECU 200B.”)
Regarding claim 25, Kawasaki teaches further comprising: specifying a duty cycle for the energy-saving mode of the at least one component. (Fig. 6B, [0106], “when there is an ECU 200 that repeats processing in a predetermined cycle to provide a certain function in the normal operating mode, power consumption can be suppressed by changing the operating mode. For example, the operation cycle of processing may be made longer than normal, as in the intermittent mode, or a lower-load processing may be executed as in the low-load mode. Also, the duration of each time of processing may be shortened as in the short mode.”)
Regarding claim 27, Kawasaki teaches wherein the device is comprised in an interface module for an interface device.(Fig. 1, [0053], “The communication unit 103 is an interface unit for connecting the DCM 100 to the in-vehicle network. In this embodiment, multiple vehicle components, including the electronic control units (ECUs 200), are connected to each other via an in-vehicle network bus 400. An example of the standard of the in-vehicle network is the controller area network (CAN). When the in-vehicle network uses multiple standards, the communication unit 103 may include multiple interface apparatuses compatible with the standard of the communication destination. Examples of communication standard other than CAN include Ethernet (registered trademark).”)
Regarding claim 29, Kawasaki teaches wherein the controller includes a sensor module and/or a control unit. ([0047], “The controller 101 is an arithmetic unit that executes a predetermined program to achieve various functions of the DCM 100.”)
Regarding claim 30, Kawasaki teaches wherein the Ethernet communication network is part of a communication system for a vehicle. (Figs. 1-2, [0053], “The communication unit 103 is an interface unit for connecting the DCM 100 to the in-vehicle network. In this embodiment, multiple vehicle components, including the electronic control units (ECUs 200), are connected to each other via an in-vehicle network bus 400. An example of the standard of the in-vehicle network is the controller area network (CAN). When the in-vehicle network uses multiple standards, the communication unit 103 may include multiple interface apparatuses compatible with the standard of the communication destination. Examples of communication standard other than CAN include Ethernet (registered trademark).”)
As to claims 26, 31, and 36, Kawasaki teaches these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki in view of Diab (US 20100115295).
Regarding claim 20, Kawasaki does not teach but Diab teaches an Ethernet interface but does not specifically teach using certain Ethernet standards. Diab teaches wherein the first interface device and the second interface device are each an Ethernet interface device according to at least one of the following standards: a) IEEE 802.bp, b) IEEE 802.3ch, c) IEEE 802.3cy, d) IEEE 802.3cg. ([0038], “The MAC controllers 108a and 108b may be configured to implement Ethernet protocols, such as those based on the IEEE 802.3 standard”)
Diab and Kawasaki are analogous art. Diab is cited to teach a similar concept of power management. Diab teaches being able to communicate via an IEEE protocol and operate the devices/interfaces in low power modes as well as normal modes. Using an IEEE protocol 802.3 standard for communication will yield predictable results. Based on Diab and the KSR rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kawasaki to communicate via an IEEE protocol and operate the devices/interfaces in low power modes as well as normal modes using an IEEE protocol 802.3 standard.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki in view of Leung et al. (US 20220109583)
Regarding claim 28, Kawasaki does not teach but Leung teaches wherein the controller includes an automotive switch. (Figs. 7 and 9, [0128], “devices in the automotive network 900 (e.g., the Ethernet switch 912 and the rear-facing camera subsystem 916) should transition to the active mode” and [0130], “ the OAM frame comprises generating the OAM frame header to include information that signals one of i) a low power sleep (LPS) request, and ii) a wake-up request (WUR), and prompt the PHY processor to transmit the OAM frame to the second communication device via the communication medium to signal to the second communication device the one of i) the LPS request”)
Kawasaki and Leung are analogous art. Leung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management. Leung teaches controlling low power for automotive/ethernet switches. Based on Leung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kawasaki to control/reduce power in automotive switch connections. Furthermore, being able to control/reduce power in automotive switch connections improves on Kawasaki by being able to reduce power consumption. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification to reduce power consumption.
Claim(s) 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki in view of Fung et al. (US 20220329358).
Regarding claim 32, Kawasaki teaches
wherein the method is used for:
a) signaling that the at least one component of the second interface device is to be set to the energy-saving mode; (Figs. 9-10, [0130-131], “Step S21 where the mode management unit 1017 generates command data to be transmitted to each ECU 200 according to the mode list 102A. The command data is data for assigning an execution mode to one or more functions provided by the target ECU 200. For example, when the remaining battery level of the vehicle is 30%, the mode management unit 1017 transmits command data representing the message “provide a function B1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function B2” to the ECU 200B.”)
b) using low-power functions of the at least one component of the second interface device; (Figs. 9-10, [0130-131], “Step S21 where the mode management unit 1017 generates command data to be transmitted to each ECU 200 according to the mode list 102A. The command data is data for assigning an execution mode to one or more functions provided by the target ECU 200. For example, when the remaining battery level of the vehicle is 30%, the mode management unit 1017 transmits command data representing the message “provide a function B1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function B2” to the ECU 200B.”)
c) controlling and/or regulating low-power functions of the at least one component of the second interface device; (Figs. 9-10, [0130-131], “Step S21 where the mode management unit 1017 generates command data to be transmitted to each ECU 200 according to the mode list 102A. The command data is data for assigning an execution mode to one or more functions provided by the target ECU 200. For example, when the remaining battery level of the vehicle is 30%, the mode management unit 1017 transmits command data representing the message “provide a function B1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function B2” to the ECU 200B.”)
e) regulating an electrical energy consumption of a module including the second interface device. (Figs. 9-10, [0130-131], “Step S21 where the mode management unit 1017 generates command data to be transmitted to each ECU 200 according to the mode list 102A. The command data is data for assigning an execution mode to one or more functions provided by the target ECU 200. For example, when the remaining battery level of the vehicle is 30%, the mode management unit 1017 transmits command data representing the message “provide a function B1 as normal and suspend processing for providing a function B2” to the ECU 200B.”)
Kawasaki does not teach but Fung teaches
d) regulating power of a sensor module, including the second interface device; and/or ([0016], “it is desirable for devices in an Ethernet network to enter a low-power mode to reduce power consumption and improve the overall efficiency of the network. By way of example only, the various devices may be different devices in an automobile (not shown), such as an engine control unit, an infotainment unit, speakers, displays, sensors (e.g., a back-up camera, RADAR, LIDAR, temperature sensors), etc. One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”)
Kawasaki and Fung are analogous art. Fung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management. Fung teaches being able to communicate with sensors in an automobile network or an engine control unit keep the devices in a low power mode and periodically wake them is important for power conservation. Based on Fung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kawasaki to use communication interfaces in a sensor control units to control sleep wake cycles. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”, [0016]
Regarding claim 33, Kawasaki does not teach but Fung teaches wherein the method is used for regulating a temperature of a sensor module including the second interface device. ([0016], “it is desirable for devices in an Ethernet network to enter a low-power mode to reduce power consumption and improve the overall efficiency of the network. By way of example only, the various devices may be different devices in an automobile (not shown), such as an engine control unit, an infotainment unit, speakers, displays, sensors (e.g., a back-up camera, RADAR, LIDAR, temperature sensors), etc. One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.” Where reducing power of a device also includes regulating power)
Kawasaki and Fung are analogous art. Fung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management. Fung teaches being able to communicate with sensors in an automobile network or an engine control unit keep the devices in a low power mode and periodically wake them is important for power conservation. Based on Fung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kawasaki to use communication interfaces in a sensor control units to control sleep wake cycles. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”, [0016]
Regarding claim 34, Kawasaki teaches an automotive ethernet system but does not specifically teach operating sensors above 1000 Mbit/s. Fung teaches wherein the method is used for integrating sensor modules configured to output data at a data rate greater than 1000 Mbit/s into an automotive Ethernet communication system. ([0016], “By way of example only, the various devices may be different devices in an automobile (not shown), such as an engine control unit, an infotainment unit, speakers, displays, sensors (e.g., a back-up camera, RADAR, LIDAR, temperature sensors), etc.” and [0023], “the automotive network 100 includes multiple components linked to the network by PHYs including an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) 102, and multiple devices including displays 104, amplifiers 108, cameras 110, and a Driver Assist Unit 112). The ECU is connected to the various devices over a multi-gig Ethernet backbone using a single pair of light weight cables.” Where a multi-gig ethernet backbone is an ethernet communication system with sensors which operate above 1000 Mbits/s)
Kawasaki and Fung are analogous art. Fung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management. Fung teaches being able to communicate with sensors in an automobile network or an engine control unit keep the devices in a low power mode and operate at above 1000 Mbits/s for devices connected to the Ethernet. Based on Fung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kawasaki to operate the communication system at above 1000 Mbits/s. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because to improve the speed of operation when the devices on the communication system are active.
Regarding claim 35, Kawasaki does not teach but Fung teaches wherein the method is used for operating RADAR or LIDAR sensor modules. ([0016], “it is desirable for devices in an Ethernet network to enter a low-power mode to reduce power consumption and improve the overall efficiency of the network. By way of example only, the various devices may be different devices in an automobile (not shown), such as an engine control unit, an infotainment unit, speakers, displays, sensors (e.g., a back-up camera, RADAR, LIDAR, temperature sensors), etc. One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”)
Kawasaki and Fung are analogous art. Fung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management. Fung teaches being able to communicate with sensors in an automobile network or an engine control unit keep the devices in a low power mode and periodically wake them is important for power conservation. Based on Fung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kawasaki to use communication interfaces in a sensor control units to control sleep wake cycles. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”, [0016]
Claim(s) 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki in view of Kabasawa et al. (US 20100033424)
Regarding claim 38, Kawasaki teaches wherein the operating condition includes processing activity, sensor operation, and/or a thermal condition of the second interface device. (Fig. 15, [0182-184], “When the detection values of the first acceleration sensor 161 and the second acceleration sensor 162 of the acceleration sensor unit 16 are zero and the buttons 11, 12, and 13 are all in the off condition even after a second predetermined time (for example, one minute) has elapsed since having become stationary, the MPU 60 makes a transition to the sleep 2 mode (Sleep 2). The sleep 2 mode (Sleep 2) is, in each of the MPUs 50 and 60, a condition in a second-stage power-saving mode. Immediately after making the transition to the sleep 2 mode (Sleep 2), the MPU 60 transmits a sleep 2 command also to the MPU 50 to cause a transition to the sleep 2 mode (Sleep 2). After transmitting the sleep 2 command, the MPU 60 sets itself to the power-saving mode. Upon receiving the sleep 2 command, the MPU 50 makes a transition to the sleep 2 mode (Sleep 2), turns off the switch 52 to turn off power of the acceleration sensor unit 16 (to turn off power of both the acceleration sensor unit 15 and the angular velocity sensor unit 16), and sets the MPU 50 itself to the power-saving mode.”)
Kawasaki and Kabasawa are analogous art. Kabasawa is cited to teach a similar concept of power management. Kabasawa teaches reducing power in the system based on a usage condition, whereby a sensor’s inactivity causes a processor to enter a low power mode which in turn causes the sensor to enter a low power mode . Based on Kabasawa, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kawasaki to use a usage condition of a sensor to determine whether other devices should enter a low power mode. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “it becomes possible to reduce the power consumption of the electronic apparatus by causing the electronic apparatus to make transitions to the respective modes according to a usage condition”, [0055]
As to claim 37, Kawasaki and Kabasawa teach this claim according to the reasoning provided in claim 38.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 18-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHERI L HARRINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2176 July 8, 2026
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176