DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-32 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "forming the first in the first interface device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the first” will be read as “the first information”.
Claim 21 recites “forming the first in the first interface device”. It is unclear what “the first” relates to there is a “first command” and “first information”. For examination purposes, “the first” will be read as “the first information”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-21, 23-24, 26-27, and 31-32is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diab (US 20100115295).
Regarding claim 18, Diab teaches
A computer-implemented method for processing data associated with at least one interface device, comprising the following steps:
ascertaining first information which indicates whether at least one component of a second interface device configured to at least temporarily exchange data with a first interface device is to be set to an energy-saving mode; and ([0062-64], “the optional control policy assist module 314 may determine when to buffer packets and when to transmit and/or to receive. For example, the optional control policy assist module 314 may comprise timing and/or other parameters for the length of a sleep or wake cycle. … the control policy may be managed by the layers above the MAC layer 306 and may be communicated to the PHY 202. In this regard, the layers above the MAC layer 306 may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code to monitor hardware, firmware, software and/or one or more buses to determine when a low(er) power mode of operation may be sufficient to handle traffic flowing through the system 100. Signals that may assert a low(er) power mode for the PHY device 202 may be communicated from the layers above the MAC layer 306. … the MDIO interface may configure thresholds such as how long the PHY device 202 should stay in a low(er) power mode after entering the low(er) power mode, how long a buffer should be empty before going into a low(er) power mode”)
based on the first information indicating that the at least one component of the second interface device is to be set to the energy-saving mode, sending a first command to the second interface device, the first command signaling to the second interface device that the at least one component of the second interface device is to be set to the energy-saving mode. ([0059], “the PHY device 202 may be operable to receive control policy management signals indicating when to go into a reduced power mode and/or when to exit the reduced power mode.” And [0079], “the line card 504 may be operable to transition from between a low(er) power mode and a higher power mode and vice versa based on an EEN control policy. Traffic communicated across the backplane 516 may be monitored and/or future traffic may known or estimated. It may be determined according to the control policy that the backplane PHYs 514 and/or 518 may be placed in a low(er) power mode or in a high(er) power mode based on pending, current, and/or future traffic.”)
Regarding claim 19, Diab teaches wherein the first command sent to the second interface device signals that the at least one component of the second interface device is to be set to the energy-saving mode for a specifiable time period. ([0062-63], “For example, the optional control policy assist module 314 may comprise timing and/or other parameters for the length of a sleep or wake cycle. … the layers above the MAC layer 306 may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code to monitor hardware, firmware, software and/or one or more buses to determine when a low(er) power mode of operation may be sufficient to handle traffic flowing through the system 100.”)
Regarding claim 20, Diab teaches wherein the first interface device and the second interface device are each an Ethernet interface device according to at least one of the following standards: a) IEEE 802.bp, b) IEEE 802.3ch, c) IEEE 802.3cy, d) IEEE 802.3cg. ([0038], “The MAC controllers 108a and 108b may be configured to implement Ethernet protocols, such as those based on the IEEE 802.3 standard”)
Regarding claim 21, Diab teaches wherein the ascertaining of the first information includes at least one of the following elements: a) forming the first in the first interface device or in a target system including the first interface device, b) forming the first information based on at least one operating variable of the second interface device or of a target system including the second interface device, wherein the operating variable of the second interface device can be received by the first interface device via a communication medium that can be used for the data exchange, c) receiving the first information using the second interface device and/or at least one further unit. ([0079], “the line card 504 may be operable to transition from between a low(er) power mode and a higher power mode and vice versa based on an EEN control policy. Traffic communicated across the backplane 516 may be monitored and/or future traffic may known or estimated. It may be determined according to the control policy that the backplane PHYs 514 and/or 518 may be placed in a low(er) power mode or in a high(er) power mode based on pending, current, and/or future traffic.” Where the first information is interpreted as traffic pending, current and/or future)
Regarding claim 23, Diab teaches wherein the sending includes: sending a sleep signal to the second interface device, and deactivating at least one component of the first interface device for a specifiable time period. ([0062], “the optional control policy assist module 314 may determine when to buffer packets and when to transmit and/or to receive. For example, the optional control policy assist module 314 may comprise timing and/or other parameters for the length of a sleep or wake cycle.”, [0059], “the PHY device 202 may be operable to receive control policy management signals indicating when to go into a reduced power mode and/or when to exit the reduced power mode.” And [0079], “the line card 504 may be operable to transition from between a low(er) power mode and a higher power mode and vice versa based on an EEN control policy. Traffic communicated across the backplane 516 may be monitored and/or future traffic may known or estimated. It may be determined according to the control policy that the backplane PHYs 514 and/or 518 may be placed in a low(er) power mode or in a high(er) power mode based on pending, current, and/or future traffic.”))
Regarding claim 24, Diab teaches further comprising: controlling and/or regulating: (i) an electrical power consumption of the second interface device, and/or (ii) a temperature of the second interface device or of a target system including the second interface device. ([0058], “a PHY may be operable to enter a low power idle mode (LPI) and/or may lower its data rate to reduce power consumption.”)
Regarding claim 27, Diab teaches wherein the device is comprised in an interface module for an interface device.(Fig. 1, [0025], “Referring to FIG. 1, there is shown a system 100 that comprises a network device 102 and a network device 104. In addition, there is shown two hosts 106a and 106b, two MAC controllers 108a and 108b, two PHY devices 110a and 110b, two interface controllers 114a and 114b, two bus controller interfaces 116a and 116b and a link 112”)
Regarding claim 32, Diab teaches
As to claims 26 and 31-32, Diab teaches these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diab in view of Fung et al. (US 20220329358).
Regarding claim 22, Diab does not teach but Fung teaches further comprising at least one of the following elements: a) receiving second information from at least one further unit, b) forming the first information based on the second information, c) sending the first information based on the second information. ([0016], “it is desirable for devices in an Ethernet network to enter a low-power mode to reduce power consumption and improve the overall efficiency of the network. By way of example only, the various devices may be different devices in an automobile (not shown), such as an engine control unit, an infotainment unit, speakers, displays, sensors (e.g., a back-up camera, RADAR, LIDAR, temperature sensors), etc. One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”)
Diab and Fung are analogous art. Fung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management within interfaces. Fung teaches being able to communicate with sensors in an automobile network or an engine control unit keep the devices in a low power mode and periodically wake them is important for power conservation. Based on Fung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Diab to use communication interfaces in a sensor control units to control sleep wake cycles. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”, [0016]
Diab and Chang are analogous art. Chang is cited to teach a similar concept of power management within interfaces. Diab teaches controlling entering a low power state and staying in a low power state for a time period. Chang teaches controlling both the active time and the low power mode time of the interface component (i.e. the duty cycle). Based on Chang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Diab to specify a duty cycle of the interface component in a low power mode. Furthermore, being able to specify the duty cycle improves on Diab by being able to improve energy efficiency in the device. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because
Regarding claim 29, Diab does not teach but Fung teaches wherein the device is comprised in a sensor module and/or a control unit. ([0016], “it is desirable for devices in an Ethernet network to enter a low-power mode to reduce power consumption and improve the overall efficiency of the network. By way of example only, the various devices may be different devices in an automobile (not shown), such as an engine control unit, an infotainment unit, speakers, displays, sensors (e.g., a back-up camera, RADAR, LIDAR, temperature sensors), etc. One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”)
Diab and Fung are analogous art. Fung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management within interfaces. Fung teaches being able to communicate with sensors in an automobile network or an engine control unit keep the devices in a low power mode and periodically wake them is important for power conservation. Based on Fung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Diab to use communication interfaces in a sensor control units to control sleep wake cycles. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”, [0016]
Regarding claim 30, Diab does not teach but Fung teaches wherein the device is comprised in a communication system for a vehicle. ([0017], “PHYs using Ethernet communication may be called upon to operate in severely constrained environments, such as automotive and industrial environments in which certain requirements (e.g., electromagnetic compatibility and temperature requirements) must be met.”)
Diab and Fung are analogous art. Fung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management within interfaces. Fung teaches being able to communicate with sensors in an automobile network or an engine control unit keep the devices in a low power mode and periodically wake them is important for power conservation. Based on Fung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Diab to use communication interfaces in an automobile. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “One approach to conserve power has been to keep these devices in the low-power mode and to periodically wake up the device by sending a wake-up signal when the device is needed.”, [0016]
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diab in view of Chang et al. (US 20120287829)
Regarding claim 25, Diab does not teach but Chang teaches further comprising: specifying a duty cycle for the energy-saving mode of the at least one component. ([0040-41], “The PHY device remains in the low power consumption mode for the duration of the pause time. When the pause time expires (step 124), i.e. the pause time is decremented to zero, the PHY device wakes up to the active mode (step 126) and begins transmit and receive activities, if any. After a low power consumption cycle, method 100 proceeds to update the pause time value and the active time value (step 128). More specifically, the pause time and active time values are updated based on data traffic pattern.” Where the duty cycle is interpreted as the pause time and the active time)
Diab and Chang are analogous art. Chang is cited to teach a similar concept of power management with interfaces. Diab teaches controlling entering a low power state and staying in a low power state for a time period. Chang teaches controlling both the active time and the low power mode time of the interface component (i.e. the duty cycle). Based on Chang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Diab to specify a duty cycle of the interface component in a low power mode. Furthermore, being able to specify the duty cycle improves on Diab by being able to improve energy efficiency in the device. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “ the pause time and active time values based on the data traffic pattern and the pause time and active time values are periodically updated to improve the energy efficient functions.”, [0014]
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diab in view of Leung et al. (US 20220109583)
Regarding claim 28, Diab does not teach but Leung teaches wherein the device is comprised in an automotive switch. (Figs. 7 and 9, [0128], “devices in the automotive network 900 (e.g., the Ethernet switch 912 and the rear-facing camera subsystem 916) should transition to the active mode” and [0130], “ the OAM frame comprises generating the OAM frame header to include information that signals one of i) a low power sleep (LPS) request, and ii) a wake-up request (WUR), and prompt the PHY processor to transmit the OAM frame to the second communication device via the communication medium to signal to the second communication device the one of i) the LPS request”)
Diab and Leung are analogous art. Leung is cited to teach a similar concept of power management with interfaces. Leung teaches controlling low power for automotive/ethernet switches. Based on Leung, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Diab to control/reduce power in automotive switch connections. Furthermore, being able to control/reduce power in automotive switch connections improves on Diab by being able to reduce power consumption. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification to reduce power consumption.
Conclusion
/CHERI L HARRINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2176 December 26, 2025
/PHIL K NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176