DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This office action is in response to the most recent filings filed by applicants on 07/07/26.
Claims 1-2, and 6-10 are amended
No claims are cancelled
Claims 11-20 are newly added
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Guidance on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claims 1-9 is/are directed to a system which is a statutory category.
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Guidance on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claims 10-20 is/are directed to a method which is a statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1: Identify the Abstract Idea(s)
The Alice framework, steps 2A-Prong One (part 1 of Mayo Test), here, the claims are analyzed to determine if the claims are directed to a judicial exception. MPEP 2106.04(a). In determining, whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite a judicial exception (Prong One of Step 2A), and whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (Prong Two of Step 2A). See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“PEG” 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50-57 (Jan. 7, 2019)).
Under the 2019 PEG, Step 2A under which a claim is not “directed to” a judicial exception unless the claim satisfies a two-prong inquiry. Further, particular groupings of abstract ideas are consistent with judicial precedent and are based on an extraction and synthesis of the key concepts identified by the courts as being abstract.
Independent claims 1 and 10, with respect to the Step 2A, Prong One, when “taken as a whole” the claims as drafted, and given their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the Abstract idea grouping of “certain methods of organizing human activity” (business relations; relationships or interactions between people). For instance, independent Method Claim 10 is directed to an abstract idea, as evidenced by claim limitations “an operation planning step of creating an operation plan for causing each vehicle to perform work of traveling between locations; an operation plan monitoring step of monitoring the operation of each vehicle that is performed in accordance with the operation plan; a receiving step of receiving remaining battery level and current location data; a determination step comparing an actual remaining battery level of each vehicle with a planned remaining battery level stored in the operation plan to determine whether each vehicle is able to complete the operation plan; and a simulation step of performing a simulation to identify remaining work based on the remaining battery level and current location of each vehicle; a re-creation step of re-creating the operation plan identifying a successor vehicle having sufficient remaining battery level to complete both its own remaining work and the remaining work of the vehicle unable to complete the operation plan, wherein the remaining work of traveling between locations which has not been performed by the vehicle that is determined by the determination step to be unable to complete the operation plan is reassigned the successor vehicle and a transmission step of transmitting the re-created operation plan to the vehicles to control operation of the vehicles.”
In the originally submitted specification, in [0002] For operation management of electric vehicles (hereinafter referred to as "EVs" (Electric Vehicles)), it is necessary to meet the needs of users while satisfying the travel distance constraints imposed by battery charging time and battery capacity. [0009]: section and an operation plan monitoring section. The operation planning section creates an operation plan for causing each of the plurality of vehicles to perform work of traveling between locations. The operation plan monitoring section monitors operation of each vehicle that is performed based on the operation plan. The operation plan monitoring section determines whether each vehicle is able to complete the operation plan, based on operating status of each vehicle. The operation planning section re-creates the operation plan in such a manner that remaining work of traveling between locations which has not been performed by vehicles determined by the operation plan monitoring section to be unable to complete the operation plan is reassigned to the other vehicles according to the remaining battery level of each vehicle.
These claim limitations belong to the grouping of “certain methods of organizing human activity” because the claims are related to managing operation plans for electric vehicles based on the battery level of a particular vehicle for one or more human entities involves organizing human activity based on the description of “certain methods of organizing human activity” provided by the courts. The court have used the phrase “Certain methods of organizing human activity” as —fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
Independent Claim 1 is/are recite substantially similar limitations to independent claim 10 and is/are rejected under 2A for similar reasons to claim 10 above.
Step 2A Prong 2: Additional Elements That Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application
With respect to the Step 2A, Prong Two - This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements: “An operation management method that is used by an operation management system to manage operations of a plurality of vehicles powered by a battery, the operation management method comprising: An operation management system for managing operations of a plurality of vehicles powered by a battery, the operation management system comprising: wirelessly from each vehicle in real-time; using traffic and electricity consumption simulators” at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than: adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea with no significantly more elements.
Thus, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. As a result, claims 1 and 10 do not provide any specifics regarding the integration into a practical application when recited in a claim with a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Applicants originally submitted specification describes the computer components above at least in page/ paragraph [0014], [0076]-[0083]. In light of the specification, it should be noted that the components discussed above did not meaningfully limit the abstract idea because they merely linked the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., "implementation via computers").
Similarly dependent claims 2-9 and 11-20 are also directed to an abstract idea under 2A, first and second prong. In the present application, all of the dependent claims have been evaluated and it was found that they all inherit the deficiencies set forth with respect to the independent claims. For instance, dependent claim 2 recite “Wherein the remaining battery level and current location of each vehicle are continuously updated as each vehicle operates”. Dependent claim 3 recite “wherein the operation plan includes a planned remaining battery level of the battery that is required for each vehicle to complete the operation plan at a time of reaching each location, and, when the remaining battery level of each vehicle that is received from each vehicle is lower than the planned remaining battery level, the operation plan monitoring section determines that each vehicle is unable to complete the operation plan”. Dependent claims 4 recite “wherein, upon receiving a replanning request concerning the operation plan that is transmitted from each of the plurality of vehicles in accordance with an instruction from a driver of each vehicle, the operation plan monitoring section determines that the vehicle from which the replanning request has been transmitted is unable to complete the operation plan”. Dependent claims 5 recites “wherein the simulation accounts for predicted traffic conditions and estimated electricity consumption for each vehicle based on planned routes”. Here, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims which are similar to the abstract idea noted in the independent claim above.
Dependent claims 6 recites “wherein the operation planning section reassigns a portion of the remaining work of a corresponding one of the vehicles to a successor vehicle having sufficient remaining battery level, and re-creates the operation plan in such a manner that the remaining work other than the reassigned portion is performed by the vehicle that is determined by the operation plan monitoring section to be unable to complete the operation plan”. Dependent claims 7-9 recites “wherein the operation planning section re-creates the operation plan in such a manner that the remaining work of traveling between locations which has not been performed by the vehicle that is determined by the operation plan monitoring section to be unable to complete the operation plan is reassigned to a plurality of successor vehicles having sufficient remaining battery level”. Dependent claims 11 recites “wherein the operation planning section re-creates the operation plan to avoid fast charging of the battery of the vehicle that is determined to be unable to complete the operation plan, thereby reducing degradation of battery performance.” Dependent claims 12 recites “wherein the operation plan monitoring section detects an unexpected event that increases power consumption of a vehicle based on a difference between the actual remaining battery level and the planned remaining battery level.” Dependent claims 13 recites “wherein each of the plurality of vehicles includes a wireless communication interface that transmits the remaining battery level and current location data to the operation plan monitoring section.” Dependent claims 14 recites “wherein the operation plan includes a planned remaining battery level of the battery that is required for each vehicle to complete the operation plan at a time of reaching each location along a planned route.” Dependent claims 15 recites “wherein the operation plan monitoring section receives a replanning request transmitted from a vehicle via a vehicle interface in accordance with an instruction from a driver of the vehicle and determines that the vehicle from which the replanning request has been transmitted is unable to.” Dependent claims 16 recites “wherein the simulation includes a traffic simulator that predicts traffic conditions along planned routes of the plurality of vehicles.” Dependent claims 17 recites “wherein the simulation includes an electricity consumption simulator that estimates battery consumption for each vehicle based on the planned routes and predicted traffic conditions.” Dependent claims 18 recites “wherein the operation planning section reassigns only a portion of the remaining work of the vehicle that is determined to be unable to complete the operation plan to the successor vehicle, and re-creates the operation plan such that remaining work other than the reassigned portion is performed by the vehicle that is determined to be unable to complete the operation plan.” Dependent claims 19 recites “wherein the operation planning section identifies a plurality of successor vehicles each having sufficient remaining battery level, and reassigns the remaining work of the vehicle that is determined to be unable to complete the operation plan to the plurality of successor vehicles.” Dependent claims 20 recites “wherein the re- created operation plan reduces life cycle cost of the plurality of vehicles by preventing degradation of battery performance caused by emergency charging.” In this claim, “operation planning section”, “operation plan monitoring section”, “wireless communication interface”, “vehicle interface”, “electricity consumption simulator” are an additional element, but it is still being recited such that it amounts to no more than: adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). As a result, Examiner asserts that dependent claims, such as dependent claims 2-9 and 11-20 are also directed to the abstract idea identified above.
Step 2B: Determine Whether Any Element, Or Combination, Amount to “Significantly More” Than the Abstract Idea Itself
With respect to Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. First, the invention lacks improvements to another technology or technical field [see Alice at 2351; 2019 IEG at 55], and lacks meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment [Alice at 2360, 2019 IEG at 55], and fails to effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing [2019 IEG, 55]. For the reasons articulated above, the claims recite an abstract idea that is limited to a particular field of endeavor (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) and recites insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)). By the factors and rationale provided above with respect to these MPEP sections, the additional elements of the claims that fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application also fail to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of “An operation management method that is used by an operation management system to manage operations of a plurality of vehicles powered by a battery, the operation management method comprising: An operation management system for managing operations of a plurality of vehicles powered by a battery, the operation management system comprising: wirelessly from each vehicle in real-time; using traffic and electricity consumption simulators” are insufficient to amount to significantly more. Applicants originally submitted specification describes the computer components above at least in page/ paragraph [0014], [0076]-[0083]. In light of the specification, it should be noted that the components discussed above did not meaningfully limit the abstract idea because they merely linked the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., "implementation via computers"). In light of the specification, it should be noted that the claim limitations discussed above are merely instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). (See MPEP 2106.05(f) - Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception - “Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible.” Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 235). Mere instructions to apply an exception using computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.). The additional elements amount to no more than a recitation of generic computer elements utilized to perform generic computer functions, such as performing repetitive calculations, Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims."); and storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Therefore, the claims at issue do not require any nonconventional computer, network, or display components, or even a “non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of know, conventional pieces,” but merely call for performance of the claimed on a set of generic computer components” and display devices. All of these additional elements are significantly more because these, again, are merely the software and/or hardware components used to implement the abstract idea on a general-purpose computer. Generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because the Alice decision noted that generic structures that merely apply abstract ideas are not significantly more than the abstract ideas.
The computing elements with a computing device is recited at high level of generality (e.g. a generic device performing a generic computer function of processing data). Thus, this step is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception on a generic computer. In addition, using a processor to process data has been well- understood routing, conventional activity in the industry for many years. Generic computer features, such as system or storage, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. These limitations merely describe implementation for the invention using elements of a general-purpose system, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more. See, e.g., Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 USPQ2d 1976; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am. Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1791 (Federal Circuit 2015).
The claim fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, and/or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. Viewed individually or as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Independent Claims 1 is/are recite substantially similar limitations to independent claim 10 and is/are rejected under 2B for similar reasons to claim 10 above.
Further, it should be noted that additional elements of the claimed invention such as claim limitations when considered individually or as an ordered combination along with the other limitations discussed above in method claim 10 also do not meaningfully limit the abstract idea because they merely linked the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., "implementation via computers"). In light of the specification, it should be noted that the claim limitations discussed above are merely instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. See MPEP 2106.
Similarly, dependent claims 2-9 and 11-20 also do not include limitations amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea under the second prong or 2B of the Alice framework. In the present application, all of the dependent claims have been evaluated and it was found that they all inherit the deficiencies set forth with respect to the independent claims. Further, it should be noted that the dependent claims do not include limitations that overcome the stated assertions. Here, the dependent claims recite features/limitations that include computer components identified above in part 2B of analysis of independent claims 1 and 10. As a result, Examiner asserts that dependent claims, such as dependent claims 2-9 and 11-20 are also directed to the abstract idea identified above.
Further, Examiner notes that the addition limitations, when considered as an ordered combination, add nothing that is not already present when looking at the additional elements individually.
For more information on 101 rejections, see MPEP 2106, January 2019 Guidance at https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01 -07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2018/217640 A1) Chen et al., and further in view of (US 2016/0039295 A1) Madurai-Kumar et al.
As per Claims 1 and 10: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen shows:
An operation management system for managing operations of a plurality of vehicles powered by a battery, the operation management system comprising (Reference Chen shows: Abstract - The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for managing a fleet of ridesharing vehicles. In some implementations, the fleet of ridesharing vehicles may include electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles. The systems and methods may manage a charging schedule for multiple charging stations for a fleet of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles, plan a route for an electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle to account for a current battery charge of the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, plan a route for an electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle to account for battery charging stops, and making vehicle or passenger assignments based on a proximity of an electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle to a charging station. Additionally, the systems and methods may provide different levels of service for ridesharing):
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen shows:
An operation management method that is used by an operation management system to manage operations of a plurality of vehicles powered by a battery, the operation management method comprising (Reference Chen shows: Abstract - The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for managing a fleet of ridesharing vehicles. In some implementations, the fleet of ridesharing vehicles may include electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles. The systems and methods may manage a charging schedule for multiple charging stations for a fleet of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles, plan a route for an electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle to account for a current battery charge of the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, plan a route for an electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle to account for battery charging stops, and making vehicle or passenger assignments based on a proximity of an electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle to a charging station. Additionally, the systems and methods may provide different levels of service for ridesharing):
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen shows:
an operation planning step of creating an operation plan for causing each vehicle to perform work of traveling between locations (Reference Chen shows: [0182]: in embodiments in which battery-charge module 920 and/or ride request module 930 is configured to access one or more prior-stored maps of geographical areas for determining a route, database 950 may store the geographical maps. In other embodiments where ride request module 930 is configured to access one or more listings of charging stations, database 950 may store locations, hours of operation, and/or charging capacity for each charging station. Still, in other embodiments, database 950 may include information related to a charging capacity of each of the plurality of charging stations to accept additional vehicles, and for ride requests with pick-up location in a vicinity of the electrically powered vehicle-for-hire in need of the charge, at least one processor may be configured to assign the electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire to pick up a user based on a proximity of a drop-off location to a charging station and a capacity of that charging station to accept the electrically-powered vehicle for-hire. Location module 910, battery-charge module 920, and ride request module 930 may access database for communication by way of data access module 940);
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen shows:
an operation plan monitoring step of monitoring the operation of each vehicle that is performed in accordance with the operation plan (Reference Chen shows in [0187] At step 1113, ride request module 930 may assign an electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle to pick-up the plurality of users such that at least some of the users share their ride with at least one other passenger. For example, as explained above, the assignment may be based on a proximity of at least one starting point to a current location of the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle and/or a proximity of at least one desired destination to a location of at least one charging station. [0188] In some embodiments, the plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles traveling within the geographic area may include short-distance type vehicles and long-distance type vehicles with a battery capacity greater than a battery capacity of the short-distance vehicles. In such embodiments, ride request module 930 may assign a long-distance type vehicle for picking up a user based on a desired destination of the user. For example, if the desired destination is beyond a threshold distance (whether as the crow flies or a route-based distance) and/or a threshold travel time (whether ideal travel time or a travel time accounting for real-time traffic), ride request module 930 may assign a long-distance type vehicle.);
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen shows:
a receiving step of receiving remaining battery level and current location data wirelessly from each vehicle in real-time (Reference Chen shows: [0220] At step 1425, ridesharing management server 150 may direct the ridesharing vehicle to a charging station where the ridesharing vehicle is to be taken out of service for battery recharging. Here, the out of service reads on the “operating status” in the claim. [0051]: a vehicle may include an autonomous vehicle, wherein a control device integrated with the vehicle or a management system separate from the vehicle may send operational instructions and guide the vehicle. [0009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [0012]: [012] In one embodiment, a system for managing a fleet of vehicles for hire including electrically-powered vehicles may include a communications interface configured to receive a plurality of ride requests from a plurality of users and to communicate with a plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire. The system may include a processor configured to receive current vehicle location data for the plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with each electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire, receive, from a power sensor in each of the plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire, battery-charge data indicative of a need for battery recharging, receive the plurality of ride requests from the plurality of users, wherein each ride request includes information about a pick-up location and a desired destination, identify, from the battery-charge data, a specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of a charge, access a database of charging information, including locations of a plurality of charging stations, for ride requests with pick-up locations in the vicinity of the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of the charge, compare associated desired destinations in the plurality of ride requests with the locations of the plurality of charging stations accessed in the database, in order to identify a specific ride request with a desired destination in a vicinity of a specific charging station, cause to be transmitted, over a wireless network to the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of the charge, a dispatch to the pick-up location associated with the specific ride request, route the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire to a dropoff location associated with the specific ride request, and following arrival at the drop-off location associated with the specific ride request, route the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire to the specific charging station. [0171] Battery-charge module 920 may include software instructions for receiving current battery-charge data for an electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle. The data may be related to the remaining charge of the battery powering the vehicle and/or an estimated time until depletion of the battery as captured by a power sensor in the vehicle for determining the current charge level of the battery. The power sensor may transmit the data to a remote server over a wireless channel or to vehicle routing module to select a charging station, based on the current battery charge level. The power sensor may be configured to continuously monitor and transmit data related to the current battery charge level. The power sensor may also monitor the current battery charge level and transmit data when the charge level is less than a predetermined threshold level.);
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen shows:
a determination step comparing an actual remaining battery level of each vehicle with a planned remaining battery level stored in the operation plan to determine whether each vehicle is able to complete the operation plan (Reference Chen shows: [0220] At step 1425, ridesharing management server 150 may direct the ridesharing vehicle to a charging station where the ridesharing vehicle is to be taken out of service for battery recharging. Here, the out of service reads on the “operating status” in the claim. [0051]: a vehicle may include an autonomous vehicle, wherein a control device integrated with the vehicle or a management system separate from the vehicle may send operational instructions and guide the vehicle. [012] In one embodiment, a system for managing a fleet of vehicles for hire including electrically-powered vehicles may include a communications interface configured to receive a plurality of ride requests from a plurality of users and to communicate with a plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire. The system may include a processor configured to receive current vehicle location data for the plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with each electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire, receive, from a power sensor in each of the plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire, battery-charge data indicative of a need for battery recharging, receive the plurality of ride requests from the plurality of users, wherein each ride request includes information about a pick-up location and a desired destination, identify, from the battery-charge data, a specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of a charge, access a database of charging information, including locations of a plurality of charging stations, for ride requests with pick-up locations in the vicinity of the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of the charge, compare associated desired destinations in the plurality of ride requests with the locations of the plurality of charging stations accessed in the database, in order to identify a specific ride request with a desired destination in a vicinity of a specific charging station, cause to be transmitted, over a wireless network to the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of the charge, a dispatch to the pick-up location associated with the specific ride request, route the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire to a dropoff location associated with the specific ride request, and following arrival at the drop-off location associated with the specific ride request, route the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire to the specific charging station. [013] In one embodiment, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium may store instructions that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method for managing a fleet of vehicles for hire including electrically powered vehicles. The method may include receiving current vehicle location data for a plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with each electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire, receiving, from a power sensor in each of the plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire, battery-charge data indicative of a need for battery recharging, receiving a plurality of ride requests from a plurality of users, wherein each ride request includes information about a pick-up location and a desired destination, identifying, from the battery-charge data, a specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of a charge, accessing a database of charging information, including locations of a plurality of charging stations, for ride requests with pick-up locations in the vicinity of the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of a charge, comparing associated desired destinations in the plurality of ride requests with the charging station locations accessed in the database, in order to identify a specific ride request with a desired destination in a vicinity of a specific charging station, transmitting over a wireless network to the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of the charge, a dispatch to the pickup location associated with the specific ride request, routing the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for- hire to a drop-off location associated with the specific ride request, and following arrival at the drop-off location associated with the specific ride request, routing the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for- hire to the specific charging station. [0156] In some embodiments, the plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles traveling within the geographic area may include short-distance type vehicles and long-distance type vehicles with a battery capacity greater than a battery capacity of the short-distance vehicles. Accordingly, in addition to or in lieu of the other soft constraints discussed above, charging station module 630 may select the charging station for the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle further based on a type of the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle. For example, charging station module 630 may select a farther charging station for a long-distance type vehicle as compared to a short-distance type vehicle. [0162] At step 83 la, when a current charge of the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle is above a threshold, charging station module 630 may assign at least one additional passenger to the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, and direct the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle along a first route for transporting the at least one additional passenger before reaching the selected charging station. In some embodiments, charging station module 630 may estimate an updated battery charge, estimated range, and/or driving duration and/or distance based on the first route (e.g., using real-time traffic, map data, historical driver data, or the like) and compare the updated battery charge, estimated range, and/or driving duration and/or distance to the threshold rather than the current charge in order to determine whether to assign the at least one additional passenger to the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle. [0163] At step 83 lb, when a current charge of the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle is below the threshold, charging station module 630 may direct the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle along a second route for guiding the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle towards the selected charging station without assigning passengers for pick up along the second route. As explained above, charging station module 630 may use the updated battery charge, estimated range, and/or driving duration and/or distance to compare to the threshold rather than the current charge. [0167] In ridesharing fleets in which at least some of the vehicles may be electric charging vehicles, routes may need to account for charging stations. Conventional fleets often do not need to account for gas stations because such stations are ubiquitous compared to electric charging stations. Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure may account for battery-charge when routing a ridesharing vehicle such that the ridesharing vehicle is directed to a charging station at appropriate times. Although individual routes may be sub-optimized, the overall optimization of the fleet of vehicles may be increased. Accordingly, the technical solutions set forth in these embodiments optimize the fleet rather than individual vehicles and result in the use of more accurate and flexible optimization schema. [0184] Fig. 10 illustrates an example of selection between a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery. As depicted in Fig. 10, a first route 1010 may allow for pick-up and drop off of a first passenger and of a second passenger and then terminate at a charging station. On the other hand, a second route 1020 may also allow for pick-up and drop off of a first passenger and of a second passenger without terminating at a charging station. In some examples, route 1020 may be faster and/or of shorter distance than route 1010, e.g., due to higher speed limits on a least a portion of route 1020 compared to route 1010, more direct roads on at least a portion of route 1020 compared to route 1010, improved traffic conditions on at least a portion of route 1020 compared to route 1010, or the like. Nonetheless, embodiments of the present disclosure may select route 1010 over route 1020 based on one or more variables, such as current battery-charge of the vehicle, desired destinations of passengers currently riding the vehicle, and stored locations of charging stations, current occupancy data for the charging stations, and the like. Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure may sub- optimize an individual vehicle, e.g., by selecting route 1010 over route 1020, in order to ensure the vehicle is charged and/or to improve efficiency of a fleet in which the vehicle is one member. [0192] At step 1 1 19, based on the current vehicle location data, the current battery-charge data, the desired destinations of passengers currently riding the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, and stored locations of the charging stations, ride request module 930 may determine a route for the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle that ends at a charging station. As explained above, the current vehicle location, the desired destinations (or determined drop-off locations) and the location of the charging station may serve as anchor points for the route, and the route itself may connect the anchors and be optimized such that the route may be traversed using the current battery-charge (or driving duration and/or distance). In some embodiments, ride request module 930 may dynamically determine the route to optimize one or more performance variables, subject to the hard constraint of the current battery-charge (or estimated driving duration and/or distance). In some embodiments, ride request module 930 may access map data including information about a terrain of the geographic area and use the map data, when determining the route for the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, such that the determined route is both longer and has less elevation changes in comparison to an alternative driving route. [0196] At step 1 13 1 a, when a current charge of the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle is above a threshold, ride request module 930 may assign at least one additional passenger to the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, and direct the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle along a first route for transporting the at least one additional passenger before reaching the charging station. In some embodiments, ride request module 930 may estimate an updated battery charge, estimated range, and/or driving duration and/or distance based on the first route (e.g., using real-time traffic, map data, historical driver data, or the like) and compare the updated battery charge, estimated range, and/or driving duration and/or distance to the threshold rather than the current charge in order to determine whether to assign the at least one additional passenger to the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle. [0197] At step 1 13 1 b, when a current charge of the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle is below the threshold, ride request module 930 may direct the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle along a second route for guiding the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle towards the selected charging station without any additional assigning passengers along the second route. As explained above, ride request module 930 may use the updated battery charge, estimated range, and/or driving duration and/or distance to compare to the threshold rather than the current charge.);
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen shows:
a simulation step of performing a simulation using traffic and electricity consumption simulators to identify remaining work based on the remaining battery level and current location of each vehicle (Reference Chen shows: [0220] At step 1425, ridesharing management server 150 may direct the ridesharing vehicle to a charging station where the ridesharing vehicle is to be taken out of service for battery recharging. Here, the out of service reads on the “operating status” in the claim. [0051]: a vehicle may include an autonomous vehicle, wherein a control device integrated with the vehicle or a management system separate from the vehicle may send operational instructions and guide the vehicle. [052] Consistent with some embodiments of the present disclosure, a ridesharing management system may receive a first ride request from a first user. The first ride request may include a starting point and a desired destination. The ridesharing management system may calculate a first estimated pick-up time based on a current location of a vehicle that is in the surrounding areas. After sending a confirmation with the estimated pick-up time, the ridesharing management system may then guide the vehicle to a pick-up location for picking up the first rider. The pick-up location may be a different location from the starting point included in the first ride request. The system may also guide the first user to the pick-up location. [053] In some embodiments, the system may subsequently receive a second ride request from a second user, for example, while the first user is still in the vehicle. The second ride request may include a second starting point and a second desired destination. The system may calculate a second estimated pickup time, provide a second confirmation to the second rider, and guide the second rider to a second pick-up location. In some embodiments, the second pick-up location may be a different location from the second starting point included in the second ride request. [062] Database 170 may further include traffic data, maps, and toll road information, which may be used for ridesharing service management. Traffic data may include historical traffic data and real- time traffic data regarding a certain geographical region, and may be used to, for example, calculate estimate pick-up and drop-off times, and determine an optimal route for a particular ride. Real-time traffic data may be received from a real-time traffic monitoring system, which may be integrated in or independent from ridesharing management system 100. Maps may include map information used for navigation purposes, for example, for calculating potential routes and guiding the users to a pick-off or drop-off location. Toll road information may include toll charges regarding certain roads, and any change or updates thereof. Toll road information may be used to calculate ride fares, for example, in cases where the user permits use of toll roads communications devices 120 may be configured to calculate estimate pick-up and drop-off times based on a certain ride request, and may be configured to calculate estimate ride fares. As another example, mobile communications devices 120 may further be configured to provide navigation service, and location service, such as directing the user to a particular pick-up or drop-off location, and providing information about a current location of the respective user or vehicle to ridesharing management server 150. [098] With respect to parameters regarding subsequent pick-ups, such as a maximum number of subsequent pick-ups, and maximum delay of arrival incurred by subsequent pick-ups, ridesharing management server 150 may assign subsequent pick-ups accordingly, without exceeding the parameters set by the user. For example, a ride request may be associated with a maximum number of two subsequent pick-ups during the ride. Ridesharing management server 1 50 may monitor the service status of the vehicle assigned to pick up the user, and refrain from assigning a third subsequent pick-up before the vehicle arrives at the a drop-off location for dropping off the user. As another example, for a ride request associated with a maximum delay of arrival of ten minutes, when assigning subsequent ride requests, ridesharing management server 150 may calculate an estimated delay that may occur to the user if the same vehicle was to undertake the subsequent ride request. If the estimated delay that may occur to the user is more than ten minutes, ridesharing management server 150 may assign the subsequent ride request to other available vehicles. [0101 ] At step 413, ridesharing management server 150 may calculate an estimated pick-up time, for example, based on a current location of an assigned vehicle and the first starting point included in the first ride request. An estimated pick-up time may refer to a time period before an assigned vehicle arrives at a pick-up location for picking up the user.);
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
a re-creation step of re-creating the operation plan identifying a successor vehicle having sufficient remaining battery level to complete both its own remaining work and the remaining work of the vehicle unable to complete the operation plan, wherein the remaining work of traveling between locations which has not been performed by the vehicle that is determined by the determination step to be unable to complete the operation plan is reassigned the successor vehicle and a transmission step of transmitting the re-created operation plan to the vehicles to control operation of the vehicles.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “remaining battery level to complete both its own remaining work and the remaining work of the vehicle unable to complete the operation plan, wherein the remaining work of traveling between locations which has not been performed by the vehicle that is determined by the determination step”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A);
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen shows:
a transmission step of transmitting the re-created operation plan to the vehicles to control operation of the vehicles (Reference Chen shows: [0220] At step 1425, ridesharing management server 150 may direct the ridesharing vehicle to a charging station where the ridesharing vehicle is to be taken out of service for battery recharging. Here, the out of service reads on the “operating status” in the claim. [0051]: a vehicle may include an autonomous vehicle, wherein a control device integrated with the vehicle or a management system separate from the vehicle may send operational instructions and guide the vehicle. [011] In one embodiment, a system may manage a fleet of ridesharing vehicles. The system may include at least one communications interface configured to receive ride requests from a plurality of users and to communicate with a plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles. The system may also include a processor configured to receive current vehicle location data for the plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with each electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, receive a plurality of ride requests from the plurality of users, wherein each ride request includes pick-up and drop-off location information, assign a plurality of passengers to a specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, transmit to the specific electrically- powered ridesharing vehicle a first driving route for transporting the plurality of passengers, wherein the driving route is determined such that at least some of the assigned plurality of passengers share their ride with at least one other passenger, receive from the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle an indicator of a current charge level of the battery, access a database of battery charging station information, including a plurality of battery charging station locations, and cause to be transmitted over a wireless network to the specific electrically powered vehicle, at least one second driving route that avoids pick up of additional ride-sharing passengers until the vehicle is empty of passengers, and thereafter directs the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle to a charging station where the specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle is to be taken out of service for battery recharging. [013] In one embodiment, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium may store instructions that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method for managing a fleet of vehicles for hire including electrically powered vehicles. The method may include receiving current vehicle location data for a plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with each electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire, receiving, from a power sensor in each of the plurality of electrically-powered vehicles-for-hire, battery-charge data indicative of a need for battery recharging, receiving a plurality of ride requests from a plurality of users, wherein each ride request includes information about a pick-up location and a desired destination, identifying, from the battery-charge data, a specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of a charge, accessing a database of charging information, including locations of a plurality of charging stations, for ride requests with pick-up locations in the vicinity of the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of a charge, comparing associated desired destinations in the plurality of ride requests with the charging station locations accessed in the database, in order to identify a specific ride request with a desired destination in a vicinity of a specific charging station, transmitting over a wireless network to the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of the charge, a dispatch to the pickup location associated with the specific ride request, routing the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for- hire to a drop-off location associated with the specific ride request, and following arrival at the drop-off location associated with the specific ride request, routing the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for- hire to the specific charging station.).
As per Claim 2: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
Wherein the remaining battery level and current location of each vehicle are continuously updated as each vehicle operates (Chen: [0184] - Ride request module 930 may dynamically determine the route to optimize one or more performance variables, subject to the hard constraint of the current battery-charge (or estimated driving duration and/or distance). For example, in one embodiment, ride request module 930 may direct the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle along one or more routes based on the current charge level of the battery associated with the ridesharing vehicle and a location of a charging station for maximum efficient consumption of the remaining battery charge. Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “remaining battery level to complete both its own remaining work and the remaining work of the vehicle unable to complete the operation plan, wherein the remaining work of traveling between locations which has not been performed by the vehicle that is determined by the determination step”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claim 3: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation plan includes a planned remaining battery level of the battery that is required for each vehicle to complete the operation plan at a time of reaching each location (Chen: [0184] - Ride request module 930 may dynamically determine the route to optimize one or more performance variables, subject to the hard constraint of the current battery-charge (or estimated driving duration and/or distance). For example, in one embodiment, ride request module 930 may direct the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle along one or more routes based on the current charge level of the battery associated with the ridesharing vehicle and a location of a charging station for maximum efficient consumption of the remaining battery charge), and,
Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
when the remaining battery level of each vehicle that is received from each vehicle is lower than the planned remaining battery level, the operation plan monitoring section determines that each vehicle is unable to complete the operation plan (Chen [0129] - embodiments of the present disclosure may account for both battery-charge and charging station occupancies when assigning a vehicle to a charging station. Although individual routes and charging schedules may be sub-optimized, the overall optimization of the fleet of vehicles may be increased. Accordingly, the technical solutions set forth in these embodiments optimize the fleet rather than individual vehicles and result in the use of more accurate and flexible optimization schema).
As per Claim 4: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein, upon receiving a replanning request concerning the operation plan that is transmitted from each of the plurality of vehicles in accordance with an instruction from a driver of each vehicle, the operation plan monitoring section determines that the vehicle from which the replanning request has been transmitted is unable to complete the operation plan.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “replanning request”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claim 5: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the simulation accounts for predicted traffic conditions and estimated electricity consumption for each vehicle based on planned routes ((Chen [0141] - Additional variables may be used in the optimization algorithm. For example, historical data associated with demand for ridesharing vehicles in the geographic area may be considered).
As per Claim 6: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation planning section reassigns a portion of the remaining work of a corresponding one of the vehicles to a successor vehicle having sufficient remaining battery level, and re-creates the operation plan in such a manner that the remaining work other than the reassigned portion is performed by the vehicle that is determined by the operation plan monitoring section to be unable to complete the operation plan.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “re-creates”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claims 7-9: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation planning section re-creates the operation plan in such a manner that the remaining work of traveling between locations which has not been performed by the vehicle that is determined by the operation plan monitoring section to be unable to complete the operation plan is reassigned to a plurality of successor vehicles having sufficient remaining battery level.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “re-creates”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claim 11: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation planning section re-creates the operation plan to avoid fast charging of the battery of the vehicle that is determined to be unable to complete the operation plan, thereby reducing degradation of battery performance.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “re-creates”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claims 12: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation plan monitoring section detects an unexpected event that increases power consumption of a vehicle based on a difference between the actual remaining battery level and the planned remaining battery level.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “re-creates”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claims 13: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein each of the plurality of vehicles includes a wireless communication interface that transmits the remaining battery level and current location data to the operation plan monitoring section.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “re-creates”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claim 14: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation plan includes a planned remaining battery level of the battery that is required for each vehicle to complete the operation plan at a time of reaching each location along a planned route (Chen: [0184] - Ride request module 930 may dynamically determine the route to optimize one or more performance variables, subject to the hard constraint of the current battery-charge (or estimated driving duration and/or distance). For example, in one embodiment, ride request module 930 may direct the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle along one or more routes based on the current charge level of the battery associated with the ridesharing vehicle and a location of a charging station for maximum efficient consumption of the remaining battery charge. Chen [0129] - embodiments of the present disclosure may account for both battery-charge and charging station occupancies when assigning a vehicle to a charging station. Although individual routes and charging schedules may be sub-optimized, the overall optimization of the fleet of vehicles may be increased. Accordingly, the technical solutions set forth in these embodiments optimize the fleet rather than individual vehicles and result in the use of more accurate and flexible optimization schema).
As per Claim 15: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation plan monitoring section receives a replanning request transmitted from a vehicle via a vehicle interface in accordance with an instruction from a driver of the vehicle, and determines that the vehicle from which the replanning request has been transmitted is unable to complete the operation plan.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “replanning request”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claim 16: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the simulation includes a traffic simulator that predicts traffic conditions along planned routes of the plurality of vehicles ((Chen [0141] - Additional variables may be used in the optimization algorithm. For example, historical data associated with demand for ridesharing vehicles in the geographic area may be considered).
As per Claims 17: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the simulation includes an electricity consumption simulator that estimates battery consumption for each vehicle based on the planned routes and predicted traffic conditions.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “re-creates”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claim 18: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation planning section reassigns only a portion of the remaining work of the vehicle that is determined to be unable to complete the operation plan to the successor vehicle, and re-creates the operation plan such that remaining work other than the reassigned portion is performed by the vehicle that is determined to be unable to complete the operation plan.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “replanning request”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claim 19: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the operation planning section identifies a plurality of successor vehicles each having sufficient remaining battery level, and reassigns the remaining work of the vehicle that is determined to be unable to complete the operation plan to the plurality of successor vehicles.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “re-creates”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
As per Claim 20: Regarding the claim limitations below, Reference Chen in view of Madurai-Kumar shows:
wherein the re- created operation plan reduces life cycle cost of the plurality of vehicles by preventing degradation of battery performance caused by emergency charging.
Even though Reference Chen shows charge level for an electric vehicle [009] In one embodiment, a ridesharing vehicle may account for battery charging stops. The ridesharing vehicle may include a vehicle body, a battery located within the vehicle body and configured to provide a driving voltage to operate the ridesharing vehicle, a power sensor in the vehicle for determining a current charge level of the battery, and a communications interface located within the vehicle body and configured to exchange data with a remote server over a wireless channel. [029] Fig. 10 is a schematic illustration of a first and second route in response to an indicator of the current charge level of a battery, according to a first embodiment and consistent with the present disclosure. Chen lacks estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user. As such, Chen does not explicitly show “re-creates”.
Reference Madurai-Kumar shows the above limitation at least in [0019]: In alternative embodiments, rather than recommending a battery swap, controller 100a may recommend that an operator be assigned to a different vehicle (or other fleet machinery, etc.), or controller 100a may automatically adjust an operator assignment. In this manner, duty cycles of fleet batteries may be effectively “shared” by distributing operators to different vehicles in order to even out duty cycle use of the batteries. Madurai-Kumar also teaches estimating a performance deterioration of a service vehicle associated with the service provision to the user (Madurai-Kumar [0015] - After battery parameters are received, controller 100a may perform analysis to compute a particular battery's battery life, which is based on duty cycle use of the battery. In some embodiments, controller 100a has access to future scheduled use of a battery, which may be based on type work to be performed with the battery, a route to be driven, an estimated time that they battery will be active, an amount of power required for a certain task, etc. In this manner, controller 100a may further adjust a battery life estimate).
Reference Chen and Reference Madurai-Kumar are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because the references generally relate to field of vehicle assignment management. Further, said references are part of the same classification, i.e., Y02T. Lastly, said references are filed before the effective filing date of the instant application; hence, said references are analogous prior-art references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application for AIA to provide the teachings of Reference Madurai-Kumar, particularly the ability to reassign a different vehicle when the battery of the first vehicle is not sufficient to support the trip (see [0019], [0015]), in the disclosure of Reference Chen, particularly in the ability to check the vehicle charge and compare it to the route the vehicle will be taking (see [0009], [0029]), in order to provide for a system that by tracking various battery parameters and sharing batteries between the fleet's vehicles, it can be ensured that over a period of time, the batteries of the fleet are used more consistently, resulting in the improvement of the life of the batteries of the fleet as a whole as taught by Reference Madurai-Kumar (see at least in [0012]), where upon the execution of the method and system of Reference Madurai-Kumar for managing batteries of a fleet of vehicles (abstract) so that the process of vehicle assignment management can be made more efficient and effective.
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar vehicle assignment management field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Reference Chen in view of Reference Madurai-Kumar, the results of the combination were predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments made to previously presented claims.
Applicant’s Argument #1
Applicants argue on page(s) 8-12 of applicants remarks that the amended claims overcome previously presented rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 (see applicants remarks for more details).
Response to Argument #1
Applicants' arguments have been fully considered; however, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Please see 101 rejection above for details on how the claims are still abstract and do not recite additional elements where the claim as a whole be considered eligible.
It should be noted that the amended claims recite the limitations at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than: adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea with no significantly more elements.
Thus, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. As a result, claims 1 and 10 do not provide any specifics regarding the integration into a practical application when recited in a claim with a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Applicants originally submitted specification describes the computer components above at least in page/ paragraph [0014], [0076]-[0083]. In light of the specification, it should be noted that the components discussed above did not meaningfully limit the abstract idea because they merely linked the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., "implementation via computers").
The amended claims recite operation planning section, monitor and sending the plan to the vehicle. Firstly, the claim simply stops at sending the plan to the vehicle, there is no implementation of the plan taking place in the claimed invention. As such, the currently presented claims are simply inputting data, processing data and outputting data. The claims are providing no improvement to the technology or the technological area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL Reference:
L. Zhang, R. Huo, G. Cai, K. L. Hai, L. Lyu and P. Wang, "Integrated Planning of Charging Piles and Battery Swapping Stations Considering Spatiotemporal Distribution of Electric Vehicles," in CSEE Journal of Power and Energy Systems, vol. 11, no. 3, pp. 1236-1252, May 2025, doi: 10.17775/CSEEJPES.2021.05780.
This reference discloses with the rapid adoption of electric vehicles (EVs), more charging and battery swapping facilities are needed to meet growing demand. However, a single type of charging or swapping facility cannot simultaneously and efficiently satisfy the power supply requirements of diverse vehicle types. In order to solve this problem, a joint planning method of charging piles and charging-battery swapping stations (CBSSs) is proposed in this paper. In this method, the influence of geospatial constraints on the layout scale of charging piles is considered, and the Monte Carlo simulation method is used to predict the spatiotemporal distribution of charging and battery swapping demands of private electric vehicles (PEVs) and the battery swapping demands of taxi electric vehicles (TEVs) respectively. On this basis, the layout scale of charging piles of each functional area is determined during the maximum charging demand period in a day to meet the demands of PEVs for charging convenience. Then, an operating state model of CBSS is established for calculation of the objective function. At the same time, a planning model of CBSSs is established to minimize the annual social comprehensive cost, which takes into account the economy of CBSSs and the battery swapping convenience of EVs. The planning of CBSSs can meet the demands of TEVs and some PEVs for a rapid power supply. Finally, using the urban transportation network of Changchun and IEEE 33-node system as an example, the planning of charging piles and CCBSs in direct charging mode and peak shifting mode are simulated and analyzed. The simulation results show that the proposed method enables PEVs and TEVs to access convenient and rapid power supply, and the planning result of CBSSs in direct charging mode is more economical, while peak shifting mode is more conducive to the safe operation of distribution networks (Abstract).
Foreign Reference:
(JP 2021129459 A) HORIUCHI et al. Charge Management System For Managing Charge Of Charging System, Has Plan Preparation Unit In Which Priority Of Charge Produces Second Charging Schedule Containing Charging Schedule Of Second Mobile Unit Which Moves Electricity As Energy Source.
This reference discloses the charge management system (30) has a plan preparation unit (33) in which the priority of charge produces the second charging schedule containing the charging schedule of the second mobile object which moves electricity as an energy source low from first mobile object based on the first charging schedule which is a charging schedule of first mobile object. The plan presentation unit (34) presents the charging schedule for every second mobile object based on the second charging schedule. A drivable distance calculation unit calculates the drivable distance which is the distance which drives the electric vehicle by the time (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.N.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3624 /PATRICIA H MUNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3624