DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18, 21 and 24 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 August 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SAMSUNG: “Cross-link interference measurements and reporting at a UE”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-1901063 CLI AT UE, 3rd GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA_ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG1, no. Taipei, Taiwan; 20190121-20190125, 20 January 2019 (2019-01-20), XP051593908, [retrieved from the Internet; URL:/http://www.3gpp.org/ftp/Meetings%5F3GPP%5FSYNC/RAN1/Docs/R1%2D1901063%2Ezip [retrieved on 2019-01-20], paragraph [0002]-paragraph [03.1]; figure 2, hereinafter referred as D1.
Regarding claims 1, 21 and 24, D1 discloses a method of operating a first base station (§3.1 and Fig. 5; “gNB1”), the method comprising:
communicating, between the first base station and a second base station, at least one control message for interference management (§3.1: “gNB1 can let gNB2 know the SRS/DMRS patterns of the IAB node 1 via information exchange in backhaul. Then, gNB2 can assign ZP CSI-RS to IAB node 2 and IAB node 2 can perform channel measurement.”) of a interference between a first data link between the first base station (101) a first wireless communication device (Fig. 5: gNB1-Interfering IAB node 1-UE1) and a second data link between the second base station and a second wireless communication device (Fig. 5: gNB2-Victim IAB node 2-UE2), the first data link being via a coverage enhancing device (Fig. 5: gNB1-Interfering IAB node1-UE1), and
in accordance with the at least one control message, configuring a setting of one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device that are associated with the first data link (§2: “the main benefit of RSRP is that the aggressor UE can be identified. With such aggressor information, the gNB can easily coordinate the scheduling of aggressor and victim UEs to mitigate strong CLI and achieve better performance”).
Claim(s) 1, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (WO 2021/045672 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 21 and 24, (WO 2021/045672 A1) discloses a method of operating a first base station, the method comprising:
communicating, between the first base station (Cell A, TRP A, figure 2) and a second base station (Cell B, TRP B, figure 2), at least one control message for interference management of a interference (CLI) between a first data link (UL) between the first base station (TRP A) a first wireless communication device (UE-1) and a second data link (DL, figure 2) between the second base station (TRP B) and a second wireless communication device (UE-2), the first data link being via a coverage enhancing device, and
in accordance with the at least one control message, configuring a setting of one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device that are associated with the first data link (“Receiving the configuration of a condition controlling when the UE shall start performing CLI measurements (e.g., a parameter that is a threshold for a given measurement)”.
Claim(s) 1, 14-17, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (WO 2022/029197 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 21 and 24, (WO 2022/029197 A1) discloses a method of operating a first base station, the method comprising:
communicating, between the first base station (BS1) and a second base station (BS2), at least one control message for interference management of a interference (BS-to-BS interference, (DL-to-UL interference) between a first data link (1808) between the first base station (BS1) a first wireless communication device (UE-1) and a second data link (1806) between the second base station (BS2) and a second wireless communication device (UE2), the first data link being via a coverage enhancing device, and
in accordance with the at least one control message, configuring a setting of one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device that are associated with the first data link.
Regarding claim 14, (WO 2022/029197 A1) teaches wherein the one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device comprise a time-division duplex slot configuration. (“half-duplex or full-duplex).
Regarding claim 15, (WO 2022/029197 A1) teaches wherein the one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device comprise a spatial filter. (“identifying the interference device comprises a combination of information obtained from the reference signal of the interfering device together with its timeslot and the setting of the spatial filter used in the receiving device.”)
Regarding claim 16, (WO 2022/029197 A1) wherein the one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device comprise a gain. (“Higher gain. The gain is higher, because the array gain is on the order of the number of elements in the array.”)
Regarding claim 17, (WO 2022/029197 A1) wherein the one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device comprise a phase.
(“A phase distribution may be used to steer the beam or main lobe 12 in the required direction, e.g., using a uniform power distribution.”).
Claim(s) 1, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vedantham et al. (US 2011/0117967 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 21 and 24, Vedantham et al. discloses a method of operating a first base station, the method comprising:
communicating, between the first base station (Base station 1) and a second base station (Base station 2), at least one control message for interference management of a interference (110) between a first data link (114) between the first base station (Base station 1) a first wireless communication device (User Equipment 1) and a second data link (116) between the second base station (Base station 2) and a second wireless communication device (User Equipment 2), the first data link being via a coverage enhancing device ([0002]: “As cellular communication network evolve, smaller sized cells, e.g., picocells and/or femtocells (“femtocells”), are being introduced to enhance service with areas where the cellular network is not overloaded or network coverage is weaker than desired“), and
in accordance with the at least one control message, configuring a setting of one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device that are associated with the first data link. (“compute threshold values for interference tiers based on stored interference estimate statistics”).
Claim(s) 1, 14-16, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2021/0152418 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 21 and 24, Abdlghaffar et al. discloses a method of operating a first base, the method comprising:
communicating, between the first base station (105-a) and a second base station (105-b), at least one control message for interference management of a interference (220-d) between a first data link (210-1) between the first base station (105-a) and a first wireless communication device (115-a) and a second data link (205-b) between the second base station (105-b) and a second wireless communication device (115-b), the first data link being via a coverage enhancing device, and
in accordance with the at least one control message, configuring a setting of one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device that are associated with the first data link ([0226]: “the base station 105 may transmit an indication of one or more spatial filters”).
Regarding claim 14, Abdlghaffar et al. teaches wherein the one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device comprise a time-division duplex slot configuration.
Regarding claim 15, Abdlghaffar et al. teaches wherein the one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device comprise a spatial filter.
([0091]: “receiving an indication of one or more spatial filters or TCI for uplink transmissions, where transmitting the first message using the first antenna panel may be based on the one or more spatial filters or the TCI.”)
Regarding claim 16, wherein the one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device comprise a gain. (“in this solution the threshold may be the s-Measure, which gains a different meaning”)
Regarding claim 17, wherein the one or more operational parameters of the coverage enhancing device comprise a phase.
([0169]: “The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna element associated with the device.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412