DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, drawn to the process of non-contact estimation of oxygen saturation, in the reply filed on 07/13/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). In contract, Applicant’s election of Species B with traversal of the Species requirement is persuasive and the election of species requirement is withdrawn.
Claims 31-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 30, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 30, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-30 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, wherein the abstract idea may fairly and reasonably be considered a mental process performable in the human mind and/or mathematical concepts of mathematical relationships and calculations.
For independent claim 19, the claim(s) recite(s) a process of estimating oxygen saturation by pre-processing signal data, extracting frequency and time domain features from pre-processed signal data, computing statistical parameters of the time domain features, and estimating oxygen saturation based on extracted frequency domain features and computed statistical parameters of the time domain features using a model trained therefor.
As broadly as claimed these steps may be reasonably considered as the judicial exception of (i) a mental process performable within the human mind, including by observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion forming, or by a human using pen and paper and/or (ii) mathematical concepts of mathematical relationships and calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections I and III). For example, at least, these limitations are nothing more than (i) a medical professional and/or mathematician capturing data, printing it out, and using the data with pen and paper to process, extract, compute, and estimate from the data and/or (ii) organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the process steps as broadly as claimed are not tied to nor required to be performed, executed, or programmed on a special purpose computer. Further, the judicial exception is not even required to be performed on or tied to a mere generic processing device, controller, or the like.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because no additional elements and/or any structure are recited. The examiner respectfully notes that although PPG signal data is input for pre-processing, the claim does not specify that the data is provided and/or obtained. Assuming arguendo this was claimed, the preliminary steps of data gathering would be well-known, routine and conventional amounting to insignificant data gathering as pre-solution activity.
Depending claims 20-30 and 38-40 inherit and do not remedy the non-statutory deficiency noted above, despite further specifying steps relating to clarifications of data manipulation including – preprocessing, filtering, extracting, or training -- that could be performed mentally and/or are merely further detailed mathematical concepts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-30 and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2020/0367773 A1, hereinafter Wang).
For claim 19, Wang discloses a method for non-contact estimation of oxygen saturation, the method comprising inter alia:
pre-processing a photoplethysmography (PPG) signal of light reflected from a skin of a subject illuminated by ambient light by filtering the PPG signal to obtain a smoothed pulse signal ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]);
extracting a plurality of frequency domain and time domain features from the smoothed pulse signal by extracting time domain features from the smoothed pulse signal with respect to time and extracting frequency domain features from the smoothed pulse signal with respect to frequency ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]);
computing statistical parameters of the time domain features, wherein the statistical parameters represent measured quantities of a statistical population describing the respective time domain features ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]); and
estimating oxygen saturation for the subject based on the frequency domain features and the statistical parameters of the time domain features and an oxygen saturation estimation model trained for estimating oxygen saturation based on input frequency domain features and input statistical parameters of time domain features ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]).
For claim 20, Wang discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein pre-processing comprises filtering the PPG signal using a median average filter ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]).
For claim 28, Wang discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein computing statistical parameters comprises computing at least two of mean, median, standard deviation, mean absolute deviation, and interquartile range of the time domain features ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]).
For claim 30, Wang discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein extracting a plurality of time domain features comprises extracting at least two time domain features selected from the group consisting of difference between height of a peak of the smoothed pulse signal and average height of two valleys adjacent the peak, time duration between a peak of the smoothed pulse signal and a valley preceding the peak, time duration between two valleys of a pulse wave in the smoothed pulse signal, width at a selected percentage, peak height between a rising branch and peak point in the smoothed pulse signal, periodic energy of the smoothed pulse signal, area under a pulse cycle in the smoothed pulse signal, time between systolic peaks and a dicrotic notch in the smoothed pulse signal, distance between diastolic valleys in the smoothed pulse signal, dicrotic notch downward curve in the smoothed pulse signal, ratio of systolic peak time to peak- to-peak interval of the smoothed pulse signal, ratio of a height of a notch to a systolic peak amplitude of the smoothed pulse signal, ratio of pulse width from right at a selected percentage, time interval from a foot of the smoothed pulse signal to a time at which a first derivative of the smoothed pulse signal occurred, first maximum peak from a second derivative of the smoothed pulse signal after first maximum peak from a first derivative of the smoothed pulse signal and ratio of time interval from the foot of the smoothed signal to a time at which the first minimum peak occurred to a peak-to-peak interval of the smoothed pulse signal ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]).
For claim 38, Wang discloses the method according to claim 19, further comprising:
pre-processing a plurality of PPG signals of light reflected from skins of a plurality of subjects illuminated by ambient light by filtering the PPG signals to obtain a plurality of smoothed pulse signals ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]);
extracting, from each smoothed pulse signal of the plurality of smoothed pulse signals, the plurality of frequency domain and time domain features from the smoothed pulse signal by extracting time domain features from the smoothed pulse signal with respect to time and extracting frequency domain features from the smoothed pulse signal with respect to frequency ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]);
computing statistical parameters of the time domain features, wherein the statistical parameters represent measured quantities of a statistical population describing the respective time domain features ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]); and
training the oxygen saturation estimation model based on the frequency domain features and the statistical parameters of the time domain features and actual oxygen saturation values obtained for the plurality of subjects ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]).
For claim 39. (New) The method according to claim 38, wherein the oxygen saturation estimation model is a random forest based oxygen saturation estimation model ([0013-0046, 0067, 0074-0137]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for processing PPG signals to estimate oxygen saturation based on (i) frequency domain features and (ii) statistical parameters of time domain features and model training therefor.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791