DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US20250167924 hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claims 1 and 15. Shin teaches the method and apparatus for a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory (fig. 12 and pars. 0250-0254, teaches first device 100); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE (fig. 12 and pars. 0250-0254, teaches first device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104. Moreover, processor 102 may control a memory 104 and/or a transceiver 106 and may be configured to implement description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts included in the present disclosure) to:
obtain configuration information indicating a set of physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition numbers (pars. 0166-0170, teaches the UE may be configured with the PRACH repetition number. Wherein, pars. 0174-0176, teaches the UE may select one of a plurality of repetition numbers for repeated transmission of PRACH preamble. Thus, the configuration information must have a plurality of PRACH repetition numbers. Par. 0008, teaches physical random access channel (PRACH));
select a PRACH repetition number from the set of PRACH repetition numbers (pars. 0174-0179, teaches the UE may select one of a plurality of repetition numbers to perform PRACH preamble repetition transmission); and
determine at least one time period for PRACH repetition based on the selected PRACH repetition number (par. 0168-0169, teaches the repetition number may configure/indicate the total number of ROs that the UE should select to repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble. Wherein, par. 0164, teaches the transmitting a PRACH preamble once at a specific time to a RO (RACH occasion) selected by a UE among the ROs determined by the PRACH configuration configured by the base station. Par. 0104, teaches random access channel (RACH)),
wherein each time period of the at least one time period includes a set of random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) for PRACH repetition (par. 0168-0169, teaches the repetition number may configure/indicate the total number of ROs that the UE should select to repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble. Wherein, par. 0164, teaches the transmitting a PRACH preamble once at a specific time to a RO (RACH occasion) selected by a UE among the ROs determined by the PRACH configuration configured by the base station).
Regarding claim 10. Shin teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Shin further teaches the configuration information further indicates a number of time periods associated with each PRACH repetition number of the set of PRACH repetition numbers (pars. 0168-0172, teaches the base station may configure/indicate the UE to allocate resources for each of one or more repetition numbers. Wherein, the resource may include a specific RO, or a specific RAPID (Random access preamble ID) of each RO (e.g., a RO allocated to a specific (even or odd index) RACH slot, or an even or slot odd index RO of each RACH slot) (e.g., set to a starting RAPID+total number of RAPIDs), etc. Furthermore, the number of repetitions may configure/indicate the total number of times the UE should repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble. Thus, the “one or more repetition numbers” reads as the set of PRACH repetition numbers), and
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (fig. 12 and pars. 0250-0254, teaches first device 100 may include one or more processors 102) to determine a number of the at least one time period for the selected PRACH repetition number based on the configuration information (pars. 0163-0171, teaches the configuration information includes the number of repetitions may configure/indicate the total number of times the UE should repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble. Furthermore, pars. 0173-0179, teaches the UE may select one of a plurality of repetition numbers. Wherein, par. 0169-0172, teaches the UE selecting and allocating RO(s) for the one or more repetition numbers. Whereas, the configuration information may indicate the total number of ROs that the UE should select to repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble).
Regarding claim 11. Shin teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Shin further teaches the set of ROs included in each time period includes a same number of ROs (pars. 0164-0169, teaches the repetition number may configure/indicate the total number of ROs that the UE should select to repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble. Thus, in pars. 0170-0179 when the UE may select and allocate resources including ROs for each of one or more repetition numbers the UE is selecting the indicated total number of ROs, reads as the set of ROs included in each time period includes a same number of ROs).
Regarding claim 14. Shin teaches the apparatus for a base station (BS) (fig. 12 and pars. 0250-0252, teaches the second device 200), comprising: at least one memory (fig. 12 and par. 0255, teaches the second device 200 may include one or more memories 204); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station (fig. 12 and par. 0255, teaches the second device 200 may include processor 202, that may control a memory 204 and/or a transceiver 206 and may be configured to implement description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flows charts included in the present disclosure) to:
transmit configuration information indicating a set of physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition numbers (pars. 0166-0170, teaches the base station may configure the UE with the PRACH repetition number. Wherein, pars. 0174-0176, teaches the UE may select one of a plurality of repetition numbers for repeated transmission of PRACH preamble. Thus, the configuration information must have a plurality of PRACH repetition numbers. Par. 0008, teaches physical random access channel (PRACH)); or obtain the configuration information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); and
for each PRACH repetition number in the set of PRACH repetition numbers (pars. 0171-0172, teaches the base station may configure/indicate the UE to allocate resources for each of one or more repetition numbers),
determine at least one time period for PRACH repetition based on a corresponding PRACH repetition number (pars. 0171-0172, teaches the base station may configure/indicate the UE to allocate resources for each of one or more repetition numbers. Wherein, pars. 0164-0172, teaches the resource may include a specific RO, or a specific RAPID (Random access preamble ID) of each RO (e.g., a RO allocated to a specific (even or odd index) RACH slot, or an even or slot odd index RO of each RACH slot) (e.g., set to a starting RAPID+total number of RAPIDs), etc. Furthermore, the configuration may include the total number of ROs that the UE should select to repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble at a specific time to a RO (RACH occasion). Whereas, the RO reads as the time period for PRACH repetition),
wherein each time period of the at least one time period includes a set of random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) for PRACH repetition (par. 0168-0169, teaches the repetition number may configure/indicate the total number of ROs that the UE should select to repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble. Wherein, par. 0164, teaches the transmitting a PRACH preamble once at a specific time to a RO (RACH occasion) selected by a UE among the ROs determined by the PRACH configuration configured by the base station).
Regarding claim 16. Shin teaches the apparatus for wireless communication (fig. 12 and pars. 0250-0254, teaches the first device 100), comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor (fig. 12 and pars. 0250-0254, teaches the first device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and a memory 104 may store a software code including commands for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor 102 or for performing description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts included in the present disclosure) to:
obtain configuration information indicating a set of physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition numbers (pars. 0166-0170, teaches the UE may be configured with the PRACH repetition number. Wherein, pars. 0174-0176, teaches the UE may select one of a plurality of repetition numbers for repeated transmission of PRACH preamble. Thus, the configuration information must have a plurality of PRACH repetition numbers. Par. 0008, teaches physical random access channel (PRACH));
select a PRACH repetition number from the set of PRACH repetition numbers (pars. 0174-0179, teaches the UE may select one of a plurality of repetition numbers to perform PRACH preamble repetition transmission); and
determine at least one time period for PRACH repetition based on the selected PRACH repetition number (par. 0168-0169, teaches the repetition number may configure/indicate the total number of ROs that the UE should select to repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble. Wherein, par. 0164, teaches the transmitting a PRACH preamble once at a specific time to a RO (RACH occasion) selected by a UE among the ROs determined by the PRACH configuration configured by the base station. Par. 0104, teaches random access channel (RACH)),
wherein each time period of the at least one time period includes a set of random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) for PRACH repetition (par. 0168-0169, teaches the repetition number may configure/indicate the total number of ROs that the UE should select to repeatedly transmit the PRACH preamble. Wherein, par. 0164, teaches the transmitting a PRACH preamble once at a specific time to a RO (RACH occasion) selected by a UE among the ROs determined by the PRACH configuration configured by the base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250167924 hereinafter Shin) in view of Li et al. (US20190387546 hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 4. Shin teaches the apparatus for claim 1.
However, although Shin suggest each time period is at least one SSB to RO association (par. 0164, teaches the UE transmitting a PRACH preamble once at a specific time to a RO (RACH occasion) selected by a UE among the ROs determined by the PRACH configuration configured by the base station and the SSB-to-RO mapping rule), the apparatus and methods of Shin explicitly fails to disclose, each time period is at least one SSB to RO association period.
Li disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for association periods, so Li is analogous to Shin. Furthermore, Li teaches each time period is at least one SSB to RO association period (par. 0361, teaches the UE may transmit PRACH preamble in all of the UE's associated ROs within current SSB to RO association period. Wherein the language “the UE transmitting the PRACH preamble in all of the UE's associated ROs” reads as a time period for the PRACH preamble transmission. Par. 0004, teaches physical random access channel (PRACH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize each time period is at least one SSB to RO association period, as disclosed by Li with the method and apparatus of Shin. The motivations for doing so would be to improve coverage. (see Li par. 0322)
Regarding claim 19. Shin teaches the apparatus for claim 16.
However, although Shin suggest each time period is at least one SSB to RO association (par. 0164, teaches the UE transmitting a PRACH preamble once at a specific time to a RO (RACH occasion) selected by a UE among the ROs determined by the PRACH configuration configured by the base station and the SSB-to-RO mapping rule), the apparatus and methods of Shin explicitly fails to disclose, each time period is at least one SSB to RO association period.
Li disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for association periods, so Li is analogous to Shin. Furthermore, Li teaches each time period is at least one SSB to RO association period (par. 0361, teaches the UE may transmit PRACH preamble in all of the UE's associated ROs within current SSB to RO association period. Wherein the language “the UE transmitting the PRACH preamble in all of the UE's associated ROs” reads as a time period for the PRACH preamble transmission. Par. 0004, teaches physical random access channel (PRACH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize each time period is at least one SSB to RO association period, as disclosed by Li with the method and apparatus of Shin. The motivations for doing so would be to improve coverage. (see Li par. 0322)
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250167924 hereinafter Shin) in view of Deng (US20250106898).
Regarding claim 3. Shin teaches the apparatus for claim 1.
However, the apparatus and methods of Shin explicitly fails to disclose, the set of ROs for PRACH repetition are not frequency domain multiplexed (FDMed) in a same time occasion.
Deng disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PRACH repetition, so Deng is analogous to Shin. Furthermore, Deng teaches the set of ROs for PRACH repetition are not frequency domain multiplexed (FDMed) in a same time occasion (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the set of ROs for PRACH repetition and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Deng teaches the negative limitation, see at least fig. 5 and par. 0082, teaches a PRACH repetition pattern is based on time and frequency domain ROs. Wherein, the number of repetitions for PRACH is configured as 4 by the base station, then the UE repeats the PRACH with RO1, RO5, RO9, RO2 in order. Whereas, the RO1, RO5, RO9, and RO2 are FDMed in 3 different time domains. Par. 0025, Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH), par. 0044 RACH occasion (RO), and par. 0077 frequency-division multiplexing (FDM)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the set of ROs for PRACH repetition are not frequency domain multiplexed (FDMed) in a same time occasion, as disclosed by Deng with the method and apparatus of Shin. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce the possibility of failure of PRACH transmission. (see Deng par. 0070)
Regarding claim 18. Shin teaches the apparatus for claim 16.
However, the apparatus and methods of Shin explicitly fails to disclose, the set of ROs for PRACH repetition are not frequency domain multiplexed (FDMed) in a same time occasion.
Deng disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PRACH repetition, so Deng is analogous to Shin. Furthermore, Deng teaches the set of ROs for PRACH repetition are not frequency domain multiplexed (FDMed) in a same time occasion (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the set of ROs for PRACH repetition and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Deng teaches the negative limitation, see at least fig. 5 and par. 0082, teaches a PRACH repetition pattern is based on time and frequency domain ROs. Wherein, the number of repetitions for PRACH is configured as 4 by the base station, then the UE repeats the PRACH with RO1, RO5, RO9, RO2 in order. Whereas, the RO1, RO5, RO9, and RO2 are FDMed in 3 different time domains. Par. 0025, Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH), par. 0044 RACH occasion (RO), and par. 0077 frequency-division multiplexing (FDM)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the set of ROs for PRACH repetition are not frequency domain multiplexed (FDMed) in a same time occasion, as disclosed by Deng with the method and apparatus of Shin. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce the possibility of failure of PRACH transmission. (see Deng par. 0070)
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250167924 hereinafter Shin) in view of Ko et al. (US20190208550 hereinafter Ko).
Regarding claim 12. Shin teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Shin further teaches the at least one processor is configured (fig. 12 and pars. 0250-0254, teaches first device 100 may include one or more processors 102) to cause the UE to index time periods (pars. 0171-0172, teaches the UE to allocate resources for repeated transmission of PRACH preambles, which include a specific RAPID (Random access preamble ID) of each RO (e.g., a RO allocated to a specific (even or odd index) RACH slot, or an even or slot odd index RO of each RACH slot) (e.g., set to a starting RAPID+total number of RAPIDs), etc.).
However, the apparatus and methods of Shin explicitly fails to disclose, indexing time periods starting from a reference point, wherein the at least one time period is started from a time period with an index n, wherein n/M is an integer value and M is a number of the at least one time period.
Ko disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for indexing, so Ko is analogous to Shin. Furthermore, Ko teaches indexing time periods starting from a reference point, (fig. 16 and par. 0179, teaches a PRACH preamble format has a length of four symbols, a time slot includes four PRACH occasions, and a start symbol index is set 2. Wherein, the a start symbol index reads as indexing time periods starting from a reference point
wherein the at least one time period is started from a time period with an index n, (fig. 16 and par. 0179, teaches a start symbol index is set 2 and a time slot includes four PRACH occasions. Whereas, par. 0175, teaches the UE should be able to derive valid PRACH symbols based on a signaled PRACH preamble format and the start symbol index of a PRACH slot specified for all cells. Thus, the UE would obviously start the time slot that includes four PRACH occasions at the start symbol index which is set at 2)
wherein n/M is an integer value and M is a number of the at least one time period (fig. 16 and pars. 0179-0190, teaches a time slot includes four PRACH occasions. Whereas, if a time slot is started at index symbol 2 and contains 4 PRACH occasions, 2/4 is a number of the at least one time period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize indexing time periods starting from a reference point, wherein the at least one time period is started from a time period with an index n, wherein n/M is an integer value and M is a number of the at least one time period, as disclosed by Ko with the method and apparatus of Shin. The motivations for doing so would be to improve PRACH transmission performance. (see Ko par. 0117)
Regarding claim 13. Shin teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Shin further teaches the at least one processor is configured (fig. 12 and pars. 0250-0254, teaches first device 100 may include one or more processors 102) to cause the UE to: index… time periods (pars. 0171-0172, teaches the UE to allocate resources for repeated transmission of PRACH preambles, which include a specific RAPID (Random access preamble ID) of each RO (e.g., a RO allocated to a specific (even or odd index) RACH slot, or an even or slot odd index RO of each RACH slot) (e.g., set to a starting RAPID+total number of RAPIDs), etc.).
However, the apparatus and methods of Shin explicitly fails to disclose, dividing time periods starting from a reference point into one or more groups, each group includes M consecutive time periods, wherein M is a number of the at least one time period; and index the one or more groups, wherein at least one time period is in a group of the one or more groups.
Ko further teaches dividing time periods starting from a reference point into one or more groups (fig. 16 and pars. 0179-0180, teaches a PRACH preamble format has a length of four symbols, a time slot includes four PRACH occasions, and a start symbol index is set 2. Wherein, par. 0175, teaches the UE should be able to derive valid PRACH symbols based on a signaled PRACH preamble format and the start symbol index of a PRACH slot specified for all cells. Whereas, the four PRACH occasions within a time slot starting at index symbol 2 reads as dividing time periods starting from a reference point into one or more groups),
each group includes M consecutive time periods, wherein M is a number of the at least one time period (fig. 16 and pars. 0175-0180, teaches a PRACH preamble format has a length of four symbols, a time slot includes four PRACH occasions, and a start symbol index is set 2. Wherein, each time slot comprising four PRACH occasions reads as each group includes M consecutive time periods, wherein M is a number of the at least one time period); and
index the one or more groups, wherein at least one time period is in a group of the one or more groups (fig. 16 and pars. 0179-0180, teaches a PRACH preamble format has a length of four symbols, a time slot includes four PRACH occasions, and a start symbol index is set 2. Wherein, pars. 0175-0178, teaches the UE should be able to derive valid PRACH symbols based on a signaled PRACH preamble format and the start symbol index of a PRACH slot specified for all cells. Thus, the UE would index one or more time slots containing four PRACH occasions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize dividing time periods starting from a reference point into one or more groups, each group includes M consecutive time periods, wherein M is a number of the at least one time period; and index the one or more groups, wherein at least one time period is in a group of the one or more groups, as disclosed by Ko with the method and apparatus of Shin. The motivations for doing so would be to improve PRACH transmission performance. (see Ko par. 0117)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-9, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474