DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, 15, 18, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2024/0154745, “Lee”) in view of Wang (US 2025/0142551, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method for codebook transmission, performed by a terminal, the method comprising:
- determining a configured group-radio network temporary identity (G-RNTI) (See Fig.9, receiving ‘Group common DCI for G-RNTI’; See ¶.236, UE determines one or more TCI states indicated by group common MAC CE among all TCI states, associated to the G-RNTI, configured by the RRC message);
- generating a codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI (See Fig.9, UE generates HARQ-ACK on PUCCH with TCI state; See ¶.223, HARQ-ACK codebook can be configured; Examiner’s Note: Wang discloses “a codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI”);
- obtaining a target codebook by carrying out a bundling operation according to bits in the codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI (See ¶.158, a UE desiring to transmit a HARQ-ACK response through spatial bundling may generate a HARQ-ACK response by performing (bit-wise) logical AND operation on ACK/NACK (A/N) bits for a plurality of TBs); and
- sending the target codebook to a network device (See Fig.9, UE sends HARQ-ACK on PUCCH to a network node).
Lee does not explicitly disclose what Wang discloses “generating a codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI (Wang, See ¶.58, when the base station schedules codebook feedback that supports multicasting, the quantity OACK of bits of the HARQ-ACK codebook fed back by the UE on a PUCCH is equal to a sum of the quantity of bits of a unicasting HARQ sub-codebook and the quantity of bits of a multicasting HARQ sub-codebook. OACK(G-RNIT) represents a length of a sub-codebook corresponding to G-RNTI(i)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of “generating a codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI” as taught by Wang into the system of scheduling codebook feedback fed back by the UE on a PUCCH (Wang, See ¶.58).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses “the bundling operation comprises a logical AND operation (See ¶.158, logical AND operation).”
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses “obtaining the target codebook by carrying out a bundling operation on corresponding bits in at least two of the codebooks (See ¶.159, a logical AND operation on the first bit and second bit; See ¶.138, two codewords).”
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses “determining, in response to different numbers of bits comprised in at least two of the codebooks, a first codebook comprising a greatest number of bits; and adding to bits comprised in other codebooks according to a number of bits in the first codebook, wherein an added bit is configured to indicate a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) (See ¶.140, HARQ; It is a response to a downlink data packet (e.g., codeword) on the PDSCH, and indicates whether the downlink data packet has been successfully received. 1 bit of HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in response to a single codeword, and 2 bits of HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in response to two codewords. The HARQ-ACK response includes positive ACK, NACK, DTX or NACK/DTX. Here, HARQ-ACK may be called as HARQ ACK/NACK and ACK/NACK).”
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not explicitly disclose what Wang discloses “receiving a first indication sent by the network device; and determining, according to the first indication, a codebook to undergo the bundling operation in the codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI (Wang, See ¶.39, the control parameter for power control over the PUCCH is determined in accordance with the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK for HARQ-ACK bundling when a plurality of PDSCHs is scheduled through one piece of DCI; See ¶.117, when two-codeword transmission is configured by the base station, HARQ-ACK information for TB1 and TB2 are bundled to one HARQ-ACK bit through a bit AND operation. For example, a parameter HARQ-ACK Spatial Bundling PUCCH is configured by the base station; See ¶.58, codebook corresponding to G-RNTI(i)).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses “receiving a third indication sent by the network device; and determining, according to the third indication, whether to carry out the bundling operation on the bits in the codebook (See ¶.159, assuming that the UE receives DCI for scheduling 2-TB and receives 2-TB through the PDSCH based on the DCI. If spatial bundling is performed, a single A/N bit may be generated by performing a logical AND operation on the first A/N bit for the first TB and the second A/N bit for the second TB).”
Regarding claim 9, Lee and Wang disclose “determining a codebook corresponding to a unicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); wherein the obtaining the target codebook by carrying out the bundling operation according to bits in the codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI comprises (Lee, See Fig.8, PDSCH for G-RNTI): obtaining the target codebook by carrying out a bundling operation on bits in the codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI (Wang, See ¶.58, codebook corresponding to G-RNTI) and bits in the codebook corresponding to the unicast PDSCH (Lee, See Fig.11 and ¶.312, unicast PDSCH).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses “receiving retransmission scheduling information sent by the network device; and ignoring the retransmission scheduling information in response to determining that a PDSCH scheduled by the retransmission scheduling information is successfully decoded (See Fig.8 and ¶.27, FIG. 8 illustrates Activation and retransmission of group common SPS configuration according to an embodiment of the present disclosure; See ¶.172, These SPS resources are used for initial HARQ transmission, and the BS may allocate retransmission resources of a specific SPS configuration index through DCI of the UE-dedicated PDCCH. For example, if the UE reports a NACK for the SPS resource, the BS allocates the retransmission resource to DCI so that the UE can receive the DL retransmission; See ¶.309, if decoding the TB on the PDSCH transmission occasion is successful, UE sends HARQ ACK to BS on a PUCCH resource in the configured UL CFR according to PUCCH configuration received by the RRC message, and PUCCH resource indicator and PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator received by the retransmission DCI).”
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses a method for reception and determination, performed by a network device, the method comprising:
- receiving a target codebook sent by a terminal, wherein the target codebook is obtained by carrying out a bundling operation according to bits in a codebook corresponding to at least one G-RNTI (As rejected in claim 1); and
- determining, according to bits in the target codebook, whether the terminal successfully decodes a PDSCH candidate corresponding to each bit in the codebook corresponding to the at least one G-RNTI (See ¶.304, if decoding the TB on the PDSCH transmission occasion is unsuccessful, UE sends NACK to BS on a PUCCH resource in the configured UL CFR according to PUCCH configuration received by the RRC message, and PUCCH resource indicator and PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator received by the retransmission DCI. The PUCCH is transmitted with the TCI state that is indicated by the DCI, or equal to the TCI state of the CORESET where the DCI was received, or equal to the TCI state of the PDSCH transmission; See ¶.309, if decoding the TB on the PDSCH transmission occasion is successful, UE sends HARQ ACK to BS on a PUCCH resource in the configured UL CFR according to PUCCH configuration received by the RRC message, and PUCCH resource indicator and PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator received by the retransmission DCI).
Lee does not explicitly disclose what Wang discloses “generating a codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI (Wang, As rejected in claim 1).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, it is a claim corresponding to the claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses “wherein the target codebook is obtained by carrying out a bundling operation on corresponding bits in at least two codebooks (See ¶.158, bundling logical AND operation; See ¶.138, two codewords); and the determining, according to bits in the target codebook, whether the terminal successfully decodes the PDSCH candidate corresponding to each bit in the codebook corresponding to the at least one G-RNTI comprises: determining, according to the bits in the target codebook, whether the terminal successfully decodes PDSCH candidates corresponding to corresponding bits in the at least two codebooks (See ¶.308-309, If UE successfully decodes the TB on the PDSCH, UE considers that the decoded TB is associated to MTCH, MRB, TMGI, G-RNTI and/or short ID of the MBS service, based on mapping between MBS services and HPNs (HARQ Process Numbers) indicated by the DCI, and/or mapping between MBS services and, if available, short ID(s) indicated by the DCI. [0309] If decoding the TB on the PDSCH transmission occasion is successful, UE sends HARQ ACK to BS on a PUCCH resource in the configured UL CFR according to PUCCH configuration received by the RRC message, and PUCCH resource indicator and PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator received by the retransmission DCI).”
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses “wherein the target codebook is obtained by carrying out a bundling operation on at least two bits located in the same codebook (See ¶.163, same codewords), and the determining, according to bits in the target codebook, whether the terminal successfully decodes the PDSCH candidate corresponding to each bit in the codebook corresponding to the at least one G-RNTI comprises: determining, according to the bits in the target codebook, whether the terminal successfully decodes PDSCH candidates corresponding to at least two bits in at least one codebook (See ¶.308-309, If UE successfully decodes the TB on the PDSCH, UE considers that the decoded TB is associated to MTCH, MRB, TMGI, G-RNTI and/or short ID of the MBS service, based on mapping between MBS services and HPNs (HARQ Process Numbers) indicated by the DCI, and/or mapping between MBS services and, if available, short ID(s) indicated by the DCI. [0309] If decoding the TB on the PDSCH transmission occasion is successful, UE sends HARQ ACK to BS on a PUCCH resource in the configured UL CFR according to PUCCH configuration received by the RRC message, and PUCCH resource indicator and PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator received by the retransmission DCI).”
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses “wherein the target codebook is obtained by carrying out a bundling operation on the bits in the codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI and bits in a codebook corresponding to a unicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (See ¶.5, a unicast PDSCH); and the determining, according to bits in the target codebook, whether the terminal successfully decodes the PDSCH candidate corresponding to each bit in the codebook corresponding to the at least one G-RNTI comprises (¶.308-309, If UE successfully decodes the TB on the PDSCH): determining, according to the bits in the target codebook, whether the terminal successfully decodes PDSCH candidates corresponding to the bits in the codebook corresponding to the G-RNTI (See Fig.9, PDSCH for G-RNTI) and bits in a codebook corresponding to the unicast PDSCH (See ¶.316, a unicast PDSCH scheduled by the unicast DCI).”
Regarding claim 22, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations “one or more processors and a memory (See Fig.14)” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 23, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 11, except the limitations “one or more processors and a memory (See Fig.14)” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 24, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the method claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 25, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the method claim 11 and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2024/0349266, “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee and Wang do not explicitly disclose what Zhang discloses “obtaining the target codebook by carrying out a bundling operation on at least two bits located in the same codebook (Zhang, See ¶.88, if higher layer parameter priority Indicator DCI-1-1 is configured, if the bit width of the CBG transmission information in DCI format 1_1 for one HARQ-ACK codebook is not equal to that of the CBG transmission information in DCI format 1_1 for the other HARQ-ACK codebook, a number of most significant bits with value set to ‘0’ are inserted to smaller CBG transmission information until the bit width of the CBG transmission information in DCI format 1_1 for the two HARQ-ACK codebooks are the same).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of “obtaining the target codebook by carrying out a bundling operation on at least two bits located in the same codebook” as taught by Zhang into the system of Lee, and Wang, so that it provides a way of making the two HARQ-ACK codebooks to be same (Zhang, See ¶.90).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses “receiving a second indication sent by the network device; and determining, according to the second indication, a number of bits to undergo the bundling operation (See ¶.277, tci-PresentDCI-1-2: Configures the number of bits for “Transmission configuration indicator” in DCI format 1_2. When the field is absent the UE applies the value of 0 bit for the “Transmission configuration indicator” in DCI format 1_2).”
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang and further in view of Lei (US 2024/0163027, “Lei”).
Regarding claim 19, Lee and Lei disclose “sending retransmission scheduling information to the terminal in response to determining that the terminal does not successfully decode a PDSCH candidate corresponding to a first bit in the codebook corresponding to the at least one G-RNTI for scheduling PDSCH retransmission on the PDSCH candidate (Lee, See ¶.304, if decoding the TB on the PDSCH transmission occasion is unsuccessful, UE sends NACK to BS on a PUCCH resource) corresponding to the first bit (Lei, See ¶.51, assuming that there are N HARQ-ACK information bits for N PDSCHs (without considering the code block group (CBG) based retransmission and maximum two transport blocks (TBs) per PDSCH), and the first NACK bit is located at the nth bit of the N HARQ-ACK information bits, the PUCCH resource associated with the nth PDSCH may be used for transmitting a NACK to the BS).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of “PDSCH candidate corresponding to the first bit” as taught by Lei into the system of Lee and Wang, so that it provides a way for the nth PDSCH to be used for transmitting a NACK to the BS (Lei, See ¶.51).
Contact Information
/JUNG H PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411