DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/6/26 and 8/23/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 2, it appears that the word “excludes” should instead be “includes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 2025/0063456) (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Hwang et al. (U.S. 2020/0077314) (hereinafter “Hwang”) cited in Applicant’s submitted IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a UE in Figure 12 that includes processors 1210 and 1220 coupled to a storage 1230 (memory) as spoken of on page 10, paragraphs [0220], [0226], and [0227]; where the aerial UE 405 transmits a measurement report to a gNB 410 that reports measurement results according to received cell measurement configuration information as shown in steps 440 and 445 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0070]; and where the aerial UE 405 further transmits flight path information (flight path available information) to the gNB 410 using a UEInformationResponse message (at least one message) upon receiving a request for flight path information (condition being met) as shown in steps 450 and 455 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0071].
While Kim further teaches where configured event(s) are evaluated to determine whether to trigger measurement reporting as shown in steps 725, 730, and 735 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0182], Kim does not explicitly teach “transmit a measurement report when a cell number of a locally maintained cell list is equal to or less than a report on leave threshold due to removal of at least one neighbor cell fulfilling a leave condition from the locally maintained cell list, wherein the UE is enabled with report on leave for multi-cell trigger”.
However, Hwang teaches a method for measurement report event operation and network signaling in UE autonomous handover where if a leaving condition for a corresponding set event (report on leave threshold) is met, a terminal 110 (UE) transmits a measurement report for the corresponding event to the serving base station 120; and if the terminal 110 receives, from the serving base station 120, confirmation signaling by which the ID of a cell (e.g. neighbor cell) meeting the event is deleted from the candidate target cell list (cell number equal to or less than), the terminal deletes the ID of the cell meeting the leaving condition and decreases the m value by 1 as shown in steps 237 and 240 of Figure 2A and spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0048].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the triggering of measurement reporting in the event of a leaving condition being met as taught in Hwang to the measurement reporting process of Kim in order to improve the conditional handover process by providing accurate measurement reports that indicate candidate target cells that satisfy particular connection quality values as spoken of on page 3, paragraphs [0042], [0046], and [0048] of Hwang.
Regarding claim 2, Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the report on leave threshold is configured or preconfigured, and the report on leave threshold is different from or the same as a configured or preconfigured report on entry threshold for report on entry”.
However, Hwang teaches a method for measurement report event operation and network signaling in UE autonomous handover where a leaving condition as well as an entering condition are evaluated in relation to a candidate target cell list as spoken of on page 3, paragraphs [0047] and [0048].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the triggering of measurement reporting in the event of a leaving/entering condition being met as taught in Hwang to the measurement reporting process of Kim in order to improve the conditional handover process by providing accurate measurement reports that indicate candidate target cells that satisfy particular connection quality values as spoken of on page 3, paragraphs [0042], [0046], and [0048] of Hwang.
Regarding claim 3, Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein, when at least one neighbor cell fulfills the leave condition, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: check the cell number of the local maintained cell list; in response to that the cell number of the local maintained cell list being equal to or less than the report on leave threshold, remove the at least one neighbor cell from the local maintained cell list; or in response to that the cell number of the local maintained cell list being greater than the report on leave threshold: remove the at least one neighbor cell from the local maintained cell list; check the cell number of the local maintained cell list after the removal of the at least one neighbor cell; and transmit the measurement report when the cell number of the local maintained cell list is equal to or less than the report on leave threshold”.
However, Hwang teaches a method for measurement report event operation and network signaling in UE autonomous handover where a leaving condition as well as an entering condition are evaluated in relation to a candidate target cell list; where if the terminal 110 receives, from the serving base station 120, confirmation signaling by which the ID of a cell meeting the entering/leaving condition is included in/deleted from the candidate target cell list, the terminal 110 increases/decreases an m value by 1 in accordance with the candidate target cell list as spoken of on page 3, paragraphs [0047]-[0048].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the triggering of measurement reporting in the event of a leaving/entering condition being met as taught in Hwang to the measurement reporting process of Kim in order to improve the conditional handover process by providing accurate measurement reports that indicate candidate target cells that satisfy particular connection quality values as spoken of on page 3, paragraphs [0042], [0046], and [0048] of Hwang.
Regarding claim 4, Kim further teaches where the NR UE 115 that accesses an external network through a gNB 110 (eNB) and a NR core network AMF 105 (EPC) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0033]; and where the aerial UE may transmit an RRCSetupComplete message (at least one message) including an indicator indicating that there is expected flight path information thereof to the base station as shown in step 515 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0125].
Regarding claim 5, Kim further teaches where the NR UE 115 that accesses an external network through a gNB 110 and a NR core network AMF 105 (EPC) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0033]; and where the aerial UE receives a RRCReconfiguration message including cell measurement configuration information (mobility related configuration information) from the base station as shown in step 525 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0127].
Regarding claim 6, Kim further teaches where the aerial UE receives an RRCReconfiguration message including configuration information of condition-based handover from the base station as shown in step 545 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0131]; and where a UE 115 that supports LTE-NR dual connectivity may transmit and receive data while maintaining connection to not only the gNB 110 but also the eNB 130 as shown in Figure 1 and spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0035].
Regarding claim 9, Kim further teaches where the aerial UE receives an RRCReconfiguration message including configuration information of condition-based handover (mobility related configuration information) from the base station as shown in step 545 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0131]; and where the aerial UE evaluates whether conditions included in the configuration information are satisfied, and executes handover to one target cell satisfying the above conditions as shown in steps 550 and 555 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 7, paragraphs [0132]-[0133].
Regarding claim 11, Kim further teaches where the NR UE 115 that accesses an external network through a gNB 110 (eNB) and a NR core network AMF 105 (EPC) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0033]; and where the base station 410 that has received an RRCResumeRequest message from the aerial UE 405 transmits in response a RRCResume message to the UE 405 as shown in steps 425 and 427 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraphs [0066]-[0067].
Regarding claim 12, Kim further teaches where V2X is a service utilized in 5G mobile communication technology as spoken of on page 1, paragraph [0004].
Regarding claim 13, Kim further teaches where the aerial UE 705 detects distance information D1, D2, D3, D4 of a serving cell in relation to (different from) neighboring cells as spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0160]-[0178]; and where the aerial UE 405 may transmit an indicator indicating that the aerial UE 405 has predetermined flight path information, and an RRCSetupComplete or RRCResumeComplete message including a flightPathInfoAvailable field to the base station as shown in step 430 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0068].
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a UE in Figure 12 that includes processors 1210 and 1220 coupled to a storage 1230 (memory) as spoken of on page 10, paragraphs [0220], [0226], and [0227]; where the aerial UE 405 transmits a measurement report to a gNB 410 that reports measurement results according to received cell measurement configuration information as shown in steps 440 and 445 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0070]; and where the aerial UE 405 further transmits flight path information (flight path available information) to the gNB 410 using a UEInformationResponse message (at least one message) upon receiving a request for flight path information (condition being met) as shown in steps 450 and 455 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0071].
While Kim further teaches where configured event(s) are evaluated to determine whether to trigger measurement reporting as shown in steps 725, 730, and 735 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0182], Kim does not explicitly teach “transmitting a measurement report in response to a cell number of a locally maintained cell list is equal to a report on leave threshold after removing at least one neighbor cell fulfilling a leave condition from the locally maintained cell list, wherein the UE is enabled with report on leave for multi-cell trigger”.
However, Hwang teaches a method for measurement report event operation and network signaling in UE autonomous handover where if a leaving condition for a corresponding set event (report on leave threshold) is met, a terminal 110 (UE) transmits a measurement report for the corresponding event to the serving base station 120; and if the terminal 110 receives, from the serving base station 120, confirmation signaling by which the ID of a cell (e.g. neighbor cell) meeting the event is deleted from the candidate target cell list (cell number equal to or less than), the terminal deletes the ID of the cell meeting the leaving condition and decreases the m value by 1 as shown in steps 237 and 240 of Figure 2A and spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0048].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the triggering of measurement reporting in the event of a leaving condition being met as taught in Hwang to the measurement reporting process of Kim in order to improve the conditional handover process by providing accurate measurement reports that indicate candidate target cells that satisfy particular connection quality values as spoken of on page 3, paragraphs [0042], [0046], and [0048] of Hwang.
Regarding claim 16, Kim further teaches where the NR UE 115 that accesses an external network through a gNB 110 and a NR core network AMF 105 (EPC) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0033]; and where the aerial UE receives a RRCReconfiguration message including cell measurement configuration information (mobility related configuration information) from the base station as shown in step 525 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0127].
Regarding claim 17, Kim further teaches where the NR UE 115 that accesses an external network through a gNB 110 (eNB) and a NR core network AMF 105 (EPC) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0033]; and where the aerial UE may transmit an RRCSetupComplete message (at least one message) including an indicator indicating that there is expected flight path information thereof to the base station as shown in step 515 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0125].
Regarding claim 18, Kim further teaches where the NR UE 115 that accesses an external network through a gNB 110 (eNB) and a NR core network AMF 105 (EPC) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0033]; and where the base station 410 that has received an RRCResumeRequest message from the aerial UE 405 transmits in response a RRCResume message to the UE 405 as shown in steps 425 and 427 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraphs [0066]-[0067].
Regarding claim 19, Kim further teaches where the aerial UE 705 detects distance information D1, D2, D3, D4 of a serving cell in relation to (different from) neighboring cells as spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0160]-[0178]; and where the aerial UE 405 may transmit an indicator indicating that the aerial UE 405 has predetermined flight path information, and an RRCSetupComplete or RRCResumeComplete message including a flightPathInfoAvailable field to the base station as shown in step 430 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0068].
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a UE (processor) in Figure 12 that includes processors 1210 and 1220 coupled to a storage 1230 (memory) and controller 1240 as spoken of on page 10, paragraphs [0220], [0226], and [0227]; where the aerial UE 405 transmits a measurement report to a gNB 410 that reports measurement results according to received cell measurement configuration information as shown in steps 440 and 445 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0070]; and where the aerial UE 405 further transmits flight path information (flight path available information) to the gNB 410 using a UEInformationResponse message (at least one message) upon receiving a request for flight path information (condition being met) as shown in steps 450 and 455 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0071].
While Kim further teaches where configured event(s) are evaluated to determine whether to trigger measurement reporting as shown in steps 725, 730, and 735 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0182], Kim does not explicitly teach “transmit a measurement report when a cell number of a locally maintained cell list is equal to or less than a report on leave threshold due to removal of at least one neighbor cell fulfilling a leave condition from the locally maintained cell list, wherein the processor is enabled with report on leave for multi-cell trigger”.
However, Hwang teaches a method for measurement report event operation and network signaling in UE autonomous handover where if a leaving condition for a corresponding set event (report on leave threshold) is met, a terminal 110 (UE) transmits a measurement report for the corresponding event to the serving base station 120; and if the terminal 110 receives, from the serving base station 120, confirmation signaling by which the ID of a cell (e.g. neighbor cell) meeting the event is deleted from the candidate target cell list (cell number equal to or less than), the terminal deletes the ID of the cell meeting the leaving condition and decreases the m value by 1 as shown in steps 237 and 240 of Figure 2A and spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0048].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the triggering of measurement reporting in the event of a leaving condition being met as taught in Hwang to the measurement reporting process of Kim in order to improve the conditional handover process by providing accurate measurement reports that indicate candidate target cells that satisfy particular connection quality values as spoken of on page 3, paragraphs [0042], [0046], and [0048] of Hwang.
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hwang and Rugeland et al. (U.S. 12,471,180) (hereinafter “Rugeland”).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Kim in view of Hwang teaches claim 6 as described above. Kim in view of Hwang does not explicitly teach “wherein the at least one message is an RRC reconfiguration complete message transmitted to the gNB via the eNB, and wherein the at least one message is embedded in an E-UTRAN RRC connection reconfiguration complete message transmitted to the eNB” or “wherein the at least one message is an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) RRC message transmitted to the eNB”.
However, Rugeland teaches a method and system for conditional handover from a first cell to a second cell in a wireless communications network, where if an RRCReconfiguration is received via SRB1, an RRCReconfigurationComplete message is submitted via an E-UTRA MCG embedded in an E-UTRA RRC message RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete as spoken of on column 36, lines 53-57.
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of E-UTRA RRC reconfiguration messaging as taught in Rugeland to the flight path notification process of Kim in order to provide effective RRC messaging in accordance with technical standard TS 36.331 [10] as spoken of on column 36, lines 53-57 of Rugeland.
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Hwang teaches claim 5 as described above. Kim in view of Hwang does not explicitly teach “wherein the preconfigured or configured condition further includes: the mobility related configuration information indicating that the RRC reconfiguration message is received via signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) instead of SRB3, and the at least one message is an RRC reconfiguration complete message”.
However, Rugeland teaches a method and system for conditional handover from a first cell to a second cell in a wireless communications network, where if an RRCReconfiguration is received via SRB1, an RRCReconfigurationComplete message is submitted via an E-UTRA MCG embedded in an E-UTRA RRC message RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete as spoken of on column 36, lines 53-57, as well as column 37, lines 5-11.
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of E-UTRA RRC reconfiguration messaging as taught in Rugeland to the flight path notification process of Kim in order to provide effective RRC messaging in accordance with technical standard TS 36.331 [10] as spoken of on column 36, lines 53-57 of Rugeland.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hwang and Phuyal et al. (U.S. 2022/0386208) (hereinafter “Phuyal”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Hwang teaches claim 1 as described above. Kim in view of Hwang does not explicitly teach “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit with the wireless transceiver, flight path change information in the at least one message in response to the flight path information being changed since the last report of the flight path information”.
However, Phuyal teaches a method and system for signaling enhancements for aerial operation where flight path associated with a UE may be updated based on one or more events or conditions (e.g. flight path information change since last report), where a target base station may receive updated flight path information (flight path change information) directly or indirectly from the UE as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0032].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the transmission of updated flight path information as taught in Phuyal to the flight path notification process of Kim in order to facilitate proactive optimization of the handover of a UE between base stations, thereby more efficiently utilizing network resources as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0032] of Phuyal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467