Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, 18-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US Pub. 2023/0244510 A1, hereinafter "Shi"), in view of CN111381739A).
Claim 1: Shi teaches A window display method, applied to an electronic device, the method comprising:
displaying a first interface, wherein the first interface comprises page content corresponding to a first task of a first application (“Shi”, Fig. 6, [0057], [0060], news application full-screen as Task A);
receiving a first preset operation; in response to the first preset operation, creating a second task of a second application, displaying an embedded window at an upper layer of the first interface, and skipping interrupting execution of the first task, wherein the embedded window comprises page content corresponding to the second task of the second application (“Shi”, Figs. 6-12, [0056]-[0057], [0060], when a task A triggers a task jump for task B, a floating widow interface e.g., 600 (embedded window) is invoked and task B is started).
However, Shi does not teach the following feature, taught by CN111381739A who teaches receiving a second preset operation; and in response to the second preset operation, canceling display of the embedded window, and restoring display of the page content corresponding to the first task of the first application (“CN111381739A”, pages 9-10, close the floating window, the area of the first interface blocked by the floating window is exposed, and the first interface can be displayed full-screen).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window task start method to include the close/cancel operation of CN111381739A because both references teach GUI floating window display electronic devices. The modification would predictably add a close/dismiss control to Shi’s floating window to improve user convenience and allow the user to return to the first task interface.
Claim 14: Shi, CN111381739A, and He teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first application comprises an application that supports video or audio content play, and the electronic device keeps the first application playing a video or audio in a process in which the electronic device displays the embedded window (“Shi”, Fig. 5, [0054]-[0055], [0062]).
Claim 18: Shi and CN111381739A teach the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the first preset operation comprises: receiving a double-tap operation on a back of the electronic device (“CN111381739A”, page 8, double-click/double tap operation).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window task start method to include double-tap operation of CN111381739A. The modification would have been a predictable variation providing convenient shortcut activation without requiring interaction with the front display.
Claim 19: claim 19 is directed to an electronic device for implementing the method steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20: claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for implementing the method steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 22: Shi and CN111381739A teach the method of claim 1, wherein the embedded window is not a window of the second application, and the embedded window is an independent window provided by a system on the electronic device (“Shi”, Fig. 6, [0056]-[0058]).
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US Pub. 2023/0244510 A1, hereinafter "Shi"), in view of CN111381739A), and further in view of He et al. (US 2024/0086035 A1, hereinafter “He”).
Claim 2: Shi and CN111381739A teach the method of claim 1, wherein the page content corresponding to the second task of the second application is displayed in a first area of the embedded window, the embedded window further comprises at the upper layer of the first interface (“Shi”, Figs. 6-12, [0056]-[0057], [0060], task B of application B displayed in floating window A; Fig. 12 step 1252).
However, Shi in view of CN111381739A does not teach the following feature, taught by He who teaches the embedded window further comprises a second area, the following are further displayed in the second area of the embedded window: a first icon corresponding to the second task, and a second icon corresponding to a third task, wherein the first icon is in a selected state, and the second icon is in an unselected state (“He”, Fig. 3(c)-3(e), [0130]-[0135], floating window interface 320 having two different areas 321-322; selected icon e.g., 332 is highlighted indicating selected state [0017]-[0018], [0290]).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window along with CN111381739A to include He’s task selection/tittle bar area so that a user could identify the task currently displayed in the floating window. The modification represents a predictable combination of known GUI task selection techniques to improve navigation and provide a visual indication of which task is currently active.
Claim 3: Shi, CN111381739A, and He teach the method of claim 2, However, Shi in view of CN111381739A does not teach the following feature, taught by He who teaches wherein before the receiving the second preset operation, the method further comprises: receiving, in the embedded window, a third preset operation for switching the second task to the third task; and in response to the third preset operation, displaying interface content corresponding to the third task in the first area of the embedded window, and displaying the first icon and the second icon in the second area of the embedded window, wherein the first icon is in the unselected state, and the second icon is in the selected state (“He”, Fig. 3(c)-3(e), [0130]-[0135], describes highlighted and non-highlighted states that reverse when the user switches between interfaces, [0017]-[0018], [0290]).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window along with CN111381739A to include He’s task selection/tittle bar area so that a user could identify the task currently displayed in the floating window. The modification represents a predictable combination of known GUI task selection techniques to improve navigation and provide a visual indication of which task is currently active.
Claim 4: Shi, CN111381739A, and He teach the method of according to claim 3, wherein after the displaying the interface content corresponding to the third task in the first area of the embedded window (“Shi”, Figs. 6-12, [0056]-[0057], [0060], display task content in a floating/embedded window), the method further comprises:
receiving a swipe-up operation in the first area of the embedded window;
in response to the swipe-up operation, displaying other content of the application interface (“CN111381739A”, page 10, receiving a sliding operation within the floating window and according to the direction of the direction of the sliding window, displaying other content of the application interface).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window task start method to employ the disclosed direction slide of CN111381739A. The modification would predictably directional implementations of the disclosed sliding operation.
However, Shi and CN111381739A do not explicitly teach in response to the swipe-up operation, displaying a first button in the first area of the embedded window.
He explicitly teaches displaying a first button in the first area of the embedded window; and in response to a trigger operation on the first button is received, displaying page content, associated with the first button, of the third task in the first area of the embedded window (“He”, [0176], Figs. 7(c)-7(d), when the user clicks comment control 438, the device displays the GUI of Fig. 7(d)).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window task start method to employ the disclosed direction slide of CN111381739A with He actionable control/page technique. The modification would predictably improving access to additional functions within the limited display area of a floating window.
Claim 5: Shi, CN111381739A, and He teach the method of claim 4, wherein the page content, associated with the first button, of the third task comprises a second button, and the method further comprises: in response to a trigger operation on the second button, restoring display of the page content corresponding to the first task in the first area of the embedded window (“He”, [0176]-[0177], Figs. 7(c)-7(d), interface 440 having a close control for closing interface 440, control 438 corresponds to the claimed first button, and the close control associated with label 443 corresponding to the claimed second button).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window task start method to employ the disclosed direction slide of CN111381739A with He actionable control/page technique. The modification would predictably improving access to additional functions within the limited display area of a floating window.
Claim 6: Shi, CN111381739A, and He teach the method of claim 2, wherein the third task is a task of the first application, a task of the second application, or a task of a third application (“Shi”, Figs. 6-12, [0065]-[0067], different tasks may belong to the same application or different applications).
Claim 7: Shi, CN111381739A, and He teach the method of claim 1, wherein the page content corresponding to the second task of the second application comprises a third button, and the method further comprises:
in response to when a trigger on the third button, displaying an input box in the embedded window; in response to a trigger on the input box, displaying a keyboard; and
displaying, in the input box, input content received by the keyboard (“He”, [0176]-[0177], Figs. 7(c)-7(d), e.g., comment input box).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window task start method to employ the disclosed direction slide of CN111381739A with He comment control input box. The modification would predictable for facilitating user interaction within the floating window application.
Claim 8: Shi, CN111381739A, and He teach the method of claim 1, wherein after the displaying the embedded window at the upper layer of the first interface, the method further comprises: receiving a notification message; and keeping displaying the embedded window, and displaying the notification message in a form of a capsule or a banner at an upper layer of the embedded window (“He”, Fig. 3(c), [0109], [0124]-[0128], the top graphical notification reasonably corresponds to the claimed banner).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi’s floating window as modified by CN111381739A to incorporate He’s system notification mechanism. The modification thereby allowing the user to receive notification information without interrupting the ongoing floating window task.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Point of Contact
/PHUONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174