Detailed Office Action
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for FR2202370 filed 03/17/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) are:
“a handling device…being pivotable” in Claims 1,8, and 15 is being interpreted as a generic fork device
“a control body that can be operated” in Claims 1,8, and 15 is being interpreted as a generic joystick
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rockwood et al (US 6374147 B1) in view of Adsett et al (US 6226582 B1), Hand et al (US 20120152575 A1), and Fredrickson et al (US 20220195697 A1). Hereafter referred to as Rockwood, Adsett, Hand, and Fredrickson respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Rockwood teaches a handling machine (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52] reference to FIG. 1, an illustration of a telescopic material handler 100 is shown)
comprising:
a chassis (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52] The telescopic material handler 100 includes a machine frame 130 which can be driven on wheels 120a, 120b or other ground-engaging supports, such as tracks)
a telescopic lifting arm carried by the chassis (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52] the telescopic material handler 100 further includes a boom 160 having a first end portion 162 and a second end portion 164. The boom 160 is pivotally connected to the frame 130 at the first end portion 162 of the boom 160)
the telescopic lifting arm including first and second arm segments that can be shifted slidingly in relation to one another, the telescopic lifting arm being mounted pivotably in relation to the chassis between a low position and a high position (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52] The boom 160 includes a telescopic member 170 movable between a fully retracted length and a fully extended length. A load-engaging member 180 is pivotally connected to the telescopic member 170 at the second end portion 164 of the boom 160)
a handling device mounted at one end of the telescopic lifting arm, the handling device being pivotable in relation to the telescopic lifting arm between a discharged position and a pick-up position (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52 and C3 L9-20] the load-engaging member 180 includes a fork 180. However, other kinds and types of load-engaging members 180 may be used, such as a bucket or other material handling device...forward and backward movement of the joystick 270 along a second axis (y axis) perpendicular to the first axis, provides linear vertical motion of the load-engaging member 180 at the pivoted connection 164)
a processing unit configured to control pivoting of the telescopic lifting arm, sliding of the second arm segment, and the pivoting of the handling device (see at least Rockwood [C3 L45-L50 and C3 L9-L21] the control system 240 includes a processor 250, and both read only and random access memory. The processor 250 receives and processes the boom angle signal, the boom length signal, and the inclination signal, as well as the desired boom velocity signal provided by the input device 270…forward and backward movement of the joystick 270 along a second axis (y axis) perpendicular to the first axis, provides linear vertical motion of the load-engaging member 180 at the pivoted connection 164)
a control device (see at least Rockwood [C2 L66-67 and C3 L1-L9] the first and second actuators 140, 150 are controlled in accordance with input commands provided by an input device 270 located on the work machine 100. The input device 270 operates hydraulic valves (not shown) that control the delivery of pressurized fluid to the first and second actuators 140, 150…the input device 270 includes a joystick. However, other types of input devices 270, such as hand-operated control levers, foot pedals, a keypad, and the like, may be substituted without departing from the scope of the invention).
a control device including: a control body that can be operated with an operator's hand to generate a control signal for pivoting the telescopic lifting arm (see at least Rockwood [C3 L1-L9, C3 L21-31 and C5 L27-32] the input device 270 includes a joystick. However, other types of input devices 270, such as hand-operated control levers…the control system 240 also receives boom position signals indicative of the position and orientation of the boom 160 from a boom position sensor 210 located on the work machine 100. The boom position sensor 210 includes an angle sensor 220 adapted for sensing the angle of the boom 160 relative to the frame 130, and responsively delivering a boom angle signal)
a control device including: a control member that can be operated with a thumb of the operator's hand…to generate a control signal for sliding the second arm segment of the telescopic lifting arm (see at least Rockwood [C3 L1-L9, C3 L21-31 and C5 L27-32] the input device 270 includes a joystick. However, other types of input devices 270, such as hand-operated control levers, foot pedals, a keypad, and the like, may be substituted without departing from the scope of the invention…The control system 240 also receives boom position signals indicative of the position and orientation of the boom 160 from a boom position sensor 210 located on the work machine 100…The boom position sensor 210 further includes a length sensor 230 adapted for sensing the length or extension of the telescopic member 170 of the boom 160, and responsively delivering a boom length signal…In a fifth control box 550, a desired angular velocity and a desired linear velocity is determined by the control system 240 as a function of the desired velocity of the boom 160 commanded by the input device 270, the angle of the boom 160 relative to the frame 130, and the length of the boom 160)
a control device including: a control member…to control the pivoting of the handling device in relation to the telescopic lifting arm between the discharge position and the pick-up position (see at least Rockwood [C3 L9-L21 and C5 L27-32] the joystick 270 has two degrees of movement. Left and right movement of the joystick 270 along a first axis (x axis) provides linear horizontal motion of the load-engaging member 180 at the pivoted connection 164. Likewise, forward and backward movement of the joystick 270 along a second axis (y axis) perpendicular to the first axis, provides linear vertical motion of the load-engaging member 180 at the pivoted connection 164).
However, while Rockwood teaches a control device including: a control body that can be operated with an operator's hand to generate a control signal for pivoting the telescopic lifting arm (see at least Rockwood [C3 L1-L9, C3 L21-31 and C5 L27-32]), it does not explicitly teach inputting such a control signal by pivoting the control body toward a front of toward a rear of the handling machine about a first pivot axis.
Adsett, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches inputting a control signal by pivoting the control body toward a front of toward a rear of the handling machine about a first pivot axis (see at least Adsett [C9 L 54-67 and C10 L1 to L4] the joystick 55 is moveable along the Y axis to control the speed and direction of revolution of the traction motor 86, similar to the joystick shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a control body that can be operated with an operator's hand to generate a control signal for pivoting the telescopic lifting arm, by pivoting the control body toward a front of toward a rear of the handling machine about a first pivot axis with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the intuitive nature of the control input method by including a control body that is well under stood and commonly used in the art of machine operation such as hand operated joysticks.
Further, while Rockwood teaches a control device including: a control member that can be operated with a thumb of the operator's hand…to generate a control signal for sliding the second arm segment of the telescopic lifting arm (see at least Rockwood [C3 L1-L9, C3 L21-31 and C5 L27-32]), it does not explicitly teach the control member being one of a rotary selector or a slider, the control member being carried by the control body, on one side of the control body, and being mounted one of pivotably or slidingly in relation to the control body about or along one of a second pivot axis or a first sliding axis.
Hand, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches the control member being one of a rotary selector or a slider, the control member being carried by the control body, on one side of the control body, and being mounted one of pivotably or slidingly in relation to the control body about or along one of a second pivot axis or a first sliding axis (see at least Hand [¶ 18, Fig. 2] As shown in FIG. 2, interface device 50 may include an inwardly-inclined (relative to seat 52shown in FIG. 1) handle 54 that is pivotal in a vertical plane about a horizontal axis 58. When handle54 is pivoted about horizontal axis 58 to the left or right, a first proportional signal may be generated indicative of desired tilting of work tool 14 by hydraulic cylinders 34, 36. Handle 54 may be spring-centered relative to horizontal axis 58. A thumb roller 60 may be located at a distal gripping end 62 of handle 54 and, when rotated about an axis 64, generate a second proportional signal indicative of desired pitching of work tool 14 by one or both of hydraulic cylinders 34, 36. Thumb roller 60 may be spring-centered about axis 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a control member that can be operated with a thumb of the operator's hand, the control member being one of a rotary selector or a slider, the control member being carried by the control body, on one side of the control body, and being mounted one of pivotably or slidingly in relation to the control body about or along one of a second pivot axis or a first sliding axis, to generate a control signal for sliding the second arm segment of the telescopic lifting arm with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the intuitive nature of the input device and increasing the ease of use of the machine as discussed in Hand (see at least Hand [¶ 37-39] When handle 54 is tilted and thumb roller 60 is also simultaneously moved away from its centered position, controller 124 may generate combined valve position commands that are functions of both the first and second signals…Because hydraulic system 76 may be capable of simultaneously tilting and pitching work tool14, efficiency, productivity, and ease of use of machine 10 may be increased).
Further, while Rockwood teaches a control member…to control the pivoting of the handling device in relation to the telescopic lifting arm between the discharge position and the pick-up position (see at least Rockwood [C3 L9-L21 and C5 L27-32]), it does not explicitly teach wherein the control member is also mounted one of pivotably or slidingly in relation to the control body about or along one of a third pivot axis or a second sliding axis, transverse to one of the second pivot axis or the first sliding axis.
Fredrickson, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the control member is also mounted one of pivotably or slidingly in relation to the control body about or along one of a third pivot axis or a second sliding axis, transverse to one of the second pivot axis or the first sliding axis (see at least Fredrickson [¶ 24-26, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4] The three-finger grip of the handle portion 302 advantageously frees the operator's index finger 412 and thumb 414 to move and control various inputs and switches while the operator's hand remains engaged and grabbing the handle portion 302. As shown in the figures, and in particular FIG. 3, and FIGS. 5A and 5B, it can be seen that the manual input device 208/210 includes numerous control input devices that can be assigned to perform various functions on the machine by the controller 108....In reference to FIG. 3, the top side 316 includes a thumb-stick 324, which can be formed similar to a gaming controller stick, and which is movable and pivots relative to the control portion 304 in at least four ordinal directions, as well as four more diagonal directions. As can be appreciated, the thumb-stick 324 can be gated in any desired configuration to move anywhere within a circle, square, diamond or polygonal area such that multiple directions can be activated at once. The thumb-stick 324 can be operated using the thumb to move in various directions. Motion of the thumb-stick 324 in any direction is translated using sensors 325, which are integrated with the control portion 304 and connected to the conductors 314…The inboard side 320 may also include buttons, switches and other control inputs to perform various other functions that are accessible using the operator's thumbs 414. Any desired control input device type can be used, for example, buttons, switches, rollers and the like can be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a system for wherein the control member is also mounted one of pivotably or slidingly in relation to the control body about or along one of a third pivot axis or a second sliding axis, transverse to one of the second pivot axis or the first sliding axis, to control the pivoting of the handling device in relation to the telescopic lifting arm between the discharge position and the pick-up position with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the amount of inputs an operator can command by using only their thumbs, for example, adding another axis or direction of movement may be mapped to additional control commands as discussed in Fredrickson (See at least Fredrickson [¶ 14, 25] the operator can operate secondary control inputs within reach of the thumbs and/or fingers. For example, a miniature joystick similar to one found on a video game controller is placed within finger reach of the handlebar…which is movable and pivots relative to the control portion 304 in at least four ordinal directions, as well as four more diagonal directions. As can be appreciated, the thumb-stick 324 can be gated in any desired configuration to move anywhere within a circle, square, diamond or polygonal area such that multiple directions can be activated at once. The thumb-stick 324 can be operated using the thumb to move in various directions. Motion of the thumb-stick 324 in any direction is translated using sensors 325, which are integrated with the control portion 304 and connected to the conductors 314).
Regarding Claim 2, Rockwood in view of Adsett, Hand, and Fredrickson teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Rockwood does not explicitly teach wherein the control body of the control device comprises only a single pivot axis which is formed by the first pivot axis.
Adsett, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the control body of the control device comprises only a single pivot axis which is formed by the first pivot axis (see at least Adsett [C9 L 54-67 and C10 L1 to L4, and Fig. 7] the joystick 55 is moveable along the Y axis to control the speed and direction of revolution of the traction motor 86, similar to the joystick shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a system for wherein the control body of the control device comprises only a single pivot axis which is formed by the first pivot axis with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of avoiding unintended inputs along an axis that the operator was not intending to input as discussed in Adsett (see at least Adsett [C9 L29-67 and C10 L1 to L4] It is well understood that the structure of the human wrist tends to cause a certain side tilt in a joystick as it is tilted forwards and backwards along the Y axis…The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Regarding Claim 3, Rockwood in view of Adsett, Hand, and Fredrickson teaches all limitations of Claim 2 as set forth above. However, Rockwood does not explicitly teach wherein the control body of the control device does not have any lateral pivoting mobility.
Adsett, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the control body of the control device does not have any lateral pivoting mobility (see at least Adsett [C9 L 54-67 and C10 L1 to L4, and Fig. 7] the joystick 55 is moveable along the Y axis to control the speed and direction of revolution of the traction motor 86, similar to the joystick shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a system for wherein the control body of the control device does not have any lateral pivoting mobility with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of avoiding unintended inputs along an axis that the operator was not intending to input as discussed in Adsett (see at least Adsett [C9 L29-67 and C10 L1 to L4] It is well understood that the structure of the human wrist tends to cause a certain side tilt in a joystick as it is tilted forwards and backwards along the Y axis…The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Regarding Claim 6, Rockwood in view of Adsett, Hand, and Fredrickson teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Rockwood does not explicitly teach wherein the control member is situated on a lateral side of the control body corresponding to an area where the thumb of the operator's hand is positioned.
Hand, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the control member is situated on a lateral side of the control body corresponding to an area where the thumb of the operator's hand is positioned (see at least Hand [¶ 18, Fig. 2] As shown in FIG. 2, interface device 50 may include an inwardly-inclined (relative to seat 52 shown in FIG. 1) handle 54 that is pivotal in a vertical plane about a horizontal axis 58. When handle 54 is pivoted about horizontal axis 58 to the left or right, a first proportional signal may be generated indicative of desired tilting of work tool 14 by hydraulic cylinders 34, 36. Handle 54 may be spring-centered relative to horizontal axis 58. A thumb roller 60 may be located at a distal gripping end 62 of handle 54 and, when rotated about an axis 64, generate a second proportional signal indicative of desired pitching of work tool 14 by one or both of hydraulic cylinders 34, 36. Thumb roller 60 may be spring-centered about axis 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a system for wherein the control member is situated on a lateral side of the control body corresponding to an area where the thumb of the operator's hand is positioned with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving both comfort and ease of use of the machine as discussed in Hand (see at least Hand [¶ 37-39] When handle 54 is tilted and thumb roller 60 is also simultaneously moved away from its centered position, controller 124 may generate combined valve position commands that are functions of both the first and second signals…Because hydraulic system 76 may be capable of simultaneously tilting and pitching work tool 14, efficiency, productivity, and ease of use of machine 10 may be increased).
Regarding Claim 8, Rockwood teaches a handling machine (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52] reference to FIG. 1, an illustration of a telescopic material handler 100 is shown)
comprising:
a chassis (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52] The telescopic material handler 100 includes a machine frame 130 which can be driven on wheels 120a, 120b or other ground-engaging supports, such as tracks)
a telescopic lifting arm carried by the chassis (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52] the telescopic material handler 100 further includes a boom 160 having a first end portion 162 and a second end portion 164. The boom 160 is pivotally connected to the frame 130 at the first end portion 162 of the boom 160)
the telescopic lifting arm being pivotable between a low position and a high position and including first and second arm segments that are slidingly shiftable relative to one another (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52] The boom 160 includes a telescopic member 170 movable between a fully retracted length and a fully extended length. A load-engaging member 180 is pivotally connected to the telescopic member 170 at the second end portion 164 of the boom 160)
a handling device mounted at one end of the telescopic lifting arm, the handling device being pivotable in relation to the telescopic lifting arm between a discharged position and a pick-up position (see at least Rockwood [C2 L25-L52 and C3 L9-20] the load-engaging member 180 includes a fork 180. However, other kinds and types of load-engaging members 180 may be used, such as a bucket or other material handling device...forward and backward movement of the joystick 270 along a second axis (y axis) perpendicular to the first axis, provides linear vertical motion of the load-engaging member 180 at the pivoted connection 164)
a processing unit configured to control pivoting of the telescopic lifting arm, sliding of the second arm segment, and the pivoting of the handling device (see at least Rockwood [C3 L45-L50 and C3 L9-L21] the control system 240 includes a processor 250, and both read only and random access memory. The processor 250 receives and processes the boom angle signal, the boom length signal, and the inclination signal, as well as the desired boom velocity signal provided by the input device 270…forward and backward movement of the joystick 270 along a second axis (y axis) perpendicular to the first axis, provides linear vertical motion of the load-engaging member 180 at the pivoted connection 164)
a control device (see at least Rockwood [C2 L66-67 and C3 L1-L9] the first and second actuators 140, 150 are controlled in accordance with input commands provided by an input device 270 located on the work machine 100. The input device 270 operates hydraulic valves (not shown) that control the delivery of pressurized fluid to the first and second actuators 140, 150…the input device 270 includes a joystick. However, other types of input devices 270, such as hand-operated control levers, foot pedals, a keypad, and the like, may be substituted without departing from the scope of the invention).
a control device including: a control body that can be operated with an operator's hand to generate a control signal for pivoting the telescopic lifting arm (see at least Rockwood [C3 L1-L9, C3 L21-31 and C5 L27-32] the input device 270 includes a joystick. However, other types of input devices 270, such as hand-operated control levers…the control system 240 also receives boom position signals indicative of the position and orientation of the boom 160 from a boom position sensor 210 located on the work machine 100. The boom position sensor 210 includes an angle sensor 220 adapted for sensing the angle of the boom 160 relative to the frame 130, and responsively delivering a boom angle signal)
a control device including: a control member operable via a thumb of the operator’s hand…to generate a control signal for sliding the second arm segment (see at least Rockwood [C3 L1-L9, C3 L21-31 and C5 L27-32] the input device 270 includes a joystick. However, other types of input devices 270, such as hand-operated control levers, foot pedals, a keypad, and the like, may be substituted without departing from the scope of the invention…The control system 240 also receives boom position signals indicative of the position and orientation of the boom 160 from a boom position sensor 210 located on the work machine 100…The boom position sensor 210 further includes a length sensor 230 adapted for sensing the length or extension of the telescopic member 170 of the boom 160, and responsively delivering a boom length signal…In a fifth control box 550, a desired angular velocity and a desired linear velocity is determined by the control system 240 as a function of the desired velocity of the boom 160 commanded by the input device 270, the angle of the boom 160 relative to the frame 130, and the length of the boom 160)
a control device including: a control member…to control the pivoting of the handling device in relation to the telescopic lifting arm between the discharge position and the pick-up position (see at least Rockwood [C3 L9-L21 and C5 L27-32] the joystick 270 has two degrees of movement. Left and right movement of the joystick 270 along a first axis (x axis) provides linear horizontal motion of the load-engaging member 180 at the pivoted connection 164. Likewise, forward and backward movement of the joystick 270 along a second axis (y axis) perpendicular to the first axis, provides linear vertical motion of the load-engaging member 180 at the pivoted connection 164).
However, while Rockwood teaches a control device including: a control body that can be operated with an operator's hand to generate a control signal for pivoting the telescopic lifting arm (see at least Rockwood [C3 L1-L9, C3 L21-31 and C5 L27-32]), it does not explicitly teach inputting such a control signal by pivoting the control body toward a front of toward a rear of the handling machine about a first pivot axis.
Adsett, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches inputting a control signal by pivoting the control body toward a front of toward a rear of the handling machine about a first pivot axis (see at least Adsett [C9 L 54-67 and C10 L1 to L4] the joystick 55 is moveable along the Y axis to control the speed and direction of revolution of the traction motor 86, similar to the joystick shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a control body that can be operated with an operator's hand to generate a control signal for pivoting the telescopic lifting arm, by pivoting the control body toward a front of toward a rear of the handling machine about a first pivot axis with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the intuitive nature of the control input method by including a control body that is well under stood and commonly used in the art of machine operation such as hand operated joysticks.
Further, while Rockwood teaches a control device including: a control member that can be operated with a thumb of the operator's hand…to generate a control signal for sliding the second arm segment of the telescopic lifting arm (see at least Rockwood [C3 L1-L9, C3 L21-31 and C5 L27-32]), it does not explicitly teach the control member being moveably mounted to a side of the control body via one or more of a second pivot axis and a first sliding axis.
Hand, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches the control member being moveably mounted to a side of the control body via one or more of a second pivot axis and a first sliding axis (see at least Hand [¶ 18, Fig. 2] As shown in FIG. 2, interface device 50 may include an inwardly-inclined (relative to seat 52shown in FIG. 1) handle 54 that is pivotal in a vertical plane about a horizontal axis 58. When handle54 is pivoted about horizontal axis 58 to the left or right, a first proportional signal may be generated indicative of desired tilting of work tool 14 by hydraulic cylinders 34, 36. Handle 54 may be spring-centered relative to horizontal axis 58. A thumb roller 60 may be located at a distal gripping end 62 of handle 54 and, when rotated about an axis 64, generate a second proportional signal indicative of desired pitching of work tool 14 by one or both of hydraulic cylinders 34, 36. Thumb roller 60 may be spring-centered about axis 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a control member operable via a thumb of the operator’s hand, the control member being moveably mounted to a side of the control body via one or more of a second pivot axis and a first sliding axis, to generate a control signal for sliding the second arm segment with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the intuitive nature of the input device and increasing the ease of use of the machine as discussed in Hand (see at least Hand [¶ 37-39] When handle 54 is tilted and thumb roller 60 is also simultaneously moved away from its centered position, controller 124 may generate combined valve position commands that are functions of both the first and second signals…Because hydraulic system 76 may be capable of simultaneously tilting and pitching work tool14, efficiency, productivity, and ease of use of machine 10 may be increased).
Further, while Rockwood teaches a control member…to control the pivoting of the handling device in relation to the telescopic lifting arm between the discharge position and the pick-up position (see at least Rockwood [C3 L9-L21 and C5 L27-32]), it does not explicitly teach wherein the control member is further moveably mounted to the control body via one or more of a third pivot axis and a second sliding axis transverse to one or more of the second pivot axis and the first sliding axis.
Fredrickson, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the control member is further moveably mounted to the control body via one or more of a third pivot axis and a second sliding axis transverse to one or more of the second pivot axis and the first sliding axis (see at least Fredrickson [¶ 24-26, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4] The three-finger grip of the handle portion 302 advantageously frees the operator's index finger 412 and thumb 414 to move and control various inputs and switches while the operator's hand remains engaged and grabbing the handle portion 302. As shown in the figures, and in particular FIG. 3, and FIGS. 5A and 5B, it can be seen that the manual input device 208/210 includes numerous control input devices that can be assigned to perform various functions on the machine by the controller 108....In reference to FIG. 3, the top side 316 includes a thumb-stick 324, which can be formed similar to a gaming controller stick, and which is movable and pivots relative to the control portion 304 in at least four ordinal directions, as well as four more diagonal directions. As can be appreciated, the thumb-stick 324 can be gated in any desired configuration to move anywhere within a circle, square, diamond or polygonal area such that multiple directions can be activated at once. The thumb-stick 324 can be operated using the thumb to move in various directions. Motion of the thumb-stick 324 in any direction is translated using sensors 325, which are integrated with the control portion 304 and connected to the conductors 314…The inboard side 320 may also include buttons, switches and other control inputs to perform various other functions that are accessible using the operator's thumbs 414. Any desired control input device type can be used, for example, buttons, switches, rollers and the like can be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a system for wherein the control member is further moveably mounted to the control body via one or more of a third pivot axis and a second sliding axis transverse to one or more of the second pivot axis and the first sliding axis, to control the pivoting of the handling device in relation to the telescopic lifting arm between the discharge position and the pick-up position with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the amount of inputs an operator can command by using only their thumbs, for example, adding another axis or direction of movement may be mapped to additional control commands as discussed in Fredrickson (See at least Fredrickson [¶ 14, 25] the operator can operate secondary control inputs within reach of the thumbs and/or fingers. For example, a miniature joystick similar to one found on a video game controller is placed within finger reach of the handlebar…which is movable and pivots relative to the control portion 304 in at least four ordinal directions, as well as four more diagonal directions. As can be appreciated, the thumb-stick 324 can be gated in any desired configuration to move anywhere within a circle, square, diamond or polygonal area such that multiple directions can be activated at once. The thumb-stick 324 can be operated using the thumb to move in various directions. Motion of the thumb-stick 324 in any direction is translated using sensors 325, which are integrated with the control portion 304 and connected to the conductors 314).
Regarding Claim 9, Rockwood in view of Adsett, Hand, and Fredrickson teaches all limitations of Claim 8 as set forth above. However, Rockwood does not explicitly teach wherein the control body of the control device includes a single pivot axis formed by the first pivot axis.
Adsett, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the control body of the control device includes a single pivot axis formed by the first pivot axis (see at least Adsett [C9 L 54-67 and C10 L1 to L4, and Fig. 7] the joystick 55 is moveable along the Y axis to control the speed and direction of revolution of the traction motor 86, similar to the joystick shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a system for wherein the control body of the control device comprises only a single pivot axis which is formed by the first pivot axis with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of avoiding unintended inputs along an axis that the operator was not intending to input as discussed in Adsett (see at least Adsett [C9 L29-67 and C10 L1 to L4] It is well understood that the structure of the human wrist tends to cause a certain side tilt in a joystick as it is tilted forwards and backwards along the Y axis…The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Regarding Claim 10, Rockwood in view of Adsett, Hand, and Fredrickson teaches all limitations of Claim 9 as set forth above. However, Rockwood does not explicitly teach wherein the control body of the control device is laterally immobilized.
Adsett, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the control body of the control device is laterally immobilized (see at least Adsett [C9 L 54-67 and C10 L1 to L4, and Fig. 7] the joystick 55 is moveable along the Y axis to control the speed and direction of revolution of the traction motor 86, similar to the joystick shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a system for wherein the control body of the control device is laterally immobilized with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of avoiding unintended inputs along an axis that the operator was not intending to input as discussed in Adsett (see at least Adsett [C9 L29-67 and C10 L1 to L4] It is well understood that the structure of the human wrist tends to cause a certain side tilt in a joystick as it is tilted forwards and backwards along the Y axis…The positions 73 and 75 are the extremities of travel for the joystick 55. In positions 73 and 75, the lift truck is driven at a pre-selected top speed. The joystick is not tiltable along the X axis).
Regarding Claim 13, Rockwood in view of Adsett, Hand, and Fredrickson teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Rockwood does not explicitly teach wherein the control member is situated on a lateral side of the control body corresponding to an area where the thumb of the operator’s hand is positioned..
Hand, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the control member is situated on a lateral side of the control body corresponding to an area where the thumb of the operator's hand is positioned (see at least Hand [¶ 18, Fig. 2] As shown in FIG. 2, interface device 50 may include an inwardly-inclined (relative to seat 52 shown in FIG. 1) handle 54 that is pivotal in a vertical plane about a horizontal axis 58. When handle 54 is pivoted about horizontal axis 58 to the left or right, a first proportional signal may be generated indicative of desired tilting of work tool 14 by hydraulic cylinders 34, 36. Handle 54 may be spring-centered relative to horizontal axis 58. A thumb roller 60 may be located at a distal gripping end 62 of handle 54 and, when rotated about an axis 64, generate a second proportional signal indicative of desired pitching of work tool 14 by one or both of hydraulic cylinders 34, 36. Thumb roller 60 may be spring-centered about axis 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Rockwood to contain a system for wherein the control member is situated on a lateral side of the control body corresponding to an area where the thumb of the operator's hand is positioned with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving both comfort and ease of use of the machine as discussed in Hand (see at least Hand [¶ 37-39] When handle 54 is tilted and thumb roller 60 is also simultaneously moved away from its centered position, controller 124 may generate combined valve position commands that are functions of both the first and second signals…Because hydraulic system 76 may be capable of simultaneously tilting and pitching work tool 14, efficiency, productivity, and ease of use of machine 10 may be increased).
Claims 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rockwood et al (US 6374147 B1) in view of Adsett et al (US 6226582 B1), Hand et al (US 20120152575 A1), Fredrickson et al (US 20220195697 A1), and Keyser (CN 205225907 U). Hereafter referred to as Rockwood, Adsett, Hand, Fredrickson, and Keyser respectively.
Regarding Claims 4, Rockwood in view of Adsett, Hand, and Fredrickson teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Rockwood does not explicitly teach wherein, in a non-operated state of the control body of the control device, one of the third pivot axis or the second sliding axis of the control member has, with reference to a shift from a point situated toward the rear of the handling machine to a point situated toward the front of the machine, a downwardly oriented inclination in relation to the horizontal.
Keyser, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein, in a non-operated state of the control body of the control device, one of the third pivot axis or the second sliding axis of the control member has, with reference to a shift from a point situated toward the rear of the handling machine to a point situated toward the front of the machine, a downwardly oriented inclination in relation to the horizontal (see at least Keyser [English Translation pg.5 para.3 and Fig. 3] a proportional control element 72 (as the rocker button) can pivot in at least two directions. For example, the control element 72 can be rotated about an axis 76 in the front-rear direction on the pivot and can be rotated about an axis 78 on the left and right direction. When the control element 72 pivots about axis 76, can generate the third proportional signal indicating to pitching the working tool 14 by pitch cylinder. When the control element 72 pivots about axis 78, it can generate an indication of need by deflection cylinder 34 and 36 deflect the working tool 14 of the fourth proportional signal. In some embodiments, control element 72 can simultaneously around the axis 76 and 78 pivot, so as to generate