DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The objection over the Drawings as presented in the Office Action mailed 3/2/2026 has been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 7/24/2026. However, new objections based on the amendment filed 7/24/2026 are presented below.
The objection over the Claims as presented in the Office Action mailed 3/2/2026 has been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 7/24/2026. However, new objections based on the amendment filed 7/24/2026 are presented below.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) presented in the Office Action mailed 3/2/2026 have been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 7/24/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, embossing on the front side of the overhang layer of Claim 1 line 19-20 and Claim 8 lines 25-26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 19 “the front side of the overhang layer” should be --a front side of the overhang layer--
Claim 8 line 25 “the front side of the overhang layer” should be --a front side of the overhang layer--
Appropriate correction is required.
Applications filed after March 15th 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stossel et al. (US 2012/0237725) in view of Erler (US 2023/0192010).
With regards to Claim 1, Stossel et al. discloses a shaped part, comprising a decorative layer [4] (see paragraph 27 and Figure 6) having a front side [2’] designed as a visible side (see paragraph 30) and a rear side (comprising a side of layer [4] opposite the side [2’] and on which layer [8] is disposed, see Figures 4 and 6) opposite the front side [2’] (see Figure 6), a micro-perforation formed by a plurality of through holes [6] (see paragraph 27 and Figures 4 and 6), where-in the holes [6] each extend in a straight line along their corresponding longitudinal axis between the rear side and the front side [2’] of the decorative layer [4] (see Figure 6), an illumination and/or display unit, wherein light emanating from the illumination and/or display unit can be guided through the micro-perforation of the decorative layer [4] to the visible side [2’] of the shaped part (see paragraph 17), a transparent or translucent light guide layer [8], wherein the light guide layer [8] is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer [4] (see paragraph 28 and Figures 4 and 6), wherein the light guide layer [8] extends completely into the holes [6] of the micro-perforation (see paragraph 30 and Figure 6), and wherein the holes [6] are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer [8] in such a way that an overhang layer [14] made of the material of the light guide layer [8] is formed on the front side [2’] of the decorative layer [4], at least in the region of the micro-perforation (see paragraph 30 and Figure 6).
Stossel et al. does not explicitly disclose the light guide layer has an embossing on the front side of the overhang layer to achieve haptic effects when touched.
Erler teaches the light guide layer [TR] has an embossing on the front side of the overhang layer (comprising the layer of the material of light guide layer [TR] extending through the holes [OP] to a front surface of decorative layer [TX], see paragraph 77 and Figures 25A-25C) to achieve haptic effects when touched (see paragraphs 89 and 100 and Figures 25A-25C; a surface effect forming a pattern including a profile is formed on the overhang layer at portion [TR] disposed on the exterior surface of decorative layer [TX], which can be a haptic surface, the examiner notes that the limitation that the light guide layer has an ”embossing” is understood to be a product-by-process limitation, the “embossing” is understood to be a raised surface as the result of an embossing process, see attached definition reference “Embossing Definition & Meaning”, which the front side of the overhang layer of Erler as seen in Figures 25A-25C substantially has a raised surface and is there substantially “an embossing” as understood by the examiner, and which haptic surface will substantially achieve haptic effects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front side of the overhang layer of Stossel et al. to have an embossing to achieve haptic effects when touched, as taught by Erler. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a surface effect including a haptic surface (see Erler paragraph 100).
With regards to Claim 2, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the shaped part as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Stossel et al. further discloses the light guide layer [8] comprises PUR or is formed from PUR, or the light guide layer comprises or is formed from a clear plastic PMMA or PC material (see paragraphs 12 and 28; the light guide layer may be colorless and formed from a PMMA or PC material, thereby substantially being a clear plastic PMMA or PC material).
With regards to Claim 3, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the shaped part as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Stossel et al. further discloses the shaped part comprises a carrier [11], wherein the carrier [11] is arranged on the rear side of the light guide layer [8] or on the rear side of the decorative layer [4] (see paragraphs 29 and 33 and Figures 1, 4, and 6).
With regards to Claim 4, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the shaped part as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Stossel et al. further discloses the carrier [11] is a carrier layer (see Figure 1), wherein the carrier layer is arranged completely or partially on the rear side of the decorative layer [4] or the rear side of the light guide layer [8] (see paragraphs 29 and 33 and Figures 1, 4, and 6).
With regards to Claim 8, Stossel et al. discloses a method for producing a shaped part, wherein the method comprises the steps of: a) providing a decorative material for forming a decorative layer [4] of the shaped part (see paragraph 27 and Figure 6; the material forming decorative layer [4] is substantially provided), wherein the decorative layer [4] has a front side [2’] designed as a visible side (see paragraph 30) and a rear side (comprising a side of layer [4] opposite the side [2’] and on which layer [8] is disposed, see Figures 4 and 6) opposite the front side [2’] (see Figure 6), b) introducing a plurality of through holes [6] into the decorative layer [4] to form a micro-perforation in such a way that the holes [6] each extend in a straight line along their corresponding longitudinal axis between the rear side and the front side of the decorative layer [4] (see paragraph 27 and Figures 4 and 6; the decorative layer [4] substantially has through holes [6] introduced therein, each hole [6] substantially extending in a straight line along the corresponding longitudinal axis between rear and front sides of decorative layer [4]), c) applying a transparent or translucent, highly conductive material to the rear side of the decorative layer [4] to form a light guide layer [8] (see paragraphs 12 and 28, and Figures 4 and 6; the substantially transparent or translucent highly conductive material forming light guide layer [8] is substantially applied to the rear side of the decorative layer [4]), d) arranging at least one illumination and/or display unit on or in the shaped part, wherein light emanating from the illumination and/or display unit can be guided through the micro-perforation of the decorative layer [4] to the visible side [2’] of the shaped part (see paragraph 17), wherein the transparent or translucent, highly conductive material is molded or cast onto the rear side of the decorative layer [4], wherein the material completely penetrates into the holes [6] of the micro-perforation during molding or casting, so that the holes [6] are completely filled with the material of the light guide layer [8], and wherein the holes [6] are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer [8] in such a way that said material emerges at the front side of the decorative layer [4] and an overhang layer [14] is formed on the front side [2’] of the decorative layer [4], at least in the region of the micro-perforation (see paragraphs 29 and 30 Figure 6; when the material of the light guide layer [8] is applied to the back of the decorative layer [4] and pressed by the carrier [11], which is molded to the light guide layer [8], material of light guide layer [8] completely fills the holes [6] in the decorative layer [4] and form an overhang layer [14] on front side [2’] of the decorative layer [4]).
Stossel et al. does not explicitly disclose the light guide layer is embossed on the front side of the overhang layer to achieve haptic effects when touched.
Erler teaches the light guide layer [TR] is embossed on the front side of the overhang layer (comprising the layer of the material of light guide layer [TR] extending through the holes [OP] to a front surface of decorative layer [TX], see paragraph 77 and Figures 25A-25C) to achieve haptic effects when touched (see paragraphs 89 and 100 and Figures 25A-25C; a surface effect forming a pattern including a profile is formed on the overhang layer at portion [TR] disposed on the exterior surface of decorative layer [TX], which can be a haptic surface, and the front side of the overhang layer is substantially raised, and which haptic surface will substantially achieve haptic effects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stossel et al. such that the light guide layer is embossed on the front side of the overhang layer to achieve haptic effects when touched, as taught by Erler. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a surface effect including a haptic surface (see Erler paragraph 100).
With regards to Claim 9, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 8.
Stossel et al. further discloses the material for forming the light guide layer [8] comprises PUR or is formed from PUR, or the material for forming the light guide layer comprises or is formed from a clear plastic PMMA or PC material (see paragraphs 12 and 28; the light guide layer may be colorless and formed from a PMMA or PC material, thereby substantially being a clear plastic PMMA or PC material).
With regards to Claim 10, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 8.
Stossel et al. further discloses a carrier [11] is attached to the rear side of the light guide layer [8] or to the rear side of the decorative layer [4] (see paragraphs 29 and 33 and Figures 1, 4, and 6).
With regards to Claim 11, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
Stossel et al. further discloses the carrier [11] is designed as a carrier layer (see Figure 1), wherein the carrier layer is arranged completely or partially attached to the rear side of the decorative layer [4] or the rear side of the light guide layer [8] (see paragraphs 29 and 33 and Figures 1, 4, and 6).
With regards to Claim 15, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 8.
Stossel et al. further discloses the light guide layer [8] assumes its intended shape during molding or casting, or the light guide layer [8] is deformed after application to form the intended shape (see paragraphs 29 and 30).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stossel et al. (US 2012/0237725) as modified by Erler (US 2023/0192010), further in view of DeGrote et al. (US 2020/0164795).
With regards to Claim 6, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the shaped part as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Stossel et al. does not disclose a lamination is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer.
DeGrote et al. teaches a lamination [220] is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer [210] (see paragraphs 106 and 110 and Figure 9A; layer [220] is a substrate acting as a backing or backer for the decorative layer [210], applied to the decorative layer [210] or adhered to the decorative layer [210] and is substantially a lamination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaped part of Stossel et al. to include a lamination is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer, as taught by DeGrote et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to mask visibility of desired portions of the shaped part from being visible when illuminated (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 110) and provide additional rigidity to the decorative layer (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 106).
With regards to Claim 13, Stossel et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 8.
Stossel et al. does not disclose before the holes of the micro-perforation are introduced, a lamination is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer, wherein the holes are also introduced into the lamination when the micro-perforation is introduced, so that the holes extend from the front side of the decorative layer through the lamination.
DeGrote et al. teaches before the holes of the micro-perforation are introduced, a lamination [220] is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer [210] (see paragraph 106 and Figure 9A), wherein the holes are also introduced into the lamination [220] when the micro-perforation is introduced, so that the holes extend from the front side of the decorative layer [210] through the lamination [220] (see paragraphs 91, 106, and 108 Figures 22A-22C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stossel et al. to include before the holes of the micro-perforation are introduced, a lamination is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer, wherein the holes are also introduced into the lamination when the micro-perforation is introduced, so that the holes extend from the front side of the decorative layer through the lamination, as taught by DeGrote et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to mask visibility of desired portions of the shaped part from being visible when illuminated (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 110) and provide additional rigidity to the decorative layer (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 106).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 pertaining to the prior art have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the applicant’s argument that the DeGrote et al. and Erler references teach or suggest the features of the light guide layer has an embossing on the front side of the overhang layer to achieve haptic effects when touched of amended Claims 1 and 8, the examiner directs the applicant to the above rejections of Claims 1 and 8 over the Stossel et al. reference in view of Erler. Particularly, the Stossel et al. reference discloses a shaped part including at least a decorative layer having through holes disposed therein, a light guide layer disposed on a rear side of the decorative layer, material from the light guide layer completely fills the through holes in the decorative layer and creates an overhang layer on a front side surface of the decorative layer. Stossel et al. further discloses the shaped part can be utilized for components in an interior region of a car, such as a trim strip or a control element such as a button (see Stossel et al. paragraph 10). Stossel et al., however, does not explicitly disclose an embossing on the overhang layer. Erler teaches a shaped part formed such that an overhang layer of light guide material which passes through the holes formed in a decorative layer and onto a front surface of the decorative layer includes an embossing forming a haptic surface (see the above discussion of the teachings of Erler), and can be used as a trim panel capable of presenting a surface effect (see Erler paragraph 75). Therefore, the combination of Stossel et al. and Erler does substantially disclose the limitations of amended Claims 1 and 8.
With regards to the applicant’s argument pertaining to new dependent Claim 16, the examiner notes that such claim has not been included in the reply filed 7/24/2026. The reply filed 7/24/2026 includes 11 total pending claims, being Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, and 15. The examiner notes that a dependent Claim 16 was included in the after-final amendment filed 6/30/2026, which was not entered (please see Advisory Action mailed 7/7/2026). Therefore, these arguments pertain to a claim not pending. Should the applicant intend to include a dependent Claim 16, Claim 16 should be included as a new claim filed in reply to the present Office Action.
Prior Art Referral
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references Wang (US 10,590,600), which discloses at least a shaped part including a decorative layer having one or more through holes, an illumination and/or display unit and a light guide layer filling the through holes forming an overhang layer, Marcos (US 12,122,132), which discloses at least a shaped part including a decorative layer having one or more through holes, an illumination and/or display unit and a light guide layer filling the through holes and having an embossed effect on an outer surface of the light guide layer extending through the through holes.
Conclusion
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875