DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 2/6/2026 has been entered.
The objection over the Drawings as presented in the Office Action mailed 11/7/2025 pertaining to Claim 5 has been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 2/6/2026. However, the objection over the Drawings as presented in the Office Action mailed 11/7/2025 pertaining to Claim 12 has not been withdrawn. Further discussion is provided below.
The objection over the Claims as presented in the Office Action mailed 11/7/2025 pertaining to Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 15 has been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 2/6/2026. However, the objection over the Claims as presented in the Office Action mailed 11/7/2025 pertaining to Claim 2 has not been withdrawn. Further discussion is provided below.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) presented in the Office Action mailed 11/7/2025 have been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 2/6/2026. However, a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is presented below based on the amendment filed 2/6/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more fastening elements of Claim 12 such that the carrier comprises or is formed from one or more fastening elements must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 lines 4-5 “formed from a clear plastics material, in particular PMMA or PC” should be --formed from a clear plastic PMMA or PC material--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to Claim 1 and claims depending therefrom, Claim 1 recites a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, Claim 1 recites the broad recitation “the light guide layer is arranged on the front side or on the rear side of the decorative layer” on lines 10-11, and the claim also recites “the light guide layer is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer” on line 14, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In another present instance, Claim 1 recites the broad recitation “the light guide layer extends at least partially into the holes of the micro-perforation, so that the holes are at least partially filled with the material of the light guide layer” on lines 11-13, and the claim also recites “the light guide layer extends completely into the holes of the micro-perforation” on line 15 and “the holes are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer” on line 16, which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner understands the scope of Claim 1 such that a portion of the light guide layer is arranged on a rear side of the decorative layer and extends completely through the holes of the micro-perforation, the holes of the micro-perforation are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer such that an overhang layer made of the material of the light guide layer is formed on the front side of the decorative layer, at least in the region of the micro-perforation. The applicant is encouraged to clarify in the claim language the requirements and placement of the material of the light guide layer, fully supported by the original disclosure.
With regards to Claim 8 and claims depending therefrom, Claim 8 recites a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, Claim 8 recites the broad recitation “applying, in particular by molding or casting, a transparent or translucent, highly conductive material to the front side or to the rear side of the decorative layer to form a light guide layer” on lines 9-11, and the claim also recites “the transparent or translucent, highly conductive material is molded or cast onto the rear side of the decorative layer” on lines 17-18, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In another present instance, Claim 8 recites the broad recitation “the material for forming the light guide layer penetrates at least partially into the holes of the micro-perforation, so that the holes are at least partially filled with the material of the light guide layer” on lines 11-13, and the claim also recites “the material completely penetrates into the holes of the micro-perforation during molding or casting, so that the holes are completely filled with the material of the light guide layer” on lines 19-21 and “the holes are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer” on line 22, which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner understands the scope of Claim 8 to include a step of molding or casting a transparent or translucent, highly conductive material on a rear side of the decorative layer to form a light guide layer such that the light guide layer penetrates into the holes of the micro-perforation so that the holes are completely filled with the material of the light guide layer, the holes of the micro-perforation are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer such that the material emerges at a front side of the decorative layer and an overhang layer is formed on the front side of the decorative layer, at least in the region of the micro-perforation. The applicant is encouraged to clarify in the claim language the requirements and placement of the material of the light guide layer, fully supported by the original disclosure.
With regards to Claim 15, lines 3-8 recite the limitations “the light guide layer is molded or cast on, wherein the light guide layer assumes its intended shape during molding or casting, or the light guide layer is deformed after application to form the intended shape, or the light guide layer already has the intended shape before attachment, wherein the light guide layer is attached by bonding and/or pressing onto the rear side or the front side of the decorative layer”. However, Claim 15 depends from Claim 8, which recites on lines 9-11 “applying, in particular by molding or casting, a transparent or translucent, highly conductive material to the front side or to the rear side of the decorative layer to form a light guide layer”, and which requires on lines 17-24 “the transparent or translucent, highly conductive material is molded or cast onto the rear side of the decorative layer, wherein the material completely penetrates into the holes of the micro-perforation during molding or casting, so that the holes are completely filled with the material of the light guide layer, and wherein the holes are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer in such a way that said material emerges at the front side of the decorative layer and an overhang layer is formed on the front side of the decorative layer, at least in the region of the micro-perforation.” Therefore, it is unclear as to how the light guide layer is applied to the decorative layer, particularly whether the molding or casting is required by the scope of Claim 15, and how the micro-perforations are overfilled to form the overhang layer in embodiments where the light guide layer is deformed after application to form the intended shape, the light guide layer has the intended shape before attachment, and the light guide layer is attached by bonding and/or pressing onto the rear side or the front side of the decorative layer.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner understands the scope of Claim 15 in accordance with the method for forming the embodiment of Figure 2 as disclosed in paragraph 47 of the Specification filed 4/9/2025, such that in the step of applying the transparent or translucent highly conductive material to the decorative layer to form the light guide layer, the material is molded or cast onto the rear side of the decorative layer and the material is passed through the micro-perforations and emerges from a front side of the decorative layer to form the overhang material. The applicant is encouraged to clarify the required process in the step of applying the transparent or translucent highly conductive material forming the light guide layer, fully supported by the original disclosure.
Applications filed after March 15th 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeGrote et al. (US 2020/0164795) in view of Erler (US 2023/0192010).
With regards to Claim 1, DeGrote et al. discloses a shaped part, comprising a decorative layer [210] having a front side (comprising a side opposite the LED, see paragraph 106 and Figure 9A) designed as a visible side and a rear side (comprising a side nearest the LED, see paragraph 106 and Figure 9A) opposite the front side (see Figure 9A), a micro-perforation formed by a plurality of through holes (comprising the holes in decorative layer [210] through which portions [230a] extend, see paragraph 89 and Figure 9A), where-in the holes each extend in a straight line along their corresponding longitudinal axis between the rear side and the front side of the decorative layer [210] (see paragraph 91 and Figures 9A, 9B, 10A-10C and 10; the holes shown as [H] in Figure 10A, 10B, 10C, and 10 and corresponding to the holes of Figures 9A and 9B through which portions [230a] pass are substantially column-shaped and therefore substantially each extend in a straight line along their corresponding longitudinal axis between the rear side and front side of decorative layer [210]), an illumination and/or display unit (see paragraph 89 and Figure 9A; an LED is included), wherein light emanating from the illumination and/or display unit can be guided through the micro-perforation of the decorative layer [210] to the visible side of the shaped part (see paragraphs 90 and 106 and Figure 9A; the light from the illumination and/or display unit is substantially guided through portions [230a] passing through the holes for being emitted from the shaped part), a transparent or translucent light guide layer [230], wherein the light guide layer [230] is arranged on the front side or on the rear side of the decorative layer [210] (see paragraph 106 and Figure 9A), wherein the light guide layer [230] extends at least partially into the holes of the micro-perforation, so that the holes are at least partially filled with the material of the light guide layer [230] (see paragraph 106 and Figures 9A, 10A-10C, and 10; portions [230a] of the light guide layer [230] substantially at least partially fills the holes with the material of light guide layer [230]), wherein the light guide layer [230] is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer [210] (see Figure 9A), wherein the light guide layer [230] extends completely into the holes of the micro-perforation (see Figure 9A).
DeGrote et al. does not disclose the holes are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer in such a way that an overhang layer made of the material of the light guide layer is formed on the front side of the decorative layer, at least in the region of the micro-perforation.
Erler teaches the holes [OP] (see paragraph 77 and Figure 3J) are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer [TR] in such a way that an overhang layer made of the material of the light guide layer [TR] is formed on the front side of the decorative layer [TX], at least in the region of the micro-perforation (see paragraph 77 and Figure 3J).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light guide layer of DeGrote et al. such that the holes are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer in such a way that an overhang layer made of the material of the light guide layer is formed on the front side of the decorative layer, at least in the region of the micro-perforation, as taught by Erler. One would have been motivated to do so in order to encapsulate and coat the exterior of the shaped part (see Erler paragraph 79).
With regards to Claim 2, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the shaped part as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
DeGrote et al. further discloses the light guide layer [230] comprises PUR or is formed from PUR, or the light guide layer [230] comprises or is formed from a clear plastics material, in particular PMMA or PC (se paragraph 109; the light guide layer [230] may be formed of clear polycarbonate).
With regards to Claim 3, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the shaped part as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
DeGrote et al. further discloses the shaped part comprises a carrier (comprising the at least one fastener integrally molded with the light guide layer [230], see paragraph 109).
DeGrote et al. does not explicitly disclose the carrier is arranged on the rear side of the light guide layer or on the rear side of the decorative layer. However, DeGrote et al. does disclose the carrier comprising at least one fastener for coupling the light guide layer [230] with the base [100] (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 109), the light is emitted away from the base [100], which will be a side of the shaped part away from the rear side of the decorative layer [210] and rear side of the light guide layer [230] (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 106 and Figure 9A). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to dispose the carrier to be arranged on the rear side of the light guide layer or on the rear side of the decorative layer in order to affix the shaped part with a base to which it will be mounted and oriented such that light is emitted away from the base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the carrier of DeGrote et al. such that the carrier is arranged on the rear side of the light guide layer or on the rear side of the decorative layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to affix the shaped part with a base to which it will be mounted and oriented such that light is emitted away from the base (see DeGrote et al. paragraphs 106, 108, and 109).
With regards to Claim 4, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the shaped part as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
DeGrote et al. further discloses the carrier is a carrier layer (see paragraph 109; the at least one fastener of the carrier is integrally molded with the light guide layer [230], which substantially forms a carrier layer).
DeGrote et al. does not explicitly disclose the carrier layer is arranged completely or partially on the rear side of the decorative layer or the rear side of the light guide layer. However, DeGrote et al. does disclose the carrier comprising at least one fastener for coupling the light guide layer [230] with the base [100] (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 109), the light is emitted away from the base [100], which will be a side of the shaped part away from the rear side of the decorative layer [210] and rear side of the light guide layer [230] (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 106 and Figure 9A). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to dispose the carrier to be arranged completely or partially on the rear side of the decorative layer or the rear side of the light guide layer in order to affix the shaped part with a base to which it will be mounted and oriented such that light is emitted away from the base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the carrier of DeGrote et al. such that the carrier is arranged completely or partially on the rear side of the decorative layer or the rear side of the light guide layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to affix the shaped part with a base to which it will be mounted and oriented such that light is emitted away from the base (see DeGrote et al. paragraphs 106, 108, and 109).
With regards to Claim 6, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the shaped part as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
DeGrote et al. further discloses a lamination [220] is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer [210] (see paragraphs 106 and 110 and Figure 9A; layer [220] is a substrate acting as a backing or backer for the decorative layer [210], applied to the decorative layer [210] or adhered to the decorative layer [210] and is substantially a lamination).
With regards to Claim 8, DeGrote et al. discloses a method for producing a shaped part, wherein the method comprises the steps of: providing a decorative material (comprising the material of layer [210], see paragraph 106 and Figure 9A) for forming a decorative layer [210] of the shaped part (see paragraph 106), wherein the decorative layer [210] has a front side (comprising a side opposite the LED, see paragraph 106 and Figure 9A) designed as a visible side and a rear side (comprising a side nearest the LED, see paragraph 106 and Figure 9A) opposite the front side (see Figure 9A), introducing a plurality of through holes (comprising the holes in decorative layer [210] through which portions [230a] extend, see paragraph 89 and Figure 9A) into the decorative layer [210] to form a micro-perforation in such a way that the holes each extend in a straight line along their corresponding longitudinal axis (A) between the rear side and the front side of the decorative layer [210] (see paragraph 91 and Figures 9A, 9B, 10A-10C and 10; the holes shown as [H] in Figure 10A, 10B, 10C, and 10 and corresponding to the holes of Figures 9A and 9B through which portions [230a] pass are substantially column-shaped and therefore substantially each extend in a straight line along their corresponding longitudinal axis between the rear side and front side of decorative layer [210]), applying, in particular by molding or casting (see paragraph 108), a transparent or translucent, highly conductive material to the front side or to the rear side of the decorative layer [210] to form a light guide layer [230] (see paragraphs 90, 106, and 109 and Figure 9A; the material of light guide layer [230] is a substantially transparent or translucent, highly light conductive material), wherein the material for forming the light guide layer [230] penetrates at least partially into the holes of the micro-perforation (see paragraph 106; portion [230a] of the material forming the light guide layer [230] substantially penetrates at least partially into the holes), so that the holes are at least partially filled with the material of the light guide layer (see Figures 9A an, 10A, and 10), arranging at least one illumination and/or display unit (see paragraph 89 and Figure 9A; an LED is included) on or in the shaped part (see Figure 9A), wherein light emanating from the illumination and/or display unit can be guided through the micro-perforation of the decorative layer [210] to the visible side of the shaped part (see paragraphs 90 and 106 and Figure 9A; the light from the illumination and/or display unit is substantially guided through portions [230a] passing through the holes for being emitted from the shaped part), wherein the transparent or translucent, highly conductive material is molded or cast onto the rear side of the decorative layer [210] (see paragraphs and 108 and Figure 9A and 22A-22C), wherein the material completely penetrates into the holes of the micro-perforation during molding or casting, so that the holes are completely filled with the material of the light guide layer [230] (see paragraphs 106 and 108 and Figures 9A and 22A-22C and 23).
DeGrote et al. does not disclose the holes are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer in such a way that said material emerges at the front side of the decorative layer and an overhang layer is formed on the front side of the decorative layer, at least in the region of the micro-perforation.
Erler teaches the holes [OP] (see paragraph 77 and Figure 3J) are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer [TR] in such a way that said material emerges at the front side of the decorative layer [TX] and an overhang layer is formed on the front side of the decorative layer [TX], at least in the region of the micro-perforation (see paragraph 77 and Figure 3J).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light guide layer of DeGrote et al. such that the holes are overfilled with the material of the light guide layer in such a way that said material emerges at the front side of the decorative layer and an overhang layer is formed on the front side of the decorative layer, at least in the region of the micro-perforation, as taught by Erler. One would have been motivated to do so in order to encapsulate and coat the exterior of the shaped part (see Erler paragraph 79).
With regards to Claim 9, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 8.
DeGrote et al. further discloses the material for forming the light guide layer [230] comprises PUR or is formed from PUR, or the material for forming the light guide layer [230] comprises or is formed from a clear plastics PMMA or PC material (see paragraph 109; the light guide layer [230] may be formed of clear polycarbonate).
With regards to Claim 10, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 8.
DeGrote et al. further discloses a carrier (comprising the at least one fastener integrally molded with the light guide layer [230], see paragraph 109) is attached to the light guide layer [230] or to the rear side of the decorative layer (see paragraphs 106 and 109 and Figures 5C and 9A; the at least one fastener of the carrier is integrally molded with the light guide layer [230], thereby substantially being attached to the light guide layer [230]).
DeGrote et al. does not explicitly disclose the carrier is attached to the rear side of the light guide layer or to the rear side of the decorative layer. However, DeGrote et al. does disclose the carrier comprising at least one fastener for coupling the light guide layer [230] with the base [100] (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 109), the light is emitted away from the base [100], which will be a side of the shaped part away from the rear side of the decorative layer [210] and rear side of the light guide layer [230] (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 106 and Figure 9A). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to dispose the carrier to be arranged on the rear side of the light guide layer or on the rear side of the decorative layer in order to affix the shaped part with a base to which it will be mounted and oriented such that light is emitted away from the base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the carrier of DeGrote et al. such that the carrier is attached to the rear side of the light guide layer or to the rear side of the decorative layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to affix the shaped part with a base to which it will be mounted and oriented such that light is emitted away from the base (see DeGrote et al. paragraphs 106, 108, and 109).
With regards to Claim 11, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
DeGrote et al. further discloses the carrier is designed as a carrier layer (see paragraph 106), wherein the carrier layer is completely or partially attached to the light guide layer [230] (see paragraph 109; due to the at least one fastening member of the carrier layer being integrally molded with the light guide layer [230], the carrier layer is substantially completely or partially attached to the light guide layer [230]).
DeGrote et al. does not explicitly disclose the carrier is completely or partially attached to the rear side of the decorative layer or the rear side of the light guide layer. However, DeGrote et al. does disclose the carrier comprising at least one fastener for coupling the light guide layer [230] with the base [100] (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 109), the light is emitted away from the base [100], which will be a side of the shaped part away from the rear side of the decorative layer [210] and rear side of the light guide layer [230] (see DeGrote et al. paragraph 106 and Figure 9A). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to dispose the carrier to be arranged completely or partially on the rear side of the decorative layer or the rear side of the light guide layer in order to affix the shaped part with a base to which it will be mounted and oriented such that light is emitted away from the base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the carrier of DeGrote et al. such that the carrier is completely or partially attached to the rear side of the decorative layer or the rear side of the light guide layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to affix the shaped part with a base to which it will be mounted and oriented such that light is emitted away from the base (see DeGrote et al. paragraphs 106, 108, and 109).
With regards to Claim 12, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
DeGrote et al. further discloses the carrier comprises or is formed from one or more fastening elements (see paragraph 109; a fastener is integrally molded with the light guide layer [230] for coupling the light guide layer [230] with a base [100], thereby substantially including a carrier comprising one or more fastening elements).
With regards to Claim 13, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 8.
DeGrote et al. further discloses before the holes of the micro-perforation are introduced, a lamination [220] is arranged on the rear side of the decorative layer [210] (see paragraph 106 and Figure 9A), wherein the holes are also introduced into the lamination when the micro-perforation is introduced, so that the holes extend from the front side of the decorative layer [210] through the lamination [220] (see paragraphs 91, 106, and 108 Figures 22A-22C).
With regards to Claim 15, DeGrote et al. and Erler disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 8.
DeGrote et al. further discloses the light guide layer [230] is molded or cast on (see paragraphs 90 and 108 and Figures 22A-22C and 23), wherein the light guide layer [230] assumes its intended shape during molding or casting (see paragraph 90), or the light guide layer [230] is deformed after application to form the intended shape, or the light guide layer [230] already has the intended shape before attachment, wherein the light guide layer [230] is attached by bonding and/or pressing onto the rear side or the front side of the decorative layer [210].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the applicant’s argument pertaining to the limitations of amended Claim 1 that DeGrote discloses a light guide layer extending completely into the holes of the micro-perforation but not overfilled with the material of the light guide layer, and Erler discloses a light guide layer applied to the front side of the decorative layer, and a combination does not disclose that the light guide layer is on the one hand arranged on the back of the decorative layer, further completely fills the micro-perforation, and on the other hand, forms an overhang layer on the front side of the decorative layer, and no light guide layer is disclosed that is arranged on both the front side and the back side of the decorative layer, the examiner directs the applicant to the above rejection of Claim 1, and the DeGrote et al. and Erler references. Particularly, DeGrote et al. disclose a light guide layer arranged on the rear side of decorative layer [210] (see DeGrote et al. Figure 9A, portion [230b] of the material forming light guide layer [230] is substantially at a rear side of decorative layer [210]) with a portion [230a] of the light guide layer [230] material extending completely into the holes [H] of the micro-perforation (see DeGrote et al. Figure 9A and 9B). DeGrote et al. does not disclose an overhang layer formed on the front side of the decorative layer by the material of the light guide layer in the holes. However, Erler teaches holes [OP] of the micro-perforation are filled with the light guide layer material [TR], and that material [TR] extends from the holes [H] onto the front surface of the decorative layer [TX] (see Erler paragraph 77 and Figure 3J) to encapsulate and coat the exterior of the shaped part (See Erler paragraph 79). As combined, DeGrote et al. discloses at least forming a shaped part using a light guide material positioned at a rear of a decorative layer and extending completely into holes formed in the decorative layer, and Erler teaches including further light guide layer material at a front surface of the decorative layer to encapsulate and coat the front surface of the shaped part. Therefore, the combination of DeGrote et al. and Erler does substantially disclose the arrangement required by amended Claim 1. Should the applicant determine that the structure or method of making the present invention differs from that of at least DeGrote et al., Erler, and any combination including references cited on the PTO-892, the applicant is encouraged to include language defining such differences in the appropriate independent claim.
Prior Art Referral
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the reference Hawkins (US 2020/00262335), which discloses at least a shaped part for a vehicle having a decorative layer with a micro-perforation including a plurality of through holes, an illumination and/or display unit formed to emit light through the through holes, and a transparent or translucent light guide layer formed of a material disposed on a rear side of the decorative layer, extending completely through and overfilling the holes of the micro-perforation to form an overhang layer on the front side of the decorative layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875