DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 08/13/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, to prosecute claims 1-13 of Species I, and to cancel claims 16-20 of Species II and claims 21 and 22 of Species I, in the reply filed on 08/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are amended.
Claims 16-22 are canceled.
New claims 23-29 are added.
Claims 1-13 and 23-29 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-13 and 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oteri et al. (US 20240030986 A1), hereinafter “Oteri”.
Per claim 1, 13, 28 and 29:
Regarding claim 1, Oteri teaches ‘A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication’ (Oteri: [FIG.1]: “User Equipment (UE)” for wireless communication with “Base Station (BS)”; [0030]: “FIG. 2 may be described with reference to elements from FIG. 1. For example, system 200 may perform the functions of UE”); ‘comprising: at least one memory’ (Oteri: [FIG.2]: “Memory”); ‘at least one processor’ (Oteri: [FIG.2]: “Processor(s)”); ‘coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to’ (Oteri: [0030]: “One or more processors 265 can execute the instructions stored in memory 285 to perform operations enabling wireless system 200 to transmit and receive wireless communications”);
‘receive control signaling comprising downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a set of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions, the DCI comprising an indication of a table row of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table’ (Oteri: [Claim 11]: “The UE … receive a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signal comprising a Time Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) row corresponding to the multi-PDSCH transmission”; [0107]: “DCI format 1_1 to schedule multiple PDSCHs with a single DCI) can indicate a TDRA row of a TDRA table”);
‘the table row corresponding to multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions of the set of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: “
”; [0027]: “a TDRA row may include multiple SLIVs, where each SLIV indicates scheduling of PDSCH”);
‘receive the set of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [Claim 1]: “A user equipment (UE) … receive, via the transceiver, Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmissions corresponding to a multi-PDSCH transmission”);
‘transmit a respective hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) corresponding to one or more respective subsets of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.10A]; [0112]-[0114]: “UE 110 can construct a Type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook … A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook …UE 110 performs an AND operation within each bundle, and transmits the results to BS 120 via PUCCH resource”; [FIG.10C]: “
”: a set of 5 PDSCHs => {first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs}; [0118]: “TD bundling with M number of bundles … UE 110 splits the pruned HARQ-ACK bits (e.g., the 5 HARQ-ACK bits after pruning) in to M bundles (e.g., M=2 bundles), where M is an integer. An AND operation can be performed on the bits in each bundle, and each bundle is mapped to a transmitted HARQ-ACK bit”; two HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to two subsets of PDSCHs of a set of 5 PDSCHs).
Regarding claim 13, Oteri teaches ‘A base station (BS) for wireless communication’ (Oteri: “Base Station (BS)” for wireless communication with “User Equipment (UE)”; [0030]: “FIG. 2 may be described with reference to elements from FIG. 1. For example, system 200 may perform the functions of UE 110 and/or BS”); ‘comprising: at least one memory’ (Oteri: [FIG.2]: “Memory”); ‘at least one processor’ (Oteri: [FIG.2]: “Processor(s)”); ‘coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the BS to’ (Oteri: [0030]: “One or more processors 265 can execute the instructions stored in memory 285 to perform operations enabling wireless system 200 to transmit and receive wireless communications”);
‘transmit control signaling comprising downlink control information (DCI) to schedule a set of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions for a user equipment (UE), the DCI comprising an indication of a table row of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table’ (Oteri: [Claim 11]: “The UE … receive a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signal comprising a Time Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) row corresponding to the multi-PDSCH transmission”, BS transmits the DCI to UE; [0107]: “DCI format 1_1 to schedule multiple PDSCHs with a single DCI) can indicate a TDRA row of a TDRA table”);
‘the table row corresponding to multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions of the set of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: “
”; [0027]: “a TDRA row may include multiple SLIVs, where each SLIV indicates scheduling of PDSCH”);
‘transmit the set of PDSCH transmissions to the UE’ (Oteri: [Claim 1]: “A user equipment (UE) … receive, via the transceiver, Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmissions corresponding to a multi-PDSCH transmission”, BS transmits the PDSCH transmissions to UE);
‘receive a respective hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) corresponding to one or more respective subsets of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.10A]; [0112]-[0114]: “UE 110 can construct a Type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook … A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook …UE 110 performs an AND operation within each bundle, and transmits the results to BS 120 via PUCCH resource”, BS receives HARQ-ACK; [FIG.10C]: “
”: a set of 5 PDSCHs => {first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs}; [0118]: “TD bundling with M number of bundles … UE 110 splits the pruned HARQ-ACK bits (e.g., the 5 HARQ-ACK bits after pruning) in to M bundles (e.g., M=2 bundles), where M is an integer. An AND operation can be performed on the bits in each bundle, and each bundle is mapped to a transmitted HARQ-ACK bit”; two HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to two subsets of PDSCHs of a set of 5 PDSCHs).
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Per claim 2 and 23:
Regarding claim 2, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘determine that the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions comprise a first subset of PDSCH transmissions and a second subset of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.10C]: “
”: two subsets of PDSCHs for a set of 5 PDSCHs => {first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs}; [0118]: “M=2 bundles”).
Regarding claim 23, Oteri teaches the BS of claim 13 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘determine that the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions comprise a first subset of PDSCH transmissions and a second subset of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.10C]: “
”: two subsets of PDSCHs for a set of 5 PDSCHs => {first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs}; [0118]: “M=2 bundles”).
Per claim 3 and 24:
Regarding claim 3, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘wherein the first subset of PDSCH transmissions and the second subset of PDSCH transmissions are non-overlapping’ (Oteri: [FIG.10C]: “
”: {first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs}, they do not overlap).
Regarding claim 24, Oteri teaches the BS of claim 23 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘wherein the first subset of PDSCH transmissions and the second subset of PDSCH transmissions are non-overlapping’ (Oteri: [FIG.10C]: “
”: {first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs}, they do not overlap).
Per claim 4 and 25:
Regarding claim 4, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 3 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘wherein the DCI indicates whether the first subset of PDSCH transmissions occurs prior to the second subset of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: subset
(“K1=2”) occurs before subset
(“K1=1”); [0032]: “Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-ACK bits corresponding to PDSCH transmissions of TDRA table 930 for K1=1 and K1=2 can be provided in Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource”; [0005]: “the UE can receive an indication that a K1 corresponding to the multi-PDSCH transmission”; Oteri: [FIG.10C]: “
”: first subset of three PDSCHs occurs before second subset of two PDSCHs).
Regarding claim 25, Oteri teaches the BS of claim 24 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘wherein the DCI indicates whether the first subset of PDSCH transmissions occurs prior to the second subset of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: subset
(“K1=2”) occurs before subset
(“K1=1”); [0032]: “Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-ACK bits corresponding to PDSCH transmissions of TDRA table 930 for K1=1 and K1=2 can be provided in Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource”; [0005]: “the UE can receive an indication that a K1 corresponding to the multi-PDSCH transmission”; Oteri: [FIG.10C]: “
”: first subset of three PDSCHs occurs before second subset of two PDSCHs).
Regarding claim 5, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘generate a first set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a first subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions; and generate a second set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a second subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.10C]: “
”: first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, the second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs; [0113]: “A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook”; [0118]: “UE 110 splits the pruned HARQ-ACK bits (e.g., the 5 HARQ-ACK bits after pruning) in to M bundles (e.g., M=2 bundles), where M is an integer. An AND operation can be performed on the bits in each bundle, and each bundle is mapped to a transmitted HARQ-ACK bit”; generate one HARQ-ACK bit for each subset (bundle) of the two subsets (bundles)).
Regarding claim 7, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 5 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘generate the first set of HARQ-ACK based at least in part on a first bundling group indication; and generate the second set of HARQ-ACK based at least in part on a second bundling group indication’ (Oteri: [0113]: “A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook”; [TABLE 2]: “”TD bundling with M number of Bundles” => bundling group indication; [FIG.10C]: “
” => for the set of five PDSCHs, based on bundling group indication that M=2 => first subset (bundle) of first three PDSCHs and second subset (bundle) of last two PDSCHs).
Per claim 11 and 26:
Regarding claim 11, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘wherein the table row of the TDRA table comprises two sub-rows’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: “
”); ‘wherein respective sub-rows of the two sub-rows indicate a TDRA for a subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: “
”, “
”, one row indicates a subset of PDSCHs; [0107]: “provide feedback on one multi-PDSCH row of TDRA table 930 rather than an entire HARQ-ACK codebook … UE 110 generating HARQ-ACK bits for the indicated TDRA row (e.g., row 935 of TDRA table 903 that corresponds to PDSCH transmissions 920 of a multi-PDSCH transmission)”).
Regarding claim 26, Oteri teaches the BS of claim 13 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘wherein the table row of the TDRA table comprises two sub-rows’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: “
”); ‘wherein respective sub-rows of the two sub-rows indicate a TDRA for a subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: “
”, “
”, one row indicates a subset of PDSCHs; [0107]: “provide feedback on one multi-PDSCH row of TDRA table 930 rather than an entire HARQ-ACK codebook … UE 110 generating HARQ-ACK bits for the indicated TDRA row (e.g., row 935 of TDRA table 903 that corresponds to PDSCH transmissions 920 of a multi-PDSCH transmission)”).
Per claim 12 and 27:
Regarding claim 12, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 11 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘determine indices of the two sub-rows based on at least in part an index of the table row of the TDRA table and a configured number of the two sub-rows associated with the TDRA table’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: “
”, indices of the two sub-row; [FIG.9]: “
”, “
”, one sub-row indicates a subset of PDSCHs => based on configuration of SLIV etc., UE can determine the corresponding “index = 1” based on the TDRA Table; [0109]: “the HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to the multi-PDSCH row 935 and 920 transmission”; [0107]: “provide feedback on one multi-PDSCH row of TDRA table 930 rather than an entire HARQ-ACK codebook … UE 110 generating HARQ-ACK bits for the indicated TDRA row (e.g., row 935 of TDRA table 903 that corresponds to PDSCH transmissions 920 of a multi-PDSCH transmission)”);
‘a configured number of the two sub-rows associated with the TDRA’ (Oteri: [FIG.10B]: “
”; [TABLE 1]: “TD Bundling with M bits per Bundle”; [0115]: “M may be signaled by BS 120 to UE 110 (e.g., configured or dynamically indicated in PDCCH)”; based on a configured number about bundling group).
Regarding claim 27, Oteri teaches the BS of claim 26 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘determine indices of the two sub-rows based at least in part on an index of the table row of the TDRA table’ (Oteri: [FIG.9]: “
”, indices of the two sub-row; [FIG.9]: “
”, “
”, one sub-row indicates a subset of PDSCHs => based on configuration of SLIV etc., UE can determine the corresponding index = 1 based on the TDRA Table; [0109]: “the HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to the multi-PDSCH row 935 and 920 transmission”; [0107]: “provide feedback on one multi-PDSCH row of TDRA table 930 rather than an entire HARQ-ACK codebook … UE 110 generating HARQ-ACK bits for the indicated TDRA row (e.g., row 935 of TDRA table 903 that corresponds to PDSCH transmissions 920 of a multi-PDSCH transmission)”);
‘a configured number of the two sub- rows associated with the TDRA table’ (Oteri: [FIG.10B]: “
”; [TABLE 1]: “TD Bundling with M bits per Bundle”; [0115]: “M may be signaled by BS 120 to UE 110 (e.g., configured or dynamically indicated in PDCCH)”; based on a configured number about bundling group).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ying et al. (US 20240187141 A1), hereinafter “Ying”.
Regarding claim 6, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 5 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘generate the first set of HARQ-ACK based at least in part on a first priority’ (Oteri: [0113]: “A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook”; [FIG.10C]: “
”: first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, the second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach ‘based at least in part on a first priority’;
‘generate the second set of HARQ-ACK based at least in part on a second priority that is different from the first priority’ (Oteri: [0113]: “A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach ‘based at least in part on a second priority that is different from the first priority’.
However, Ying in the same field of endeavor teaches high priority HARQ-ACK and low priority HARQ-ACK (Ying: [0077]: “high priority HARQ-ACK and low priority HARQ-ACK”) and HARQ-ACK bundle based on same priority (Ying: [0082]: “HARQ-ACK multiplexing with bundling may be applied within the same priority”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ying’s teaching with that of Oteri to generate the first set of HARQ-ACK based at least in part on a first priority; and generate the second set of HARQ-ACK based at least in part on a second priority that is different from the first priority in order to bundle HARQ-ACK based on priority (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 8, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘generate a first set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a first subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on a first priority indication in the DCI’ (Oteri: [0113]: “A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook”; [FIG.10C]: “
”: first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, the second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach ‘based at least in part on a first priority indication in the DCI’;
‘generate a second set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a second subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on a second priority indication that is different from the first priority indication’ (Oteri: [0113]: “A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach ‘transmissions based at least in part on a second priority indication that is different from the first priority indication’.
However, Ying in the same field of endeavor teaches DCI indicating priority of PDSCH (priority of HARQ-ACK associated with the PDSCH) (Ying: [0070]: “The priority of a scheduled PDSCH transmission may be determined by the priority indication in the scheduling DCI”), high priority HARQ-ACK and low priority HARQ-ACK (Ying: [0077]: “high priority HARQ-ACK and low priority HARQ-ACK”), and HARQ-ACK bundle based on same priority (Ying: [0082]: “HARQ-ACK multiplexing with bundling may be applied within the same priority”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ying’s teaching with that of Oteri to generate a first set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a first subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on a first priority indication in the DCI; and generate a second set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a second subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on a second priority indication that is different from the first priority indication in order to bundle HARQ-ACK based on priority (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Oteri and Ying teaches the UE of claim 8 (discussed above).
Oteri does not expressly teach, but Ying teaches ‘the second priority indication is a pre-determined value’ (this is optional); ‘the first priority indication has a high priority index of one’ (Ying: [0070]: “The high priority may be configured with a priority index 1”); ‘the second priority indication has a low priority index of zero’ (Ying: [0070]: “The low priority may be configured with a priority index 0”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ying’s teaching with that of Oteri in order to bundle HARQ-ACK based on priority (Ying: [0082]: “HARQ-ACK multiplexing with bundling may be applied within the same priority”).
Regarding claim 10, Oteri teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘generate a first set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a first subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on a first parameter’ (Oteri: [0113]: “A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook”; [FIG.10C]: “
”: first subset (bundle) => the first three PDSCHs, the second subset (bundle) => the last two PDSCHs; [TABLE 2]: “TD Bundling with M Number of Bundles”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach ‘based at least in part on a first parameter’;
‘generate a second set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a second subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on a second parameter that is different from the first parameter’ (Oteri: [0113]: “A bundle can be a group of bits to be operated on to produce a single bit for the HARQ-ACK codebook”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach ‘based at least in part on a second parameter that is different from the first parameter’.
Oteri does not expressly teach ‘the first parameter and the second parameter indicated by higher layer signaling’.
However, Ying in the same field of endeavor teaches higher layer signaling indicates priority of PDSCH (priority of HARQ-ACK associated with the PDSCH) (Ying: [0070]: “The priority of a SPS PDSCH transmission may be configured by higher layer signaling”), high priority HARQ-ACK (a parameter) and low priority HARQ-ACK (a different parameter) (Ying: [0077]: “high priority HARQ-ACK and low priority HARQ-ACK”), and HARQ-ACK bundle based on same priority (Ying: [0082]: “HARQ-ACK multiplexing with bundling may be applied within the same priority”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ying’s teaching with that of Oteri to generate a first set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a first subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on a first parameter; and generate a second set of HARQ-ACK corresponding to a second subset of PDSCH transmissions of the multiple subsets of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on a second parameter that is different from the first parameter, the first parameter and the second parameter indicated by higher layer signaling in order to bundle HARQ-ACK based on priority (see reference quotes in element above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230045728 A1 see [FIG.5]-[FIG.7], [0003]-[0008], [0035]-[0052];
US 20220029746 A see [0192];
US 20240089037 A1 see [0027]-[0038], [0096];
US 20230092206 A1 see [FIG.6], [FIG.9]-[FIG.19], [0118]-[0132];
US 20220322314 A1 see [FIG.18]-[FIG.27], [0233]-[0290].
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462