DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0206625) in view of Jung (US 2018/0150168).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a method for increasing a touch response speed (para. 227), applied to an electronic device (fig. 1), wherein the electronic device comprises a touchscreen (see TSP in fig. 3), a touch chip (310, fig. 3B), and an application processor (320, fig. 3B), the touchscreen comprises a plurality of transmit channels (TE_TX in fig. 3B) and a plurality of receive channels (TE_RX in fig. 3B), and the method comprises:
scanning, by the touch chip, one transmit channel group to obtain a touch data set (para. 191), wherein a quantity of transmit channels comprised in the transmit channel group is less than a quantity of all transmit channels of the touchscreen (para. 192-193), and the touch data set comprises parameters of equivalent capacitances between all receive channels and currently scanned transmit channels (para. 193, 105, 120-121);
transmitting by the touch chip, the touch data set to the application processor (para. 193, 195), until all transmit channel groups are scanned (para. 196, 202); and
sequentially receiving, by the application processor, touch data sets corresponding to the transmit channel groups (see fig. 9 and para. 202-203), until the touch data sets corresponding to all the transmit channel groups are received, and then obtaining touch location information corresponding to a touch operation on the touchscreen (para. 103, 161, 217).
Park fails to disclose wherein scanning the next transmit channel group partially overlaps with a touch transmission period of the touch data set.
Jung discloses transmitting, by the touch chip, the touch data set to an application processor while scanning (see transmitting S30-1 while scanning S10-2 in fig. 6), by the touch chip a next transmit channel group (S10-2 in fig. 6) until all transmit channel groups are scanned (see Groups 1-3 in fig. 10), wherein the scanning the next transmit channel group (S10-2, fig. 6) and the transmitting the touch data set (S30-1, fig. 6) are performed in parallel such that a scanning period of the next transmit channel group at partially overlaps with the touch data transmission period of the touch data set (see fig. 6 wherein S30-1 and S10-2 partially overlap).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Jung in the device of Park. The motivation for doing so would have been to have the data transmitting and touch scanning to reduce noise (Jung; para. 123) a to reduce the amount of time to determine a touch (Jung; para. 124). Ultimately to determine touch input puts more accurately and more efficiently.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses wherein the sequentially receiving, by the application processor, touch data sets corresponding to the transmit channel groups (see fig. 9 and para. 202-203), until the touch data sets corresponding to all the transmit channel groups are touch data corresponding to all the transmit channels is received, and obtaining touch location information corresponding to a touch operation on the touchscreen (para. 103, 161, 217) comprises:
after receiving a touch data set corresponding to one transmit channel group (para. 192-194), processing, by the application processor (para. 193, 216-217), the touch data set by using a touch data preprocessing algorithm (para. 217), until the touch data sets corresponding to all the transmit channel groups are received (para. 216-217), and then obtaining, through calculation based on the touch data sets corresponding to all the transmit channel groups channels, the touch location information corresponding to the touch operation (para. 217).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses wherein the transmitting, by the touch chip, the touch data set to the application processor ( para. 193, 195-196) comprises:
performing, by the touch chip, compression processing on the touch data set by using a preset compression algorithm (see ENC_SENDATA in fig. 10 and para. 226-227), and transmitting compressed touch data to the application processor (see fig. 10; and
the sequentially receiving, by the application processor,
touch data sets corresponding to the transmit channel groups, until the touch data sets corresponding to all the transmit channel groups (see fig. 9 and para. 202-203) are the touch data corresponding to all the transmit channels is received (para. 202-203), and obtaining touch location information corresponding to a touch operation on the touchscreen (para. 103, 161, 217) comprises:
after receiving the compressed touch data, performing, by the application processor, decompression processing on the compressed touch data by using a preset decompression algorithm (see 1020, fig. 10 and para. 221, 225); and
after receiving decompressed touch data corresponding to all the transmit channel groups, obtaining, by the application processor through calculation, the touch location information corresponding to the touch operation (para. 225).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses wherein the transmit channel group comprises one transmit channel (para. 191-192), and the touch data set is one piece of touch data obtained by scanning one transmit channel (para. 191-192); and
the scanning, by the touch chip in a process of transmitting the touch data set to the application processor (para. 193, 195), a next transmit channel group until all transmit channel groups are scanned (para. 196, 202)comprises:
in a process in which the touch chip transmits one piece of obtained touch data to the application processor (para. 191-192), continuing, by the touch chip, to scan a next transmit channel group until all the transmit channel groups are scanned (para. 202-203).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses wherein the transmit channel group comprises a plurality of transmit channels (para. 191-192), and the touch data set is one group of touch data obtained by scanning a plurality of transmit channels (para. 191-192); and
the scanning, by the touch chip in a process of transmitting the touch data set to the application processor (para. 193, 195), a next transmit channel group until all transmit channel groups are scanned (para. 196, 202) comprises:
in a process in which the touch chip transmits one group of obtained touch data to the application processor, sequentially scanning (para. 202-203), by the touch chip, transmit channels in a next transmit channel group, until all the transmit channel groups are scanned (para. 202-203); or
in a process in which the touch chip transmits one group of obtained touch data to the application processor, simultaneously scanning (para. 191), by the touch chip, transmit channels in a next transmit channel group, until all the transmit channel groups are scanned (para. 202-203).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses wherein a touch drive module (720, fig. 10) and a touch algorithm module (see touch algorithm in para. 217) are run in the application processor (320);
the transmitting, by the touch chip, the touch data set to the application processor comprises: transmitting, by the touch chip, the touch data set to the touch drive module (para. 193); and
the sequentially receiving, by the application processor, touch data sets corresponding to the transmit channel groups (fig. 9 and para. 202-203), until the touch data sets corresponding to all the transmit channel groups are received, and then obtaining touch location information corresponding to a touch operation on the touchscreen (para. 103, 161, 217) comprises:
sequentially receiving, by the touch drive module, touch data sets corresponding to transmit channels (see fig. 9 and para. 202-203), and transmitting the touch data sets to the touch algorithm module (para. 161, 217); and
sequentially receiving, by the touch algorithm module, the touch data sets corresponding to the transmit channels (see fig. 9 and para. 202-203), and obtaining, based on the touch data corresponding to all the transmit channels, the touch location information corresponding to the touch operation (para. 161, 103, 217).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses wherein the transmitting, by the touch chip, the touch data set to the touch drive module (para. 193) comprises:
performing, by the touch chip, compression processing (see ENC_SENDATA in fig. 10 and para. 226-227) on the touch data set by using the preset compression algorithm, and transmitting compressed touch data to the touch drive module (see fig. 10); and
the sequentially receiving, by the touch drive module, touch data sets corresponding to transmit channels, and transmitting the touch data sets to the touch algorithm module (see fig. 9 and para. 202-203) comprises:
after receiving the compressed touch data, performing, by the touch drive module, decompression processing on the compressed touch data by using the preset decompression algorithm (see 1020, fig. 10 and para. 221, 225), and transmitting decompressed data to the touch algorithm module (para. 161, 217).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses wherein the sequentially receiving, by the touch algorithm module, the touch data sets corresponding to the transmit channels (see fig. 9 and para. 202-203), and obtaining, based on the touch data corresponding to all the transmit channels, the touch location information corresponding to the touch operation (para. 161, 217)comprises:
after receiving a touch data set corresponding to one transmit channel group (para. 192-194), processing, by the touch algorithm module (para. 193, 216-217), the touch data set by using the touch data preprocessing algorithm, until the touch data sets corresponding to all the transmit channel groups are received (para. 216-217), and then obtaining, through calculation based on the touch data sets corresponding to all the transmit channel groups channels, the touch location information corresponding to the touch operation (para. 217).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses wherein an input module (para. 77) and a first application (para. 31, 72) are run in the application processor (para. 31, 72; further wherein application on display device are conventional), and the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the touch algorithm module, the touch location information to the input module by using the touch drive module (para. 4-5, 77); and
transmitting, by the input module, the touch location information to the first application, so that the first application responds to the touch operation based on the touch location information, wherein the first application is an application that is run in the foreground of the electronic device (para. 4-5, 77, 2; wherein e.g. user input triggers applications on touch display).
Claims 10 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. See above rejection.
Claims 12-19 are rejected for the same reasons as stated for claims 2-9, respectively. See above rejections.
Claims 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. See above rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See new citations above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628