DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33-42 and 45-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al.(US 20240275653 A1), hereinafter “Zhang”.
Per claim 33, 49 and 50:
Regarding claim 50, Zhang teaches ‘A communication device’ (Zhang: [FIG.2]: “UE” => “UL”, “BS” => “DL”); ‘for generating a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) comprising one or more ports for a physical channel’ (Zhang: [0109]: “
… the first DM-RS symbol of DMRS. r(m) is a symbol with index m in a symbol sequence generated by a function of Pseudo-random sequence generation or a function of low PAPR sequence generation. p is the DMRS ports”); ‘the communication device comprising a processor’ (Zhang: [FIG.2]: “PROCESSOR”); ‘a memory’ (Zhang: [FIG.2]: “MEMORY”); ‘containing instructions executable by the processor’ (Zhang: [0098]: “Memory modules 216 and 234 may also each include non-volatile memory for storing instructions to be executed by the processor”);
‘whereby the communication device is configured to:
generate and map a bit sequence to a first sequence r(q), the first sequence being a real- or complex-valued sequence’ (Zhang: [0109]: “
… the first DM-RS symbol of DMRS. r(m) is a symbol with index m in a symbol sequence generated by a function of Pseudo-random sequence generation or a function of low PAPR sequence generation. p is the DMRS ports”).
‘obtain a second sequence
, where
= 0, 1, ... , L - 1 for a port p of the DMRS’ (Zhang:
[0116]: “
”, obtain FD-OCC:
(
) with length L; [0117]: “wherein L may be the length of FD-OCC. For example, if FD-OCC length is 2, then L may be 2. If FD-OCC length is 3, then L may be 3”);
‘The second sequence being at least one of the following: a column or a row of a Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT)-based matrix such as a DFT matrix or an Inverse DFT matrix of size L x L; a column or a row of a Discrete Cosine Transform (DCT)-based matrix of size L x L; a column or a row of a Hadamard matrix of size L x L’ (these are optional);
‘a column or a row of any other orthogonal or unitary matrix of size L x L’ (Zhang: [TABLE 1]: “
”, 2x2 unitary matrix for L=2);
‘map the first and second sequences to L DMRS resource elements of the physical channel for the port p’ (Zhang: [0228]: “the UE may assume the sequence of a DMRS port corresponding to FD-length L and mapped to resource elements
according to equation (23).
”);
‘which comprises being configured to: multiply L entries of the first sequence r(q), element-by-element, with the L entries of the second sequence
for the port p to obtain a resulting real- or complex-valued symbol (or the real- or complex-valued baseband amplitude) sequence d(i)’ (discussed in element above => term:
in equation (23));
‘map the resulting real- or complex-valued symbol (or the real- or complex valued baseband amplitude) sequence d(i) to a subset of L DMRS resource elements for port p from a set of resource elements associated with the DMRS in one or more physical resource blocks (PRBs) of the physical channel, wherein the subset of L DMRS resource elements associated with the port p are all present in a single PRB or in at least two different PRBs’ (Zhang: [0228]: “the UE may assume the sequence of a DMRS port corresponding to FD-length L and mapped to resource elements
according to equation (23)”; [FIG.3]: “FD-OCCL=2” => map to a single PRB; [FIG.9]: “CDM unit1 FD-OCCL=4” => two DMRS RE of in PRB 1 and the other two DMRS RE in PRB2 => map to 2 different PRBs).
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 recites the method implemented by the communication device according to claim 50 (see rejection of claim 50 above).
Regarding claim 49, Zhang teaches ‘A method’ (Zhang: [Claim 1]: “A method”), ‘performed by a communication device, for receiving a physical channel with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), the DMRS comprising one or more ports’ (Zhang: [Claim 1]: “receiving, by a wireless communication device, first information from a wireless communication node; and determining, by the wireless communication device, that a category of DMRS ports is enabled according to the first information, wherein the category of DMRS ports has a frequency domain orthogonal cover code”); ‘the method comprising processing the received physical channel with the DMRS’ (Zhang: [FIG.2]: “UE” => “UL”, “BS” => “DL”, on UL, BS would receive; on DL, UE would receive);
‘wherein the DMRS for the physical channel is generated by:
generating and mapping a bit sequence to a first sequence r(q), the first sequence being a real- or complex-valued sequence’ (Zhang: [0109]: “
… the first DM-RS symbol of DMRS. r(m) is a symbol with index m in a symbol sequence generated by a function of Pseudo-random sequence generation or a function of low PAPR sequence generation. p is the DMRS ports”);
‘obtaining a second sequence
, where
= 0, 1, ... , L - 1 for a port p of the DMRS’ (Zhang:
[0116]: “
”, obtain FD-OCC:
(
) with length L; [0117]: “wherein L may be the length of FD-OCC. For example, if FD-OCC length is 2, then L may be 2. If FD-OCC length is 3, then L may be 3”);
‘the second sequence cf(k) being at least one of the following: a column or a row of a Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT)-based matrix such as a DFT matrix or an Inverse OFT matrix of size L x L; a column or a row of a Discrete Cosine Transform (DCT)-based matrix of size L X L’; a column or a row of a Hadamard matrix of size L x L’ ((these are optional);
‘a column or a row of any other orthogonal or unitary matrix of size L x L’ (Zhang: [TABLE 1]: “
”, 2x2 unitary matrix for L=2);
‘wherein the DMRS for the physical channel is generated by mapping the first and second
sequences to L DMRS resource elements of the physical channel for the port p’ (Zhang: [0228]: “the UE may assume the sequence of a DMRS port corresponding to FD-length L and mapped to resource elements
according to equation (23).
”);
‘which comprises: multiplying L entries of the first sequence r(q), element-by-element, with the L entries of the second sequence cf(k) for the port p to obtain a resulting real- or complex valued symbol (or the real- or complex-valued baseband amplitude) sequence d(i)’ (discussed in element above => term:
in equation (23));
‘mapping the resulting real- or complex-valued symbol (or the real- or complex valued baseband amplitude) sequence d(i) to a subset of L DMRS resource elements for the port p from a set of resource elements associated with the DMRS in one or more physical resource blocks (PRBs) of the physical channel, wherein the subset of L DMRS resource elements associated with the port p are all present in a single PRB or in at least two different PRBs’ (Zhang: [0228]: “the UE may assume the sequence of a DMRS port corresponding to FD-length L and mapped to resource elements
according to equation (23)”; [FIG.3]: “FD-OCCL=2” => map to a single PRB; [FIG.9]: “CDM unit1 FD-OCCL=4” => two DMRS RE of in PRB 1 and the other two DMRS RE in PRB2 => map to 2 different PRBs).
Regarding claim 34, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein an indexing of the first sequence r(q) is expressed as q =
, wherein:
are scalars that are non-negative integers, and n and k' are first and second indices/integer variables, respectively’ (Zhang: [0116]: “
” => q=L*n + k’ =>
= L,
= 1).
Regarding claim 35, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘computing at least a subset of values corresponding to the bit sequence based on fixed/specified rule(s) provided in specification(s)’ (Zhang: [0109]: “When the FD-OCC of length 2 is used, the UE may obtain the sequence of DMRS ports according to following equation (1):
”, for FD-OCC length 2 => use the 3GPP standard formula);
‘obtaining/retrieving at least a subset of values corresponding to the bit sequence provided directly in the specification(s)’ (this is optional).
Regarding claim 36, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the subset of L DMRS resource elements are: a subset of DMRS resource elements associated with the DMRS in one or more PRBs of the physical channel’’ (Zhang: [FIG.3]: “FD-OCCL=2” => 2 DMRS REs from 6 DMRS REs in one PRB; [FIG.4]: “FD-OCCL=3” => 3 DMRS REs from 6 DMRS REs in one PRB);
‘the set of all DMRS resource elements associated with the DMRS in one or more PRBs of the physical channel’ (Zhang: [FIG.7]: “FD-OCCL=6” => all 6 DMRS REs in one PRB).
Regarding claim 37, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 34 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein, for a given subset of L DMRS resource elements, among the L values of
for the second sequence
, at least two values of the L values of
for the second sequence are mapped to or associated with at least two different DMRS resource elements that are associated with at least two different values of n’ (Zhang: [0109]: “When the FD-OCC of length 2 is used, the UE may obtain the sequence of DMRS ports according to following equation (1):
”; [TABLE 1]:
;
With
= 0:
for k'=0: when n=0 => k = (4*0 + 2*0 + 0) =>
map to DMRS RE 0
for k'=1: when n = 1 => k = (4*1 + 2*1 + 0) =>
map to DMRS RE 6).
Regarding claim 38, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the mapping of the second sequence
to the L DMRS resource elements is repeated for multiple different disjoint subsets of DMRS resource elements in a DMRS port’ (Zhang: [FIG.3]: “FD-OCCL=2” => repeat 3 times; [FIG.4]: “FD-OCCL=3” => repeat 2 times; [0109]: “When the FD-OCC of length 2 is used, the UE may obtain the sequence of DMRS ports according to following equation (1):
”; [TABLE 1]:
;
With
= 0:
When n = 0, k'=0 => k = 0 (4*0 + 2*0 + 0) => DMRS RE 0,
When n = 0, k'=1 => k = 2 (4*0 + 2*1 + 0) => DMRS RE 2,
When n = 1, k'=0 => k = 4 (4*1 + 2*0 + 0) => DMRS RE 4,
When n = 1, k'=1 => k = 6 (4*1 + 2*1 + 0) => DMRS RE 6,
When n = 2, k'=0 => k = 8 (4*2 + 2*0 + 0) => DMRS RE 8,
When n = 2, k'=1 => k = 10 (4*2 + 2*1 + 0) => DMRS RE 10;
: with k’=0 => map to DMRS RE 0, 4 and 8, with k’=1 => map to DMRS RE 2, 6 and 10).
Regarding claim 39, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the subset of L DMRS resource elements for the port p are present in at least two different PRBs, wherein at least one resource element from the subset of L DMRS resource elements for the port p is present in a first PRB and at least one other resource element from the subset of L DMRS resource elements for the port p is present in a PRB other than the first PRB’ (Zhang: [FIG.9]: “CDM unit1 FD-OCCL=4” => two DMRS REs in PRB1 and two DMRS REs in PRB2).
Regarding claim 40, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the total number of PRBs comprising the DMRS in the physical channel
is an integer multiple of
, which is a smallest number of PRBs in which the mapping of the second sequence
is repeated to U
1 disjoint subsets of the DMRS resource elements of the PRBs, wherein each disjoint subset has L DMRS resource elements and a union of the disjoint subsets is equal to a set of all DMRS resource elements in the PRBs’ (Zhang: [FIG.3]: “FD-OCCL=2” => repeat 3 times in one PRB, therefore
= 1 =>
=
* 1 =
*
).
Regarding claim 41, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein L is 4’ (Zhang: [FIG.9]: “FD-OCCL=4”); ‘6 or 8’ (these are optional).
Regarding claim 42, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zheng teaches ‘wherein, when a total number of DMRS resource elements associated with a port (or CDM group) in a PRB is equal to 6, the number of PRBs scheduled for the DMRS or the physical channel is an even number’ (Zhang: [FIG.9]: with 6 DMRS REs in one PRB => with “FD-OCCL=4”, need 2 PRBs (2 * 6 = 12 DMRS REs) to cover length 4 => the number of PRBs scheduled for the DMRS needs to be multiple of 2 (even number); [0058]: “if L is 4, and the DMRS port p is of DMRS type I, at least one of following applies: the DMRS port occupies REs on two continuous DMRS PRBs; a number of PRBs of a bandwidth part (BWP) is an integer multiple of 2; a number of PRBs of the DMRS ports ise an integer multiple of 2”).
Regarding claim 45, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the mapping of the first and second sequences to the L DMRS resource elements is performed using the first sequence r(q) and the second sequence
as:
with
denoting a resource element index, a symbol index, a port index, and waveform numerology, respectively, and
where K' is a total number of resource elements per segment, the variable
is associated with the symbol index land is configured by a network node or is defined in wireless standards specification(s), the value
is a subcarrier offset index within a specific PRB that depends on a code-division-multiplexing (CDM) group index ;t for the port p,
is a positive, non-zero value, and
is a complex- or real-valued sequence’ (Zhang: [0105]-[0109]: “For DMRS Type I … When the FD-OCC of length 2 is used, the UE may obtain the sequence of DMRS ports according to following equation (1):
”, L=2, K’=2,
=2; [0196]-[0197]: “For DMRS type II … ] When the FD-OCC length 2 is used, the UE may assume the sequence of a DMRS port corresponding to FD-length 2 according to equation (15) and Table 24.
”, L=2, K’=2,
=2).
Regarding claim 46, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 45 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the value k, used in the second sequence
for the mapping, is computed using at least one of the following indices/parameters:
is a total number of subcarriers associated with a port (or CDM group) in a PRB’ (Zhang: [0109]: “When the FD-OCC of length 2 is used, the UE may obtain the sequence of DMRS ports according to following equation (1):
”,
is the
,
= k’).
Regarding claim 47, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 46 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the value of k to be used for a resource element is computed by one of the following:
’ (these are optional);
‘
’ (Zhang: [0109]: “When the FD-OCC of length 2 is used, the UE may obtain the sequence of DMRS ports according to following equation (1):
”, L=2 =>
= mod (2n + k’, 2) = mod (k’, 2) = k’).
Regarding claim 48, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 45 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the value of k for a resource element is given by
, where:
represents a difference between two closest values of n that the first sequence is mapped to, and
is a smallest number of consecutive values of n across which the second sequence
is mapped, wherein the mapping of the second sequence is repeated to
disjoint subsets of associated DMRS resource elements with L DMRS resource elements in each subset and a union of the subsets is equal to a set of all DMRS resource elements associated with the values of n, and where
’ (Zhang: [0109]: “When the FD-OCC of length 2 is used, the UE may obtain the sequence of DMRS ports according to following equation (1):
”, K’=2 and L=2 =>
= 0 =>
and
is the
).
Regarding claim 51, Zhang teaches the communication device according to claim 50 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the communication device is a user equipment (UE)’ (Zhang: [FIG.2]: “UE”).
Regarding claim 52, Zhang teaches the communication device according to claim 50 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the communication device is a network node or gNB’ (Zhang: [FIG.2]: “BS”; [0118]: “The gNB can inform the UE which FD-OCC length should be used”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 33 above, in view of Zheng et al. (US 20240380551 A1), hereinafter “Zheng”.
Regarding claim 43, Zhang teaches the method according to claim 33 (discussed above).
Zhang teaches ‘wherein the L DMRS resource elements comprise
segments with
resource elements per segment and each segment is associated with a different value of n and each resource element belongs to only one segment’ (Zhang: [FIG.9]: “CDM unit0 FD-OCCL=4” => 4 DMRS REs corresponding to unit 0 (n=0), “CMD unit1 FD-OCCL=4” => 4 DMRS REs corresponding to unit 1 (n=1); [0178]: “
”,
For L=4 and with
= 0:
n=0: k’= (0, 1, 2, 3) => k= (0, 2, 4, 6)=> mapped to DMRS RE: 0, 2, 4, 6;
n=1: k’= (0, 1, 2, 3) => k= (8, 10, 12 (mod 12)=0, 14 (mod 12)=2)=> mapped to DMRS RE: (first PRB DMRS RE 8 and 10, second PRB DMRS RE 0 and 2). However, Zhang fails to expressly teaches ‘comprise
segments with resource elements per segment’.
Zheng in the same field of endeavor teaches 4 DMRS REs comprises 2 segments with 2 DMRS REs per segment and each segment is associated with a different value of n and each resource element belongs to only one segment (Zheng: [FIG.5]: four DMRS REs mapped to DMRS RE: 0, 2, 8, and 10 => 4 DMRS REs mapped to 2 segments, first segment: DMRS RE 0 and 2 (corresponding to unit 0: n=0), second segment: DMRS RE 8 and 10 (corresponding to unit 1: n=1); [FIG.3]: four DMRS REs mapped to DMRS RE: 0, 2, 4, and 6 (corresponding to unit 0: n=0); [0138]: “in FIG. 5, in this case, four DMRS ports are multiplexed on subcarriers with absolute indexes 0, 2, 8, and 10”; [0136]: “in FIG. 3, in this case, four DMRS ports are multiplexed on subcarriers with absolute indexes 0, 2, 4, and 6”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng’s teaching with that of Zhang in order to have more freedom on DMRS RE mapping (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 44, combination of Zhang and Zheng teaches the method according to claim 43 (discussed above).
Combination of Zhang and Zheng teaches ‘wherein at least one of the following applies:
is a total number of resource elements per segment; g = L/K'’ (Zhang: [FIG.9]. Zheng: [FIG.5]: four DMRS REs mapped to DMRS RE: 0, 2, 8, and 10 => 4 DMRS REs mapped to 2 segments, first segment: DMRS RE 0 and 2 (corresponding to unit 0: n=0)), second segment: DMRS RE 8 and 10 (corresponding to unit 1: n=1) => L=4, K’=2 and 2 segments => g=2 = 4/2; [FIG.3]: four DMRS REs mapped to DMRS RE: 0, 2, 4, and 6 (corresponding to unit 0: n=0)).
‘
; or
’ (there are optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng’s teaching of different ways of mapping with that of Zhang in order to have more freedom on DMRS RE mapping (see reference quotes in element above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250056556 A see [FIG.3]-[FIG.6], [FIG.9]-[FIG.10], [TABLE 6], [0025]-[0037];
US 20220278880 A1 see [FIG.5A]-[FIG.8B], [0119]-[0151];
US 20230171059 A1 see [FIG.4], [0072]-[0185];
US 20240243875 A1 see [FIG.3]-[FIG.9], [0049]-[0077].
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462