DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 17-18, 25-27, and 30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. (WO 2023150372 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 26, Cirik discloses:
an apparatus for wireless communications (fig.15b element 1539 depicts an apparatus for wireless communications) at a user equipment (UE) (fig.15b element 1530 depicts the User Equipment), comprising:
a processor (fig.15b element 1531 depicts a processor, also par.[0198] which recites, in part, “The computing device 1530 may include one or more processors 1531”);
memory (fig.15b elements 1534 and/or 1535 and/or 1533 which depict a hard-wired memory and a removable memory, see par.[0198]) coupled with the processor (fig.15b depicts the memory/memories communicatively coupled with the processor); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus (par.[0198] which recites, in part, “one or more processors 1531, which may execute instructions stored in the random-access memory (RAM) 1533, the removable media 1534 (such as a Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive, compact disk (CD) or digital versatile disk (DVD), or floppy disk drive), or any other desired storage medium.”) to perform:
a method for wireless communications (Fig.15b the User Equipment, is equipped with interfaces that facilitate wireless communications and fig(s). 1a and 1b depict wireless communications networks, par.[0007]) at the user equipment (UE) (the aforecited user equipment as discussed above with reference to fig.15b), comprising:
receiving a control message (par.[0087] which teaches the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) which carries a Downlink Control Information (DCI) on the downlink to the user equipment) indicating scheduling information (par.[0087] which recites, in part, “which may comprise downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands”) for an uplink shared channel for the UE (par.[0179] describes the different DCI and their purpose. Additionally, certain DCI are utilized for scheduling PUSCH, such as DCI 0_1, see “. DCI format 0_1 may be used for scheduling of a PUSCH in a cell…..” PUSCH being an acronym for Physical Uplink Shared Channel), the scheduling information indicating multiple transmission configuration indicator states for the uplink shared channel (par.[0226] which recites, in part, “A plurality of TCI states (or at least one TCI state of the plurality of TCI states) may be for transmission of uplink signals (e.g., UCI, dynamic grant PUSCH, configured uplink grant based PUSCH, SRS, PUCCH, transport block, SR, CSI, HARQ-ACK) of/for/on/via an uplink resource (e.g., PUSCH resource, PUCCH resource, SRS resource) of the cell.”. The office notes that the fig.17 teaches a plurality of TCI states sent in RRC signaling at 1710, and the activation of the TCI states of the one or more TCI states is performed in the DCI/TCI Field as shown in fig.17 element 1730, see par.[0253] which recites, in part, “The TCI codepoint (e.g., 110) may indicate/comprise at least two TCI states. The DCI may indicate activation of (or may activate) the at least two TCI states. The at least two TCI states may comprise a first TCI state and a second TCI state.”);
transmitting, via a first set of resources (fig.18 depicts Frequency Division Multiplexing and Space Division Multiplexing/SFN wherein there can be different transmission occasions, which partially or fully overlap in the TIME DOMAIN. The disclosure at fig.18 depicts at least two transmission occasions which overlap in time and utilize different frequency resources, and SDM which utilizes partially overlapping time and frequency resources, par.[0276 – 0277]), a first portion of the uplink shared channel (par.[0276] which describes transmission of a first repetition of the PUSCH, wherein the first PUSCH repetition comprises a first portion of time resources utilized for PUSCH for a first repetition, and fig.18, also par.[1058]) multiplexed with first uplink control information (par.[0283 - 0285] describes a DCI which can schedule repetitions of PUSCH, as discussed above. The PUSCH repetition may be configured to multiplex UCI with PUSCH such as CSI, as described in the paragraph. Additionally, each repetition can be configured to carry UCI such as CSI, see, “In at least some wireless communications, a wireless device may send (e.g., transmit)/multiplex the CSI report (or other information) in more than one repetition (transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission (e.g., a first repetition (or a first transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission and a second repetition (or a second transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission)”. As can be seen a first PUSCH repetition which is a portion or transmission occasion of the PUSCH can multiplex the CSI which is a type of UCI, and other types of UCI as well or other information. Par.[0452 – 0453, 0472 – 0474] and fig.22) in accordance with a first transmission configuration indicator state of the multiple transmission configuration indicator states (par.[0265] which recites, in part, “the using/applying the at least two uplink TCI states for transmission of the uplink signals may comprise sending (e.g., transmitting) the one or more first uplink signals with a first transmission power that is determined based on one or more first power control parameters (e.g., target received power, closed-loop index, pathloss compensation factor, alpha, pathloss reference signal, and the like) indicated by (or included in or associated with or mapped to) the first uplink TCI state.” Again as discussed above, the RRC signalling as discussed comprises a plurality of TCI states, and the DCI comprises an indication of which TCI States to use, as discussed above with reference to par.[0226]); and
transmitting, via a second set of resources (fig.18 depicts Frequency Division Multiplexing and Space Division Multiplexing/SFN wherein there can be different transmission occasions, which partially or fully overlap in the TIME DOMAIN. The disclosure at fig.18 depicts at least two transmission occasions which overlap in time and utilize different frequency resources, and SDM which utilizes partially overlapping time and frequency resources, par.[0276 – 0277]) that at least partially overlaps the first set of resources in time (as discussed above, with FDM the time resources fully overlap and in SDM the resources partially overlap in time as depicted in fig.18), a second portion of the uplink shared channel (fig.18 and par.[0276] as discussed above, wherein the PUSCH may be sent over two transmission occasions in a same time slot over different frequency resources, as discussed with regard to FDM. Also par.[1058]) multiplexed with second uplink control information (par.[0283 – 0285] as discussed above, the PUSCH repetition may be configured to multiplex UCI with PUSCH such as CSI, as described in the paragraph. Additionally, each repetition can be configured to carry UCI such as CSI, see, “In at least some wireless communications, a wireless device may send (e.g., transmit)/multiplex the CSI report (or other information) in more than one repetition (transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission (e.g., a first repetition (or a first transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission and a second repetition (or a second transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission)”. Par.[0452 – 0453, 0472 – 0474] and fig.22) in accordance with a second transmission configuration indicator state of the multiple transmission configuration indicator states (par.[0265] which recites, in part, “the using/applying the at least two uplink TCI states for transmission of the uplink signals may comprise sending (e.g., transmitting) the one or more first uplink signals with a first transmission power that is determined based on one or more first power control parameters (e.g., target received power, closed-loop index, pathloss compensation factor, alpha, pathloss reference signal, and the like) indicated by (or included in or associated with or mapped to) the first uplink TCI state.” Again as discussed above, the RRC signalling as discussed comprises a plurality of TCI states, and the DCI comprises an indication of which TCI States to use, as discussed above with reference to par.[0226]).
Regarding claims 2 and 27, Cirik discloses:
generating the second uplink control information based at least in part on the first uplink control information (par.[0482] The second UCI may comprise, for example, CSI report. [0483] The wireless device may multiplex the UCI in the first repetition of the PUSCH transmission and the second repetition of the PUSCH transmission, for example, based on the PUSCH transmission not comprising/carrying a second UCI that is different from the UCI.” That is, when the UCI is the same, the second UCI can be carried and is generated based on the UCI being the same for both repetitions), wherein the second uplink control information is a copy of the first uplink control information (par.[0483] which recites, in part, “based on the PUSCH transmission not comprising/carrying a second UCI that is different from the UCI” That is, the UCI is the same as the UCI in the first repetition).
Regarding claims 17 and 25, Cirik discloses:
wherein the first set of resources and the second set of resources are non-overlapping in frequency (fig.18 depicts FDM which comprises non-overlapping frequency resources).
Regarding claims 18 and 30, Cirik discloses:
an apparatus for wireless communications (fig.1a depicts a wireless communications network) at a network entity (fig.15a depicts a base station), comprising:
a processor (fig.15a depicts the processing system element 1508);
memory (fig.15a depict a memory 1514) coupled with the processor (fig.15a the memory being coupled with the processor); and
instructions stored in the memory (par.[0195] and element 1514) and executable by the processor (par.[0195] describes the instructions executable by the processor) to cause the apparatus to:
a method for wireless communications (fig.1a depicts a wireless communications network) at a network entity (fig.15a depicts wireless communications, wherein wireless communications occur between a wireless device and a base station. Wherein the base station is interpreted as a network entity), comprising:
transmitting a control message (par.[0087] which teaches the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) which carries a Downlink Control Information (DCI) on the downlink to the user equipment from the base station) indicating scheduling information (par.[0087] which recites, in part, “which may comprise downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands”) for an uplink shared channel for the UE (par.[0179] describes the different DCI and their purpose. Additionally, certain DCI are utilized for scheduling PUSCH, such as DCI 0_1, see “. DCI format 0_1 may be used for scheduling of a PUSCH in a cell…..” (PUSCH) being an acronym for Physical Uplink Shared Channel), the scheduling information indicating multiple transmission configuration indicator states for the uplink shared channel (par.[0226] which recites, in part, “A plurality of TCI states (or at least one TCI state of the plurality of TCI states) may be for transmission of uplink signals (e.g., UCI, dynamic grant PUSCH, configured uplink grant based PUSCH, SRS, PUCCH, transport block, SR, CSI, HARQ-ACK) of/for/on/via an uplink resource (e.g., PUSCH resource, PUCCH resource, SRS resource) of the cell.”. The office notes that the fig.17 teaches a plurality of TCI states sent in RRC signaling at 1710, and the activation of the TCI states of the one or more TCI states is performed in the DCI/TCI Field as shown in fig.17 element 1730, see par.[0253] which recites, in part, “The TCI codepoint (e.g., 110) may indicate/comprise at least two TCI states. The DCI may indicate activation of (or may activate) the at least two TCI states. The at least two TCI states may comprise a first TCI state and a second TCI state.”);
receiving, via a first set of resources (fig.18 depicts Frequency Division Multiplexing and Space Division Multiplexing/SFN wherein there can be different transmission occasions, which partially or fully overlap in the TIME DOMAIN. The disclosure at fig.18 depicts at least two transmission occasions which overlap in time and utilize different frequency resources, and SDM which utilizes partially overlapping time and frequency resources, par.[0276 – 0277]), a first portion of the uplink shared channel (par.[0276] which describes transmission of a first repetition of the PUSCH, wherein the first PUSCH repetition comprises a first portion of time resources utilized for PUSCH for a first repetition, and fig.18, also par.[1058]) multiplexed with first uplink control information (par.[0283 - 0285] describes a DCI which can schedule repetitions of PUSCH, as discussed above. The PUSCH repetition may be configured to multiplex UCI with PUSCH such as CSI, as described in the paragraph. Additionally, each repetition can be configured to carry UCI such as CSI, see, “In at least some wireless communications, a wireless device may send (e.g., transmit)/multiplex the CSI report (or other information) in more than one repetition (transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission (e.g., a first repetition (or a first transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission and a second repetition (or a second transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission)”. As can be seen a first PUSCH repetition which is a portion or transmission occasion of the PUSCH can multiplex the CSI which is a type of UCI, and other types of UCI as well or other information) in accordance with a first transmission configuration indicator state of the multiple transmission configuration indicator states (par.[0265] which recites, in part, “the using/applying the at least two uplink TCI states for transmission of the uplink signals may comprise sending (e.g., transmitting) the one or more first uplink signals with a first transmission power that is determined based on one or more first power control parameters (e.g., target received power, closed-loop index, pathloss compensation factor, alpha, pathloss reference signal, and the like) indicated by (or included in or associated with or mapped to) the first uplink TCI state.” Again as discussed above, the RRC signalling as discussed comprises a plurality of TCI states, and the DCI comprises an indication of which TCI States to use, as discussed above with reference to par.[0226]); and
receiving, via a second set of resources (fig.18 depicts Frequency Division Multiplexing and Space Division Multiplexing/SFN wherein there can be different transmission occasions, which partially or fully overlap in the TIME DOMAIN. The disclosure at fig.18 depicts at least two transmission occasions which overlap in time and utilize different frequency resources, and SDM which utilizes partially overlapping time and frequency resources, par.[0276 – 0277]) that at least partially overlaps the first set of resources in time (as discussed above, with FDM the time resources fully overlap and in SDM the resources partially overlap in time as depicted in fig.18), a second portion of the uplink shared channel (fig.18 and par.[0276] as discussed above, wherein the PUSCH may be sent over two transmission occasions in a same time slot over different frequency resources, as discussed with regard to FDM. Also par.[1058]) multiplexed with second uplink control information (par.[0283 – 0285] as discussed above, the PUSCH repetition may be configured to multiplex UCI with PUSCH such as CSI, as described in the paragraph. Additionally, each repetition can be configured to carry UCI such as CSI, see, “In at least some wireless communications, a wireless device may send (e.g., transmit)/multiplex the CSI report (or other information) in more than one repetition (transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission (e.g., a first repetition (or a first transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission and a second repetition (or a second transmission occasion) of the PUSCH transmission)”.) in accordance with a second transmission configuration indicator state of the multiple transmission configuration indicator states (par.[0265] which recites, in part, “the using/applying the at least two uplink TCI states for transmission of the uplink signals may comprise sending (e.g., transmitting) the one or more first uplink signals with a first transmission power that is determined based on one or more first power control parameters (e.g., target received power, closed-loop index, pathloss compensation factor, alpha, pathloss reference signal, and the like) indicated by (or included in or associated with or mapped to) the first uplink TCI state.” Again as discussed above, the RRC signalling as discussed comprises a plurality of TCI states, and the DCI comprises an indication of which TCI States to use, as discussed above with reference to par.[0226]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 and 28is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik as applied to independent claims 1, 18, and 26, in view of Lu et al. (US 2024/0260041A1).
Regarding claim 11, the disclosure of Cirik teaches that a first and second sets of UCI can be sent on PUSCH to multiple TRP, but may not disclose:
performing an encoding and rate matching procedure for a set of uplink control information based at least in part on an encoding and rate matching scheme to obtain the uplink control information.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Lu teaches:
performing an encoding and rate matching procedure for a set of uplink control information based at least in part on an encoding and rate matching scheme to obtain the uplink control information (par.[0177] and fig.22 describes encoding an rate matching the UCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosure of Cirik for PUSCH repletion multiplexing UCI, with the disclosure of Lu which teaches a method for encoding and rate matching the UCI. The motivation/suggestion would have been that encoding and rate-matching is required for multiplexing UCI data onto symbols of the PUSCH as discussed in Lu.
Regarding claim 12, the disclosure of Lu teaches:
wherein performing the encoding and rate matching procedure for the second set of uplink control information comprises:
determining a number of coded symbols per layer for the second set of uplink control information (par.[0181] which recites, in part, “including calculating a quantity of coded modulation symbols of each UCI layer and performing bit selection”);
omitting one or more bits of the second set of uplink control information (par.[0215] which recites, in part, “In this case, when performing rate de-matching, the network device also uses, as the length of the bits that are available for the transmission of the TB and that are output in 2.sup.nd rate matching, G′ that is obtained after the total quantity of coded bits of the A-CSI is deducted.”); and
determining one or more sequence lengths for different subsets of information of the second set of uplink control information after omitting the one or more bits (par.[0215] which recites, in part, “therefore, when the terminal device determines the length of the bits that are available for the transmission of the TB and that are output in 2.sup.nd rate matching, the total quantity of coded bits of the A-CSI is not deducted; and when the terminal device determines a location of a starting bit in bit selection in rate matching in a 3.sup.rd slot, the total quantity of coded bits of the A-CSI is not deducted to obtain the total quantity G′ of coded bits available for the transmission of the TB.”).
Regarding claim 28, the disclosure of Cirik teaches that a first and second sets of UCI can be sent on PUSCH to multiple TRP, but may not disclose:
encode the first uplink control information according to a first encoding scheme;
perform, after encoding the first uplink control information, rate matching for the first uplink control information according to a first rate matching scheme; and
multiplex the first uplink control information with the first portion of the uplink shared channel after performing rate matching for the first uplink control information.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Lu teaches:
encode the first uplink control information according to a first encoding scheme (fig.3 depicts a bit string being encoded using a encoding scheme);
perform, after encoding the first uplink control information, rate matching for the first uplink control information according to a first rate matching scheme (fig.3 depicts the coded bit string being rate matched); and
multiplex the first uplink control information with the first portion of the uplink shared channel after performing rate matching for the first uplink control information (par.[0014] describes the UCI being multiplexed, see par.[0177]-[0183]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosure of Cirik for PUSCH repletion multiplexing UCI, with the disclosure of Lu which teaches a method for encoding and rate matching the UCI. The motivation/suggestion would have been that encoding and rate-matching is required for multiplexing UCI data onto symbols of the PUSCH as discussed in Lu.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik as applied to independent claims 1, 18, and 26, in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2020/0367208 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the disclosure of Cirik teaches that the DCI comprises a RV_Field, but may not disclose:
further comprising:
generating the first portion of the uplink shared channel based at least in part on a first redundancy version; and generating the second portion of the uplink shared channel based at least in part on a second redundancy version different from the first redundancy version.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Khoshnevisan teaches:
generating the first portion of the uplink shared channel based at least in part on a first redundancy version (par.[0008] describes multi-TRP in FDM, SDM, or TDM, and further discloses at par.[0013] RV for each PUSCH repetition. Each PUSCH repetition being a portion of the PUSCH); and
generating the second portion of the uplink shared channel based at least in part on a second redundancy version different from the first redundancy version (par.[0013] which recites, in part, “RV for each PUSCH repetition. Each PUSCH repetition being a portion of the PUSCH”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Cirik for multi-TRP transmission, with the disclosure of Khoshnevisan for PUSCH enhancements in a multi-TRP scenario. The motivation/suggestion would have been because it allows for the DCI convey values for each actual repetition (Khoshnevisan: par.[0137]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik as applied to independent claims 1, 18, and 26, in view of Beale et al. (US 2023/0336286 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the disclosure of Cirik teaches the transmission of different portions or repetitions of the PUSCH, but may not disclose:
generating the first portion and the second portion of the uplink shared channel based at least in part on a same redundancy version.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Beale teaches:
generating the first portion and the second portion of the uplink shared channel based at least in part on a same redundancy version (par.[0125] describes the PUSCH having a same redundancy version).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Cirik for performing PUSCH repetition with the disclosure of Beale which teaches that the repetitions utilize a same RV. The motivation/suggestion would have been to lower the effective code rate of the transmission to provide enhanced or error correction, and also allows for extended transmission capability.
Claim(s) 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik as applied to independent claims 1, 18, and 26, in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0137109 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the disclosure of Cirik teaches performing PUSCH transmission which is indicated by Downlink Control Information, but may not disclose:
receiving a second control message configuring the UE to operate in a frequency division multiplexed mode for uplink shared channel transmissions.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Sun teaches:
receiving a second control message configuring the UE to operate in a frequency division multiplexed mode for uplink shared channel transmissions (par.[0088] which teaches that the DCI can schedule the PDSCH in different modes such as FDM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosures of Cirik with the disclosure of Sun. The motivation/suggestion would have been to direct the UE to a particular transmission mode using control signalling which is needed to convey the mode to the UE.
Regarding claim 19, the disclosure of Cirik teaches performing PUSCH transmission which is indicated by Downlink Control Information, but may not disclose:
transmitting a second control message configuring the UE to operate in a frequency division multiplexed mode for uplink shared channel transmissions.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Sun teaches:
transmitting a second control message configuring the UE to operate in a frequency division multiplexed mode for uplink shared channel transmissions (par.[0088] which teaches that the DCI can schedule the PDSCH in different modes such as FDM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosures of Cirik with the disclosure of Sun. The motivation/suggestion would have been to direct the UE to a particular transmission mode using control signalling which is needed to convey the mode to the UE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 16, 20-24 and 29, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411