DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024, 01/21/2025 and 06/26/2025 was filed on or after the mailing date of the Application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the switch module must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract includes phrases which can be implied, such as “The present disclosure provides…”. The phrase does not aid in understanding the invention and said phrasing is expressly discouraged in order to clearly and concisely describe the invention. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds either 15 lines of text or 150 words. Applicant should check and attempt to amend the abstract so that it is as concise as the disclosure permits in order to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract appears to include language that refers to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention, such as “Thus, the water pump does not need to be turned on…temperature rise would not be caused…service life and a spraying effect…may be guaranteed when the spraying system is operated in a water conservation manner,”. Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be included in the abstract. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification is objected to because it does not appear to provide a consistent interpretation of the invention with the drawings. Specifically, ¶ 0055 of the specification recites, “…a solid branch in Fig. 1 represents the spraying branch and a dotted line branch represents the backflow branch.” However, further citations in the specification such as ¶ 0048 recites numeral 2 as the spraying branch and numeral 3 as the backflow branch. It is apparent from Fig. 1 of the application drawings that line 3, the backflow branch, is solid; line 2, the spraying branch, is dotted. Therefore, the recitation of the invention in the cited location is contradictory to the understanding of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purposes of Examination, solid line 3 is considered the backflow branch and dotted line 2 is considered the spraying branch.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Water outlet device in at least claim 1
Switch module in at least claim 5
Detection module in at least claim 6
Control module
A review of the specification show that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
A water outlet device (i.e. a device configured to output water) appears to be described as a water tank in at least ¶ 0012 of the specification.
–
A detection module (i.e. a module configured to detect) appears to be described as a circuit board in communication with a control module, configured to detect the startup-shutdown of a spray system via wires in at least ¶ 0069-0072 of the specification.
A control module (i.e. a module configured to control) appears to be described as a circuit board in communication with a plurality of components via wires, in order to control the power on and power off of the plurality of components in at least ¶ 0071-0072 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “switch module” in line 2. The term “module,” being a non-structural term that is a substitute for the term "means," invokes a claim interpretation under the guise of 35 USC § 112(f), which requires a reliance on the corresponding disclosure to provide the limits on the structure, material or act that performs the claimed function. The disclosure must show with reasonable clarity to one skilled in the art that applicant was in possession of the invention as claimed. Possession is shown by describing the claimed invention with all limitations. Here, the switch module, including its function, is discussed in ¶ 0009 and 0065-0066. However, the corresponding structure that is capable of performing the claimed function (i.e. switching) of the module is not provided in the specification. A mere restatement of the function in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function, is a failure to provide adequate written description for a § 112(f) limitation claim interpretation. Because the specification fails to provide an adequate description of a structure for the switch module, the boundary of claim is not clearly defined. A claim without clearly defined boundaries is rendered indefinite. Therefore, the claim, and all claims depending therefrom, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claims 3-5 and 9-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, the recitation of “…a first solenoid valve…” and “…a second solenoid valve…” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, claim 1 has already disclosed “a solenoid valve”. Therefore, it is unclear if the new instance of a first and second valves are building upon the previously disclosed elements, or if they are entirely new elements. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Assuming that the respective valves are building upon claim 1, and not claiming entirely new valves, the claim may be rewritten in the following form or similar to overcome the rejection: The spraying system according to claim 2, wherein the solenoid valve comprises a first solenoid valve provided in the second spraying branch, and a second solenoid valve provided in the backflow branch….
Regarding Claim 4, the recitation of “...a third solenoid valve…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a third solenoid valve may exist without the existence of a first or second solenoid valve. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation “switch module” render the claim indefinite. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would not understand the scope of the claimed invention when read in light of the specification. The lack of disclosure regarding the limitation "switch module” as called for in dependent claim 5 creates such an inconsistency between the claims and the description that it prevents a skilled artisan from understanding the scope of the independent claims (MPEP § 2173.03). The specification does not use the claim terminology to identify the “switch module.” For the purpose of this examination, the limitation will be broadly interpreted as any known means to control the pump.
Regarding Claim 5, the recitation of “...a fourth solenoid valve…” and “…a fifth solenoid valve…” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a fourth or fifth solenoid valve may exist without the existence of a first and all preceding solenoid valves. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 9, the recitation of “…controlling, if the spraying mode is in an intermittent spraying mode, the spraying branch to be turned on, and controlling the backflow branch or the spraying branch to be turned off, and controlling the backflow branch to be turned on…” cannot be followed, as it is unclear how the spraying branch may be turned on while also providing an alternative for the spraying branch to be turned off, while the backflow branch may be turned off while being controlled to be turned on. The phrasing may appear to be result of a translation and is thus unclear to the Examiner how the alternative operation should be interpreted. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For the purposes of examination, the claim is suggested by the examiner to understand as the following (underlined differences):
“…controlling, if the spraying mode is in an intermittent spraying mode, the spraying branch to be turned on and controlling the backflow branch to be turned off, or controlling the spraying branch to be turned off and controlling the backflow branch to be turned on…”.
Regarding Claim 14, the recitation of “…controlling, if the solenoid valve of the spraying branch or the solenoid valve of the backflow branch is in a turned-on state, the solenoid valve of the spraying branch in the turned-on state or the solenoid valve of the backflow branch in the turned-on state to be turned on for a second time, and then turning off the solenoid valve of the spraying branch in the turned-on state or the solenoid valve of the backflow branch in the turned-on state,” cannot be followed. Respectfully, the phrasing may appear to be result of a translation and is thus it is unclear to the Examiner how the interpret the claim. Specifically, the claim appears to state that if any valve is already on, then that valve turns on a second time. It is unclear how a valve turns on a second time when it is already in the on state. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 15, the recitation of “…control the spraying branch to be turned on, control the backflow branch or the spraying branch to be turned off, and control the backflow branch to be turned on…” cannot be followed, as it is unclear how the spraying branch may be turned on while also providing an alternative for the spraying branch to be turned off, while the backflow branch may be turned off while being controlled to be turned on. The phrasing may appear to be result of a translation and is thus unclear to the Examiner how the alternative operation should be interpreted. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For the purposes of examination, the claim is suggested by the examiner to understand as the following (underlined differences):
“…control the spraying branch to be turned on and control the backflow branch to be turned off, or control the spraying branch to be turned off and control the backflow branch to be turned on…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (CN 112191393 A, hereinafter “Ma”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ma teaches a spraying system [at least Fig. 4a], comprising a water outlet device [419], a spraying branch [at least 43, 45, 44, 49, 414, nozzle], a backflow branch [41, 416] and a nozzle [17; see Fig. 1; not numbered in Figs. 4a-5]; a water outlet of the water outlet device [419], the spraying branch and the nozzle are communicated sequentially [¶ 0068-0069; apparent from inspection of figures]; the spraying branch, the backflow branch and a water inlet of the water outlet device are communicated sequentially [¶ 0068-0069; apparent from inspection of figures];
a solenoid valve [41, 44] is arranged in the spraying branch and/or the backflow branch [¶ 0054; the valve may be a solenoid valve; 0068; Fig. 4a; apparent from inspection], and the solenoid valve is configured to control turning on and turning off of the spraying branch and/or the backflow branch [¶ 0068; control valves 41 and 44 may turn on/off flow in their respective passages];
when the spraying branch is turned on, liquid flowing out of the water outlet device flows out of the nozzle through the spraying branch [¶ 0050; liquid passes through nozzle 17 when first control valve is on [¶ 0068; see entire description; also see flow arrows 414 and 416 in Fig. 4a];
when the backflow branch is turned on, the liquid flowing out of the water outlet device flows into the water outlet device through the backflow branch [¶ 0068; see entire description; also see flow arrows 414 and 416 in Fig. 4a].
Regarding Claim 2, Ma teaches the spraying system according to claim 1 above and Ma teaches wherein the spraying branch comprises a first spraying branch [at least 43, 45] and a second spraying branch [at least 44, 49, 414], and a water pump [45] is arranged in the first spraying branch [Fig. 4a; apparent from inspection; at least valve 44 or shunt pipe 49 divides the spraying branch in separate pipes];
the water outlet of the water outlet device, the first spraying branch, the second spraying branch and the nozzle are communicated sequentially [Fig. 4a; apparent from inspection 419 outputs to 43, then 49, then 414, then through the nozzle]; the water outlet of the water outlet device, the first spraying branch, the backflow branch and the water inlet of the water outlet device are communicated sequentially [Fig. 4a; apparent from inspection 419 outputs to 43, then 49, then 416 to input back to 419].
Regarding Claim 3, Ma teaches the spraying system according to claim 2 above and Ma teaches wherein the second spraying branch is provided with a first solenoid valve [44], the backflow branch is provided with a second solenoid valve [41], both the first solenoid valve and the second solenoid valve are two-way solenoid valves [¶ 0054, 0072; Fig. 4a; apparent from inspection the valves are two-way valves].
Regarding Claim 5, Ma teaches the spraying system according to claim 2 above and Ma teaches wherein if a switch module is arranged in the water pump, none of the second spraying branch and the backflow branch is provided with the solenoid valve; if the switch module is not arranged in the water pump, the second spraying branch is provided with a fourth solenoid valve or a fifth solenoid valve is provided in the backflow branch, wherein both the fourth solenoid valve and the fifth solenoid valve are two-way solenoid valves [see 112(a) and 112(b) rejections regarding claim 5; any lack of prior art rejection should not be construed as any indication of allowable subject matter, but rather it is indicative to the degree of uncertainty as to how to interpret the claims given the aforementioned 112 rejections without improper importation and assumption from the Examiner] [The claim appears to merely require that the pump have some sort of means to prevent the flow, whether that means is in the water pump or elsewhere in the conduit. Therefore, a mere distinction of a switch location may be considered an obvious design matter of design choice regarding a rearrangement of parts [MPEP 2144.04 VI.C], as the location of the switch to control the pump would not significantly modify the operation of the device].
Regarding Claim 6, Ma teaches the spraying system according to claim 1 above and Ma further teaches comprising a detection module [1202]; the detection module is configured to detect startup and shutdown and a spraying mode of the spraying system [¶ 0104; determining module 1202 is configured to determine the spraying period according the working parameter].
Regarding Claim 7, Ma teaches the spraying system according to claim 6 above and Ma further teaches comprising a control module [1203], the control module is in communication connection with the detection module, and the control module is connected to a solenoid valve of the spraying system; the control module is configured to control turning on and turning off of the solenoid valve based on a detection mode [¶ 0104-0106; control module 1203 is configured to control the operation of the control valve and the continuous operation of the liquid delivery unit according to the spray cycle].
Regarding Claim 8, Ma teaches the spraying system according to claim 1 above and Ma teaches wherein the water outlet device is a water tank [¶ 0003; Ma discloses spraying water, therefore liquid tank 319 may store water].
Regarding Claim 9, Ma teaches a method for controlling a spraying system [¶ 0083-0102], the method comprising:
determining a spraying mode of the spraying system [¶ 0084; at least S102; also see equivalent steps in preceding embodiments];
controlling, in response to the spraying mode being a continuous spraying mode [¶ 0099; when the duration is greater than or equal to spraying time, the system may be controlled to perform continuous spraying], the spraying branch of the spraying system to be turned on, and controlling the backflow branch of the spraying system to be turned off, in order that liquid in the water outlet device of the spraying system continuously flows out of the nozzle of the spraying system [¶ 0087, 0096-0098; see 0087 for explanation of pressure drop over a plurality of open/closed control valves to encourage or discourage flow of liquid to nozzle without frequent/rapid stopping/starting of pumping means]; and
controlling, if the spraying mode is an intermittent spraying mode, the spraying branch to be turned on, and controlling the backflow branch or the spraying branch to be turned off, and controlling the backflow branch to be turned on, in order that the liquid in the water outlet device intermittently flows out of the nozzle [¶ 0088-0092; after a spraying period is determined according to working parameters, the system is controlled such that the plurality of control valves are turned on to convey liquid for a period and stop delivering the liquid within another interval of time by turning the respective valves off; also see ¶ 0052].
Regarding Claim 10, Ma teaches the method according to claim 9 above and Ma teaches wherein if the spraying mode is the continuous spraying mode [at least ¶ 0099], said controlling the spraying branch of the spraying system is controlled to be turned on [¶ 0099; system is configured to provide water to spray nozzle], and controlling the backflow branch of the spraying system to be turned off comprises:
turning on the spraying branch [¶ 0099; system is configured to provide water to spray nozzle]; and
controlling the water pump of the spraying system to start to operate after the spraying branch has been turned on for a preset first time [¶ 0067; in addition to control the control valve to working intermittently according to the spray cycle, the system may control the pump to work according to the spraying cycle, such as intermittent start and stop when suitable].
Regarding Claim 11, Ma teaches the method according to claim 10 above and Ma further teaches comprising:
obtaining a stop spraying signal [¶ 0064; when the intermittent spraying method is realized, the system stops delivering liquid to the nozzle], and controlling the water pump of the spray system to stop operation based on the stop spraying signal [¶ 0067; the pump may also be controlled in combination with the control of valves]; and
turning off the spraying branch after the water pump stops operation for the first time [¶ 0064; when the intermittent spraying method is realized, the system stops delivering liquid to the nozzle].
Regarding Claim 12, Ma teaches the method according to claim 10 above and Ma teaches wherein if the spraying mode is the intermittent spraying mode, said controlling the spraying branch to be turned on, controlling the backflow branch or the spraying branch to be turned off, and controlling the backflow branch to be turned on comprises:
determining a spraying time and a stop spraying time of the intermittent spraying mode [¶ 0083; working parameters may include injection time and interval time];
controlling the spraying branch to be turned on and controlling the backflow branch to be turned off during the spraying time [¶ 0084; a spraying period is determined according to the working parameters by controlling the valves]; and
controlling the spraying branch to be turned off and controlling the backflow branch to be turned on during the stop spraying time [¶ 0085; operate the valves according to the spraying cycle such that the intermittent spraying mode is realized].
Regarding Claim 13, Ma teaches the method according to claim 12 above and Ma further teaches comprising:
turning on the backflow branch when the spraying time is switched to the stop spraying time and an operation time of the water pump is greater than a preset time threshold value [¶ 0061-0063; the control unit may obtain a preset working times and working parameters without restrictions according to own conditions, such as any number of user defined presets]; turning off the spraying branch after the backflow branch has been turned on for a preset second time [¶ 0069]; and
turning on the spraying branch when the stop spraying time is switched to the spraying time; turning off the backflow branch after the spraying branch has been turned on for the second time [¶ 0070-0074; the system turns respective valves on and off in intervals to satisfy intermittent cycle spray times, therefore an interval (i.e. 200 ms, 350 ms, etc.) necessarily has a first preset time, a second preset time, a third preset time, etc., and may be any number of cycles N].
Regarding Claim 14, Ma teaches the method according to claim 10 and Ma further teaches comprising:
obtaining a stop spraying signal, and controlling the water pump to stop operation based on the stop spraying signal [¶ 0067; a stop spraying signal is necessarily received in order to satisfy an intermittent spraying signal, wherein the operation of the pump may also be controlled according to the spray cycle in addition to the valves];
maintaining a turned-off state of the solenoid valve of the spraying branch and the solenoid valve of the backflow branch if the solenoid valve of the spraying branch and the solenoid valve of the backflow branch are both in a turned-off state [Any system is commonsensically capable of maintaining an off state if the device is in the off state]; and
controlling, if the solenoid valve of the spraying branch or the solenoid valve of the backflow branch is in a turned-on state, the solenoid valve of the spraying branch in the turned- on state or the solenoid valve of the backflow branch in the turned-on state to be turned on for the second time [It is commonsensical that if a valve is on, the valve may be turned on], and then turning off the solenoid valve of the spraying branch in the turned-on state or the solenoid valve of the backflow branch in the turned-on state [see 112(b) rejection above regarding claim 14; any lack of prior art rejection should not be construed as any indication of allowable subject matter, but rather it is indicative to the degree of uncertainty as to how to interpret the claims without improper importation and assumption from the Examiner]
Regarding Claim 15, Ma teaches an apparatus for controlling a spraying system [¶ 0015], the apparatus comprising one or more hardware processors [¶ 0110; the system may include a processor, memory etc.] configured to:
determine a spraying mode of the spray system [¶ 0096; at least S501-S502; also see equivalent steps in other embodiments];
control the spraying branch of the spraying system to be turned on, and control the backflow branch of the spraying system to be turned off, in order that liquid in a water outlet device of the spraying system continuously flows out of a nozzle of the spraying system, in response to the spraying mode being a continuous spraying mode [¶ 0099; the system may operate in a continuous spraying mode; also see ¶ 0087]; and
control the spraying branch to be turned on, control the backflow branch or the spraying branch to be turned off, and control the backflow branch to be turned on, in order that the liquid in the water outlet device intermittently flows out of the nozzle, in response to the spraying mode being an intermittent spraying mode [¶ 0088-0092; after a spraying period is determined according to working parameters, the system is controlled such that the plurality of control valves are turned on to convey liquid for a period and stop delivering the liquid within another interval of time by turning the respective valves off; also see ¶ 0052].
Regarding Claim 16, Ma teaches the control apparatus according to claim 15 above and Ma teaches wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to turn on the spraying branch if the spraying mode is the continuous spraying mode [¶ 0099; the system may operate in a continuous spraying mode; also see ¶ 0087], and control a water pump of the spraying system to start to operate after the spraying branch has been turned on for a preset first time [¶ 0067; in addition to control the control valve to working intermittently according to the spray cycle, the system may control the pump to work according to the spraying cycle, such as intermittent start and stop when suitable].
Regarding Claim 17, Ma teaches the control apparatus according to claim 15 above and Ma teaches wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to:
determine a spraying time and a stop spraying time of the intermittent spraying mode in response to the spraying mode being the intermittent spraying mode [¶ 0104; determining module 1202 is configured to determine the spraying period according the working parameter]; and
control the spraying branch to be turned on and control the backflow branch to be turned off during the spraying time, and control the spraying branch to be turned off and control the backflow branch to be turned on during the stop spraying time [¶ 0088-0092; after a spraying period is determined according to working parameters, the system is controlled such that the plurality of control valves are turned on to convey liquid for a period and stop delivering the liquid within another interval of time by turning the respective valves off; also see ¶ 0052].
Regarding Claim 18, Ma teaches an electronic device, comprising at least one processor and a memory [¶ 0028], wherein the memory stores a computer-executable instruction executable by the processor, the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instruction so as to implement the control method of the spray system according to claim 9 [¶ 0083-0102].
Regarding Claim 19, Ma teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a computer-executable instruction [¶ 0028], that, when being invoked and executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement the control method for the spray system according to claim 9 [¶ 0083-0102].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Katsurayama et al. (JP 2006191946 A, hereinafter “Katsurayama”).
Regarding Claim 4, Ma teaches the spraying system according to claim 2 above and while Ma teaches a three-way shunt pipe [49] arranged at an intersection point of the first spraying branch [at least 43, 45], the second spraying branch [at least 414 and the nozzle] and the backflow branch [at least 416], Ma does not explicitly teach wherein the three-way valve is a solenoid valve.
However, Katsurayama teaches a mist sauna apparatus [Fig. 5] comprising a water output device [water storage tank 2], a branch of conduit extending to a spraying device [4] [via at least 51, 10, 41b], as well as branch conduit extending from a three-way valve [10] towards an input of the water output device [at least 41c], wherein the conduits connecting the tank input/output and the spray nozzle are connected sequentially [¶ 0071; Fig. 5; apparent from inspection]. Katsurayama further teaches that the three-way valve [10] is a solenoid valve [¶ 0075]. Katsurayama discloses that the solenoid valve provides an obvious “opening/closing means” for a control device [52] to comprehensively control the operation of the components thereby enabling the system to achieve a control target, therefore providing that a three-way solenoid valve is a known means to control the system, and may therefore be within the technical grasp of one of ordinary skill in the art if there is an expectation of success (i.e. providing opening/closing means) [¶ 0077]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the three-way solenoid valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the three-way solenoid valve would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a known opening/closing means to control the system, thereby enabling the system achieve target parameters through control [¶ 0077].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Ma to have wherein the three-way valve is a solenoid valve, in view of the teachings of Katsurayama, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a known opening/closing means to control the system, thereby enabling the system achieve target parameters through control.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Katsurayama et al. (JP 2006191946 A, hereinafter “Katsurayama”).
Regarding Claim 20, Ma teaches the spraying system according to claim 1 above, but Ma does not explicitly teach an air conditioner.
However, Li teaches a spraying control method and spraying control system, wherein the system may be applied to an air conditioner [Abstract, ¶ 0024]. Li teaches that utilizing the spraying control system helps rapidly and effectively reduce the temperature of an air conditioner, thereby helping protect the air side heat exchanger and extend the service life of the system [Abstract]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined air conditioner as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the air conditioner would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. utilizing the spraying control system helps rapidly and effectively reduce the temperature of an air conditioner, thereby helping protect the air side heat exchanger and extend the service life of the system [Abstract].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Ma to have an air conditioning system in view of the teachings of Li where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. utilizing the spraying control system helps rapidly and effectively reduce the temperature of an air conditioner, thereby helping protect the air side heat exchanger and extend the service life of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xie et al. (CN 113531934 A) discloses a refrigeration system utilizing water circulation and spray nozzle systems controlled with a plurality of valves.
Ma et al. (CN 111889249 A) discloses a spray system and method utilizing water circulation and spray nozzle systems controlled with a plurality of valves.
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763