DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-0242886, as evidenced by Shiraishi (US 7,884,169); however, for convenience, the machine translation will be cited below.
KR ’886 exemplifies the preparation of a methylated wood powder, by subjected wood powder to treatment with caustic soda, reacting with methyl iodide to provide methylated wood powder, which is then grafted by ring opening of ε-caprolactone (Example 1). KR ‘886 similarly exemplifies preparing benzylated wood powder, by reacting with benzyl chloride (Examples 6-10).
KR ‘886 anticipates instant claims 1-4 and 13.
As to claims 5 and 12, KR’ 886 does not teach the claimed compatibilizer; however, the reaction product of KR ‘886 would be expected to contain graft polymer of the methylated wood powder, unreacted methylated wood powder and homopolymer of ε-caprolactone, where the graft polymer would act as a compatibilizer between the methylated wood powder and the homopolymer, as evidenced by Shiraishi (col. 6, ll. 10-19), who discloses a similar reaction but through esterification rather than etherification. Note that KR ‘886 teaches etherification and esterification prior to grafting with the polymer, and polycaprolactone is a known thermoplastic resin.
As to claims 6 and 8, KR ‘886 discloses that the cyclic ester-based polymer graft lignocellulosic derivative can be mixed with known polymers, such as polyethylene, polystyrene, polyesters, and polyamides.
As to claim 11, KR ‘886 discloses that the cyclic ester-based polymer graft lignocellulosic derivative can be processed by a related molding apparatus and molding method, such as known extrusion, injection, etc. and can be made into films, foams and other molded articles.
As to claim 14, melt kneading a polymer with the cyclic ester-based polymer graft lignocellulosic derivative in an extruder is clearly suggested by the disclosure of KR ‘886.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-0242886, as applied above to claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 11-14. For convenience, the machine translation will be cited below.
KR ‘886 anticipates instant claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 11-14, as applied above and described herein as such, as KR ‘886 discloses preparing alkylated or benzylated wood powder and reacting with ε-caprolactone to provide a polycaprolactone grafted wood powder.
KR ‘886 teaches that the degree of chemical modification is 5-200%, preferably 20-100% by weight increase ratio, which overlaps with the claimed range of at least 40%, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
KR ‘886 is prima facie obvious over instant claim 5.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumazawa (US 7,999,021) in view of KR 10-0242886, as evidenced by Bloembergen (US 5,462,983). For convenience, the machine translation of KR ‘886 is cited below.
Kumazawa teaches a resin composition comprising (A) styrene based resin, which can include polystyrene, (B) an aliphatic polyester, specifically listed to include polycaprolactone (col. 5, ll. 25-35), and (C) compatibilizer to improve the compatibility between (A) the styrene-based resin and (B) the aliphatic polyester (col. 7, ll. 11-18). Kumazawa mentions biodegradability as being important, and teaches the inclusion an organic filler, such as powdered wood, in view of helping biodegradability of the aliphatic polyester (col. 31, ll. 15-48).
Blends of polystyrene and polycaprolactone are bio-disintegrable, as evidenced by Bloembergen (col. 5, ll. 2-12).
Kumazawa does not teach the claimed polylactone grafted etherified wood powder.
KR ‘886, as described above, teaches that polycaprolactone grafted wood flour/powder has greater biodegradability than a blend of polycaprolactone and wood flour (Compare Examples 1-20 with a rating of 4 versus Comparative Examples 1-3 which were not grafted and give a rating of 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the polycaprolactone grafted wood flour as the aliphatic polyester and/or organic filler of Kumazawa, as Kumazawa desires biodegradability and KR ‘886 teaches that the polycaprolactone grafted wood flour has a greater decomposition than the non-grafted blend of polycaprolactone and wood flour.
Kumazawa in view of KR ‘886 is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-6, 8 and 11-14.
As to claims 7 and 10, Kumazawa teaches the amount of filler as 0.5-100 parts based on 100 parts by weight resin (col. 31, ll. 54-57) and the compatibilizer in an amount of about 1-30 parts based on 100 parts by weight resin (col. 18, ll. 24-48).
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766