DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Matsuura ‘151 nor Tsuda ‘521 disclose a water concentration of 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass is critical, desired, or balanced improvement of the capacitor performance and accuses the examiner of making a conclusory statement without explain why one of ordinary skill would be drawn to the sub range claimed.
The examiner disagrees with applicant. The cited sections of Tsuda ‘521 explicitly discloses “electrolyte solution having a water of less than 0.1% by mass is inferior in the property of restoring the dielectric layer, so that the leakage current cannot be suppressed. Whereas the electrolyte solution having a water of more than 6.0% by mass increases the ESR. As described above, it is important to set a proportion of the water in the electrolyte solution to a range from 0.1% by mass to 6.0% by mass, inclusive, in the present exemplary embodiment” and further provides examples of 0.1wt% (1000 ppm), 0.5wt% (5000ppm), and 1.0wt%(10000ppm) thus providing a clear teaching of values within the sub-range claimed and further recognizing the critical, desired, or balanced improvement of the capacitor performance specifically as it relates to leakage current (short circuit) and ESR. Furthermore, it is known within the capacitor art that water in an electrolyte is known to evaporate inside a sealed case and cause expansion/swelling of the capacitor case which is detrimental as discussed in JPH08203781A. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that controlling the amount of water in an electrolyte will have an effect of leakage current (short circuit) and expansion.
Applicant further argues that neither Matsuura ‘151 nor Tsuda ‘521 disclose the conductive polymer component does not contain an additive that serves as an oxygen supply, or contains an additive that serves as an oxygen supply, and when the conductive polymer component contains the additive, a content of the additive in the conductive polymer component is 0.1 mass% or less. Specifically applicant argues Matsuura ‘151 discloses 15 mass% or more of a hydroxyl-containing compound as an essential component of the electrolyte system.
The examiner notes that while Matsuura ‘151 discloses the electrolytic solution filling the container may include 15 mass% or more of a hydroxyl-containing compound, the conductive polymer is silent to any hydroxyl-containing compound and the claim is directed to the amount of compound contained in the conductive polymer not the entire electrolyte system as argued by applicant. Thus the argument is moot.
New grounds of rejection have been made based on the amendments made. All claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuda (US 2018/0082798).
In regards to claim 10, Tsuda ‘798 discloses
A manufacturing method of an electrolytic capacitor, comprising:
a step of preparing a capacitor element (10 – fig. 1-2; [0014]) that includes an anode foil (21 – fig. 2; [0015]) having a dielectric layer on a surface thereof ([0016]), a cathode foil (22 – fig. 2; [0015]), and a separator (23 – fig. 2; [0015]) and a conductive polymer ([0017]) component that are interposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil; and
a step of obtaining an electrolytic capacitor by housing in a case (11 – fig. 1; [0014]) the capacitor element and a liquid component ([0014] & [0056]) containing a non-aqueous solvent and having a water concentration of 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass (abstract & table 1),
wherein the separator contains a synthetic resin fiber ([0037]),
the liquid component does not contain a protic organic solvent or contains a protic organic solvent, and
when the liquid component contains the protic organic solvent, a concentration of the protic organic solvent in the liquid component is 20 mass% or less ([0062] & [0069-0070] – when first solvent is 80% by mass or more of electrolyte solution the second protic solvent will be 20% or less).
In regards to claim 11, Tsuda ‘798 discloses
The manufacturing method of an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 10, wherein in the step of preparing the capacitor element, the capacitor element is prepared by impregnating a precursor including the anode foil, the cathode foil, and the separator into a treatment liquid containing the conductive polymer component, and drying the precursor ([0066] & [0082-0084]).
In regards to claim 12, Tsuda ‘798 discloses
The manufacturing method of an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 11, wherein the treatment liquid does not contain an additive that serves as an oxygen supply, or contains an additive that serves as an oxygen supply, and when the treatment liquid contains the additive, a content of the additive in the treatment liquid is 15 mass% or less ([0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9, 13-18, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura et al. (US 2016/0064151) in view of Tsuda (US 2018/0047521).
In regards to claim 1,
Matsuura ‘151 discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a capacitor element (12 – fig. 1-2; [0027]) and a liquid component ([0028] & table 1) that contains a non-aqueous solvent, wherein
the capacitor element includes an anode foil (12A – fig. 2; [0030]) having a dielectric layer on a surface thereof, a cathode foil (12B – fig. 2; [0030]), and a separator (12C – fig. 2; [0030]) and a conductive polymer (122 – fig. 3; [0030]) component that are interposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil,
the separator contains a synthetic resin fiber ([0032]),
the liquid component does not contain a protic organic solvent or contains a protic organic solvent, and
when the liquid component contains the protic organic solvent, a concentration of the protic organic solvent in the liquid component is 20 mass% or less (table 1). Matsuura ‘151 fails to disclose a water concentration in the liquid component is 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass.
Tsuda ‘521 discloses a water concentration in the liquid component is 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass ([0056] & table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electrolyte of Matsuura ‘151 to have a water concentration as taught by Tsuda ‘521 to obtain a capacitor with good ESR and leakage current properties.
In regards to claim 2,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein a synthetic resin constituting the synthetic resin fiber contains at least one selected from the group consisting of aromatic polyamides and polyesters ([0032] of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 3,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the liquid component contains an aprotic polar solvent at a concentration of 50 mass% or more (table 1 of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 5,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the aprotic polar solvent has a boiling point of 180 °C or higher (table 1 of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 6,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the aprotic polar solvent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of lactone compounds, cyclic sulfone compounds, and sulfoxide compounds (table 1 of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 9,
Matsuura ‘151 discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a capacitor element (12 – fig. 1-2; [0027]) and a liquid component ([0028] & table 1) that contains a non-aqueous solvent, wherein
the capacitor element includes an anode foil (12A – fig. 2; [0030]) having a dielectric layer on a surface thereof, a cathode foil (12B – fig. 2; [0030]), and a separator (12C – fig. 2; [0030]) and a conductive polymer (122 – fig. 3; [0030]) component that are interposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil,
the separator contains a synthetic resin fiber ([0032]),
the conductive polymer component does not contain an additive that serves as an oxygen supply ([0064]), or contains an additive that serves as an oxygen supply, and
when the conductive polymer component contains the additive, a content of the additive in the conductive polymer component is 0.1 mass% or less. Matsuura ‘151 fails to disclose a water concentration in the liquid component is 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass.
Tsuda ‘521 discloses a water concentration in the liquid component is 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass ([0056] & table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electrolyte of Matsuura ‘151 to have a water concentration as taught by Tsuda ‘521 to obtain a capacitor with good ESR and leakage current properties.
In regards to claim 13,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein, when the liquid component contains the protic organic solvent, the concentration of the protic organic solvent in the liquid component is 10 mass% or less (table 1 of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 14,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein, when the liquid component contains a protic organic solvent, a concentration of the protic organic solvent in the liquid component is 10 mass% or less (table 1 of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 15,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein a synthetic resin constituting the synthetic resin fiber contains at least one selected from the group consisting of aromatic polyamides and polyesters ([0032] of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 16,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the liquid component contains an aprotic polar solvent at a concentration of 50 mass% or more (table 1 of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 17,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the aprotic polar solvent has a boiling point of 180 °C or higher (table 1 of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 18,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the aprotic polar solvent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of lactone compounds, cyclic sulfone compounds, and sulfoxide compounds (table 1 of Matsuura ‘151).
In regards to claim 20,
Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the additive that serves as an oxygen supply includes at least one of a polyhydric alcohol, an ethylene oxide adduct, a polyethylene oxide adduct, and a polyalkylene glycol ([0064] of Matsuura ‘151 – the conductive polymer of Matsuura ‘151 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 does not contain at least one of a polyhydric alcohol, an ethylene oxide adduct, a polyethylene oxide adduct, and a polyalkylene glycol).
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakuma et al. (US 2009/0109602) in view of Tsuda ‘521.
In regards to claim 1,
Kakuma ‘602 discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a capacitor element (7 – fig. 1; [0028]) and a liquid component ([0040-0041]) that contains a non-aqueous solvent, wherein
the capacitor element includes an anode foil (1 – fig. 1; [0028]) having a dielectric layer on a surface thereof, a cathode foil (2 – fig. 1; [0028]), and a separator (3 – fig. 1; [0028]) and a conductive polymer ([0029-0030]]) component that are interposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil,
the liquid component does not contain a protic organic solvent or contains a protic organic solvent ([0046]), and
when the liquid component contains the protic organic solvent, a concentration of the protic organic solvent in the liquid component is 20 mass% or less. Kakuma ‘602 fails to disclose the separator contains a synthetic resin fiber and a water concentration in the liquid component is 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass.
Tsuda ‘521 discloses e separator contains a synthetic resin fiber ([0036]) and a water concentration in the liquid component is 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass ([0056] & table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the solvent of Kakuma ‘602 to have a water concentration as taught by Tsuda ‘521 to obtain a capacitor with good ESR and leakage current properties and to form the separator of Kakuma ‘602 using a material as taught by Tsuda ‘521 to ensure good insulation properties. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 8,
Kakuma ‘602 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the liquid component does not contain a solute or contains a solute ([0029] of Kakuma ‘602).
In regards to claim 9,
Kakuma ‘602 discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a capacitor element (7 – fig. 1; [0028]) and a liquid component ([0040-0041]) that contains a non-aqueous solvent, wherein
the capacitor element includes an anode foil (1 – fig. 1; [0028]) having a dielectric layer on a surface thereof, a cathode foil (2 – fig. 1; [0028]), and a separator (3 – fig. 1; [0028]) and a conductive polymer ([0029-0030]]) component that are interposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil,
the conductive polymer component does not contain an additive that serves as an oxygen supply ([0046]), or contains an additive that serves as an oxygen supply, and
when the conductive polymer component contains the additive, a content of the additive in the conductive polymer component is 0.1 mass% or less. Kakuma ‘602 fails to disclose the separator contains a synthetic resin fiber and a water concentration in the liquid component is 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass.
Tsuda ‘521 discloses e separator contains a synthetic resin fiber ([0036]) and a water concentration in the liquid component is 1000 ppm or more and 10000 ppm or less by mass ([0056] & table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the solvent of Kakuma ‘602 to have a water concentration as taught by Tsuda ‘521 to obtain a capacitor with good ESR and leakage current properties and to form the separator of Kakuma ‘602 using a material as taught by Tsuda ‘521 to ensure good insulation properties. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 19,
Kakuma ‘602 as modified by Tsuda ‘521 further discloses wherein the liquid component does not contain a solute or contains a solute ([0029] of Kakuma ‘602).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4,734,821 – table 1
JPH08203781A – teaches lower water content in the electrolyte to reduce the potential of damage due to swelling caused by water evaporation
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847