Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 recites “transfer apparatus”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “apparatus”; (B) the apparatus has a function of transferring springs; (C) the claim has structure of a transfer wheel to perform the claimed action.
Claim 1 recites “containment members”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “members”; (B) the members have a function of containing; (C) there is no further structure claimed to perform the claimed action. The limitation will be interpreted as containment plates (or functional equivalent) in accordance with Page 5, Lines 23-25 of the specification.
Claim 4 recites “compression members”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “members”; (B) the members have a function of compressing; (C) there is no further structure claimed to perform the claimed action. The limitation will be interpreted as a pair of plates (or functional equivalent) in accordance with Claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lan (CN201288056Y).
Claim 1
Lan teaches a transfer apparatus (Figure 1) for transferring springs from a spring forming station (1) into positions between plies of pocketing material (11) to form a pocketed spring unit () , the transfer apparatus being positionable in use between the spring forming station and a pocketing station (2, 13, 14, 15), and comprising a transfer wheel (4) arranged to rotate about a rotation axis (31)and having a plurality of spokes (Figure 2, In between the openings in the wheel for the springs is solid spoke areas.)extending substantially radially in a spoke plane (Figure 2), wherein the transfer wheel is flanked by axially spaced spring containment members extending either side of the spoke plane (Figure 1 shows a frame extending around the wheel. The frame has an upper portion and a lower portion that flanks the wheel. The springs are contained within the outer bounds of said frame.), and wherein the transfer wheel comprises one or more spring receiving portions formed between adjacent spokes (Figure 2-3 shows pockets (41) in the wheel in between the spokes.) so that the springs are received between the spokes and not on the spokes (Figure 2), the spring receiving portions being arranged to travel in an arcuate path (The rotation of the wheel (3) moves the spring pockets (41) in an arcuate path.) between the axially spaced spring containment members (Figure 1) from the spring forming station (1) to a location where the springs may be inserted into positions between the plies of pocketing material (2), wherein the axially spaced spring containment members are arranged to extend substantially parallel to the spoke plane and either side thereof (Figure 1), wherein the apparatus further comprises a compression portion (Figures 2-3, Item 5 and the opposing plate) arranged to compress the springs axially as the wheel rotates (Lines 70-71 of the machine translation) within the spring receiving portions formed between the spokes (Figures 2-3 show the spring receiving portion (41) is between the spokes.), and wherein the compression portion comprises a pair of spaced compression members (Item 5 and the opposing plate.) between which the springs are arranged to pass as the wheel rotates. (The insertion of the springs into the slots/pockets and the ejection of the springs (using items 7, 71 and 72 “ejecting mechanism” is a movement of the springs passing between the two plates of the compression system.)
Claim 5
Lan teaches the apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the compression members are arranged to converge in the direction of movement of the springs and comprise a pair of plates. (Figures 2 and 3 show a compression mechanism (5) that moves in a direction of movement to compress the springs. The plate (5) converges towards the oppositely oriented plate to create the compression of the spring.)
Claim 6
Lan teaches the apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the apparatus further comprises a pusher arranged to push the springs from between the spokes portions. (Ejecting mechanism, 7)
Claim 7
Lan teaches the apparatus according to Claim 6, wherein the pusher is arranged to push the spring into a position between the plies of pocketing material after it has been compressed. (Figure 1 shows the ejecting mechanism (7) oriented below the pocket (41) and under the packing groove (2) where the plies of material (11) is located and the spring is ejected to.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 with regards to the rejection(s) using Meutsch (Section I) have been fully considered and are convincing.
The amendments to Claim 1 are sufficient to overcome the interpretation used in the rejection
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 with regards to the rejection(s) using LAn (Section II) have been fully considered and are not convincing.
Applicant argues that Lan does not disclose the subject matter of amended Claim 1.
It is respectfully asserted that the rejection above has been updated to suit the new amendments and Lan sufficiently discloses all of the features of Claim 1. Although Lan does not use the term “spoke”, the cone/triangle shaped areas in between the spring receiving portions (41) are interpreted as analogous structures to a “spoke” as they are solid portions of the wheel/disc that are spaced from one another by openings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US8393131B2
2009-02-11
Figure 2 teaches a wheel (13) that is used in a pocketed spring production process.
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726