DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over So (US 2024/0022906 A1), hereinafter “SO” in view of Xiang et al. (US 2024/0420581 A1), hereinafter “XIANG”
Regarding claim 1, SO teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE),
comprising:’ (Paragraph [0006]: In a third aspect, a method of wireless communication of a UE is provided):
‘transmitting signaling indicating the UE is associated with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV);’ (Paragraph [0006]: The method includes sending, to a network element, a registration request to register with an access network… In response to successful registration with the access network by the primary authentication procedure, the method includes performing the NSSAA procedure to register with a network slice that supports uncrewed aerial services; Paragraph [0030]: The network slice for which the NS SAA procedure is performed may be identified by Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) included in the UE's registration request; Paragraph [0066]: The registration request may include one or more of, e.g.,… a civil aviation administration (CAA)-level UAV identification (ID) assigned by USS/UTM 336, USS identification information (e.g., USS address), UUAA aviation payload, etc.);
SO does not explicitly teach but XIANG teaches, ‘receiving signaling indicating that a network supports a network-based aviation service;’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0069]: In some embodiments, embodiments allow one or more base stations (e.g., gNB(s)) to be dedicated for broadcasting/ multicasting the traffic information in a location/area. The base station(s) may broadcast the indication that the base station is a DAA-designated ground station which is broadcasting/multi casting the DAA information (e.g., local DAA traffic information). This indication can be broadcast by the base station(s) via a SIB message);
‘and participating in the network-involved aviation service after receiving the signaling.’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0006]: The UAS connects to the second network function device of the second network to receive the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XIANG with SO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XIANG into SO is that XIANG provides the centralized network-broadcast and capability signaling architecture, wherein the cellular infrastructure can aggregate a comprehensive, long-distance view of the airspace. This allows the base station to seamlessly advertise specialized uncrewed traffic management capabilities and deliver dynamically aggregated, network-involved aviation data directly to the newly registered aerial equipment (See paragraph [0006], [0069], XIANG).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 21, SO and XIANG teach, The method of claim 1, SO further teaches, ‘wherein the signaling indicating the UE is associated with the UAV indicates an identification (ID) of the UAV.’ (Paragraph [0066]: The registration request may include one or more… a civil aviation administration (CAA)-level UAV identification (ID) assigned by USS/UTM 336; Paragraph [0116]: Information such as, e.g., a requested NSSAI, CAA-level UAV ID, USS address, UUAA aviation payload, among others, may be an indication that UE 102 supports the NSSAA procedure).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 22, SO and XIANG teach, The method of claim 1, SO does not explicitly teach but XIANG teaches, ‘wherein participating in the network-involved aviation service comprise:’ (XIANG - Paragraph [0006]: The UAS connects to the second network function device of the second network to receive the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device):
‘transmitting information to the network-involved aviation service;’ (XIANG - Paragraph [0014]: the UAS may provide location information to the second network function device; Paragraph [0083]: the UAV may be required to send certain join/keep alive message(s) to the USS to keep the UAV in the multicast group. The message may include the UAV's location, speed, and other traffic information);
‘and receiving information from the network-involved aviation service.’ (XIANG - Paragraph [0006]: The UAS connects to the second network function device of the second network to receive the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device; Paragraph [0014]: The second network function device may provide traffic information tailored to a group of joined member devices
based on information from the joined member devices in the group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XIANG with SO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XIANG into SO is that XIANG provides the centralized network-broadcast and capability signaling architecture, wherein the cellular infrastructure can aggregate a comprehensive, long-distance view of the airspace. This allows the base station to seamlessly advertise specialized uncrewed traffic management capabilities and deliver dynamically aggregated, network-involved aviation data directly to the newly registered aerial equipment (See paragraph [0006], [0069], XIANG).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 23, SO and XIANG teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising: SO further teaches, ‘transmitting signaling indicating the UE is capable of supporting the network-based aviation service.’ (Paragraph [0006]: The method includes sending, to a network element, a registration request to register with an access network. The registration request indicates support for an NS SAA procedure; Paragraph [0030]: An uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV)… is one example of a UE that may access uncrewed aerial services; Paragraph [0116]: Information such as, e.g., a requested NSSAI, CAA-level UAV ID, USS address, UUAA aviation payload, among others, may be an indication that UE 102 supports the NSSAA procedure).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, SO and XIANG teach, The method of claim 1, SO further teaches, ‘…is received as part of a public land mobile network (PLMN) registration procedure.’ (Paragraph [0064]: UE 102 configured as a UAV may be flown into a coverage area (e.g., a different public land mobile network (PLMN)) associated with a different AMF than the one originally selected. Here, the UAV may be registered with the new AMF associated with the new coverage area; Paragraph [0067]: Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF 310 may initiate (at 403) a primary authentication procedure to register UE 102 with an access network; Paragraph [0079]: After receiving the UE CM[Context Modification] Response message, new AMF 310a may send (at 539a) a Nudm_UECM_Registration message to register with UDM 328).
SO does not explicitly teach but XIANG teaches, ‘wherein the signaling indicating that the network supports the network-based aviation service…’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0006]: The UAS receives from a second network function device of the second network, uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information; Paragraph [0012]: the UTM support information may indicate that the second network function device of the second network supports UTM including at least one of UAS identification or UAS detect and avoid (DAA)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XIANG with SO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XIANG into SO is that XIANG provides the centralized network-broadcast and capability signaling architecture, wherein the cellular infrastructure can aggregate a comprehensive, long-distance view of the airspace. This allows the base station to seamlessly advertise specialized uncrewed traffic management capabilities and deliver dynamically aggregated, network-involved aviation data directly to the newly registered aerial equipment (See paragraph [0006], [0069], XIANG).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, SO and XIANG teach, The method of claim 1, SO further teaches, ‘…or per registration area.‘ (Paragraph [0064]: or when it moves into a different coverage area, which triggers a new registration with a different access network and/or network slice; Paragraph [0068]: New AMF 310a may include an AMF located in a different tracking area (TA) or PLMN, and into which UE 102 moves).
SO does not explicitly teach but SO teaches, ‘wherein the signaling indicates availability of the network-involved aviation service’ (XAING – Paragraph [0006]: The UAS receives from a second network function device of the second network, uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information; Paragraph [0012]: the UTM support information may indicate that the second network function device of the second network supports UTM including at least one of UAS identification or UAS detect and avoid (DAA); Paragraph [0085]: The base station 210a may send a system information block (SIB) broadcast message with the indication of the base station's supporting the DAA information broadcast/multicast, the common DAA ID, and/or other DAA capability indicators)
‘per public land mobile network (PLMN)’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0015]: the network selection policy may further define a selection granularity per network: Paragraph [0063]: the network selection policy can be enhanced to define the selection granularity to per network)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XIANG with SO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XIANG into SO is that XIANG provides the centralized network-broadcast and capability signaling architecture, wherein the cellular infrastructure can aggregate a comprehensive, long-distance view of the airspace. This allows the base station to seamlessly advertise specialized uncrewed traffic management capabilities and deliver dynamically aggregated, network-involved aviation data directly to the newly registered aerial equipment (See paragraph [0006], [0069], XIANG).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, SO and XIANG teach, The method of claim 1, SO does not explicitly teach but XAING teaches, ‘wherein the signaling indicating that the network supports a network-based aviation service’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0006]: The UAS receives from a second network function device of the second network, uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information; Paragraph [0012]: the UTM support information may indicate that the second network function device of the second network supports UTM including at least one of UAS identification or UAS detect and avoid (DAA): Paragraph [0085]: The base station 210a may send a system information block (SIB) broadcast message with the indication of the base station's supporting the DAA information broadcast/multicast, the common DAA ID, and/or other DAA capability indicators)
‘is received via system information.’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0009]: In some embodiments, the UTM support information may be broadcast by the second network function device; Paragraph [0068]: The UAV may scan and receive broadcast system information from the surrounding network, and use such system information to identify the suitable DAA network according to the stored DAA network selection policy; Paragraph [0085]: The base station 210a may send a system information block (SIB) broadcast message with the indication of the base station's supporting the DAA information broadcast/multicast).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XIANG with SO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XIANG into SO is that XIANG provides the centralized network-broadcast and capability signaling architecture, wherein the cellular infrastructure can aggregate a comprehensive, long-distance view of the airspace. This allows the base station to seamlessly advertise specialized uncrewed traffic management capabilities and deliver dynamically aggregated, network-involved aviation data directly to the newly registered aerial equipment (See paragraph [0006], [0069], XIANG).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, SO and XIANG teach, The method of claim 1, SO further teaches, ‘…is received via radio resource control (RRC) establishment signaling.’ (Paragraph [0074]: The access and mobility subscription data indicate whether UE 102 is allowed to include NSSAI in the RRC connection establishment procedure).
SO does not explicitly teach but XIANG teaches, ‘wherein the signaling indicating that the network supports a network-based aviation service…’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0006]: The UAS receives from a second network function device of the second network, uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information; Paragraph [0012]: the UTM support information may indicate that the second network function device of the second network supports UTM including at least one of UAS identification or UAS detect and avoid (DAA))…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XIANG with SO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XIANG into SO is that XIANG provides the centralized network-broadcast and capability signaling architecture, wherein the cellular infrastructure can aggregate a comprehensive, long-distance view of the airspace. This allows the base station to seamlessly advertise specialized uncrewed traffic management capabilities and deliver dynamically aggregated, network-involved aviation data directly to the newly registered aerial equipment (See paragraph [0006], [0069], XIANG).
Regarding claim 9, SO teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0004]: In a first aspect, a method of wireless communication of a network element is provided):
‘receiving signaling indicating that a user equipment (UE) is associated with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV);’ (Paragraph [0030]: The network slice for which the NS SAA procedure is performed may be identified by Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) included in the UE's registration request; Paragraph [0096]: receive, from the UE, a registration request to register with the access network, the registration request indicating support for the NSSAA procedure; Paragraph [0116]: Information such as, e.g., a requested NSSAI, CAA-level UAV ID, USS address, UUAA aviation payload, among others, may be an indication that UE 102 supports the NSSAA procedure);
SO does not explicitly teach but XIANG teaches, ‘transmitting signaling indicating that a network supports a network-based aviation service;’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0016]: According to embodiments, the second network function device of the second network transmits to an uncrewed aerial system (UAS), uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information; Paragraph [0022]: In some embodiments, the UTM support information may indicate that the second network function device of the second network supports UTM including at least one of UAS identification or UAS detect and avoid (DAA));
‘and participating in the network-involved aviation service after receiving the signaling.’ (XIANG – Paragraph [0016]: The second network functioned device of the second network connects with the UAS to transmit the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XIANG with SO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XIANG into SO is that XIANG provides the centralized network-broadcast and capability signaling architecture, wherein the cellular infrastructure can aggregate a comprehensive, long-distance view of the airspace. This allows the base station to seamlessly advertise specialized uncrewed traffic management capabilities and deliver dynamically aggregated, network-involved aviation data directly to the newly registered aerial equipment (See paragraph [0006], [0069], XIANG).
Regarding claim 17, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding apparatus, and the rejection to claim 1 are applied hereto.
SO teaches, ‘An apparatus, comprising: at least one memory comprising executable instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:’ (Paragraph [0005]: In a second aspect, an apparatus for wireless communication of a network element is provided. The apparatus includes a memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory. The at least one processor is configured to; Paragraph [0043]: As shown in FIG. 2, node 200 may include a processor 202, a memory 204, and a transceiver 206… Node 200 may be configured as UE 102; Paragraph [0045]: Processor 202 may include microprocessors… configured to perform the various functions described throughout the present disclosure… Software shall be construed broadly to mean instructions):
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/WEI ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479