DETAILED ACTION
The present application claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202210179409.9, filed in the Chinese Patent Office on February 25, 2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the first line of the claim, the word “an” should be inserted before the word “effect” and the last line of the claim, the word “a” should be inserted after the word “obtain.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The last word at the end of the next to last line of the claim should be changed from “is” to “are.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word “is” in the last line of the claim should be changed to “are.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the third line of the claim, the word “an” should be inserted before the word “effect” and in the next to last line of the claim, the word “a” should be inserted after the word “obtain.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the third line of the claim, the word “an” should be inserted before the word “effect” and in the next to last line of the claim, the word “a” should be inserted after the word “obtain.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1--3, 6-10, 12, 13, 15-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuge et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0377229 A1, hereafter ‘229) and in view of Dorsey et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0222385 A1, hereafter ‘385).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Zhuge teaches a method for generating effect character (‘229; fig. 8; Abstract, … a burr effect image of a to-be-displayed character; generating, based on the burr effect image, an external luminous effect image of the to-be-displayed character; obtaining a rendering image by superimposing the burr effect image and the external luminous effect image; and determining a transparency of a to-be-displayed character in the rendering image based on a position parameter of the to-be-displayed character in the to-be-displayed text, a time stamp, and the display time parameter of the to-be-displayed text), comprising: transforming an original monochrome character image (‘229; fig. 1, elements S101 and S102; ¶ 0036-0040; At block S101, to-be-displayed text is obtained. The to-be-displayed text includes at least one to-be-displayed character. In an embodiment, the to-be-displayed text is a text file, and the at least one to-be-displayed character is stored in the text file. As an example, the text file includes a lyrics file, a subtitle file, and the like. In an embodiment, the to-be-displayed text is at least one to-be-displayed character received from a human-computer interaction interface, such as at least one to-be-displayed character that is received via a keyboard, a mouse, or a touch screen. It can be understood that the above-mentioned manners for obtaining the to-be-displayed text are merely illustrative and do not constitute limitations on the present disclosure. At block S102, a first base image including the to-be-displayed text is generated. The first base image is an image in which a foreground is the to-be-displayed text and a background is transparent) into a color character image (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image); magnifying a set edge (‘229; ¶ 0067, … At block S402, an edge of the to-be-displayed text in the initial burr effect image is extracted with any edge extraction algorithm, which is not limited herein. In an embodiment, after obtaining the edge of the to-be-displayed text, the first transparency of the edge is determined to be 1; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…) in the color character image in a first direction to obtain a stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction); acquiring a plurality of set noise images (‘229; fig. 3; ¶ 0055-0059; In an embodiment, the noise image is a random gray scale image, that is, the gray scale value of each pixel point on the noise image is a random value. As an example, the noise image may be a Berlin noise image; repeat the process to obtain a set of set noise images), and disturbing pixel points in a set region of the stretch effect image in a second direction respectively according to the plurality of set noise images (‘229; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image; select the y axis direction of the 5*5 expansion area as the second direction), to obtain a plurality of effect character images (‘299; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image. After the expansion image is obtained, the Gaussian burr processing is performed on the expansion image. For example, the Gaussian burr processing is performed on the expansion image twice, allowing the edge color of the to-be-displayed text in the expansion image to diverge, thereby obtaining the luminous effect image; repeat the forgoing process to obtain a set of effect character images), wherein the set region comprises a stretch region (229; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image - stretch region, the magnified or expanded edge region); and does not teach splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect character.
Dorsey, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect character (‘385; ¶ 0033, In some implementations, a portion of the content contained on at least one 2D plane (image) in the plurality of 2D planes (images) can be animated. The animation can be performed based on time; ¶ 0237, In some implementations, the current subject matter can generate various output formats. Such formats can include, but are not limited to, a proprietary file format, a standard CAD file format (e.g., Wavefront obj, ply, etc.), and/or any other formats. Canvases, strokes, and/or images can be stored in various ways. In some implementations, an output can include, but is not limited to, a list of vertices and faces for each object, an image file format (in case of a scene that can be exported as a collection of images), a video of a scene animation (where any animations created within the scene can be exported as video files, or saved as a sequence of image frames), a video of a scene fly-through, and/or any other outputs and/or any combination thereof. …) for the benefit of generating a sequence of time varying visual effects of character images for display on an electronic device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques for splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect characters as taught by Dorsey with the techniques for generating a series of visually enhanced character images as taught by Zhuge for the benefit of generating a sequence of time varying visual effects of character images for display on an electronic device.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 1 and further teach wherein the transforming an original monochrome character image into a color character image comprises: copying the original monochromatic character image in multiple copies to obtain a plurality of copied monochromatic character images (‘385; ¶ 0204-0205,…The user can copy the content of one canvas directly onto another canvas. The content can either be transferred from one canvas plane onto another, or duplicated onto the destination canvas (i.e. creating a new copy of the content, and retaining the original copy on the original canvas The
user can copy content while creating new canvases, where the relationship to the original canvas is either predefined or specified by the user. In this way, the user can create groups of canvases with the same content, according to similar predefined arrangements to the ones used to generate groups of empty canvases.); mapping characters in the plurality of copied monochrome character images to different colors, respectively (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image – each color image is based varying nose images thus yielding differing colors across differing copies of monochrome character images), to obtain a plurality of color images (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image); moving the plurality of color images by at least partially different offsets in the second direction, respectively (‘385; ¶ 0277, In some implementations, a portion of the content can be transformed within at least one two-dimensional plane in the plurality of two-dimensional planes. The transformation can include at least one of the following: freeform distortion, translation, shifting, rotation, scaling, stretching and/or combination thereof.); color filter overlaying a plurality of shifted color images and the original monochromatic character image to obtain an overlaid image (‘229; ¶ 0017); and masking the overlaid image by using the original monochrome character image to obtain a color character image (‘229; ¶ 0017,. .. generating, based on the second base image, a burr effect image of a to-be-displayed character; generating, based on the burr effect image, an external luminous effect image of the to-be-displayed character; obtaining a rendering image by superimposing the burr effect image and the external luminous effect image; and determining a transparency of a to-be-displayed character in the rendering image based on a position parameter of the to-be-displayed character in the to-be-displayed text, a time stamp, and the display time parameter of the to-be-displayed text. According to the embodiments of the present disclosure, the images can be displayed more dynamically and flexibly through the processing of the text image as descried above).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 1 and further teach wherein after transforming the original monochrome character image into a color character image, the method further comprises: edge distorting color characters in the color character image to obtain an edge distorted color image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction); wherein the magnifying a set edge (‘229; ¶ 0139, obtain an edge image by extracting an edge of a to-be-displayed text in the initial burr effect image) in the color character image in a first direction to obtain a stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction), comprising: magnifying a distorted edge (‘229; ¶ 0067, … At block S402, an edge of the to-be-displayed text in the initial burr effect image is extracted with any edge extraction algorithm, which is not limited herein. In an embodiment, after obtaining the edge of the to-be-displayed text, the first transparency of the edge is determined to be 1; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…) of the edge distorted color image in the first direction to obtain a stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently amended), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 1[[ or 3]] and further teach wherein after obtaining the stretch effect image, the method further comprises: hybrid overlaying the original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image to obtain an overlaid stretch effect image (‘229; ¶ 0130, obtaining a noise image; obtaining a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image; determining a second coordinate position based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value; and determining a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image, pixel by pixel overlaying original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 6 and further teach wherein the hybrid overlaying the original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image to obtain an overlaid stretch effect image comprises: blurring the stretch effect image with a first blur degree to obtain a first blurred stretch image (‘299; ¶ 0071, At block S502, a luminous effect image is obtained by performing a Gaussian blur processing on the expansion image); hybridizing the first blurred stretch image and the stretch effect image according to a set hybrid rule to obtain a first hybrid image (‘299; ¶ 0073; As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image); and aligning characters in the original monochromatic character image with characters in the first hybrid image and shifting aligned characters in the original monochromatic character image by a set offset in the second direction to obtain the overlaid stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0061, At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At this block, the gray scale value is used as a parameter for calculating the second coordinate position. As an example, diffX is taken as an offset value of the x coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position, i.e., (x+diffX, y); or diffX is taken as the offset value of the Y coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position i.e., (x, y+diffX); or diffX is taken as a multiplier of the x coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position i.e., (x*diffX, y). It can be understood that the use of the diffX described above is by way of example only and does not constitute a limitation on the present disclosure. For the convenience of expression, diffX is used as the offset value of the x coordinate.), wherein the characters of the original monochromatic character image in the overlaid stretch effect image is positioned above the characters of the first hybrid image (‘229; ¶ 0130, obtaining a noise image; obtaining a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image; determining a second coordinate position based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value; and determining a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image, pixel by pixel overlaying original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 7 and further teach wherein the hybridizing the first blurred stretch image and the stretch effect image according to a set hybrid rule to obtain a first hybrid image comprises: aligning the first blurred stretch image and the stretch effect image , and acquiring first direction coordinate values of aligned pixel points; determining a hybrid ratio according to the first direction coordinate values (‘299; fig. 4, element S402, ¶ 0067); and hybridizing the aligned pixel points according to the hybrid ratio to obtain the first hybrid image (‘299; ¶ 0073; As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image), wherein the hybrid ratio is a ratio of the stretch effect image to the first blurred stretch image (‘299; ¶ 0061, At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At this block, the gray scale value is used as a parameter for calculating the second coordinate position. As an example, diffX is taken as an offset value of the x coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position, i.e., (x+diffX, y); or diffX is taken as the offset value of the Y coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position i.e., (x, y+diffX); or diffX is taken as a multiplier of the x coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position i.e., (x*diffX, y). It can be understood that the use of the diffX described above is by way of example only and does not constitute a limitation on the present disclosure. For the convenience of expression, diffX is used as the offset value of the x coordinate.).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 7 and further teach wherein the hybrid overlaying the original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image to obtain an overlaid stretch effect image comprises: blurring the stretch effect image with a second blur degree to obtain a second blurred stretch image, wherein the second blur degree is less than the first blur degree; hybridizing the first blur stretch image and the second blur stretch image according to a set hybrid rule to obtain a second hybrid image; and aligning the characters in the original monochromatic character image with characters in the second hybrid image (‘299; ¶ 0060; mapping sampled noise image value at each point to gray scale value based on the noise value at each corresponding point location – aligning), and shifting aligned characters in the original monochromatic character image by a set offset in the second direction to obtain the overlaid stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0061, At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At this block, the gray scale value is used as a parameter for calculating the second coordinate position. As an example, diffX is taken as an offset value of the x coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position, i.e., (x+diffX, y); or diffX is taken as the offset value of the Y coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position i.e., (x, y+diffX); or diffX is taken as a multiplier of the x coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position i.e., (x*diffX, y). It can be understood that the use of the diffX described above is by way of example only and does not constitute a limitation on the present disclosure. For the convenience of expression, diffX is used as the offset value of the x coordinate.), wherein the characters of the original monochromatic character image in the overlaid stretch effect image is positioned above the characters of the second hybrid image (‘229; ¶ 0130, obtaining a noise image; obtaining a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image; determining a second coordinate position based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value; and determining a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image, pixel by pixel overlaying original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 1 and further teach wherein the acquiring a plurality of set noise images, and disturbing pixel points in a set region of the stretch effect image in a second direction respectively according to the plurality of set noise images, to obtain a plurality of effect character images, comprises: aligning the set noise image with the stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0060; mapping sampled noise image value at each point to gray scale value based on the noise value at each corresponding point location – aligning), acquiring, for each pixel point of the set region, grayscale information of a pixel point aligned with the each pixel point in a set noise image (‘299; ¶ 0060; mapping sampled noise image value at each point to gray scale value based on the noise value at each corresponding point location); and accumulating the grayscale information and coordinate value of the each pixel point in the second direction to obtain a second direction coordinate value of a disturbed pixel point, to obtain the effect character image (‘299; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image. After the expansion image is obtained, the Gaussian burr processing is performed on the expansion image. For example, the Gaussian burr processing is performed on the expansion image twice, allowing the edge color of the to-be-displayed text in the expansion image to diverge, thereby obtaining the luminous effect image; repeat the forgoing process to obtain a set of effect character images)).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 1 and further teach wherein after obtaining the plurality of effect character images, the method further comprises: periodically adjusting intensity coefficients of saturation levels of the plurality of effect character images (‘299; ¶ 0044-0049,…..In the above actions, a random number is used as the transparency of the to-be-displayed text, and thus the to-be-displayed text can have a flashing effect during the display period of the to-be-displayed text. - performing the display effects of ¶ 0070 of the instant application).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 1 and further teach wherein after obtaining the plurality of effect character images, the method further comprising: determining, for each pixel point in the set region, index information according to grayscale information of the each pixel point (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained - index. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value – data obtained at the indexed location) and time stamp information of a current effect character image (‘299; ¶ 0046, At block S201, the time stamp is obtained as a random number seed); obtaining a target color from a set color bar according to the index information (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image); and replacing a color of the each pixel point with the target color (‘229; Fig. 4, element S401-S403, In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image).
Claim 14 (Canceled).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently amended), Zhuge teaches an electronic device (‘229; fig. 8; Abstract, Provided are an image processing method, an image processing apparatus, an electronic device, and a computer-readable storage medium…the method to generate a burr effect image of a to-be-displayed character; generating, based on the burr effect image, an external luminous effect image of the to-be-displayed character; obtaining a rendering image by superimposing the burr effect image and the external luminous effect image; and determining a transparency of a to-be-displayed character in the rendering image based on a position parameter of the to-be-displayed character in the to-be-displayed text, a time stamp, and the display time parameter of the to-be-displayed text), comprising: one or more processing devices (‘229; fig. 10, element 1001, processing device; ¶ 0116, the electronic device 1000 may include a processing device (such as a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, etc.) 1001); a storage device (‘229; fig. 10, elements 1002, 1003, and 8; ¶ 0116,…a Read-Only Memory (ROM) 1002,… a storage device 1008, and a Random Access Memory (RAM) 1003 ), configured to store one or more programs; the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processing devices (‘226; fig. 10; ¶ 0116; … the electronic device 1000 may include a processing device (such as a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, etc.) 1001, which may perform various appropriate actions and processes in accordance with programs stored in a Read-Only Memory (ROM) 1002 or loaded from a storage device 1008 into a Random Access Memory (RAM) 1003, thereby implementing the image processing method according to the embodiments of the present disclosure), cause the one or more processing devices to implement [[the]]a method (‘229; fig. 10; ¶ 0116; the electronic device 1000 may include a processing device (such as a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, etc.) 1001, which may perform various appropriate actions and processes in accordance with programs stored in a Read-Only Memory (ROM) 1002 or loaded from a storage device 1008 into a Random Access Memory (RAM) 1003, thereby implementing the image processing method according to the embodiments of the present disclosure) for generating effect character[[ of any of claims 1-13]] (‘229; fig. 8; Abstract, … a burr effect image of a to-be-displayed character; generating, based on the burr effect image, an external luminous effect image of the to-be-displayed character; obtaining a rendering image by superimposing the burr effect image and the external luminous effect image; and determining a transparency of a to-be-displayed character in the rendering image based on a position parameter of the to-be-displayed character in the to-be-displayed text, a time stamp, and the display time parameter of the to-be-displayed text), the method comprises: transforming an original monochrome character image (‘229; fig. 1, elements S101 and S102; ¶ 0036-0040; At block S101, to-be-displayed text is obtained. The to-be-displayed text includes at least one to-be-displayed character. In an embodiment, the to-be-displayed text is a text file, and the at least one to-be-displayed character is stored in the text file. As an example, the text file includes a lyrics file, a subtitle file, and the like. In an embodiment, the to-be-displayed text is at least one to-be-displayed character received from a human-computer interaction interface, such as at least one to-be-displayed character that is received via a keyboard, a mouse, or a touch screen. It can be understood that the above-mentioned manners for obtaining the to-be-displayed text are merely illustrative and do not constitute limitations on the present disclosure. At block S102, a first base image including the to-be-displayed text is generated. The first base image is an image in which a foreground is the to-be-displayed text and a background is transparent) into a color character image (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image); magnifying a set edge (‘229; ¶ 0139, obtain an edge image by extracting an edge of a to-be-displayed text in the initial burr effect image) in the color character image in a first direction to obtain a stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction); acquiring a plurality of set noise images (‘229; fig. 3; ¶ 0055-0059; In an embodiment, the noise image is a random gray scale image, that is, the gray scale value of each pixel point on the noise image is a random value. As an example, the noise image may be a Berlin noise image; repeat the process to obtain a set of set noise images), and disturbing pixel points in a set region of the stretch effect image in a second direction respectively according to the plurality of set noise images (‘229; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image; select the y axis direction of the 5*5 expansion area as the second direction), to obtain a plurality of effect character images (‘299; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image. After the expansion image is obtained, the Gaussian burr processing is performed on the expansion image. For example, the Gaussian burr processing is performed on the expansion image twice, allowing the edge color of the to-be-displayed text in the expansion image to diverge, thereby obtaining the luminous effect image; repeat the forgoing process to obtain a set of effect character images), wherein the set region comprises a stretch region (229; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image - stretch region, the magnified or expanded edge region); and does not teach splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect character.
Dorsey, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect character (‘385; ¶ 0033, In some implementations, a portion of the content contained on at least one 2D plane (image) in the plurality of 2D planes (images) can be animated. The animation can be performed based on time; ¶ 0237, In some implementations, the current subject matter can generate various output formats. Such formats can include, but are not limited to, a proprietary file format, a standard CAD file format (e.g., Wavefront obj, ply, etc.), and/or any other formats. Canvases, strokes, and/or images can be stored in various ways. In some implementations, an output can include, but is not limited to, a list of vertices and faces for each object, an image file format (in case of a scene that can be exported as a collection of images), a video of a scene animation (where any animations created within the scene can be exported as video files, or saved as a sequence of image frames), a video of a scene fly-through, and/or any other outputs and/or any combination thereof. …) for the benefit of generating a sequence of time varying visual effects of character images for display on an electronic device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques for splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect characters as taught by Dorsey with the techniques for generating a series of visually enhanced character images as taught by Zhuge for the benefit of generating a sequence of time varying visual effects of character images for display on an electronic device.
Regarding claim 16 (Currently amended), Zhuge teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (‘229; fig. 10, elements 1002, 1003, and 8; ¶ 0116, …a Read-Only Memory (ROM) 1002,… a storage device 1008, and a Random Access Memory (RAM) 1003) having stored thereon a computer program which, when executed by a processing device (‘229; fig. 10, element 1001, processing device; ¶ 0116, the electronic device 1000 may include a processing device (such as a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, etc.) 1001), implements [[the]]a method (‘229; fig. 10; ¶ 0116; … the electronic device 1000 may include a processing device (such as a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, etc.) 1001, which may perform various appropriate actions and processes in accordance with programs stored in a Read-Only Memory (ROM) 1002 or loaded from a storage device 1008 into a Random Access Memory (RAM) 1003, thereby implementing the image processing method according to the embodiments of the present disclosure) of generating effect character (‘229; fig. 8; Abstract, … a burr effect image of a to-be-displayed character; generating, based on the burr effect image, an external luminous effect image of the to-be-displayed character; obtaining a rendering image by superimposing the burr effect image and the external luminous effect image; and determining a transparency of a to-be-displayed character in the rendering image based on a position parameter of the to-be-displayed character in the to-be-displayed text, a time stamp, and the display time parameter of the to-be-displayed text), the method comprises: transforming an original monochrome character image (‘229; fig. 1, elements S101 and S102; ¶ 0036-0040; At block S101, to-be-displayed text is obtained. The to-be-displayed text includes at least one to-be-displayed character. In an embodiment, the to-be-displayed text is a text file, and the at least one to-be-displayed character is stored in the text file. As an example, the text file includes a lyrics file, a subtitle file, and the like. In an embodiment, the to-be-displayed text is at least one to-be-displayed character received from a human-computer interaction interface, such as at least one to-be-displayed character that is received via a keyboard, a mouse, or a touch screen. It can be understood that the above-mentioned manners for obtaining the to-be-displayed text are merely illustrative and do not constitute limitations on the present disclosure. At block S102, a first base image including the to-be-displayed text is generated. The first base image is an image in which a foreground is the to-be-displayed text and a background is transparent) into a color character image (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image); magnifying a set edge (‘229; ¶ 0139, obtain an edge image by extracting an edge of a to-be-displayed text in the initial burr effect image) in the color character image in a first direction to obtain a stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction); acquiring a plurality of set noise images (‘229; fig. 3; ¶ 0055-0059; In an embodiment, the noise image is a random gray scale image, that is, the gray scale value of each pixel point on the noise image is a random value. As an example, the noise image may be a Berlin noise image; repeat the process to obtain a set of set noise images), and disturbing pixel points in a set region of the stretch effect image in a second direction respectively according to the plurality of set noise images (‘229; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image; select the y axis direction of the 5*5 expansion area as the second direction), to obtain a plurality of effect character images (‘299; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image. After the expansion image is obtained, the Gaussian burr processing is performed on the expansion image. For example, the Gaussian burr processing is performed on the expansion image twice, allowing the edge color of the to-be-displayed text in the expansion image to diverge, thereby obtaining the luminous effect image; repeat the forgoing process to obtain a set of effect character images), wherein the set region comprises a stretch region (229; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image - stretch region, the magnified or expanded edge region); and does not teach splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect character.
Dorsey, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect character (‘385; ¶ 0033, In some implementations, a portion of the content contained on at least one 2D plane (image) in the plurality of 2D planes (images) can be animated. The animation can be performed based on time; ¶ 0237, In some implementations, the current subject matter can generate various output formats. Such formats can include, but are not limited to, a proprietary file format, a standard CAD file format (e.g., Wavefront obj, ply, etc.), and/or any other formats. Canvases, strokes, and/or images can be stored in various ways. In some implementations, an output can include, but is not limited to, a list of vertices and faces for each object, an image file format (in case of a scene that can be exported as a collection of images), a video of a scene animation (where any animations created within the scene can be exported as video files, or saved as a sequence of image frames), a video of a scene fly-through, and/or any other outputs and/or any combination thereof. …) for the benefit of generating a sequence of time varying visual effects of character images for display on an electronic device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques for splice-coding the plurality of effect character images to obtain dynamic effect characters as taught by Dorsey with the techniques for generating a series of visually enhanced character images as taught by Zhuge for the benefit of generating a sequence of time varying visual effects of character images for display on an electronic device.
Regarding claim 17 (New), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the electronic device according to claim 15 and further teach wherein the transforming an original monochrome character image into a color character image comprises: copying the original monochromatic character image in multiple copies to obtain a plurality of copied monochromatic character images (‘385; ¶ 0204-0205,…The user can copy the content of one canvas directly onto another canvas. The content can either be transferred from one canvas plane onto another, or duplicated onto the destination canvas (i.e. creating a new copy of the content, and retaining the original copy on the original canvas The user can copy content while creating new canvases, where the relationship to the original canvas is either predefined or specified by the user. In this way, the user can create groups of canvases with the same content, according to similar predefined arrangements to the ones used to generate groups of empty canvases.); mapping characters in the plurality of copied monochrome character images to different colors, respectively (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image – each color image is based varying nose images thus yielding differing colors across differing copies of monochrome character images), to obtain a plurality of color images (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image); moving the plurality of color images by at least partially different offsets in the second direction, respectively (‘385; ¶ 0277, In some implementations, a portion of the content can be transformed within at least one two-dimensional plane in the plurality of two-dimensional planes. The transformation can include at least one of the following: freeform distortion, translation, shifting, rotation, scaling, stretching and/or combination thereof.); color filter overlaying a plurality of shifted color images and the original monochromatic character image to obtain an overlaid image (‘229; ¶ 0017); and masking the overlaid image by using the original monochrome character image to obtain a color character image (‘229; ¶ 0017,. .. generating, based on the second base image, a burr effect image of a to-be-displayed character; generating, based on the burr effect image, an external luminous effect image of the to-be-displayed character; obtaining a rendering image by superimposing the burr effect image and the external luminous effect image; and determining a transparency of a to-be-displayed character in the rendering image based on a position parameter of the to-be-displayed character in the to-be-displayed text, a time stamp, and the display time parameter of the to-be-displayed text. According to the embodiments of the present disclosure, the images can be displayed more dynamically and flexibly through the processing of the text image as descried above).
Regarding claim 18 (New), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the electronic device according to claim 15 and further teach wherein after transforming the original monochrome character image into a color character image, the method further comprises: edge distorting color characters in the color character image to obtain an edge distorted color image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction); wherein the magnifying a set edge (‘229; ¶ 0139, obtain an edge image by extracting an edge of a to-be-displayed text in the initial burr effect image) in the color character image in a first direction to obtain a stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction), comprising: magnifying a distorted edge (‘229; ¶ 0067, … At block S402, an edge of the to-be-displayed text in the initial burr effect image is extracted with any edge extraction algorithm, which is not limited herein. In an embodiment, after obtaining the edge of the to-be-displayed text, the first transparency of the edge is determined to be 1; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…) of the edge distorted color image in the first direction to obtain a stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction).
Regarding claim 21 (New), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the electronic device according to claim 15 and further teach wherein after obtaining the stretch effect image, the method further comprises: hybrid overlaying the original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image (‘229; ¶ 0130, obtaining a noise image; obtaining a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image; determining a second coordinate position based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value; and determining a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image, pixel by pixel overlaying original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image) to obtain an overlaid stretch effect image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…).
Claims 1--3, 6-10, 12, 13, 15-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuge et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0377229 A1, hereafter ‘229) as applied to claims 1--3, 6-10, 12, 13, 15-18 and 21 above, and in view of Dorsey et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0222385 A1, hereafter ‘385) as applied to claims 1--3, 6-10, 12, 13, 15-18 and 21 above, and further in view of Sumner et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0181606 A1, hereafter ‘606).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 3 and further teach wherein the edge distorting color characters in the color character image to obtain an edge distorted color image comprises: disturbing edges of the color characters in the color character image in the first direction (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction) according to grayscale information of the stripe noise image to obtain the edge distorted color image (‘229; ¶ 0130, obtaining a noise image; obtaining a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image; determining a second coordinate position based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value; and determining a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image, pixel by pixel overlaying original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image) and do not teach acquiring a stripe noise image.
Sumner, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches acquiring a stripe noise image (‘606; ¶ 0126; FIG. 13 illustrates attached speed lines on a model of a UFO to accentuate and increase the sensation of its speed. To keep the effect convincing when the camera is moving with the UFO, the length and opacity of the speed lines are animated over time. An animated noise texture is sampled using the texture coordinates from the seed point of each speed line, which gives the attenuation value for that speed line; ¶ 0111, The selection of speed line "seed points", as well as the steps used to define the appearance of the speed lines (color, width, etc.), are subject to the implementation of the motion effect and thus may vary or depend on artist input. The apparatus provided herein provides a framework for implementing and running such effects efficiently – set width of speed lines to desired stripe like characteristic – stripe sample a noise image or texture) for the benefit of setting a spaced bundle of speed lines for an edge distorted character or object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques acquiring a stripe noise image as taught by Sumner with the techniques for generating a series of visually enhanced character images as taught by Zhuge in view of Dorsey for the benefit of setting a spaced bundle of speed lines for an edge distorted character or object.
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Zhuge, Dorsey and Sumner teach the method according to claim 4 and further teach wherein the disturbing edges of the color characters in the color character image in the first direction according to grayscale information of the stripe noise image to obtain the edge distorted color image comprises: aligning the stripe noise image with the color character image (‘299; ¶ 0060; mapping sampled noise image value at each point to gray scale value based on the noise value at each corresponding point location – aligning); acquiring, for each pixel point of edge portions of the color characters, grayscale information of a pixel point aligned with the each pixel point in a stripe noise images (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image); accumulating the grayscale information with a coordinate value of the each pixel point in the first direction to obtain a first direction coordinate value of disturbed pixel point (‘299; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image), to obtain the edge distorted color image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…the edge distorted color image).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the method according to claim 10 and further teach wherein the accumulating the grayscale information and a coordinate value of the each pixel point in the second direction to obtain a second direction coordinate value of a disturbed pixel point comprises: determining an accumulated weight based on a distance of the each pixel point from characters in the first direction (‘299; ¶ 0061, As an example, diffX is taken as an offset value of the x coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position, i.e., (x+diffX, y); or diffX is taken as the offset value of the Y coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position i.e., (x, y+diffX); or diffX is taken as a multiplier of the x coordinate to obtain the coordinates of the second coordinate position i.e., (x*diffX, y)), and do not teach wherein the accumulated weight is inversely proportional to the distance; and accumulating a result obtained by multiplying the grayscale information with the accumulated weight with the coordinate value of the each pixel point in the second direction to obtain the second direction coordinate value of the disturbed pixel point.
Sumner, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches wherein the accumulated weight is inversely proportional to the distance (‘606, ¶ 0027); and accumulating a result obtained by multiplying the grayscale information with the accumulated weight with the coordinate value of the each pixel point in the second direction to obtain the second direction coordinate value of the disturbed pixel point (‘606; ¶ 0120, Speed Lines example, A falloff function based on distance or time can be used to give the speed line a soft edge, select inverse of distance for the falloff function) for the benefit of giving speed lines a soft edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques accumulating a result obtained by multiplying the grayscale information with the accumulated weight with the coordinate value of the each pixel point in the second direction to obtain the second direction coordinate value of the disturbed pixel point as taught by Sumner with the techniques for generating a series of visually enhanced character images as taught by Zhuge in view of Dorsey for the benefit of giving speed lines a soft edge.
Regarding claim 19 (New), Zhuge and Dorsey teach the electronic device according to claim 18 and further teach wherein the edge distorting color characters in the color character image to obtain an edge distorted color image comprises: disturbing edges of the color characters in the color character image in the first direction (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…; select the x axis of the 5x5 area as the first direction) according to grayscale information of the stripe noise image to obtain the edge distorted color image (‘229; ¶ 0130, obtaining a noise image; obtaining a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image; determining a second coordinate position based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value; and determining a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image, pixel by pixel overlaying original monochromatic character image with the stretch effect image) and do not teach acquiring a stripe noise image.
Sumner, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches acquiring a stripe noise image (‘606; ¶ 0126; FIG. 13 illustrates attached speed lines on a model of a UFO to accentuate and increase the sensation of its speed. To keep the effect convincing when the camera is moving with the UFO, the length and opacity of the speed lines are animated over time. An animated noise texture is sampled using the texture coordinates from the seed point of each speed line, which gives the attenuation value for that speed line; ¶ 0111, The selection of speed line "seed points", as well as the steps used to define the appearance of the speed lines (color, width, etc.), are subject to the implementation of the motion effect and thus may vary or depend on artist input. The apparatus provided herein provides a framework for implementing and running such effects efficiently – set width of speed lines to desired stripe like characteristic – stripe sample a noise image or texture) for the benefit of setting a spaced bundle of speed lines for an edge distorted character or object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques acquiring a stripe noise image as taught by Sumner with the techniques for generating a series of visually enhanced character images as taught by Zhuge in view of Dorsey for the benefit of setting a spaced bundle of speed lines for an edge distorted character or object.
Regarding claim 20 (New), Zhuge, Dorsey and Sumner teach the electronic device according to claim 19 and further teach wherein the disturbing edges of the color characters in the color character image in the first direction according to grayscale information of the stripe noise image to obtain the edge distorted color image comprises: aligning the stripe noise image with the color character image (‘299; ¶ 0060; mapping sampled noise image value at each point to gray scale value based on the noise value at each corresponding point location – aligning); acquiring, for each pixel point of edge portions of the color characters, grayscale information of a pixel point aligned with the each pixel point in a stripe noise images (‘229; fig. 3, element S304, ¶ 0054, In an embodiment, the action in block S104 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S301, a noise image is obtained. At block S302, a gray scale value of a first coordinate position in the noise image is obtained. At block S303, a second coordinate position is determined based on the first coordinate position and the gray scale value. At block S304, a color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in the burr effect image; and Fig. 4, element S401-S403; In an embodiment, the action in block S304 further includes the following actions in blocks. At block S401, the color value of the second coordinate position in the second base image is determined as a color value of a first coordinate position in an initial burr effect image); accumulating the grayscale information with a coordinate value of the each pixel point in the first direction to obtain a first direction coordinate value of disturbed pixel point (‘299; ¶ 0073, In order to obtain the external luminous effect image, the expansion image is obtained by performing the expansion processing on the burr effect image. The expansion processing can be a processing that a color value is added to the edge of the image to enable the overall color value to be expanded, to realize an expansion effect of the image. In the above actions, the color value is added to the edge of the burr effect image, and the burr effect image is expanded outwards. As an example, a 5*5 expansion processing is performed on the burr effect image. For example, the color value of the edge of the burr effect image is selected as the expansion color, and pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image), to obtain the edge distorted color image (‘299; ¶ 0073, … pixels in an area 5*5 outside the edge are assigned with the expansion color to obtain the expansion image…the edge distorted color image).
Conclusion
The following prior art, made of record, was not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2023/0059499 A1 Image Processing System, Image Processing Method, and Non-Transitory Computer Readable Medium – An image processing system (10) according to an example aspect of the present disclosure includes: an image acquisition unit (102) configured to acquire a monochrome image; a pixel value correction unit (120) configured to correct a pixel value of the monochrome image based on information related to a pixel value; and a colorization generation unit (130) configured to generate a colorized image corresponding to the monochrome image from the corrected monochrome image by using a colorization prediction model trained by machine learning. With the present disclosure, it is possible to improve the reproduction accuracy of a color in colorization of a monochrome image.
/EDWARD MARTELLO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611