DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-18, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0050750 (Watanabe) in view of WO 2021048002 (Naumann).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a method for operating a hybrid battery trolley vehicle (Fig. 1 shows trolley powered haul vehicle 1) [0041], which has an ungrounded vehicle chassis (Fig. 1 shows ungrounded vehicle body 3), a vehicle electrical system (Fig. 2 shows the vehicle electrical system), an overhead line current collector (Fig. 1 shows trolley wire 13), a DC/DC converter (Fig. 4 shows DC/DC converter 23) and a battery storage (Fig. 4 shows battery 35), comprising, switching between an overhead line mode, in which the vehicle electrical system is supplied with energy via the overhead line current collector and the DC/DC converter (Fig. 4 shows DC/DC converter 23 converting trolley voltage from trolley wire 13 to inverter 37, 42) [0066-69, 0095], wherein the vehicle electrical system is connected to a first secondary-side connection and a second secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter (Fig. 4 shows vehicle electrical system connected to a first secondary-side connection and a second secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter 23), and a battery mode [0094, 0096], in which the vehicle electrical system, is supplied with energy via the battery storage (Fig. 4-5 shows battery 35 supplying power to the vehicle drive system 18) [0058, 0061-62, 0075, 0094, 0096],
wherein when switching from battery mode to overhead line mode, a third secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter (Fig. 4 shows a third secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter 23) is electrically connected to the vehicle chassis whose potential forms a reference ground of the vehicle electrical system (third secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter 23 electrically connected to the vehicle chassis and the vehicle chassis’ potential forms a reference ground of the vehicle electrical system), to reduce the output voltages of the DC/DC converter present on the vehicle electrical system relative to the reference ground (Fig. 8 shows switching from battery mode to overhead line mode, the DC/DC converter 23 is electrically connected to the vehicle drive system 18 i.e. on the vehicle chassis to step-down the output voltages relative to the reference ground) [0066-69, 0088, 0093-0097, 0197-0199].
However, Watanabe does not teach wherein the vehicle electrical system is galvanically isolated from the overhead line current collector by the DC/DC converter.
However, Naumann teaches wherein the vehicle electrical system is galvanically isolated from the overhead line current collector by the DC/DC converter [Page 5 paragraph 2-4; Page 10 paragraph 5-6; Page 12 paragraph 1].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the vehicle electrical system is galvanically isolated from the overhead line current collector by the DC/DC converter as taught by Naumann in order to protect the passenger of the vehicle from electrocution.
Examiner’s Note: US 2024/0336144 (Braun) ascertains that it is commonly known in the art to use the vehicle chassis as a reference ground as is illustrated in paragraphs [0024-25, 0091].
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe teaches wherein when switching from battery mode to overhead line mode, a central secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter is electrically connected to the vehicle chassis (Fig. 4 shows a central secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter 23 is electrically connected to the vehicle electrical system 18 in the vehicle chassis) [0068].
Regarding claim 3. Watanabe teaches further comprising detecting whether there is an electrical overhead line connection between the hybrid battery trolley vehicle and an overhead line, in particular via the overhead line current collector (trolley power reception flag detecting whether there is an electrical overhead line connection between the haul vehicle 1 and an overhead line 13 in particular via the power feed pantograph 6) [0046, 0054, 0057].
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches wherein the hybrid battery trolley vehicle is only operated in overhead line mode if an electrical overhead line connection between the hybrid battery trolley vehicle and overhead line is detected (Fig. 9 shows the vehicle 1 is only operated if trolley power reception permission flag is on i.e. an electrical overhead line connection between the vehicle 1 and overhead line 13 is detected).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe teaches further comprising automatically interrupting the electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the ungrounded vehicle chassis and switching to the battery mode if the overhead line connection is interrupted (Fig. 8 shows interrupting the electrical connection between the DC/DC converter 23 of Fig. 4 and the vehicle electrical system i.e. vehicle chassis and switching to battery mode) [0046, 0092-97].
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe does not teach further comprising in battery mode, monitoring whether the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis are electrically isolated from each other.
However, Naumann teaches further comprising in battery mode, monitoring whether the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis are electrically isolated from each other (monitoring DC/DC converter and vehicle chassis being electrically isolated from each other during battery mode) [Page 5 paragraph 2-4; Page 10 paragraph 5-6; Page 12 paragraph 1].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising in battery mode, monitoring whether the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis are electrically isolated from each other in order to protect the circuitry of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe does not teach further comprising in the event of an insulation fault, battery mode automatically electrically disconnecting the DC/DC converter from the vehicle chassis and/or automatically electrically disconnecting the overhead line current collector from the DC/DC converter.
However, Naumann teaches further comprising in the event of an insulation fault, battery mode automatically electrically disconnecting the DC/DC converter from the vehicle chassis and/or automatically electrically disconnecting the overhead line current collector from the DC/DC converter [Page 4 last paragraph to Page 5 paragraph 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising in the event of an insulation fault, battery mode automatically electrically disconnecting the DC/DC converter from the vehicle chassis and/or automatically electrically disconnecting the overhead line current collector from the DC/DC converter as taught by Naumann in order to protect the vehicle passenger from electrocution in an event of insulation fault.
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches hybrid battery trolley vehicle (Fig. 1 shows trolley powered haul vehicle 1) [0041], comprising: an ungrounded vehicle chassis (Fig. 1 shows ungrounded vehicle body 3);
a vehicle electrical system (Fig. 2 shows the vehicle electrical system);
an overhead line current collector (Fig. 1 shows trolley wire 13);
a DC/DC converter (Fig. 4 shows DC/DC converter 23); wherein the DC/DC converter (Fig. 4 shows DC/DC converter 23) is configured for supplying energy to the vehicle electrical system in an overhead line mode (Fig. 8 shows trolley power supply travel section) [0095], wherein the vehicle electrical system is connected to a pair of secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter (Fig. 4 shows vehicle electrical system connected to a first secondary-side connection and a second secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter 23), and a battery storage (Fig. 4 shows battery 35) for supplying energy to the vehicle electrical system in a battery mode (Fig. 8 shows storage battery single travel section) [0094, 0096];
a switching device for establishing an operating mode depending electrical connection between a third secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter (Fig. 4 shows a third secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter 23) and the vehicle chassis forming a reference ground of the vehicle electrical system (third secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter 23 electrically connected to the vehicle chassis and the vehicle chassis’ potential forms a reference ground of the vehicle electrical system), in particular for reducing the output voltages of the DC/DC converter present at the vehicle electrical system relative to the reference ground during overhead line mode (Fig. 3 and 16 shows switching from battery mode to overhead line mode, the DC/DC converter 23 is electrically connected to the vehicle drive system 18 i.e. on the vehicle chassis to step-down the output voltages) [0066-69, 0088, 0197-0199].
However, Watanabe does not teach wherein the vehicle electrical system is galvanically isolated from the overhead line current collector by the DC/DC converter.
However, Naumann teaches wherein the vehicle electrical system is galvanically isolated from the overhead line current collector by the DC/DC converter [Page 5 paragraph 2-4; Page 10 paragraph 5-6; Page 12 paragraph 1].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the vehicle electrical system is galvanically isolated from the overhead line current collector by the DC/DC converter as taught by Naumann in order to protect the passenger of the vehicle from electrocution.
Examiner’s Note: US 2024/0336144 (Braun) ascertains that it is commonly known in the art to use the vehicle chassis as a reference ground as is illustrated in paragraphs [0024-25, 0091].
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe teaches wherein the switching device has a switching element connected between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis (Fig. 4 shows the DC/DC converter 23 connected to trolley power feed line 16 connected to vehicle electrical system 18 which in Fig. 5 shows is via a switching element).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe does not teach further comprising: a detection device, in particular controlling the switching device, for detecting an existing electrical overhead line connection with an overhead line.
However, Naumann teaches further comprising: a detection device, in particular controlling the switching device, for detecting an existing electrical overhead line connection with an overhead line [Page 16 paragraph 2].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a detection device, in particular controlling the switching device, for detecting an existing electrical overhead line connection with an overhead line as taught by Naumann in order to provide insulation thereby protecting the vehicle passengers from electrocution.
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe does not teach further comprising an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode.
However, Naumann teaches further comprising an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode [Page 5 last paragraph-Page 6 paragraphs 1-3; Page 10].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode as taught by Naumann in order to maintain the safety of the vehicle passengers.
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe does not teach wherein a line protection device in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector.
However, Naumann teaches wherein a line protection device in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector (Fig. 2 shows a line protection device as a switching element between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a line protection device in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector as taught by Naumann in order to disconnect the DC/DC converter from the overhead line current collector in an event on insulation fault or other malfunctioning thereby protecting the circuitry.
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe does not teach an insulation monitoring device; wherein the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected.
However, Naumann teaches an insulation monitoring device (is it monitored whether insulation is maintained) [Page 4 last paragraph]; wherein the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected [Page 4 last paragraph to Page 5 paragraph 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected as taught by Naumann in order to protect the passenger of the vehicle from electrocution in an event of insulation fault.
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe teaches further comprising: a detection device, in particular controlling the switching device, for detecting an existing electrical overhead line connection with an overhead line (trolley power reception flag detecting whether there is an electrical overhead line connection between the haul vehicle 1 and an overhead line 13 in particular via the power feed pantograph 6) [0046, 0054, 0057]; wherein the switching device has a switching element connected between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis (Fig. 4 shows the DC/DC converter 23 connected to trolley power feed line 16 connected to vehicle electrical system 18 which in Fig. 5 shows is via a switching element).
However, Watanabe does not teach an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode.
However, Naumann teaches an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode [Page 5 last paragraph-Page 6 paragraphs 1-3; Page 10].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode;
as taught by Naumann in order to protect the vehicle passengers from electrocution.
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe teaches further comprising: a detection device, in particular controlling the switching device, for detecting an existing electrical overhead line connection with an overhead line (trolley power reception flag detecting whether there is an electrical overhead line connection between the haul vehicle 1 and an overhead line 13 in particular via the power feed pantograph 6) [0046, 0054, 0057]; wherein the switching device has a switching element connected between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis (Fig. 4 shows the DC/DC converter 23 connected to trolley power feed line 16 connected to vehicle electrical system 18 which in Fig. 5 shows is via a switching element).
However, Watanabe does not teach an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode;
a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector.
However, Naumann teaches an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode [Page 5 last paragraph-Page 6 paragraphs 1-3; Page 10];
a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector (Fig. 2 shows a line protection device as a switching element between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode; a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector; wherein the vehicle electrical system is galvanically isolated from the overhead line current collector by the DC/DC converter as taught by Naumann in order to protect the passenger of the vehicle from electrocution;
Regarding claim 21, Watanabe teaches wherein a potential of the third secondary-side connection of the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis is approximately halfway between potentials of the pair of secondary-side connections (Fig. 4 shows potential of the third secondary-side connection of DC/DC converter 23 and the vehicle chassis is approximately halfway between potentials of the pair of secondary-side connections).
Regarding claim 22, Watanabe teaches wherein the DC/DC converter is configured to position the potential of the third secondary-side connection between potentials of the pair of secondary-side connections (Fig. 4 shows DC/DC converter 23 is configured to position the potential of the third secondary-side connection between potentials of the pair of secondary-side connections).
Claim(s) 15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0050750 (Watanabe) in view of WO 2021048002 (Naumann) further in view US 2024/0171108 (Qi).
Regarding claim 15, Watanabe and Naumann do not teach further comprising at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system.
However, Qi teaches further comprising at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system (Fig. 1 shows traction motor 125 being an asynchronous motor) [0005].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system as taught by Qi in order to ensure cost effectiveness and reliability as the vehicle travels through various terrains.
Regarding claim 19, Watanabe teaches further comprising: a detection device, in particular controlling the switching device, for detecting an existing electrical overhead line connection with an overhead line (trolley power reception flag detecting whether there is an electrical overhead line connection between the haul vehicle 1 and an overhead line 13 in particular via the power feed pantograph 6) [0046, 0054, 0057]; wherein the switching device has a switching element connected between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis (Fig. 4 shows the DC/DC converter 23 connected to trolley power feed line 16 connected to vehicle electrical system 18 which in Fig. 5 shows is via a switching element).
However, Watanabe does not teach an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode; at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system; and wherein the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected; a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector.
However, Naumann teaches an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode [Page 5 last paragraph-Page 6 paragraphs 1-3; Page 10];
and wherein the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected [Page 4 last paragraph to Page 5 paragraph 1-3]; a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector (Fig. 2 shows a line protection device as a switching element between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode;
and wherein the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected; a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector as taught by Naumann in order to protect the passenger of the vehicle from electrocution in an event of an insulation fault.
However, Qi teaches further comprising at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system (Fig. 1 shows traction motor 125 being an asynchronous motor) [0005].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system as taught by Qi in order to ensure cost effectiveness and reliability as the vehicle travels through various terrains.
Regarding claim 20, Watanabe teaches further comprising: a detection device, in particular controlling the switching device, for detecting an existing electrical overhead line connection with an overhead line (trolley power reception flag detecting whether there is an electrical overhead line connection between the haul vehicle 1 and an overhead line 13 in particular via the power feed pantograph 6) [0046, 0054, 0057]; wherein the switching device has a switching element connected between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis (Fig. 4 shows the DC/DC converter 23 connected to trolley power feed line 16 connected to vehicle electrical system 18 which in Fig. 5 shows is via a switching element).
However, Watanabe does not teach an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode; at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system; and wherein the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected; a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector; at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system.
However, Naumann teaches an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode [Page 5 last paragraph-Page 6 paragraphs 1-3; Page 10];
and wherein the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected [Page 4 last paragraph to Page 5 paragraph 1-3]; a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector (Fig. 2 shows a line protection device as a switching element between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an insulation monitoring device for monitoring the electrical insulation of the vehicle electrical system and the vehicle chassis, in particular in battery mode; and wherein the insulation monitoring device is configured to control the switching device and/or the line protection device when an insulation fault is detected, in particular when an electrical connection between the DC/DC converter and the vehicle chassis in battery mode is detected; a line protection device, in particular having a further switching element, between a primary side of the DC/DC converter and the overhead line current collector as taught by Naumann in order to protect the passenger of the vehicle from electrocution in an event of an insulation fault.
However, Qi teaches further comprising at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system (Fig. 1 shows traction motor 125 being an asynchronous motor) [0005].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one electric traction drive motor, in particular an asynchronous motor, is provided in the vehicle electrical system as taught by Qi in order to ensure cost effectiveness and reliability as the vehicle travels through various terrains.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant presents the argument that the Watanabe reference does not teach: a DC/DC converter having a pair of second side connections as well as a third secondary-side connection that is connected with a vehicle chassis to provide a reference voltage for biasing the output DC voltages of the pair of second side connections.
However, the Examiner would like to point to Watanabe Fig. 4 showing the DC/DC converter 23 having a pair of second side connections as well as a third secondary-side connection that is connected with vehicle side i.e. vehicle chassis, wherein it is illustrated that reference is to the vehicle voltage i.e. bias secondary-side DC output voltage relative to a reference voltage of a vehicle system. Examiner further produces in the Examiner’s note to illustrate the vehicle chassis being used as a reference ground as in taught in US 2024/0336144 (Braun) ascertains that it is commonly known in the art to use the vehicle chassis as a reference ground as is illustrated in paragraphs [0024-25, 0091].
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836