DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of 1-21 of US 12465748 B2, claims 1-21 of US 12636485 B2, and claims 1-19 of US 12714845 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the application claims with the same expandable conduit, scaffold, and impeller.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 17998624 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application also has a collapsible blood conduit with impellers and support struts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McBride (US 9364593 B2) in view of Campbell (US 9138518 B2).
Regarding claim 1, McBride discloses an expandable catheter blood pump (eg. Abstract, Col. 17, Ln. 15-42, claim 1) comprising: a blood conduit supported by a catheter (eg. Col. 7, Ln. 1-5, Col. 24, Ln. 54-60), the blood conduit comprising an expandable scaffold (eg. Col. 19 Ln. 9 – Col. 21, Ln. 11, and an impermeable membrane disposed on a portion of the expandable scaffold (eg. claim 19, Col. 19, Ln. 9 - Col. 20, Ln. 35, elastic coating over at least a portion of the mesh); an impeller assembly rotatably supported within a proximal portion of the blood conduit (eg. Col. 6, Ln. 55 – Col. 7, Ln. 18, Col. 18, Ln. 53-59, Col. 21, Ln. 40-55); but does not explicitly disclose wherein the impeller assembly is the only structure positioned within the blood conduit.
Campbell teaches a percutaneous heart pump that is cantilevered for rotation at one end (eg. Col. 6, Ln. 60 – Col. 7, Ln. 16, Fig. 9 and 13A shaft terminates within the impeller with nothing downstream).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of McBride with a cantilevered impeller as taught by Campbell since the cantilevered impeller is commonly used in the art for reducing hemolysis and minimizing crossing profiles.
Regarding claim 2, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the impeller assembly includes one or more impeller blades coupled to an impeller shaft (eg. McBride, Claim 26, Col. 3, Ln. 55 – Col. 5, Ln. 25).
Regarding claim 3, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the impeller shaft passes through an impeller bearing assembly proximal to the one or more impeller blades (eg. Campbell, Col. 8, Ln. 51 – Col. 9, Ln. 10).
Regarding claim 4, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the impeller bearing assembly is at least partially positioned within a proximal hub of the blood pump (eg. Campbell, Col. 7, Ln. 58 – Col. 8, Ln. 15).
Regarding claim 5, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses a flexible drive cable coupled to a proximal end of the impeller shaft (eg. Campbell, Col. 5, Ln. 3-17, Col. 8, Col. 8, Ln. 35-51, Col. 17, Ln. 22-30).
Regarding claim 6, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the impeller shaft is stiffer than the flexible drive cable (eg. Campbell, Col. 5, Ln. 3-17, Col. 8, Ln. 35-51, Col. 17, Ln. 22-30, Col. 21, Ln. 23-37, Col. 29, Ln. 10-25, the art indicates that the impeller housing can have varying rigidity, one of ordinary skill would have made the flexible drive cable more flexible than the impeller shaft for the predictable result of being able to navigate through the body more easily and preventing the impeller from folding in on itself).
Regarding claim 7, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the impeller assembly is cantilevered (eg. Campbell, Col. 6, Ln. 60-67).
Regarding claim 8, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses there are no structures positioned distal to the impeller assembly within the blood conduit (eg. Col. 7, Ln. 3-17, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the blood conduit comprises an open lumen distal to the impeller assembly (Eg. McBride, Claim 34, Col. 19, Ln. 55 – Col. 20, Ln. 3).
Regarding claim 10, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses no bearings are positioned distal of the impeller assembly (eg. Campbell, Fig. 4a-b, Col. 7, Ln. 58 – Col. 8, Ln. 14).
Regarding claim 11, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the impeller assembly is disposed within an outlet section of the expandable scaffold (eg. McBride, Col. 20, Ln. 35 – Col. 21, Ln. 11, claims 31 and 34).
Regarding claim 12, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the outlet section includes a plurality of proximal struts that form at least one opening eg. McBride, Col. 20, Ln. 35 – Col. 21, Ln. 11, claims 23, 31 and 34).
Regarding claim 13, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses at least one opening is positioned proximal to a proximal end of the impermeable membrane (eg. McBride, claim 20, 35-36, Col. 19, Ln. 9 – Col. 20, Ln. 3).
Regarding claim 14, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the impeller assembly is at least partially disposed within the outlet section (eg. McBride, Claim 1 and 31, Col. 20, Ln. 35-60, Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 15, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the expandable section further comprises a central portion distal to the impeller assembly (eg. McBride, claim 34, Col. 20, Ln. 35-60, Col. 25, Ln. 8-20).
Regarding claim 16, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the central portion is more flexible than the outlet section (eg. McBride, claim 7, Col. 19, Ln. 9-26, Col. 20, Ln. 10-35, and Campbell, Col. 5, Ln. 3-17, Col. 8, Ln. 35-51, Col. 17, Ln. 22-30, Col. 21, Ln. 23-37, Col. 29, Ln. 10-25, one of ordinary skill would have been able to make the tube more flexible than the outlet to provide the predictable result of not having the outlet buckle/fold on itself).
Regarding claim 17, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses a distal shaft section coupled to the outlet section (eg. McBride, Fig. 20, Col. 24, Ln. 5-20, distal end dilator).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McBride (US 9364593 B2) in view of Campbell (US 9138518 B2), further in view of Siess (US 6007478).
Regarding claim 18, the combined invention of McBride and Campbell discloses the invention of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose distal shaft section is more flexible than the outlet section.
Siess teaches a cannula device that has a cannula with a gradually varying degree of resistance to lateral deflection wherein its proximal end is stiffer than its distal end (eg. Abstract, claim 1, Col. 2, Ln. 25-47, Col. 4, Ln. 55 – Col. 5, Ln. 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of McBride and Campbell with the varying distal stiffness of a cannula as taught by Siess to provide the predictable result of resisting radial collapse/deformation where needed on the cannula (Col. 5, Ln. 28-60, claim 1).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796