DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims1-29 are currently pending.
Claims 20-29 are withdrawn
Claims 1-19 are being examined on the merits.
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election without traverse Group I (claims 1-19) with election of species a) bi-modal blend of cationically modified guars, b) guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, c) hydroxypropyl (HP) guar, d) cationic surfactants, e) hair styling, f) a mousse, g) cetrimonium chloride, h) improved humidity resistance in the reply filed on September 30, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 20-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 08, 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US23/13849 (02/24/2023) as reflected in the filing receipt issued August 23, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted on August 23, 2024, and February 19, 2026, have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 states “in ratio of 0.01 to 0.50”, insert term “a” between “in” and “ratio” to read as “in a ratio of 0.01 to 0.50”.
Claim 5 recites “according to claim 4(B)”. Remove “(B)“ to read as “claim 4” as the claim number can only be referred .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “0.1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cationically modified guar blend comprising: (a) 1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cationically modified guar… (b) 1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cationically modified guar having weight average molecular weight…(ii) 0.1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cosmetic ingredient”, it is unclear if it is the % of the total weight of the composition or of the subcomponent if the composition. For purposes of compact prosecution, the claim is interpreted as weight percentage of the total weight of the composition.
Claim 2 recites “the composition optionally, further comprises 0.0 to 99 wt.% of a non-ionic guar”, it is unclear if it is the % of the total weight of the composition or of the subcomponent if the composition. For purposes of compact prosecution, the claim is interpreted as weight percentage of the total weight of the composition.
Claim 4 recites “weight ratio of 92:8, 80: 20, 75:25, and 60:40”, it is unclear because how can the guar blend be present in all of the listed weight ratios? For purposes of compact prosecution, the claim is interpreted as a weight ratio selected from the group consisting of 92:8, 80: 20, 75:25, and 60:40.
Claim 5 recites “ in ratio of 0.01 to 0.10, and 0.1 to 0.20, 0.2 to 0.30, and 0.3 to 0.4.”, it is because how can the degree of substitution be present in all of the listed weight ratios? For purposes of compact prosecution, the claim is interpreted as “present in a ratio selected from group consisting of 0.01 to 0.10, and 0.1 to 0.20, 0.2 to 0.30, and 0.3 to 0.4”.
Claims 3 and 6-19 depend on claim 1, and do not clarify the issues of claim 1, and thus are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
With regards to claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10,12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilvert et al (US20150313834A1; Published on November 05, 2015; Filled on April 29, 2015, cited in IDS).
Hilvert et al throughout teaches a multi-modal hair care composition facilitating repairing and preventing damage of hair described herein comprises applying to the hair a shampoo composition followed by a conditioner composition (Hilvert Abstract).
For claim 1: Hilvert discloses a shampoo composition from about 0.1 to about 0.25 by weight, of a cationic guar deposition polymer having a molecular weight of from about 500,000 g/mol to about 2.2 million g/mol (converts to 500kDa to 2000 kDa) (reads on the cationically modified gaur weight average of the claim)(Hilvert paragraph 0005). Hilvert teaches the shampoo composition may also contain a blend of guars having varied molecular weights (Hilvert paragraph 0031). Hilvert further discloses that the composition comprises from about 0.01% to less than about 0.7% of cationic guar polymer (reads on 0.1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cationically modified guar blend of the claim) (Hilvert paragraph 0032). Hilvert discloses that the blend can comprise a first cationic guar polymer having a molecular weight of from about 500,000 g/mol to about 700,000 g/mol (converts to 500kDa to 700 kDa) and a second cationic guar polymer having a molecular weight of from about 1,000,000 g/mol to about 2,000,000 g/mol (converts to 1000kDa to 2000 kDa) (Hilvert paragraph 0031). Hilvert further discloses that the guar blend have a ratio of from about 2:1 to about 1:2 (Hilvert paragraph 0031). Hilvert also discloses that the shampoo composition and/or conditioner composition (hair care compositions) described herein may optionally comprise one or more additional components such additional components (Hilvert paragraph 0083). Hilvert further states that individual concentrations of such additional components may range from about 0.001 wt. % to about 10 wt. % by weight of the hair care compositions. Suitable components include, but are not limited to, particles, colorants, anti-dandruff actives, perfume microcapsules, gel networks, and other insoluble skin or hair conditioning agents such as skin silicones, natural oils such as sun flower oil or castor oi( reads on cosmetic ingredients of the claim) (Hilvert paragraph 0083).
For claim 2: Hilvert is silent on teaching non-ionic guar comprising 0.0 to 99wt%, as the instant claim recites optionally.
For claim 3: Hilvert teaches that the blend can comprise a first cationic guar polymer having a molecular weight of from about 500,000 g/mol to about 700,000 g/mol (converts to 500kDa to 700kDa) (Hilvert paragraph 0031). The second cationic guar polymer has a molecular weight of from about 1,000,000 g/mol to about 2,000,000 g/mol ( converts to 1000kDa to 2000kDa) (Hilvert paragraph 0031).
For claim 6: Hilvert teaches that the shampoo composition may also contain a blend of guars having varied molecular weights( reads on multi-modal as evidenced by the instant specification paragraph 0039) (Hilvert paragraph 0031).
For claim 7: Hilvert teaches suitable cationic guar polymers include cationic guar gum derivatives, such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Hilvert paragraph 0039).
For claim 10: Hilvert teaches the shampoo composition and/or conditioner composition (hair care compositions) described herein may optionally comprise one or more additional components such additional components are most typically those described in reference books such as the CTFA Cosmetic Ingredient Handbook, Second Edition, The Cosmetic, Toiletries, and Fragrance Association, Inc. 1988, 1992( Hilvert paragraph 0083). Hilvert further discloses that individual concentrations of such additional components may range from about 0.001 wt. % to about 10 wt. % by weight of the hair care compositions. Suitable components include, but are not limited to, particles, colorants, anti-dandruff actives, perfume microcapsules, gel networks, and other insoluble skin or hair conditioning agents such as skin silicones, natural oils such as sunflower oil or castor oil( Hilvert paragraph 0083).
For claim 11: Hilvert teaches repairing and preventing hair damage where the composition delivers consumer desired shampooing in addition to providing hair damage prevention and repair(Hilvert paragraph 0016). Hilvert further discloses that the hair care composition combination (system) for intended use for substantially better split end prevention and reduction in hair breakage (reads on hair split end mending, hair condition of the claim) (Hilvert paragraph 0097).
For claim 12: Hilvert teaches the shampoo composition has a pH of from about 3.5 to about 7.5 (Hilvert claim 9).
For claim 13 and 14: Hilvert discloses that the shampoo composition hair care compositions described herein may optionally comprise one or more additional component (Hilvert paragraph 0083). The hair care compositions of the present invention may be presented in typical hair care formulations. They may be in the form of solutions, dispersion ( reads on aerosol), emulsions, powders, talcs, encapsulated, spheres, spongers, foams (reads on mousse of the claim), and other delivery mechanisms (Hilvert paragraph 0084).
For claim 15: the recitation of “the hair care composition used in a hair care formulation…” is interpreted to be intended use of the “hair care composition” and thus does not add additional structures to the claimed “hair care composition”. The reference teaches the hair care composition and thus read on the instant claim 15.
For claim 16: Hilvert teaches that the shampoo composition comprising: from about 2% to about 50% of one or more detersive surfactants (Hilvert paragraph 005). Hilvert further teaches that the one or more detersive surfactants in turn may comprise an anionic surfactant, amphoteric or zwitterionic surfactants, or mixtures thereof (Hilvert paragraph 0019).
For claims 18 and 19: Hilvert teaches a hair care composition with the same ingredients as claimed, which would have the same properties, as evidenced by the instant specification, stating that combining cationic polysaccharides with different molecular weights possible to customize the styling and care benefits of formulations, such as hair stiffness, conditioning, slip properties, humidity resistance, styleability and durability of style ( Instant specification paragraph 0005).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5 , 8, 9, 11, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hilvert et al (US20150313834A1; Published on November 05, 2015; Filled on April 29, 2015, cited in IDS) in view of Jayaswal et al (US20160279048A1; Published on September 29, 2016, cited in IDS) and Wossene et al (WO2018017408; Published on January 25, 2018, as cited in IDS) and Streuli et al (US20210121387A1; Published on April 29, 2021).
Hilvert et al throughout teaches a multi-modal hair care composition facilitating repairing and preventing damage of hair described herein comprises applying to the hair a shampoo composition followed by a conditioner composition as discussed supra.
Hilvert does not explicitly teach degree of substitution (DS) of cationically modified guar blend present in a ratio of 0.01 to 0.50, 0.01 to 0.10, and 0.1 to 0.2, 0.2 to 0.30, and 0.3 to 0.4, as recited in claims 4 ,5, and 9. Hilvert does not explicitly teach protecting hair from thermal and mechanical damage and protecting hair from thermal damage from styling tools up to 450°F, recited in claim 11. Hilvert also does not teach non-ionic guar group consisting of hydroxymethyl guar, hydroxyethyl guar, Hydroxypropyl (HP) guar and hydroxybutyl guar and surfactants such as cetrimonium chloride recited in claims 8 and 17. Hilvert does not explicitly teach humidity curl retention, and wide range of tribological behaviors as recited in claims 18 and 19.
However, Jayaswal et al throughout teaches a hair care composition comprising cationic deposition polymer and wherein the cationically-modified guar comprises first cationically-modified guar polymer and a second cationically-modified guar polymer , such as hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Jayaswal Abstract).
For claim 4: Jayaswal et al teaches a hair care composition where the cationic polymer suitable for use in compositions of the present invention comprises cationically-modified guar polymers such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Jayaswal paragraph 0039). Jayaswal further discloses the degree of substitution (DS) is typically in the range from 0 to 3, i.e. the range of the ratio of the degree of substitution (DS) of cationically modified guar blend is disclosed ( Jayaswal paragraph 40).
For claim 5: Jayaswal discloses a hair care composition where the cationic polymer suitable for use in compositions of the present invention comprises cationically-modified guar polymers such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Jayaswal paragraph 0039). Jayaswal further discloses the degree of substitution (DS) is typically in the range from 0 to 3, i.e. the range of the ratio of the degree of substitution (DS) of cationically modified guar blend is disclosed ( Jayaswal paragraph 40).
For claim 9: Jayaswal discloses a hair care composition where the cationic polymer suitable for use in compositions of the present invention comprises cationically-modified guar polymers such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Jayaswal paragraph 0039). Jayaswal further discloses the degree of substitution (DS) is typically in the range from 0 to 3, i.e. the range of the ratio of the degree of substitution (DS) of cationically modified guar blend is disclosed ( Jayaswal paragraph 40).
Wossene throughout teaches a hair care composition wherein the non-ionic guar is selected from the group consisting of non-ionic hydroxymethyl guar, hydroxyethyl guar, Hydroxypropyl (HP) guar and hydroxybutyl guar ( Wossene Abstract).
For claim 8: Wossene also discloses that the composition further comprises a second polymeric compound selected from (a) a functionalized or unfunctionalized cellulose moiety, or (b) a functionalized or unfunctionalized galactomannan moiety (Wossene paragraph 0039). Wossene teaches non-limiting examples of galactomannan non-ionic guar selected from methyl guar, ethyl guar, allyl guar, hydroxyethyl guar, hydroxypropyl guar ( Wossene paragraph 0053)
For claim 11: Wossene discloses the present application provides a method of straightening or styling hair, the method comprises… step (e) hot air drying the treated hair of step (d) by mechanically straightening hair with either brushing or combing with a slow uniform motion from root to tip; step (f) ironing the hair resulting from step using a flat iron pre -heated to 375-450°F (Wossene paragraph 0014, claim 17). Wossene further discloses that the present application includes silicones for decreasing friction during hair combing and flat ironing, smooth gliding, increase conditioning and smoothing to hair by adding flexibility, help reduce heat damage and style retention; and contribute to shine depending on the refractive index ( Wossene paragraph 00105).
Streuli et al through teaches a hair styling composition comprising at least one cationically modified polygalactomannan having a molecular weight in a range of from about 40 to about 1100 KDa and at least one cosmetic ingredient is disclosed. (Streuli abstract).
For claim 17: Streuli teaches a hair styling composition which employs at least one cosmetic ingredient selected from the group consisting of surfactant (Streuli paragraph 0047). Streuli further discloses that the surfactants are cationic surfactants. Examples of the cationic surfactants used for preparing the hair styling composition of the present application can include, but are not limited to, cetrimonium chloride.
For claim 18: Streuli teaches the composition exhibits a high humidity curl retention of about 80% to about 100% over a 24-hour period at 90% humidity and at 80° F ( Streuli paragraph 0064).
For claim 19: Streuli teaches present application discloses to employ at least one cosmetic ingredient selected from the group consisting of preservatives …. plant extracts, plant derivatives, plant tissue extracts, plant seed extracts, plant oils, botanicals, .. and combination thereof. Streuli discloses the use of guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Streuli claim 3). Guar gum for use in preparing these guar gum derivatives is typically obtained as a naturally occurring material. Streuli discloses that the present application employ at least one cosmetic ingredient selected from the group consisting…of plant seed extracts, plant oils, botanicals, botanical extracts, humectants ( paragraph 0047), which are nature derived hence inherently biodegradable to a certain extent . Streuli further discloses that the composition exhibits improved humidity resistance, stiffness, durability of hold, low slip, foam enhancement and curl maintenance (Streuli paragraph 0014).
With regards to the degree of substitution (claims 4, 5 and 9), Jayaswal exemplifies the range of cationic polymer from 0 to 3, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hair care composition as taught by Hilvert, to incorporate the degree of substitution of cationically modified guar blend in the ratio of 0.01 to 0.50 as taught by Jayaswal. Both Hilvert and Jayaswal teach hair care composition that include guar polymer hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for because the hair care composition can provide high conditioning benefits while maintaining a pleasant hair feel after drying.
With regards to non-ionic guar (claims 8 and 11) and composition used for styling, straightening, mending, cuticular smoothing, conditioning, protecting from thermal and mechanical damage and styling tools up to 450° F. Wossene exemplifies non-ionic guar such as hydroxyethyl guar and hydroxypropyl guar and the method of straightening or styling hair, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hilvert reference to include the non-ionic guar selected from hydroxyethyl guar and hydroxypropyl guar with characteristics such as styling, conditioning, and heat protecting as taught by Wossene. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for because non-ionic guar such as hydroxypropyl guar are known to provide improved hair strengthening by improving hair fiber alignment, improving contact heat transfer, reducing friction between hot iron and hair.
With regards to tribological behavior (claims 17, 18 and 19), Streuli exemplifies a hair care composition with guar polymer such as hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride with high humidity properties, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date to modify the hair care composition as taught by Hilvert to include exhibits for improved humidity resistance, stiffness, durability of hold, low slip, foam enhancement and curl maintenance as taught by Steruli. The motivation would have been to provide a hair styling composition for the delivery of enhanced curl formation and maintenance, and improved high humidity hold in styling applications.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because the combined
teachings of the prior art references is fairly suggestive of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159.
See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
Claims 1-19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 22 of copending Application No. 19/511,905 (`905) (reference application) Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim hair care compositions for conditioning and protecting hair.
Instant claim 1, drawn to a multi-modal hair care composition comprising: (i) 0.1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cationically modified guar blend comprising: (a) 1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cationically modified guar having weight average molecular weight in the range of from about 50 to about 500 KDa, and (b) 1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cationically modified guar having weight average molecular weight in the range of from about 500 to about 1500 KDa; and (ii) 0.1 to 99 wt.% of at least one cosmetic ingredient.
Reference claim 1, drawn to a hair care composition of multi-modal guar blend comprising: (I) 0.1 to 99.0 wt. % of at least one cationic guar blend comprising: (a) 1 to 99 wt. % of at least one modified cationic guar; and (b) 1 to 99 wt. % of at least one unmodified cationic guar; and (II) 0.1 to 99.0 wt. % of at least one cosmetic functional ingredient; wherein: the modified cationic guar has a weight average molecular weight range of 800 to 1200 KDa, and low degree of substitution (0.01 to 0.10); and the unmodified cationic guar has a: (i) weight average molecular weight range of 800-1200 KDa; and (ii) (a) low degree of substitution (0.01 to 0.10), (b) medium degree of substitution (0.10 to 0.20), or combination of (ii)(a) and (ii) (b).
Both the reference application ‘905 (claim 2) and instant application (claim 4) also claim hair care composition wherein the weight average molecular weight of cationic guar blend (I) (a) and (I) (b) are present in weight ratio of 90:10, 92:8, 80:20, 75:25, 60:40.
Both the reference application ‘905 (claim 3) and instant application (claim 6) also claim the hair care composition is a bi-modal, a tri-modal, a quadra-modal or a penta-modal blend of cationic guars.
Both the reference application `905 (claim 4) and instant application (claim 7) also claim the modified cationic guar blend is selected from the group consisting of cationic Hydroxy propyl (HP) guar, Guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, and cassia hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride.
Both the reference application `905 (claim 7) and instant application (claim 10) also claim at least one cosmetic functional ingredient is selected from the group consisting of acids, amino acids, antidandruff agents, anti-statics, antioxidants, anti-inflammatory agents, anti-microbial agents, acidifying agents, basifying agents, bodying agents, buffers, bleaches, cationic surfactants, cleansing agents, chelating agents, collagen, conditioning ingredients, compressed gases, dyes, de-ionized water, defoamers, emollients, emulsifiers, flexibility enhancers, fatty substances, fragrances, fillers, foam stabilizers, functional polymers, gel formers, humectants, α-hydroxycarboxylic acids, hydrophilic active agent, hair conditioning ingredients, hydrotropes, keratin hydrolyzates, light protection agents, lipophilic active agent, lipids, moisturizers, neutralizing agents, oxidizing agents, organosilicones, protein hydrolyzates, hydrotropes, perfumes, pigments, preservatives, propellants, proteins, pH modifier, polysaccharides, polyalklylene glycols, reducing agents, rheology modifiers, solvents, solubilizers, suspension agents, silicones, silicone-containing polymers, split modifiers, shine enhancers, softeners, sequestering agents, surfactants, styling polymers, thickeners, texturizing agents, tinting agents, tanning agents, UV-A or UV-B blocker/filters, UV protectants, viscosifiers, vitamins, water proofing agents, water softening agents, wetting agents, and blends thereof.
Both the reference application `905 (claim 8) and instant application (claim 11) also claim the composition is used for (i) hair styling, (ii) hair straightening, (iii) hair split end mending, (iv) hair cuticular smoothing, (v) hair conditioning, (vi) protecting hair from thermal and mechanical damage, and (vii) protecting hair from thermal damage from heat styling tools up to 450°F.
Both the reference application `905 (claim 9) and instant application (claim 12) also claim the pH of the hair care composition is in the range of from about 3 to about 13.
Both the reference application `905 (claim 10) and instant application (claim 13) also claim the composition is formulated as an aerosol, a cream, an emulsion, a gel, a lotion, a mousse, a powder, a paste, a solution, spray, a shampoo, a vesicle dispersion, or a wax.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not been patented.
Claims 1-19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18, of Patent Application 12544328 in view of Jayaswal et al (US20160279048A1; Published on September 29, 2016, cited in IDS) and Wossene et al (WO2018017408; Published on January 25, 2018, as cited in IDS). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim hair care compositions for conditioning and protecting hair.
Instant claim 1, recited above.
Reference claim 1, drawn to a hair styling composition consisting of: (i) about 0.1 wt. % to about 2wt.% of guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride having a weight average molecular weight in a range from about 150 to about 700 KDa: (ii) about 0.1 wt. % to about 25 wt. % of ingredient caprylyl glycol, a cosmetic ingredient or (iii) about 0.1 wt. % to about 10 wt. % of at least one quaternary ammonium compound selected from the group consisting of Polyquaternium-55 and Polyquaternium-11 (iv) about 0.1 wt. % to about 10 wt. % of at a copolymer of polyvinyl pyrrolidone or a copolymer of vinylpyrrolidone; and (v) a sufficient wt. % solvent to achieve 100 wt. % of the hair styling composition, wherein hair treated with the resultant hair styling composition exhibits a curl retention of about 80% to about 100% over a 24-hour period at 90% humidity and 80° F.
Reference application `970 discloses that the composition is a hair styling composition comprising guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, which is the same ingredient as claimed and would have the same properties, as evidenced by the instant specification paragraph 0005 for styling, treating, and protecting the hair.
Reference application `970 does not teach explicitly teach the ratio of the guar blend as recited in claims 4,5, and 9. Reference patent also does not teach a non-ionic guar, as recited in claim 8. Reference patent does not explicitly teach protecting hair from thermal damage from heat styling tools up to 450°F, recited in claim 11.
However, Jayaswal et al throughout teaches a hair care composition comprising cationic deposition polymer and wherein the cationically-modified guar comprises first cationically-modified guar polymer and a second cationically-modified guar polymer , such as hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Jayaswal Abstract).
For claim 4: Jayaswal et al teaches a hair care composition where the cationic polymer suitable for use in compositions of the present invention comprises cationically-modified guar polymers such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Jayaswal paragraph 0039). Jayaswal further discloses the degree of substitution (DS) is typically in the range from 0 to 3, i.e. the range of the ratio of the degree of substitution (DS) of cationically modified guar blend is disclosed ( Jayaswal paragraph 40).
For claim 5: Jayaswal discloses a hair care composition where the cationic polymer suitable for use in compositions of the present invention comprises cationically-modified guar polymers such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Jayaswal paragraph 0039). Jayaswal further discloses the degree of substitution (DS) is typically in the range from 0 to 3, i.e. the range of the ratio of the degree of substitution (DS) of cationically modified guar blend is disclosed (Jayaswal paragraph 40).
For claim 9: Jayaswal discloses a hair care composition where the cationic polymer suitable for use in compositions of the present invention comprises cationically-modified guar polymers such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (Jayaswal paragraph 0039). Jayaswal further discloses the degree of substitution (DS) is typically in the range from 0 to 3, i.e. the range of the ratio of the degree of substitution (DS) of cationically modified guar blend is disclosed ( Jayaswal paragraph 40).
Wossene throughout teaches a hair care composition wherein the non-ionic guar is selected from the group consisting of non-ionic hydroxymethyl guar, hydroxyethyl guar, Hydroxypropyl (HP) guar and hydroxybutyl guar (Wossene Abstract).
For claim 8: Wossene also discloses that the composition further comprises a second polymeric compound selected from (a) a functionalized or unfunctionalized cellulose moiety, or (b) a functionalized or unfunctionalized galactomannan moiety (Wossene paragraph 0039). Wossene teaches non-limiting examples of galactomannan non-ionic guar selected from methyl guar, ethyl guar, allyl guar, hydroxyethyl guar, hydroxypropyl guar ( Wossene paragraph 0053)
For claim 11: Wossene discloses the present application provides a method of straightening or styling hair, the method comprises… step (e) hot air drying the treated hair of step (d) by mechanically straightening hair with either brushing or combing with a slow uniform motion from root to tip; step (f) ironing the hair resulting from step using a flat iron pre -heated to 375-450°F (Wossene paragraph 0014, claim 17). Wossene further discloses that the present application includes silicones for decreasing friction during hair combing and flat ironing, smooth gliding, increase conditioning and smoothing to hair by adding flexibility, help reduce heat damage and style retention; and contribute to shine depending on the refractive index ( Wossene paragraph 00105).
With regards to the degree of substitution (claims 4, 5 and 9), Jayaswal exemplifies the range of cationic polymer from 0 to 3, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hair care composition as taught by Hilvert, to incorporate the degree of substitution of cationically modified guar blend in the ratio of 0.01 to 0.50 as taught by Jayaswal. Both Hilvert and Jayaswal teach hair care composition that include guar polymer hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for because the hair care composition can provide high conditioning benefits while maintaining a pleasant hair feel after drying.
With regards to non-ionic guar (claims 8 and 11) and composition used for styling, straightening, mending, cuticular smoothing, conditioning, protecting from thermal and mechanical damage and styling tools up to 450° F. Wossene exemplifies non-ionic guar such as hydroxyethyl guar and hydroxypropyl guar and the method of straightening or styling hair, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hilvert reference to include the non-ionic guar selected from hydroxyethyl guar and hydroxypropyl guar with characteristics such as styling, conditioning, and heat protecting as taught by Wossene. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for because non-ionic guar such as hydroxypropyl guar are known to provide improved hair strengthening by improving hair fiber alignment, improving contact heat transfer, reducing friction between hot iron and hair.
This is a nonprovisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-19 are not allowed.
/J.A.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616