DETAILED ACTION
I Claims 1-14 have been examined.
Priority
The current application is a National Stage entry of PCT/JP2023/009515, International Filing Date: 03/13/2023 which claims foreign priority to 2022-055003, filed 03/30/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/26/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is two paragraphs instead of a single paragraph. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “storage unit” and “communication unit” in claims 1, 13, and 14; “acquisition unit” and “management unit” in claim 6; and “communication unit” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to “A program for causing a computer to function as”; however, the “program” is not embodied on a non-transitory medium nor on the “computer”.
A claim that recites no more than software, logic or a data structure (i.e., an abstract idea) – with no structural tie or functional interrelationship to an article of manufacture, machine, process or composition of matter does not fall within any statutory category and is not patentable subject matter; data structures in ethereal, non-physical form are non-statutory subject matter. In re Warmerdam, 33 F.3d 1354, 1361 (Fed. Cir. 1994); see Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1357.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. US 20160099969 A1 to Angus et al., hereinafter Angus and further in view of United States Patent No. US 11256792 B2 to Tussy et al., hereinafter Tussy
Regarding claim 1, Angus discloses an information processing device comprising:
a communication unit that transmits, to an external device that provides a service by using the secure element of the terminal device, the unique identification information inquired from the external device or the security authentication information for the unique identification information on the secure element used for the service (paragraph 13, “compliance authenticator, in various embodiments, verifies that the configuration information complies with a policy”, paragraphs 27 and 40, “a unique identifier”, paragraph 42, “respective identities of users, organizations, entities, or the like”, and paragraph 59, “a list of authorized service set identifiers”).
Angus discloses the claimed invention, as cited above. However, Angus is not relied upon to disclose the claim limitations pertaining to “a storage unit that stores unique identification information for identifying an individual of a secure element mounted on a terminal device and security authentication information assigned to the secure element in association with each other”. Tussy discloses said claim limitations, as cited below.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tussy with the teachings of Angus so that "this would allow the user to secure access to the mobile device 112 itself. Or enrollment info may be stored on server. Accordingly, in step 950, if the authentication server 120 or mobile device 112 determines that the enrollment information sufficiently corresponds with the credentials received, then the server or mobile device may verify that the identification of the user attempting login corresponds the account holder. This avoids the cumbersome process of the user having to manually type in a complex password using the small screen of the mobile device" (Tussy – column 18, lines 34-44).
Further regarding claim 1, Tussy discloses a storage unit that stores unique identification information for identifying an individual of a secure element mounted on a terminal device and security authentication information assigned to the secure element in association with each other (Figure 20, column 50, lines 66 and 67, column 51, lines 1-12, “Each of the components 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2012, are interconnected using various busses, and may be mounted on a common motherboard or in other manners as appropriate”, and column 52, lines 4-13, “several of the components may be mounted on a common motherboard” and lines 53-59, “Thus, for example, expansion memory 2074 may be provide as a security module for device 2050, and may be programmed with instructions that permit secure use of device 2050. In addition, secure applications may be provided via the SIMM cards, along with additional information, such as placing identifying information on the SIMM card in a non-hackable manner.”).
Regarding claim 2, Angus discloses wherein the security authentication information includes information on an expiration date of security authentication (paragraph 5, “authentication certificate, in a further embodiment, expires after a predetermined period of time”, paragraph 10, “the authentication certificate expiring after a predetermined period of time”, paragraph 26, “expiration date”, paragraph 41, “the authentication certificate is valid until an expiration date specified in the authentication certificate”, and paragraphs 48 and 73).
Regarding claim 3, Angus discloses wherein the security authentication information is security authentication information for security functions of hardware and an OS of the secure element (paragraphs 35-37).
Regarding claim 4, Angus discloses wherein the storage unit updates the security authentication information with update of the OS (paragraphs 45, 60, and 64).
Regarding claim 5, Angus discloses wherein the communication unit transmits the unique identification information and the security authentication information on the secure element used for the service to the external device in a case where a number of days from a current date to a date on which an expiration date of the security authentication expires is less than a specified number of days (paragraphs 41, 48, 50, 73, and 77, “authentication certificate is a temporary certificate that expires after a predetermined period of time, such as a couple of hours, a couple of days, a couple of weeks, etc.”).
Regarding claim 6, Angus discloses an information processing device comprising: a management unit that sets a validity period of a service provided by using the secure element of the terminal device on a basis of the security authentication information (paragraphs 41, 48, 50, 51 and 73, “only valid for a short time period”).
Angus discloses the claimed invention within claim 6, as cited above. However, Angus is not relied upon to disclose the claim limitations pertaining to “an acquisition unit that acquires security authentication information assigned to a secure element mounted on a terminal device”. Tussy discloses said claim limitations, as cited below.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tussy with the teachings of Angus so that "this would allow the user to secure access to the mobile device 112 itself. Or enrollment info may be stored on server. Accordingly, in step 950, if the authentication server 120 or mobile device 112 determines that the enrollment information sufficiently corresponds with the credentials received, then the server or mobile device may verify that the identification of the user attempting login corresponds the account holder. This avoids the cumbersome process of the user having to manually type in a complex password using the small screen of the mobile device" (Tussy – column 18, lines 34-44).
Further regarding claim 6, Tussy discloses an acquisition unit that acquires security authentication information assigned to a secure element mounted on a terminal device (Figure 20, column 50, lines 66 and 67, column 51, lines 1-12, “Each of the components 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2012, are interconnected using various busses, and may be mounted on a common motherboard or in other manners as appropriate”, and column 52, lines 4-13, “several of the components may be mounted on a common motherboard” and lines 53-59, “Thus, for example, expansion memory 2074 may be provide as a security module for device 2050, and may be programmed with instructions that permit secure use of device 2050. In addition, secure applications may be provided via the SIMM cards, along with additional information, such as placing identifying information on the SIMM card in a non-hackable manner.”).
Regarding claim 7, Angus discloses wherein the security authentication information includes information on an expiration date of security authentication (paragraph 5, “authentication certificate, in a further embodiment, expires after a predetermined period of time”, paragraph 10, “the authentication certificate expiring after a predetermined period of time”, paragraph 26, “expiration date”, paragraph 41, “the authentication certificate is valid until an expiration date specified in the authentication certificate”, and paragraphs 48 and 73).
Regarding claim 8, Angus discloses wherein the security authentication information is security authentication information for security functions of hardware and an OS of the secure element (paragraphs 35-37).
Regarding claim 9, Angus discloses wherein the management unit changes the validity period of the service with update of an expiration date of the security authentication by update of the OS (paragraphs 41, 48, 50, 51 60, 64, and 73).
Regarding claim 10, Angus discloses wherein the acquisition unit acquires, from an external device, unique identification information for identifying an individual of the secure element used in the service and the security authentication information in a case where a number of days from a current date to a date on which an expiration date of the security authentication expires is less than a specified number of days.
Regarding claim 11, Angus discloses wherein the management unit invalidates the service provided to the terminal device in the case where the number of days from the current date to the date on which the expiration date of the security authentication expires is less than the specified number of days (paragraphs 41, 48, 50, 73, and 77, “authentication certificate is a temporary certificate that expires after a predetermined period of time, such as a couple of hours, a couple of days, a couple of weeks, etc.”).
Regarding claim 13, Angus discloses an information processing method, wherein in a storage unit and a communication unit, and the communication unit transmits, to an external device that provides a service by using the secure element of the terminal device, the unique identification information inquired from the external device or the security authentication information for the unique identification information on the secure element used for the service (paragraph 13, “compliance authenticator, in various embodiments, verifies that the configuration information complies with a policy”, paragraphs 27 and 40, “a unique identifier”, paragraph 42, “respective identities of users, organizations, entities, or the like”, and paragraph 59, “a list of authorized service set identifiers”).
Angus teaches the claimed invention, as cited above. However, Angus is not relied upon to teach the claim limitations pertaining to “the storage unit stores unique identification information for identifying an individual of a secure element mounted on a terminal device and security authentication information assigned to the secure element in association with each other,”. Tussy teaches said claim limitations, as cited below.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tussy with the teachings of Angus so that "this would allow the user to secure access to the mobile device 112 itself. Or enrollment info may be stored on server. Accordingly, in step 950, if the authentication server 120 or mobile device 112 determines that the enrollment information sufficiently corresponds with the credentials received, then the server or mobile device may verify that the identification of the user attempting login corresponds the account holder. This avoids the cumbersome process of the user having to manually type in a complex password using the small screen of the mobile device" (Tussy – column 18, lines 34-44).
Further regarding claim 13, Tussy teaches the storage unit stores unique identification information for identifying an individual of a secure element mounted on a terminal device and security authentication information assigned to the secure element in association with each other (Figure 20, column 50, lines 66 and 67, column 51, lines 1-12, “Each of the components 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2012, are interconnected using various busses, and may be mounted on a common motherboard or in other manners as appropriate”, and column 52, lines 4-13, “several of the components may be mounted on a common motherboard” and lines 53-59, “Thus, for example, expansion memory 2074 may be provide as a security module for device 2050, and may be programmed with instructions that permit secure use of device 2050. In addition, secure applications may be provided via the SIMM cards, along with additional information, such as placing identifying information on the SIMM card in a non-hackable manner.”).
Regarding claim 14, Angus discloses a program for causing a computer to function as: a communication unit that transmits, to an external device that provides a service by using the secure element of the terminal device, the unique identification information inquired from the external device or the security authentication information for the unique identification information on the secure element used for the service (paragraph 13, “compliance authenticator, in various embodiments, verifies that the configuration information complies with a policy”, paragraphs 27 and 40, “a unique identifier”, paragraph 42, “respective identities of users, organizations, entities, or the like”, and paragraph 59, “a list of authorized service set identifiers”).
Angus discloses the claimed invention, as cited above. However, Angus is not relied upon to disclose the claim limitations pertaining to “a storage unit that stores unique identification information for identifying an individual of a secure element mounted on a terminal device and security authentication information assigned to the secure element in association with each other”. Tussy discloses said claim limitations, as cited below.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tussy with the teachings of Angus so that "this would allow the user to secure access to the mobile device 112 itself. Or enrollment info may be stored on server. Accordingly, in step 950, if the authentication server 120 or mobile device 112 determines that the enrollment information sufficiently corresponds with the credentials received, then the server or mobile device may verify that the identification of the user attempting login corresponds the account holder. This avoids the cumbersome process of the user having to manually type in a complex password using the small screen of the mobile device" (Tussy – column 18, lines 34-44).
Further regarding claim 14, Tussy discloses a storage unit that stores unique identification information for identifying an individual of a secure element mounted on a terminal device and security authentication information assigned to the secure element in association with each other (Figure 20, column 50, lines 66 and 67, column 51, lines 1-12, “Each of the components 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2012, are interconnected using various busses, and may be mounted on a common motherboard or in other manners as appropriate”, and column 52, lines 4-13, “several of the components may be mounted on a common motherboard” and lines 53-59, “Thus, for example, expansion memory 2074 may be provide as a security module for device 2050, and may be programmed with instructions that permit secure use of device 2050. In addition, secure applications may be provided via the SIMM cards, along with additional information, such as placing identifying information on the SIMM card in a non-hackable manner.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. US 11256792 B2 to Tussy et al., hereinafter Tussy.
Regarding claim 12, Tussy discloses an information processing device comprising a communication unit that transmits, to an external device, unique identification information for identifying an individual of a secure element mounted inside (Figure 20, column 50, lines 66 and 67, column 51, lines 1-12, “Each of the components 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2012, are interconnected using various busses, and may be mounted on a common motherboard or in other manners as appropriate”, and column 52, lines 4-13, “several of the components may be mounted on a common motherboard” and lines 53-59, “Thus, for example, expansion memory 2074 may be provide as a security module for device 2050, and may be programmed with instructions that permit secure use of device 2050. In addition, secure applications may be provided via the SIMM cards, along with additional information, such as placing identifying information on the SIMM card in a non-hackable manner.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on form PTO-892 are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to authentication.
/JEREMIAH L AVERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431