DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10-12, 14, 25-27, and 42-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henriksson et al, US Patent Publication 2016/0097158 in view of Andersen et al, USP 6,299,726.
Regarding claims 1 and 27, Henriksson teaches a method and system for recycling waste material (see abstract) comprising:
introducing the waste material and, optionally, water into a pressure vessel [0006];
treating the waste material in the pressure vessel at an elevated processing temperature and an elevated processing pressure [0006] to form a treated waste material including a substantially re-pulped waste paper [0006], wherein, during the treating, the waste material is positioned within a drum of the pressure vessel and mixed via rotation of the drum (see figures 3-10 and [0016]);
discharging the treated waste material from the pressure vessel [0006]; and
thereafter separating the treated waste material into a first portion and a second portion, the first portion comprising the substantially re-pulped waste paper and the second portion comprising large debris [0006].
Henriksson is silent on the use of using a shredder prior to the treatment of the waste paper.
In the same field of endeavor of repulping waste paper for recycling uses, Andersen teaches that optional equipment used for the repulper with a benefit of increasing production includes a shredder (item 60, column 6 lines 35-42) immediately prior to the re-pulper.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a shredder prior to the repulper in the device for recycling waster paper as it has been shown to increase the production of the equipment as taught by Andersen.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 44-45, Andersen further teaches that the preferred size of the “nuggets” of paper in the aggregate stock are 3 mm-19mm (column 5 lines 35-38). While the same language is not utilized as the claims (less than 10% having a long side of greater than 12 inches), it is clear that the goal of the shredding device is to prepare an aggregate pulp for the repulper to produce components with a size of less tan 1 inch. This teaching would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize shredded materials of less than 1 inch which is less tan the claimed 12 inches for as much of the material as possible.
If there is a physical component of the device that allows for the shredded material to have a size that produces an unexpected result, it needs to be actively claimed.
Regarding claims 7 and 46, Andersen further teaches that the entire bale of waste material is sent to the shredder (the Examiner is taking this to read on without separating further components, column 6 line 38).
Regarding claims 8 and 47, Andersen further teaches the same claimed shredding step as defined in claim 1. The remaining claimed limitations are result effective variables of the result of the act of shredding. Andersen explicitly teaches that the act of shredding increases the production of the process. Andersen doe not provide a comparison to how much of a reduction occurs with the addition shredding, only that shredding provides a positive increase in the production. Considering as there are no claimed limitations to the actual shredding of the material, it is assumed that the act of shredding will provide the claimed benefit of reduce the large debris as claimed. If there is an actively claimed method step of physical setting to the shredding actions that allows for this improvement to occur it needs to be claimed. Furthermore Andersen does teach the limitations of claims 5-6 that do provide for a sizing to the material which would also implicitly read on the claimed limitations as it is even smaller than the maximum claimed range of the other deponent limitations.
Regarding claims 10 and 48, Henriksson further teaches that the discharged waste material has a solids amount of 5-50% of the discharged treated waste [0100].
Regarding claims 11 and 49, Henriksson further teaches that water is added to the first portion to make a solids of 3-5% [0111].
Regarding claim 12, Henriksson further teaches that, the solids of the first portion may include a re- pulped waste paper fraction in an amount from about 20% to about 90% by weight of the solids of the first portion [0110].
Regarding claim 14, Henriksson further teaches that there is an on site water treatment facility [0135].
Regarding claims 25-26 and 42-43, Andersen teaches that the shredder is positing right before the repulper (column 6 and shown in figure 6 – items 60 and 50).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-12, 14, 25-27, and 42-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,100,465 or 9,752,279 in view of Andersen et al, USP 6,299,726.
The above cited reference teach all of the claimed steps with the absence of the shredder in place prior to the repulper.
In the same field of endeavor of repulping waste paper for recycling uses, Andersen teaches that optional equipment used for the repulper with a benefit of increasing production includes a shredder (item 60, column 6 lines 35-42) immediately prior to the re-pulper.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a shredder prior to the repulper in the device for recycling waste paper as it has been shown to increase the production of the equipment as taught by Andersen.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748