DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13, 16, 19-20, 22, 32, 37-39, and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henriksson et al, US Patent Publication 2016/0097158 in view of Stoll, USP 4,848,107.
Regarding claims 1 and 27, Henriksson teaches a method and system for recycling waste material (see abstract) comprising:
introducing the waste material and water into a pressure vessel [0006];
treating the waste material in the pressure vessel at an elevated processing temperature and an elevated processing pressure [0006] to form a treated waste material including a substantially re-pulped waste paper [0006], and discharging the treated waste material from the pressure vessel [0112].
Henriksson teaches that the materials are discharged from the pressure vessel into “a suitable discharge system” [0112]. Henriksson also teaches the use of conveyors and other devices for transporting material from one process point to another [0035]. While a trough is not explicitly mentioned in the discloser, a through and a conveyor are functional equivalents to each other as both transport the same material from one point to another. At the very least this would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to provide the predictable result of transporting waste material from the pressure vessel to the trommel as shown in figure 112 at item 110
Henriksson further teaches thereafter introducing the treated waste material into a waste material inlet of a trommel [0118] of a screening device and separating the treated waste material with the trommel into a first portion (item 114 figure 12) and a second portion (item 116 figure 12 [0118]), wherein the first portion exits the trommel through one or more holes in the trommel and collects within a first portion collector (passes through apertures of the screening device” [0118]), wherein the second portion exits the trommel through an outlet (shown in figure 12 and inferred from last sentence of [0118] as it has a separate exit from the portion 114 as the particles are too big and must be removed another way), the first portion comprising the substantially re-pulped waste paper and the second portion comprising large debris [0118], and
wherein the screening device comprises a plurality of dilution water inlets (through apertures of the screening device is presented in the plural [0119]).
Henriksson teaches the use of multiple screening devices preferably trommels utilized in series with other forms of separators to remove all undesired materials and collections of components. Henriksson is silent on the specific design of the trommel in regards to locations of elements within the trommel.
In the same field of endeavor of trommels, Stoll provides the layout of a conventional trommel utilized in washing and separating.
Stoll teaches that the basic design of a trommel will include multiple water inlets (feed pipes 4 figure 1 and column 2 line 50) for each individual zone from within the device (see figure 1).
Stoll teaches wherein the first portion collector includes an internal baffle (trommel shell item 3 column 2 line 49) configured to separate the first portion collector into a first zone proximal to the waste material inlet of the trommel and a second zone distal from the waste material inlet of the trommel (multiple zones but can also be broken down in the starting chambers and then the final chamber – item V column 2 lines 54-62), wherein the plurality of dilution water inlets comprises a supplemental dilution water inlet located in an interior of the trommel distal from the waste material inlet and the step of introducing the dilution water includes introducing at least some of the dilution water into the trommel via the supplemental dilution water inlet (see figure 1); and causing at least a portion of the first portion that is collected within the second zone to recycle into the treated waste material within the trough before passing back into the waste material inlet of the trommel (see items 6 and 7 in figure 1 and column 2 lines 54-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the conventionally designed trommel as taught by Stoll in the Henriksson reference as the simply substitution of one known element for another has been held to be obvious to the average artisan. In this case utilizing a detailed description of a known trommel in place of the concept of a trommel as presented by Henriksson would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Stoll further teaches that the plurality of dilution water inlets comprises a dilution water inlet located proximal to the waste material inlet such that dilution water is introduced into the trommel with the treated waste material (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Stoll further teaches that wherein the plurality of dilution water inlets comprises a first dilution water inlet distal and upstream from the at least one supplemental dilution water inlet (see figure 1 and column 2).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Henriksson further teaches that water is added to the first portion to make a solids of 3-5% [0111].
Regarding claim 8, Stoll remains as applied above and further teaches the internal portions of the separator are adjustable (column 3). Furthermore it has been held that a mere act of making a known component adjustable has been held as obvious in view of the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04 and In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954))
Regarding claim 9, Stoll further teaches wherein the trommel screening device comprises a rotating cylindrical drum having a longitudinal axis, and wherein the internal baffle is located below [[at]] a midpoint along the longitudinal axis such that the first zone and the second zone have the same size and the step of separating the treated waste material with the screening device comprises rotating the rotating cylindrical drum (see figure 1 and column 2)
Regarding claim 10, Stoll further teaches herein the plurality of dilution water inlets comprises a second supplemental dilution water inlet comprises an inlet located in the interior of the trommel distal from the waste material inlet and at a first circumferential position, and wherein the supplemental dilution water inlet is located at a second circumferential position different from the first circumferential position (see figure 1).
Regarding claims 11-13, 37, and 39, Stoll further teaches having a first and second location on the longitudinal axis (see column 2 and figure 1) where water inlets are configured to discharge water a first and second position along a longitudinal axis of the trommel (see figure 1) in watch of the zones (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Henriksson further teaches that the dilution water is added in a manner to seep through the apertures of the drum [0119].
Regarding claim 19, Henriksson further teaches that the discharged waste material has a solids amount of 5-50% of the discharged treated waste [0100].
Regarding claim 22, Henriksson further teaches that screening device may have a plurality of holes/openings with an average area from about 20 to about 400 mm2 [0120]
Regarding claim 38, Stoll further teaches that the screening device comprises a rotating cylindrical drum having a longitudinal axis, and wherein the internal baffle is located at a position corresponding to a midpoint along the longitudinal axis such that the first zone and the second zone have the same size (see figure 1).
Regarding claims 57-58, Stoll further teaches wherein the supplemental dilution water inlet is configured to discharge the dilution water onto a rotating wall of the trommel when the rotating wall is upwardly moving, wherein the second supplemental dilution water inlet is configured to discharge the dilution water onto the rotating wall of the trommel when the rotating wall is downwardly moving (see column 2 and figure 1).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henriksson et al, US Patent Publication 2016/0097158 in view of Stoll, USP 4,848,107 in further view of Blanchard et al, US Patent Publication 2022/0106201.
Regarding claim 15, Stoll remains as applied above but is silent on the water inlet being a shower bar.
To show that a shower bar is a functional equivalent to the spray nozzles and is conventional in the art, Blanchard is presented. Blanchard teaches that a trommel can utilize a spray bar for an inlet for water to be added to the screening trommel [0010, 0019, and claim 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the conventional spray bar as the water inlet as shown by Blanchard in the Henriksson and Stoll references for the benefit utilizing a simple substitution of one known element for another to arrive at the same predictable end result.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-13, 15-16, 19-20, 22, 32, 37-39, and 57-58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,100,465, 9,752,279, and US Patent Publication 18/841404 in view of Stoll, USP 4,848,107.
Henriksson teaches the use of multiple screening devices preferably trommels utilized in series with other forms of separators to remove all undesired materials and collections of components. Henriksson is silent on the specific design of the trommel in regards to locations of elements within the trommel.
In the same field of endeavor of trommels, Stoll provides the layout of a conventional trommel utilized in washing and separating (see above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the conventionally designed trommel as taught by Stoll in the Henriksson reference as the simply substitution of one known element for another has been held to be obvious to the average artisan. In this case utilizing a detailed description of a known trommel in place of the concept of a trommel as presented by Henriksson would have been obvious.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748