DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Claims 1-25 are amended. Claims 26-27 are new.
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: typographical error. “so as to disables” in line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Cook (U.S. Patent Publication 6155664A).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Cook teaches a control device (col 5 lines 60-61 Fig 2) for controlling a printer, wherein
the control device comprises a chip (col 12 lines 17-18 Fig 2 ink level sensing circuit 32) and a control unit (col 12 lines 11-12 Fig 2 ink level sensors 30),
the control unit is in electrical connection and/or in communication connection with the chip (col 12 lines 15-17 Fig 2 sensors 30a and 30b are connected to a printhead cartridge ink level sensing circuit 32 via an interface cable 31);
the control unit can control a working state of the chip, so as to control the electrical connection and/or communication connection between the chip and the printer (col 12 lines 15-21 Fig 2 the control unit [sensors 30a and 30b] are connected to a printhead cartridge ink level sensing circuit 32 via an interface cable 31. The chip [ink level sensing circuit 32] determines the level of ink remaining in the primary ink reservoir 4 based on the primary ink level data from the control unit [thus the control unit controls the determination operation state of the chip]; the chip then sends a measured primary ink level value to the printer controller 36 [thus the communication connection with the printer depends on the chip’s state]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6-12, 16, 19-20, and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (U.S. Patent Publication 6155664A) in view of Xian (China Patent Application CN203472285U).
Regarding Claim 2 (Currently Amended), Cook teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein
the control unit is a sensing element (col 12 lines 15-21 Fig 2 the control unit comprises sensors 30a and 30b),
the sensing element is in electrical connection and/or in communication connection with the chip (col 12 lines 15-21 Fig 2 the control unit [sensors 30a and 30b] are connected to a printhead cartridge ink level sensing circuit 32 via an interface cable 31),
the sensing element can vary a voltage/current signal according to external conditions and transmit the voltage/current signal to the chip (col 12 lines 10-17 Fig 1,2 primary ink level sensors 30a and 30b produce a primary ink level signal related to the level of the first quantity of ink in the primary ink reservoir 4; the primary ink level signal is proportional to the electrical capacitance between the sensors 30a and 30b; The sensors 30a and 30b are connected [and transmit the ink level signal] to the chip/printhead cartridge ink level sensing circuit 32).
However, Cook appears not to expressly teach
when the voltage/current signal is determined to reach a preset condition by the chip,
the chip enters a low-ink-amount working mode, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer,
the printer stops printing.
Xian teaches
when the voltage/current signal is determined to reach a preset condition by the chip (par 0027 Fig 3 when the ink in the ink chamber 11 is nearly exhausted, the magnetic block 4 descends as the ink level drops. When the magnetic force drives the reed switch 3 to conduct, the ink cartridge chip 2 determines the sensor signal to have reached a preset condition),
the chip enters a low-ink-amount working mode, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer, the printer stops printing (par 0027 Fig 3 when the ink cartridge chip 2 determines the sensor signal to have reached a preset condition, the ink cartridge chip 2 disables normal communication and provides the printer with a signal to stop printing, and the printer stops printing).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the preset switch condition Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with that is triggered by switching of a reed switch (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 3 (Currently Amended), Cook teaches the control device according to claim 1. However, Cook appears not to expressly teach wherein
the control unit is a switch element;
the closing of the switch element can disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer, then the printer stops printing;
alternatively, the opening of the switch element can disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer, then the printer stops printing;
alternatively, the closing or opening of the switch element can control the chip to enter a low-ink-amount working mode, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer, then the printer stops printing.
Xian teaches wherein
the control unit is a switch element (par 0027 Fig 3 the control unit is a reed switch 3, electrically connected to the ink cartridge chip 2);
the closing of the switch element can disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer, then the printer stops printing (par 0027 Fig 3 when the ink in the ink chamber 11 is nearly exhausted, the magnetic block 4 descends as the ink level drops. When the magnetic force drives the reed switch 3 to conduct, the ink cartridge chip 2 disables normal communication and provides the printer with a signal to stop printing);
alternatively, the opening of the switch element can disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer, then the printer stops printing (par 0030 Fig 4 When the ink is used up, the magnetic block 4 descends to the bottom of the magnetic block floating restriction area 12, the reed switch 3 disconnects, and the ink cartridge chip 2 provides the printer with an ink depletion stop printing signal);
alternatively, the closing or opening of the switch element can control the chip to enter a low-ink-amount working mode, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer, then the printer stops printing (such is true in Xian’s arrangements of paras 0027 and 0030 depending on placement of the reed switch above or below the magnetic block).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the switch-based control unit of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the control device according to claim 3, wherein
the chip comprises at least two connection terminals (col 12 lines 15-21 Fig 2 chip/ink level sensing circuit 32 is shown to have at least two terminals).
However, Cook as modified appears not to expressly teach
the switch element is disposed between two of the connection terminals,
the switch element can enable or disable the electrical connection between the two connection terminals,
where the two connection terminals are disconnected, the chip can establish an electrical connection and/or a normal communication connection with the printer;
where the two connecting terminals are connected, the chip is short-circuited and its electrical connection and/or the normal communication connection with the printer can be disabled.
Xian teaches
the switch element is disposed between two of the connection terminals (par 0027 Fig 2, reed switch 3 is electrically connected to the ink cartridge chip 2; par 0026 Fig 4 detail below, the switch has two contacts necessarily connected between two terminals of the chip 2),
the switch element can enable or disable the electrical connection between the two connection terminals (par 0026 Fig 4 the switch may open and close),
where the two connection terminals are disconnected, the chip can establish an electrical connection and/or a normal communication connection with the printer (par 0026 Fig 4 the normally open contact will close upon a low ink condition; par 0027 Fig 2 when reed switch 3 is in an open state, it disconnects from the ink cartridge chip 2 and the chip normally communicates to the printer with a signal that there is ink remaining and printing is possible);
where the two connecting terminals are connected, the chip is short-circuited and its electrical connection and/or the normal communication connection with the printer can be disabled (par 0026 Fig 4 the normally open contact will close upon a low ink condition; par 0027 Fig 2 when reed switch 3 is in an closed state the chip terminals are short-circuited, and the chip signals the ink cartridge chip 2 and normal communicates with the printer and printing are stopped).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the reed switch-based control of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified but reliable makeup (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 6 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the control device according to claim 2, wherein
the chip comprises a determination module (Cook col 12 lines 17-19 Fig 2 a portion of chip/ink level sensing circuit 32 determines the level of ink remaining in the primary ink reservoir 4), a signal-transmission terminal (Cook col 12 lines 20-21 Fig 2 a node of chip/ink level sensing circuit 32 transmits a measured primary ink level value to the printer controller 36) and a signal-reception terminal (Cook col 12 lines 19-20 Fig 2 a node of chip/ink level sensing circuit 32 receives a primary ink level signal from the control unit/sensors 30),
the sensing element can vary a voltage/current signal of the signal-transmission terminal and the signal-reception terminal according to external conditions (Cook col 12 lines 10-13 Fig 2 control unit/primary ink level sensors 30a and 30b produce a primary ink level signal related to the level of the first quantity of ink in the primary ink reservoir 4, thus varying the signal of the signal-transmission terminal and the signal-reception terminal),
when the voltage/current signal is determined to reach a preset condition by the determination module, the chip enters a low-ink-amount working mode, and the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer (Cook col 13 lines 38-46 Figs 2,5 ink level sensing circuit 32 signals the measured level of ink in the primary ink reservoir 4. If the measured primary ink level value indicates that the primary ink reservoir 4 is not yet full (step 138), the chip has entered a low-ink-amount working mode, then the printer waits for a predetermined time period [i.e. normal communication is paused]).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the reed switch-based control of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified but reliable makeup (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 7 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the control device according to claim 3, wherein
the chip comprises a determination module (Cook col 12 lines 17-19 Fig 2 a portion of chip/ink level sensing circuit 32 determines the level of ink remaining in the primary ink reservoir 4), a signal-transmission terminal (Cook col 12 lines 20-21 Fig 2 a node of chip/ink level sensing circuit 32 transmits a measured primary ink level value to the printer controller 36) and a signal-reception terminal (Cook col 12 lines 19-20 Fig 2 a node of chip/ink level sensing circuit 32 receives a primary ink level signal from the control unit/sensors 30),
the switch element can enable or disable the electrical connection between the signal-transmission terminal and the signal-reception terminal (par 0027 Fig 2, reed switch 3 is electrically connected to the ink cartridge chip 2; par 0026 Fig 4 detail below, the switch has two contacts necessarily connected between two terminals of the chip 2; par 0026 Fig 4 the switch may open and close),
where the electrical connection between the signal-transmission terminal and the signal-reception terminal is enabled or disabled by the switch element (Xian par 0026 Fig 4 the normally open contact will close upon a low ink condition; par 0027 Fig 2 when reed switch 3 is in an closed state the chip terminals are short-circuited, and the chip signals the ink cartridge chip 2 and normal communicates with the printer and printing are stopped),
the chip is determined to enter a low-ink-amount working mode by the determination module, the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer (Cook col 13 lines 38-46 Figs 2,5 ink level sensing circuit 32 signals the measured level of ink in the primary ink reservoir 4. If the measured primary ink level value indicates that the primary ink reservoir 4 is not yet full (step 138), the chip has entered a low-ink-amount working mode, then the printer waits for a predetermined time period [i.e. normal communication is paused]).
Regarding Claim 8 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the control device according to claim 6, wherein
the chip entering a low-ink-amount working mode, and the chip disabling its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer comprises at least one of that:
any two connection terminals of the chip are controlled to be short-circuited, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer;
the chip is controlled to disable the electrical connection between any of its connection terminals and the printer, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer;
the chip is controlled to transmit low-ink-amount data to the printer, the printer disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the chip after receiving the low-ink-amount data transmitted by the chip (Cook col 13 lines 38-46 Figs 2,5 ink level sensing circuit 32 signals the measured level of ink in the primary ink reservoir 4. If the measured primary ink level value indicates that the primary ink reservoir 4 is not yet full (step 138), the chip has entered a low-ink-amount working mode, then the printer waits for a predetermined time period [i.e. normal communication is paused]);
the chip is controlled to transmit incorrect ink cartridge information/data to the printer, so that the printer reports an error, and then disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer.
Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches a low-ink-amount detection mechanism, comprising
a trigger element and the control device according to claim 1 (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 trigger element comprised of magnetic block floating within the ink cartridge),
wherein the trigger element can move along with the change of an ink amount (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 the magnetic block 4 descends as the ink level drops),
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the trigger element can get close to or abut against the control unit and can control a working state of the control unit (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount decreases to a first preset minimum value, the magnetic block 4 descends to be close to the reed switch [control unit/sensor], and the magnetic force drives the reed switch 3 to conduct [controlling a working state of the control unit], the ink cartridge chip 2 provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 10 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 9, wherein
the control unit is a sensing element (Xian par 0027 Fig 3 the control unit is a sensing element comprising a moving magnet 4 and reed switch 3, electrically connected to the ink cartridge chip 2),
the trigger element can get close to the sensing element, such that a voltage/current signal of the sensing element varies, and the voltage/current signal is transmitted to the chip (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount decreases to a first preset minimum value, the magnetic block 4 descends into a sensing range of the reed switch [control unit/sensor], and the magnetic force triggers the reed switch 3 to close and conduct [such that a current signal of the sensing element varies from no signal to signal, and the current signal is transmitted to the chip], the ink cartridge chip 2 provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted),
when the voltage/current signal is determined to reach a preset condition by the chip, the chip enters a low-ink-amount working mode, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer, the printer stops printing (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount decreases to a first preset minimum value, the magnetic block 4 descends into a sensing range of the reed switch [control unit/sensor], and the magnetic force triggers the reed switch 3 to close and conduct [such that a current signal of the sensing element varies from no signal to signal, and the current signal is transmitted to the chip], the ink cartridge chip 2 enters a low-ink-amount working mode and provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted, and the printer stops printing).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the sensing element of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 11 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 9, wherein
the control unit is a switch element (Xian par 0027 Fig 3 the control unit is a reed switch 3, electrically connected to the ink cartridge chip 2),
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the trigger element can abut against the switch element so as to trigger the closing or opening of the switch element (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount decreases to a first preset minimum value, the magnetic block 4 descends to be close to the reed switch [control unit/sensor]).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 12 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 11, wherein
the switch element comprises a switch contact and a conductive part (Xian par 0026 Fig 2 the reed switch comprises a conductive and a contact part),
the trigger element is a floating part (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 magnetic block 4 is in a floating state under the buoyancy of the ink),
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the floating part can crimp the conductive part to the switch contact so as to trigger the closing of the switch element (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount is nearly exhausted [a first preset value], the magnetic block 4 descends as the ink level drops and can crimp the conductive part to the switch contact closing the switch element, i.e. the magnetic force drives the reed switch 3 to conduct).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the switch element of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 16 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 9, wherein
the control unit is a switch element, and the switch element is a sensing switch element (Xian par 0027 Fig 3 the control unit is a moving magnet 4 and reed switch 3, electrically connected to the ink cartridge chip 2),
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the trigger element can move into a sensing range of the switch element so as to trigger the closing or opening of the switch element (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount decreases to a first preset minimum value, the magnetic block 4 descends into a sensing range of the reed switch [control unit/sensor], and the magnetic force triggers the reed switch 3 to close and conduct [controlling a working state of the control unit], the ink cartridge chip 2 provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 19 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches an ink cartridge, comprising
a housing (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 housing/body 1) and
the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 9 (see Claim 9 above), wherein
the housing is provided with a chamber for holding ink (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 ink cavity 11 inside the ink cartridge body 1),
the trigger element is disposed in the chamber (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 trigger element/magnetic block 4 is disposed in the ink cavity 11), and
the chip is disposed in the housing (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 ink cartridge chip 2 disposed on/in the ink cartridge body 1).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element within the ink cavity of. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 20 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the ink cartridge according to claim 19, wherein
a limiting member is disposed in the housing (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 magnetic block floating restriction area 12 limited by horizontal wall above the magnetic block),
when the ink amount is greater than a second preset value, the limiting member can limit the movement of the trigger element (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount is greater than a second preset value comprising the level when the magnetic block contacts the limiting horizontal wall above the magnetic block, the limiting horizontal wall limits the movement of the trigger element magnetic block 3),
the second preset value is greater than the first preset value (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 the ink level at the upper travel limit is greater than the first preset value).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element within the ink cavity of. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 22 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches a low-ink-amount detection method for an ink cartridge, wherein
the ink cartridge is the ink cartridge according to claim 19 (see Claim 19 above), and
the control unit is a sensing element (Xian par 0027 Fig 3 the control unit is a sensing element comprising a moving magnet 4 and reed switch 3, electrically connected to the ink cartridge chip 2);
the trigger element moves along with the change of an ink amount (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 the magnetic block 4 descends as the ink level drops);
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the trigger element triggers a voltage/current signal of the sensing element to vary (Xian par 0026 Fig 4 the normally open contact will close upon a low ink condition; par 0027 Fig 2 when reed switch 3 is in an closed state the chip terminals are short-circuited, clearly causing a voltage/current signal of the sensing element to vary), and
the voltage/current signal is transmitted to the chip, when the voltage/current signal is determined to reach a preset condition by the chip, the chip enters a low-ink-amount working mode, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer, the printer stops printing (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount decreases to a first preset minimum value, the magnetic block 4 descends into a sensing range of the reed switch [control unit/sensor], and the magnetic force triggers the reed switch 3 to close and conduct [such that a current signal of the sensing element varies from no signal to signal, and the current signal is transmitted to the chip], the ink cartridge chip 2 enters a low-ink-amount working mode and provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted, and the printer stops printing).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element within the ink cavity of. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 23 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches a low-ink-amount detection method for an ink cartridge, wherein
the ink cartridge is the ink cartridge according to claim 19 (see Claim 19 above), and
the control unit is a switch element (Xian par 0027 Fig 3 the control unit is a reed switch 3, electrically connected to the ink cartridge chip 2);
the trigger element moves along with the change of an ink amount (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 the magnetic block 4 descends as the ink level drops);
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the trigger element triggers the opening or closing of the switch element (Xian par 0026 Fig 4 the normally open contact will close upon a low ink condition; par 0027 Fig 2 when reed switch 3 is in an closed state the chip terminals are short-circuited, clearly causing a voltage/current signal of the sensing element to vary),
the switch element controls a working state of the chip, so as to disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer, the printer stops printing (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount decreases to a first preset minimum value, the magnetic block 4 descends into a sensing range of the reed switch [control unit/sensor], and the magnetic force triggers the reed switch 3 to close and conduct [such that a current signal of the sensing element varies from no signal to signal, and the current signal is transmitted to the chip], the ink cartridge chip 2 enters a low-ink-amount working mode and provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted, and the printer stops printing).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element within the ink cavity of. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 24 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection method for an ink cartridge according to claim 23, wherein
the switch element controlling a working state of the chip, so as to disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer comprises that:
the switch element is closed and two connection terminals of the chip are connected, such that the chip is in a short-circuit state, so as to disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer;
alternatively, the switch element is open, such that the chip is in an open-circuit state, so as to disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer;
alternatively, the chip enters a low-ink working mode, so as to disable the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between the chip and the printer (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 when the ink amount decreases to a first preset minimum value, the magnetic block 4 descends into a sensing range of the reed switch [control unit/sensor], and the magnetic force triggers the reed switch 3 to close and conduct [such that a current signal of the sensing element varies from no signal to signal, and the current signal is transmitted to the chip], the ink cartridge chip 2 enters a low-ink-amount working mode and provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted, and the printer stops printing).
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element within the ink cavity of. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 25 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection method for an ink cartridge according to claim 22, wherein
the chip entering a low-ink-amount working mode, so as to disables the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between chip and the printer comprises at least one of that:
any two connection terminals of the chip are controlled to be short-circuited, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer;
the chip is controlled to disable the electrical connection between any of its connection terminals and the printer, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer;
the chip is controlled to transmit low-ink-amount data to the printer, so that the printer disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the chip after receiving the low-ink-amount data transmitted by the chip (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 the ink cartridge chip 2 enters a low-ink-amount working mode and provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted, and the printer disables its normal communication connection and stops printing);
the chip is controlled to transmit incorrect ink cartridge information/data to the printer, so that the printer reports an error, and then disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer.
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the trigger element within the ink cavity of. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified manufacturing and not affecting the ink chamber seal (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 26 (New), Cook as modified teaches the control device according to claim 7, wherein
the chip entering a low-ink-amount working mode, and the chip disabling its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer comprises at least one of that:
any two connection terminals of the chip are controlled to be short-circuited, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer (Xian par 0026 Fig 4 the normally open contact will close upon a low ink condition; par 0027 Fig 2 when reed switch 3 is in an closed state the chip terminals are short-circuited, and the chip signals the ink cartridge chip 2 and normal communicates with the printer and printing are stopped);
the chip is controlled to disable the electrical connection between any of its connection terminals and the printer, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer;
the chip is controlled to transmit low-ink-amount data to the printer, the printer disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the chip after receiving the low-ink-amount data transmitted by the chip;
the chip is controlled to transmit incorrect ink cartridge information/data to the printer, so that the printer reports an error, and then disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer.
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the reed switch-based control of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified but reliable makeup (Xian par 0016).
Regarding Claim 27 (New), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection method for an ink cartridge according to claim 24, wherein
the chip entering a low-ink-amount working mode, so as to disables the electrical connection and/or normal communication connection between chip and the printer comprises at least one of that:
any two connection terminals of the chip are controlled to be short-circuited, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer;
the chip is controlled to disable the electrical connection between any of its connection terminals and the printer, so that the chip disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer;
the chip is controlled to transmit low-ink-amount data to the printer, so that the printer disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the chip after receiving the low-ink-amount data transmitted by the chip (Xian par 0027 Fig 2 the ink cartridge chip 2 enters a low-ink-amount working mode and provides the printer with a signal to stop printing as the ink is exhausted, and the printer disables its normal communication connection and stops printing);
the chip is controlled to transmit incorrect ink cartridge information/data to the printer, so that the printer reports an error, and then disables its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer.
Cook and Xian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook with the inclusion of the reed switch-based control of Xian. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor with simplified but reliable makeup (Xian par 0016).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (U.S. Patent Publication 6155664A) in view of Xian (China Patent Application CN203472285U) and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20110249064 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 5 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the control device according to claim 3. However, Cook as modified appears not to expressly teach
wherein
the switch element, the chip and the printer are connected in series, and
the switch element is disposed between the chip and the printer,
where the switch element is closed, the chip can establish an electrical connection and/or a normal communication connection with the printer;
where the switch element is open, the chip is open-circuited and its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer can be disabled.
Wang teaches
the switch element, the chip and the printer are connected in series, and the switch element is disposed between the chip and the printer, where the switch element is closed, the chip can establish an electrical connection and/or a normal communication connection with the printer; where the switch element is open, the chip is open-circuited and its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer can be disabled (par 0011 Figs 10,11 ink level trigger switch is disposed between the chip and the printer; the trigger switch is in disconnection when there's ink and in connection [closed] when there's no ink; par 0033 such connection results in normal communication with the printer to be disabled.)
Cook Xian and Wang are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook/Xian with the inclusion of the reed switch-based control of Wang to provide where the switch element is open, the chip is open-circuited and its electrical connection and/or normal communication connection with the printer can be disabled; that is, instead providing an ink out indication by “lamp on”, one of skill in the art might have easily by design choice provided the opposite, ink out indication by “lamp off”, and disconnection of communication by switch open instead of closed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an ink low sensor that may be assessed during cartridge installation (Wang par 0005).
Claims 13-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (U.S. Patent Publication 6155664A) in view of Xian (China Patent Application CN203472285U) and further in view of Qian et al. (China Patent Application CN206426659U, hereinafter “Qian”).
Regarding Claim 13 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 11. However, Cook as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the switch element comprises a switch contact and a conductive part,
the trigger element comprises a floating part and a connection part,
the floating part can move along with the change of an ink amount,
the floating part can abut against or be connected to the connection part, and
the floating part drives the connection part to move,
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the connection part can disconnect the conductive part from the switch contact so as to trigger the opening of the switch element.
Qian teaches
the switch element comprises a switch contact and a conductive part (par 0022 Fig 1 switch element comprises first and second contacts 93/springs 931),
the trigger element comprises a floating part and a connection part (par 0022 Fig 1 trigger element is floating structure 94 with a connection part/conductive metal plate 943 at the top that connects the first and second contacts 93),
the floating part can move along with the change of an ink amount (par 0016 Fig 1 the movable buoyancy structure floats up and down according to the ink depth),
the floating part can abut against or be connected to the connection part (par 0022 Fig 1 trigger element is floating structure 94 connected to a connection part/ conductive metal plate 943 at the top), and
the floating part drives the connection part to move (par 0022 Fig 1 floating structure 94 drives the connected connection part/conductive metal plate 943 to move),
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the connection part can disconnect the conductive part from the switch contact so as to trigger the opening of the switch element (par 0022 Fig 1 trigger element is floating structure 94 with a conductive metal plate 943 at the top that connects the first and second contacts 93 at an initial level of ink present, but when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the connection part can disconnect the conductive part from the switch contact so as to trigger the opening of the switch element).
Cook Xian and Qian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook/Xian with the inclusion of an floating contact-bar device of Qian to provide when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the connection part can disconnect the conductive part from the switch contact so as to trigger the opening of the switch element. The motivation would have been in order to provide a simple structure ink level sensing device that may be applied in an ink low sensing application (Qian par 0007).
Regarding Claim 14 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 11. However, Cook as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the switch element comprises a first contact and a second contact,
the trigger element is a conductive floating part,
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the conductive floating part can connect the first contact and the second contact so as to trigger the closing of the switch element.
Qian teaches
the switch element comprises a first contact and a second contact (par 0022 Fig 1 switch element comprises first and second contacts 93/springs 931),
the trigger element is a conductive floating part (par 0022 Fig 1 trigger element is floating structure 94 with a conductive metal plate 943 at the top that connects the first and second contacts 93),
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the conductive floating part can connect the first contact and the second contact so as to trigger the closing of the switch element (par 0022 Fig 1 trigger element is floating structure 94 with a conductive metal plate 943 at the top that connects the first and second contacts 93 at a preset level of ink increase).
Cook Xian and Qian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. While Qian teaches a conductive float that connects the first and second contacts 93 at a preset level of ink increase, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook/Xian with the inclusion of an adjusted floating contact-bar device of Qian to provide when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the conductive floating part can connect the first contact and the second contact so as to trigger the closing of the switch element. The motivation would have been in order to provide a simple structure ink level sensing device that may be applied in an ink low sensing application (Qian par 0007).
Regarding Claim 15 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 11. However, Cook as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the switch element comprises a first contact, a second contact,
the trigger element is a floating part,
the floating part can move along with the change of an ink amount,
the floating part can abut against or be connected to the conductive part, and
the floating part drives the conductive part to move,
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the conductive part can connect or disconnect the first contact and the second contact so as to trigger the closing or opening of the switch element.
Qian teaches
the switch element comprises a first contact, a second contact (par 0022 Fig 1 switch element comprises first and second contacts 93/springs 931) and a conductive part (par 0022 Fig 1 conductive metal plate 943 at the top of trigger element floating structure 94 that connects the first and second contacts 93),
the trigger element is a floating part (par 0022 Fig 1 conductive metal plate 943 at the top of trigger element floating structure 94),
the floating part can move along with the change of an ink amount (par 0016 Fig 1 the movable buoyancy structure floats up and down according to the ink depth),
the floating part can abut against or be connected to the conductive part (par 0022 Fig 1 trigger element is floating structure 94 connected to a connection part/ conductive metal plate 943 at the top), and
the floating part drives the conductive part to move (par 0022 Fig 1 floating structure 94 drives the connected connection part/conductive metal plate 943 to move),
when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the conductive part can connect or disconnect the first contact and the second contact so as to trigger the closing or opening of the switch element (par 0022 Fig 1 trigger element is floating structure 94 with a conductive metal plate 943 at the top that connects the first and second contacts 93 at an initial level of ink present, but when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the connection part can disconnect the conductive part from the switch contact so as to trigger the opening of the switch element).
Cook Xian and Qian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook/Xian with the inclusion of an floating contact-bar device of Qian to provide when the ink amount decreases to a first preset value, the connection part can disconnect the conductive part from the switch contact so as to trigger the opening of the switch element. The motivation would have been in order to provide a simple structure ink level sensing device that may be applied in an ink low sensing application (Qian par 0007).
Regarding Claim 21 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the ink cartridge according to claim 19. However, Cook as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
disposing the trigger element in the chamber comprises at least one of that:
a mounting plate is disposed in the housing, the mounting plate is provided with a guide hole, the trigger element is a columnar trigger element, the trigger element extends into the guide hole, and the trigger element can be in slip-fit with the guide hole;
a guide groove is disposed in the housing, the trigger element is a block-shaped or spherical trigger element, the trigger element is disposed in the guide groove, and the trigger element can be in slip-fit with an inner wall of the guide groove;
a guide column is disposed in the housing, the trigger element is a sheet-like trigger element, the trigger element is provided with a mounting hole, and the mounting hole can be in slip-fit with the guide column;
a pivot shaft is disposed in the housing, the trigger element is a rod-shaped trigger element, the trigger element is provided with a hinge portion, and the hinge portion can be in running-fit with the pivot shaft.
Qian teaches wherein
disposing the trigger element in the chamber comprises at least one of that:
a mounting plate is disposed in the housing, the mounting plate is provided with a guide hole, the trigger element is a columnar trigger element, the trigger element extends into the guide hole, and the trigger element can be in slip-fit with the guide hole;
a guide groove is disposed in the housing, the trigger element is a block-shaped or spherical trigger element, the trigger element is disposed in the guide groove, and the trigger element can be in slip-fit with an inner wall of the guide groove (par 0021 Fig 1 cylindrical [block] structure 941 trigger element extends into the circular tube 91 [guide groove disposed in the housing] to cooperate with it as it can be in slip-fit with an inner wall of the guide groove);
a guide column is disposed in the housing, the trigger element is a sheet-like trigger element, the trigger element is provided with a mounting hole, and the mounting hole can be in slip-fit with the guide column;
a pivot shaft is disposed in the housing, the trigger element is a rod-shaped trigger element, the trigger element is provided with a hinge portion, and the hinge portion can be in running-fit with the pivot shaft.
Cook Xian and Qian are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook/Xian with the inclusion of the guide groove arrangement of Qian. The motivation would have been in order to provide a simple structure ink level sensing device that may be applied in an ink low sensing application (Qian par 0007).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (U.S. Patent Publication 6155664A) in view of Xian (China Patent Application CN203472285U) and further in view of Weisheng (German Patent Application DE202021105785U1).
Regarding Claim 17 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 16. However, Cook as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the switch element further comprises a signal-reception unit and a controller,
the signal-reception unit is used to receive a signal from the trigger element, and
the controller is used to control the closing or opening of the switch element according to the signal from the trigger element.
Weisheng teaches wherein
the switch element further comprises a signal-reception unit and a controller (par 0024 Fig 1 the detection component includes a floating assembly 200 for floating on the ink surface, a proximity switch 300 and a signal transmission module),
the signal-reception unit is used to receive a signal from the trigger element (par 0025 Fig 1 the floating assembly 200 triggers the proximity switch 300 to turn on the circuit), and
the controller is used to control the closing or opening of the switch element according to the signal from the trigger element (par 0024 Fig 1 The signal transmission module serves to maintain the on and off states of the proximity switch 300).
Cook Xian and Weisheng are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook/Xian with the inclusion of the signal-reception unit and a controller of Weisheng. The motivation would have been in order to provide a simple structure ink level sensing device with good aesthetics that may be applied in an ink low sensing application (Weisheng par 0034).
Regarding Claim 18 (Currently Amended), Cook as modified teaches the low-ink-amount detection mechanism according to claim 16. However, Cook as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the switch element is a Hall sensor switch element, a pressure sensor switch element or a position sensor switch element.
Weisheng teaches wherein
the switch element is a Hall sensor switch element, a pressure sensor switch element or a position sensor switch element (par 0029 Fig 1 Hall effect sensor is used).
Cook Xian and Weisheng are analogous art as they each pertain to ink tank control devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control device of Cook/Xian with the inclusion of the signal-reception unit and a controller of Weisheng. The motivation would have been in order to provide a simple structure ink level sensing device with good aesthetics that may be applied in an ink low sensing application (Weisheng par 0034).
Conclusion
/MARK EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624