Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 03/27/2026. Claims 1-14 have been presented for examination. Claims 1-14 have been amended. Claims 1-14 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: deleted limitations in amended claims should have a line through the deleted limitations or a double parenthesis around the deleted limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: recite “a notifications” instead of --a notification--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bess (Pub. No.: 2015/0106041 A1) in view of Song (Pub. No.: 2022/0151549 A1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Bess discloses the claimed system for controlling the notifications device via surface vibrations caused by the subject (fig. 1: 10a), comprising:
a sensor (fig. 1: 20) for detecting vibrations from a surface, the sensor being placed in contact with the surface (¶0015);
a processing unit (fig. 1: 30) that processes the vibration data from the sensor to generate a first vibration pattern characterized by at least frequency, amplitude, count, and interval parameters (¶0011), enhance it as a first vibration pattern and compares the first vibration pattern it to pre-defined vibration patterns (¶0018), and then sends commands for controlling the notifications device (¶0018) based on the compatibility of the first vibration pattern and the pre-defined vibration patterns (¶0018-¶0019 discloses determining similarity between the events from the vibration data and a set of patterns); and
a receiving module that receives commands from the processing unit (¶0017 and ¶0021).
Bess does not explicitly disclose a geophone is used. Bess discloses it is known to use an accelerometer to detect vibration.
However, Song discloses it is known for a geophone to detect vibration (¶0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Bess to utilize a geophone, as taught by Bess.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Bess as described above in order to use a known alternative device for detecting vibration patterns.
2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Bess and Song further disclose the system for controlling the notifications device via surface vibrations caused by the subject according to claim 1, wherein the geophone sensor is configured to detect vibrations in a frequency range of 1-200 Hz (Song ¶0043).
3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Bess and Song further disclose the system for controlling a notifications device via surface vibrations caused by the subject according to claim 1, wherein the vibration surface is from the floor and the top of table (Bess ¶0014).
4) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 1), Bess and Song further disclose the system for controlling the notifications device via surface vibrations caused by a subject according to claim 1, wherein the surface vibration is caused by the force applied by a part of body of the subject to the surface (Bess ¶0015).
5) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Bess and Song further disclose the system for controlling the notifications device via surface vibrations caused by the subject according to claim 1, wherein the control of the notifications device is the activation or deactivation notifications device (Bess ¶0021-¶0022).
6) In regard to claim 7, claim 7 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
7) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 7), claim 9 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
8) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 7), claim 10 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 3 and the references applied.
9) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 7), claim 11 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 4 and the references applied.
10) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 7), claim 13 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 6 and the references applied.
11) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 7), Bess and Song further disclose the method for controlling a notifications device according to claim 7, wherein the control of the notifications device is any combination of sound signal, light signal, text signal, image signal, and vibration signal (Bess ¶0021).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bess (Pub. No.: 2015/0106041 A1) in view of Song (Pub. No.: 2022/0151549 A1) and further in view of Cheng (Pub. No.: 2016/0182503 A1)
1) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 7), Bess and Song disclose the method for controlling notifications device according to claim 7.
Bess and Song do not explicitly disclose the second vibration pattern within specified period to deactivate notifications device.
However, Cheng the second vibration pattern within specified period to deactivate notifications device (0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the method of Bess to have a second vibration pattern to indicate deactivation of the notification device, as taught by Cheng.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Bess as described above in order to indicate the detected pattern is a false alarm, as taught by Cheng (¶0017).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims, based solely on the amendments to the claims, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references including new prior art being used in the current new grounds of rejection for the newly added limitations to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685