Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application (371 of PCT/EP2023/062109, filed 08 May 2023) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority (DE102022112174.7, filed 16 May 2022) under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, drawn to a method of using an adsorbent, and Species 2, wherein the additives are present in liquid form, in the reply filed on 06 October 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “any search for the invention embodied in Group I [sic] and Species 2 would necessarily include a search for the inventions embodied in the remaining groups and species. Thus, a simultaneous search for all groups and species is believed not to constitute an unreasonable search for the Patent Examiner” (pg. 3, par. 3). This is not found persuasive because Applicant’s arguments are predicated on a restriction based on 35 U.S.C. 121; however, the pending restriction of the current invention is based under 37 CFR 1.475(a) of a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371, i.e., the cited groups and species lack unity of invention because they share a common technical feature that is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of FRYKMAN et al. (US 2017/0056442 A1) as explained in the Restriction Requirement filed 17 September 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15, 16, 19, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06 October 2026.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase “wherein a water-soluble metering unit, which contains an adsorbent, selected from the group consisting of activated carbon, bentonite, zeolite, polymer adsorbents, iron oxide, iron hydroxide, silica gel or mixtures thereof, and additives” is interpreted such that the adsorbent is selected from the listed group.
Claim 14 requires that “the polymers are selected from cationic, anionic and non-ionic polymers”. Such a list encompasses all polymers, i.e., ionic and non-ionic.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“A method of using [[of ]]an adsorbent in a facility…”;
“wherein the adsorbent comprises particles of powdered adsorbent…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 13, it is unclear whether the “additives” list requires or makes optional “disintegrants” because the phrase “selected from the group consisting of… polymers and binders and disintegrants” has confusing construction that makes unclear whether “disintegrants” is considered part of this list to be selected from or not. Claims 14, 17, and 18 are also rejected due to their dependence on Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 13, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the liquid to be treated”.
Regarding Claim 13, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the metering unit”.
Regarding Claim 13, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 13 recites the broad recitation of a particle diameter d50 of 0.1 to 500 µm, and the claim also recites “preferably of 1 to 100 µm”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding Claim 13, the phrase "preferably" (last line) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 14, it is unclear which “polymer” is referenced in the phrase “wherein the polymers are selected from…”, i.e., the “polymer adsorbents” of the adsorbent or the “polymers and binders” of the “additives”. The Examiner will assume the latter interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by AHMAD (WO 2013046214 A2).
Regarding Claim 13, AHMAD discloses methods for purifying water, e.g., for the removal of fluoride ions (i.e., [a] method of using an adsorbent in a facility for processing liquids for removing dissolved organic and/or inorganic substances; p0014). The method relies on the use of a primary purification unit (i.e., a water-soluble metering unit) that includes a primary adsorption media for adsorbing fluoride ions present in water (i.e., an adsorbent); the primary adsorption media is a porous bed comprising a fluoride adsorbing chemical composition capable of adsorbing fluoride ions (p0031). The compositions include activated carbon, activated alumina, granular aluminum hydroxide, granular ferric hydroxide, and combinations thereof (i.e., an adsorbent, selected from the group consisting of activated carbon, bentonite, zeolite, polymer adsorbents, iron oxide, iron hydroxide, silica gel or mixtures thereof; p0031). Even further, the primary adsorption media is a compact media formed by adding a suitable binder, such as gelatin, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyethylene glycol, etc. (i.e., additives, selected from the group consisting of divalent or trivalent iron and aluminum salts, iron oxide, iron hydroxide, polymers and binders and disintegrants; p0042). Finally, this adsorption media is in the form of granules having a size range of about 50 to 500 µm (i.e., the adsorbent comprisess particles of powdered adsorbent having a particle diameter d50 of 0.1 to 500 μm; p0044).
AHMAD is deficient in explicitly disclosing that “the metering unit disintegrates or disperses and releases the adsorbent”. However, AHMAD teaches the primary adsorption media is a porous bed and is held together by a suitable binder, e.g., gelatin, and PEG. As is known to one of ordinary skill in the art, porous beds as described typically disintegrate or disperse their contents over time, especially porous beds comprising binders easily dissolved in aqueous media. Thus, such a limitation is inherently anticipated by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 14, AHMAD anticipates the method of Claim 13. As disclosed, AHMAD teaches PVP and PEG as additive binders (i.e., wherein the polymers are selected from cationic, anionic, and non-ionic polymers; p0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AHMAD (WO 2013046214 A2).
Regarding Claim 17, AHMAD anticipates the method of Claim 13. AHMAD discloses a number of additive binders, including polyethylene glycol. As known to one of ordinary skill in the art, PEG binders have an average molecular weight ranging from 500 to 50,000 g/mol; at the lower end of the range, PEG is in liquid form; thus, AHMAD makes obvious the claimed limitation that the additives are in liquid form.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A search of the prior art did not teach or make obvious the limitation of a hollow adsorbent that encloses liquid additives.
Conclusion
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772