DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 18, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Velagapudi (US 2022/0297942).
Regarding claim 1, Velagapudi teaches a carrying device, comprising:
a bottom plate, underside of 38; and
a support layer, 38, configured to bear an object, 20, and comprising a plurality of protrusions, 37, arranged on a first side of the bottom plate and protruding from the first side of the bottom plate along a height direction, wherein the plurality of protrusions are arranged at intervals along a first direction, so that shelf teeth, 24, of a warehousing device are configured to enter the support layer, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the height direction, see figures 4C and 4D, reproduced below.
Regarding claim 2, Velagapudi teaches a plurality of first blocking members, 31, wherein the plurality of first blocking members are arranged in one of the following manners:
the plurality of first blocking members are arranged to the plurality of protrusions and respectively arranged at both ends of the support layer along the first direction, see figure 4C above which shows blocking members on outside edges of support layer in the first direction; and
the plurality of first blocking members are arranged to the first side of the bottom plate and respectively arranged at both sides of the support layer along the first direction, see figure 4C above which shows blocking members, 31, arranged at both sides of the bottom plate in the first direction,
wherein each first blocking member extends beyond each protrusion in the height direction on the first side, see figure 4C above which shows blocking members 31, extending above protrusions, 37.
Regarding claim 3, Velagapudi teaches each first blocking member comprises a first guide surface, and the first guide surface is inclined outwards and upwards along the first direction, see angled surface of 31 as shown in figures 4C and 4D above.
Regarding claim 4, Velagapudi teaches each first blocking member is arranged in one of the following manners:
the first blocking member is arranged to the protrusion along an edge of the support layer, see figure 4C above, and
the support layer extends to an edge of the bottom plate, see figure 4C above; and
wherein the first blocking member is arranged to the bottom plate along the edge of the bottom plate, see figure 4C above.
Regarding claim 9, Velagapudi teaches each protrusion is configured as a strip extending in a direction perpendicular to the first direction, see figure 4C above.
Regarding claim 18, Velagapudi teaches a transfer robot, comprising:
a robot body, 30, configured to move; and
a bottom plate, underside of 38; and
a support layer, 38, configured to bear an object, 20, and comprising a plurality of protrusions, 37, arranged on a first side of the bottom plate and protruding from the first side of the bottom plate along a height direction, wherein the plurality of protrusions are arranged at intervals along a first direction, so that shelf teeth, 24, of a warehousing device are configured to enter the support layer, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the height direction, see figures 4C and 4D, reproduced above,
wherein a side of the bottom plate facing away the first side faces the robot body, see figure 14.
Regarding claim 24, Velagapudi teaches a warehousing system, comprising:
a goods shelf configured to storing containers, , a lowest floor of the goods shelf comprising a temporary storage position and a two-way transport channel adjacent to the temporary storage position, and the temporary storage position being provided with shelf teeth, see figures 1-4; and
a transfer robot, 30, configured to perform at least one of the following actions: taking a container from the temporary storage position, placing the container into the temporary storage position, and traveling in the two-way transport channel when loaded or unloaded, see figures 1-4,
wherein the transfer robot comprises:
a robot body, 30, configured to move; and
a carrying device arranged at a top of the robot body;
wherein the carrying device comprises:
a bottom plate, underside of 38; and
a support layer, 38, configured to bear an object, 20, and comprising a plurality of protrusions, 37, arranged on a first side of the bottom plate and protruding from the first side of the bottom plate along a height direction, wherein the plurality of protrusions are arranged at intervals along a first direction, so that shelf teeth, 24, of a warehousing device are configured to enter the support layer, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the height direction, see figures 4C and 4D, reproduced above,
wherein a side of the bottom plate facing away the first side faces the robot body, see figure 14.
Regarding claim 25, Velagapudi teaches the temporary storage position is higher than the ground, and a height gap between the temporary storage position and the ground is configured as an additional transport channel, so that the transfer robot is configured to travel in the additional transport channel and move to be below the temporary storage position when unloaded, see figures 1-4.
Claim(s) 1, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hofmann (US 2017/0152106).
Regarding claim 1, Hofmann teaches a carrying device, comprising:
a bottom plate, underside of 129; and
a support layer configured to bear an object, 116, and comprising a plurality of protrusions, 128, arranged on a first side of the bottom plate and protruding from the first side of the bottom plate along a height direction, wherein the plurality of protrusions are arranged at intervals along a first direction, so that shelf teeth of a warehousing device are configured to enter the support layer, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the height direction, see figure 8B.
Regarding claim 11, Hofmann teaches each protrusion is configured as a pin column, 128, see figure 8B.
Regarding claim 12, Hofmann teaches a plurality of pin columns are arranged at intervals along the first direction and are also arranged at intervals along a direction perpendicular to the first direction, see figure 8B.
Regarding claim 13, Hofmann teaches the plurality of pin columns are arranged at equal intervals along at least one of the first direction and along the direction perpendicular to the first direction, see figure 8B and paragraph 0159 and 0160.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velagapudi (US 2022/0297942) in view of Wagner et al. (US 2022/002079).
Regarding claim 10, Velagapudi does not teach each protrusion is provided with a lightening hole. Wagner et al. teaches a carrying device with protrusions that include lightening holes, see oval shaped holes in figure 5A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to includes lightening holes, as taught by Wagner et al. in each protrusion of the carrying device of Velagapudi in order to achieve the predictable result of reducing the material weight of each protrusion.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velagapudi (US 2022/0297942) in view of CN 213649438, as cited by applicant.
Regarding claim 14, Velagapudi does not teach a second blocking member, as claimed. CN ‘438 teaches a carrying device comprising a bottom plate, 170, a support layer comprising a plurality of protrusions, first blocking member, 180, and further comprising a plurality of second blocking members, 120, wherein the plurality of second blocking members are arranged in one of the following manner:
the plurality of second blocking members are arranged to the plurality of protrusions and respectively arranged at both ends of the support layer along a second direction, see figure 1A; and
the plurality of second blocking members are arranged to the first side of the bottom plate and respectively arranged at both sides of the support layer along the second direction, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the height direction, and each second blocking member extends beyond each protrusion in the height direction on the first side, see figure 1A and 2B.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the second blocking members taught by CN ‘438 with the carrying device of Velagapudi in order to help secure the goods on the carrying device in the second direction.
Regarding claim 15, CN ‘438 teaches each second blocking member comprises a second guide surface, and the second guide surface is inclined outwards and upwards along the second direction, see figures 1A, 1B, and 3.
Regarding claim 16, CN ‘438 teaches each second blocking member is arranged in at least one of the following manners:
the second blocking member is arranged to the protrusion along an edge of the support layer, and the support layer extends to an edge of the bottom plate;
and wherein the second blocking member is arranged to the bottom plate along the edge of the bottom plate, see figures 1A and 3.
Claim(s) 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velagapudi (US 2022/0297942) in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0363479).
Regarding claim 26, Velagapudi does not teach the good shelf, as claimed. Wang et al. teaches a warehousing system wherein the goods shelf comprises at least two floors and at least four rows of goods stations on each floor, two rows of goods stations at both ends of the lowest floor of the goods shelf are configured as temporary storage positions, and other middle space in the lowest floor of the goods shelf except the two rows of temporary storage positions is configured as the two- way transport channel, see figures 1, 2, 5 and 9.
Wang et al. teaches a multifloor shelf with higher storage capacity in a smaller footprint. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to used the goods shelf of Wang et al. with the warehousing system of Velagapudi in order to store a large amount of goods in a smaller area.
Regarding claim 27, Wang et al. teaches the goods shelf comprises four rows of goods stations on each floor, see figure 1, the goods shelf comprises two end rows and two middle rows located between the two end rows, see figure 1. Wang et al. teaches a two-way transport channel is located in a spatial position on one of the end rows, see figure 5. Wang et al. further teaches multiple two-way transport channels, 142, 143, and 144, see figure 9. of the two middle rows in the lowest floor of the goods shelf. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to locate the transport channels in the spatial position of the middle rows, as claimed, since it has bene held that mere rearrangement of the working parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 28, Wang et al. teaches other goods positions in the goods shelf except the temporary storage positions are storage positions, see figure 1, 2 and 5.
Regarding claim 29, Wang et al. teaches a laneway, 310, is arranged between adjacent goods shelves, and the warehousing system further comprises a high- floor working robot, 300, and the high-floor working robot is configured to travel in the laneway, see figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 30, Wang et al. teaches the high- floor working robot has a container taking and placing device, the container taking and placing device is configured to perform at least one of the following actions: taking the container from a storage position and placing the container on the temporary storage position, and taking the container from the temporary storage position and placing the container on the storage position, see paragraph 0080.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited on the PTO-892 and not relied upon are included in the file to show additional examples of carrying devices with protrusions that cooperate with warehousing systems. The applied prior art above is considered the best prior art.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
1 June 2026