Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6,7,9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasson et al (20080103781) in view of JP 4156080 B2 (translation).
As per claim 1, Wasson et al (20080103781) teaches a content evaluation device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (as processor/memory performing the disclosed steps – para 0006, 0022):
acquire a voice content to be output to a passenger of a vehicle; output the voice content (as, to an occupant of a vehicle, that has telematics/speech processing capabilities – para 0029; wherein the telematics unit replies to the user with an appropriate response – para 0059);
perform a voice recognition process for recognizing a keyword in the voice content, which is included in utterance of the passenger after the voice content is output (as, part of the dialog process, listening to the user’s response, to the telematics results presented to the user – see para 0061 – 0066; the keyword, in this example, is “dial”);
and evaluate effectiveness of the voice content output to the passenger based on a result of the voice recognition process (as, evaluating by the user’s response, a degree of experience by the user – para 0059; and based on the ‘experience level determination’ (mapped to “effectiveness”), altering the level of prompting, to be more effective to the user -- as altering extra words/pause/and intonation – para 0067).
Further to claim 1, Wasson et al (20080103781) teaches voice content, as mapped above, but does not explicitly teach “being acquired based on driving state information of the vehicle, the driving state information being based on an output of at least one sensor provided in the vehicle”; JP 4156080 B2 teaches in para (0138) of the disclosed translation, outputting a response to the user, based on the state of the vehicle (in this example, the reading of the inside temperature of the vehicle, the system responds “It’s hot. Do you want to lower the air-conditioner set temperature?”), and hence, due to the sensor measurement of the temperature of the vehicle, and compared to the set temperature of the AC sensor, the system outputs a dialog based on these measurements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle dialog systems to modify the interface of Wasson et al (20080103781) with a dialog based on vehicle sensor measurements, as taught by JP 4156080 B2 , because it would advantageously reduce the amount of specific words/vocabulary that the user would have to specify, and hence easier operation within the vehicle (see JP 4156080 B2 para 0011 reflecting back on para 0009).
As per claim 2, the combination of Wasson et al (20080103781) in view of JP 4156080 B2 teaches the content evaluation device according to claim 1, wherein the processor acquires a score according to a number of times that the keyword is recognized by the voice recognition process, as an index for evaluating the effectiveness of the voice content (see Wasson et al (20080103781), user-experience-determination, as explained above in claim 1, counting the number of times a command is given by the user, to determine experience level – para 0095; with a higher number of, the use of a command, the higher level of experience assigned to that user – remainder of para 0095).
As per claim 3, the combination of Wasson et al (20080103781) in view of JP 4156080 B2 teaches the content evaluation device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs the voice recognition process in a period from immediately after the voice content is output until a predetermined time elapses (see Wasson et al (20080103781), a voice recognition window, for a predetermined time, before there is a predetermined timeout – para 0053).
As per claim 4, the combination of Wasson et al (20080103781) in view of JP 4156080 B2 teaches the content evaluation device according to claim 2, wherein the processor stops the voice recognition process when a predetermined time has elapsed from the timing at which the score is last acquired after the voice content is output (see Wasson et al (20080103781), as altering the timing of the user response based on experience level – para 0052 – so that there is a more comfortable interaction; this plays into the amount, of, the timeout window for the user, as shown in para 0053; see the examples in para 0061 – 0066, wherein the responses/response times are staggered for a less experienced user, and explanations in para 0067-0069).
Claim 6 is a method claims whose steps are performed by the content evaluation device disclosed in claims 1-4 above and as such, claim 6 is similar in scope and content to claims 1-4 above; therefore, claim 6 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claims 1-4 above.
Claim 7 is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim, executing steps by a computer, that are performed by the device claims 1-4 above; as such, claim 7 is similar in scope and content to claims 1-4 above; therefore, claim 7 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claims 1-4 above.
As per claim 9, the combination of Wasson et al (20080103781) in view of JP 4156080 B2 teaches the content evaluation device according to claim 2, wherein the processor performs the voice recognition process in a period from immediately after the voice content is output until a predetermined time elapses (see Wasson et al (20080103781), performing the voice recognition process starting from feedback from the user – para 0064; listening for the user’s response, and waiting, according to the time period / timeout, as disclosed in para 0053).
As per claims 10-12, the combination of Wasson et al (20080103781) in view of JP 4156080 B2 teaches voice output to the passenger (see Wasson et al (20080103781), para 0015, wherein the voice delivery is to occupants of the vehicle) without a request from the passenger (see JP 4156080 B2, para 0138, in para (0138) of the outputting a response to the user, based on the state of the vehicle (in this example, the reading of the inside temperature of the vehicle, the system responds “It’s hot. Do you want to lower the air-conditioner set temperature?”, without prompting from the user).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes the introduction of the JP 4156080 B2 reference to teach the use of changing sensor readings to generate a voice prompt to the occupants of the vehicle, unsolicited
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see related art listed on the PTO-892 form.
Furthermore, the following references were found to be pertinent to applicants claim features/disclosure:
Talwar (20190348065) teaches timed-out listening to speech recognition results and using the timing to determine ‘closeness’ or relevance (see para 0028).
Arditi (20190197430) teaches voice recognition command in a passenger vehicle and using the results as a measure of alignment towards a desired result (see para 0037, 0059).
Zhao et al (20170236511) teaches subword recognition alignment for the best result toward recognizing dialog in a vehicle – see para 0032.
/Michael N Opsasnick/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658 10/27/2026