DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 9 of claim 24 recites the limitation "transducer broadcast the sound". Examiner suggests adding an ‘s’ to the end of “broadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium. Para 0085 of the specification recites “the terms "machine-readable medium" and "computer-readable medium" refers to any computer program product, apparatus or device (e.g., magnetic discs, optical disks, memory, Programmable Logic Devices (PLDs)) used to provide machine instructions or data to a programmable processor, including a machine-readable medium that receives machine instructions as a machine-readable signal.” Thus, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification and taking into account the meaning of the words in their ordinary usage as they would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2111), the claim as a whole covers both transitory and non-transitory media. A transitory medium does not fall into any of the 4 categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
The claim may be amended by changing "computer-readable medium" to "non-transitory computer readable storage medium”, thus excluding that portion of the scope covering transitory signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11-13, and 27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Referring to claims 4 and 27, claims 4 and 27 recite the limitation “applying at least one position label…to the phase filter to form the first response”. It is unclear how applying a mere label could cause the forming of an impulse response. Further, the phase filter is not even positively recited as being applied, therefore, a label on an unapplied filter would also do nothing to form the first response. Examiner interprets as applying the position data and the phase filter to form the first response.
Referring to claims 11-13, claim 11 states that the first filter, which is the same as the filter from claim 1, is applied to the second response to determine a high frequency component. However, if the first filter determines high frequency components, when the first filter was applied to the first response in claim 1, the second response will merely be the high frequency component of the first response, thus making the second response a high frequency component. When the same filter is applied to the second response, it will provide itself as the output, as it is already the high frequency component. Because the entirety of the first filtered second component is a high frequency component, there would be no low frequency component to determine, therefore, it is unclear how a low frequency component could be determined. Further, it is unclear how a low frequency component of the second response could be determined by applying a filter to a completely different impulse response. The low frequency component of the selected impulse response could, in theory, be similar to that of the second response, however, this is not necessarily true. The low frequency component of the selected impulse response could be representative of the second response’s low frequency component, but the claim makes it seem like the two low frequency components would always necessarily be the same. Examiner interprets as determining a high frequency component of the first response by applying the first filter to the first response; and determining a representative low-frequency component of the first response by applying a second filter to a selected impulse response. Claims 12-13 depend on claim 11, therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10-18, and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riggs et al. US Publication No. 20190098431 (from IDS).
Referring to claim 1, Riggs et al. teaches a method comprising:
receiving an audio signal and sensor data captured while a sound is broadcast from an audio source (para 0107: “the process 1700 receives electric audio signals corresponding to sound energy acquired at one or more transducers (e.g., one or more of the transducers 1506 on the listening device 1502 of FIG. 15A). The audio signals may include audio signals received from ambient noise sources (e.g., the sound sources 1522a-d of FIG. 15A) and/or a predetermined signal generated by the process 1700 and played back via a loudspeaker (e.g., the loudspeaker 1526 of FIG. 15A)”; para 0068: “receives an audio signal from a signal source (e.g., a pre-recorded or live playback from a computer, wireless source, mobile device and/or another audio source”; para 0071: “The position data may also be provided by an external measurement device (e.g., one or more sensors) that tracks the listener and/or listening device”);
determining position data for the audio source based on the sensor data (para 0071: “The position data may also be provided by an external measurement device (e.g., one or more sensors) that tracks the listener and/or listening device… The process 400b can process the acquired data to determine orientations and positions of sound sources relative to the actual location of the ears on the head of the user.”);
determining a first response based on the audio signal and the position data, the first response characterizing a response of the audio signal as a function of time (para 0032: “HRTF is determined by emitting sounds from a transducer spaced apart from the listener's ear in a non-anechoic environment and receiving sounds at a transducer positioned on an earphone configured to be worn in an opening of an ear canal of at least one of the user's ears”; para 0110: “As described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 18, the process 1700 uses available information about the microphone array geometry, positional sensor information, optical sensor information, user input data, and characteristics of the audio signals received at block 1710 to determine the user's HRTF”; para 0118: “process 1800 evaluates the signal in the frequency and/or time domain”);
determining a second response by applying a filter to the first response (para 0067: “The composite HRTF may also undergo additional signal processing (e.g., signal processing that includes filtering and/or enhancement of the processed signals) prior to being applied to an audio signal.”; para 0090: “the entire HRTF/HRIR of the listener can be calculated using data captured with the pairing of the speaker 1202 and microphone 1210. Alternately, if the acoustical data is deemed unsuitable, as may be caused by reflections in a non-anechoic environment, the data may be processed. The processing may consist of gating to capture the high frequency spectral information.”); and
generating an audio stream based on the second response (para 0092: “applying the user's composite HRTF to an audio signal played back via the listening device” – Examiner notes that when further processing is applied to HRTF, the further processed HRTF will be applied to the audio signal).
Referring to claim 2, Riggs et al. teaches determining the first response by: determining a frame from the audio signal; and determining a transform frame by applying a transform for the frame (para 0122 – Examiner notes that “frame” is very broad and could refer to the audio signal itself. “Sub-band/frequency/time/phase analysis” also implies some sort of frame analysis. Also, HRTF, by definition, requires a transform to have occurred, therefore, determining the HRTF will transform a frame of the audio signal.)
Referring to claim 8, Riggs et al. teaches the audio signal is captured by a microphone (para 0036: “The operations include receiving audio signals corresponding to sound from the user's environment at a microphone carried by the user's body.”), and wherein at least one position label is related to a direction and a distance of the audio source in relation to the microphone (para 0065, however, Examiner notes that this label limitation holds no weight, as it is not positively recited in relation to the method).
Referring to claim 10, Riggs et al. teaches the filter includes an electronic filter that passes signals with a frequency higher than a cutoff threshold frequency and attenuates signals with frequencies lower than the cutoff threshold frequency (para 0090: “the entire HRTF/HRIR of the listener can be calculated using data captured with the pairing of the speaker 1202 and microphone 1210. Alternately, if the acoustical data is deemed unsuitable, as may be caused by reflections in a non-anechoic environment, the data may be processed. The processing may consist of gating to capture the high frequency spectral information.”).
Referring to claim 11, Riggs et al. teaches the filter is a first filter, the method further comprising: determining a high-frequency component of the second response by applying the first filter to the second response; and determining a low-frequency component of the second response by applying a second filter to a selected impulse response (para 0090 – Examiner notes that by using a low frequency HRTF model, some sort of filter must have been applied in order to attain only low-frequency content and not higher frequency content.).
Referring to claim 12, Riggs et al. teaches determining a three-dimensional representation of a head based on the sensor data (para 0135: “3D image that captures the listener's head and calculates size and or shape based on the image to reference an existing model”); and selecting the selected impulse response from a dataset based on the three-dimensional representation and a selection criterion (para 0092: “a user may reference database entries of HRTFs of users having similar anatomical shapes and sizes (e.g., similar head size, head shape, ear location and/or ear-shape) to select a custom HRTF/HRIR”; para 0141: “the spectral components of the frequency response may be extracted for 6-10 kHz, and combined with spectral components from 10-20 kHz from another sound source with more energy in this frequency band. Additionally, this may be supplemented with 2D or 3D image based information that is used to pull spectral components from a database or create from a model”).
Referring to claim 13, Riggs et al. teaches the second filter includes an electronic filter that passes signals with a frequency lower than a cutoff threshold frequency and attenuates signals with frequencies higher than the cutoff threshold frequency (para 0090).
Referring to claim 14, Riggs et al. teaches the second response is associated with a user, and wherein the audio stream is configured for a characteristic of the user (paras 0090, 0092 – Examiner notes that a user specific HRTF necessarily is associated with the user, and applying the HRTF to the output audio necessarily makes the output audio configured to the user).
Referring to claim 15, Riggs et al. teaches determining the position data for the audio source with respect to a head of a user based on the sensor data, wherein the position data includes a direction and a relative distance of the audio source with respect to a center of the head of the user, the center of the head of the user including a mid- point between ear openings of the user (para 0065: “At block 402, the process 400a identifies a source location of sounds in the audio signal within a reference coordinate system. In one embodiment, the location may be defined as range, azimuth, and elevation (r, θ, φ) with respect to the ear entrance point (EEP) or a reference point to the center of the head, between the ears, may also be used for sources sufficiently far away such that the differences in (r, θ, φ) between the left and right EEP are negligible”).
Referring to claim 16, Riggs et al. teaches the second response is a personalized impulse response for the user and the characteristic includes the head of the user (paras 0066, 0090).
Referring to claim 17, Riggs et al. teaches generating the audio stream based on the personalized impulse response (para 0092).
Referring to claim 18, Riggs et al. teaches applying a transform to the personalized impulse response to generate a personalized transfer function; and generating the audio stream based on the personalized transfer function (paras 0090, 0092 – Examiner notes that the HRTF is a transform of the HRIR).
Referring to claim 20, Riggs et al. teaches at least one of the first response or the second response is a head-related impulse response (paras 0090, 0092).
Referring to claim 21, Riggs et al. teaches the sensor data is captured by a camera or an inertial measurement unit sensor of a mobile device that includes the audio source (para 0098: “The loudspeaker can include, for example, a speaker in a mobile device, a tablet and/or any suitable transducer configured to produce audible and/or inaudible sound waves. In some embodiments, the system 1500 optionally includes an optical sensor or a camera 1528 coupled to the computer 1510. The camera 1528 can provide optical and/or photo image data to the computer 1510 for use in HRTF determination”; para 0047: “the computer 110 can comprise several computers including, for example, computers proximate the listening device 100a (e.g., one or more personal computers, a personal data assistants, a mobile devices, tablets)”).
Referring to claim 22, Riggs et al. teaches the second response is associated with an object (paras 0090, 0092 – Examiner notes that a user specific HRTF necessarily is associated with the user, and a user or a user’s head is an object.).
Referring to claim 23, Riggs et al. teaches a computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by an electronic processor cause the electronic processor to perform the method of claim 1 (para 0036: “a computer readable storage medium storing computer usable program code executable by a processor to perform operations for determining a user's HRTF”).
Referring to claim 24, Riggs et al. teaches a system comprising:
a computing device including:
an electroacoustic transducer configured to broadcast a sound (para 0098: “the system 1500 optionally includes a loudspeaker 1526 coupled to the computer 1510 and configured to output a known sound 1527 (e.g., a standard test signal and/or sweep signal) toward the user 1501 using an input signal provided by the computer 1510 and/or another suitable signal generator. The loudspeaker can include, for example, a speaker in a mobile device, a tablet and/or any suitable transducer configured to produce audible and/or inaudible sound waves.”),
an imaging sensor (para 0098: “the system 1500 optionally includes an optical sensor or a camera 1528 coupled to the computer 1510. The camera 1528 can provide optical and/or photo image data to the computer 1510 for use in HRTF determination”), and
an audio sensor (para 0096: “the system 1500 includes a listening device 1502 (e.g., earphones, over-ear headphones, etc.) worn by a user 1501 and communicatively coupled to an audio processing computer 1510…The listening device 1502 includes a pair of earphones 1504 (FIGS. 15A-15F). Each of the earphones 1504 includes a corresponding microphone 1506 thereon”); and
an electronic processor coupled to the computing device (para 0106: “The process 1700 may include one or more instructions or operations stored on memory (e.g., the memory 1514 or the database 1517 of FIG. 15A) and executed by a processor in a computer (e.g., the processor 1515 in the computer 1510 of FIG. 15A).”) and configured to:
receive an audio signal from the audio sensor (para 0107: “the process 1700 receives electric audio signals corresponding to sound energy acquired at one or more transducers (e.g., one or more of the transducers 1506 on the listening device 1502 of FIG. 15A). The audio signals may include audio signals received from ambient noise sources (e.g., the sound sources 1522a-d of FIG. 15A) and/or a predetermined signal generated by the process 1700 and played back via a loudspeaker (e.g., the loudspeaker 1526 of FIG. 15A)”; para 0068: “receives an audio signal from a signal source (e.g., a pre-recorded or live playback from a computer, wireless source, mobile device and/or another audio source”);
receive sensor data form the imaging sensor (para 0098: “The camera 1528 can provide optical and/or photo image data to the computer 1510 for use in HRTF determination”; para 0071: “The position data may also be provided by an external measurement device (e.g., one or more sensors) that tracks the listener and/or listening device”), wherein the audio signal and the sensor data are captured while the electroacoustic transducer broadcast the sound (para 0107: “the process 1700 receives electric audio signals corresponding to sound energy acquired at one or more transducers (e.g., one or more of the transducers 1506 on the listening device 1502 of FIG. 15A). The audio signals may include audio signals received from ambient noise sources (e.g., the sound sources 1522a-d of FIG. 15A) and/or a predetermined signal generated by the process 1700 and played back via a loudspeaker (e.g., the loudspeaker 1526 of FIG. 15A)”; para 0068: “receives an audio signal from a signal source (e.g., a pre-recorded or live playback from a computer, wireless source, mobile device and/or another audio source”; para 0071: “The position data may also be provided by an external measurement device (e.g., one or more sensors) that tracks the listener and/or listening device”);
determine position data for the electroacoustic transducer based on the sensor data (para 0071: “The position data may also be provided by an external measurement device (e.g., one or more sensors) that tracks the listener and/or listening device… The process 400b can process the acquired data to determine orientations and positions of sound sources relative to the actual location of the ears on the head of the user.”);
determine a first response based on the audio signal and the position data, the first response characterizing a response of the audio signal as a function of time (para 0032: “HRTF is determined by emitting sounds from a transducer spaced apart from the listener's ear in a non-anechoic environment and receiving sounds at a transducer positioned on an earphone configured to be worn in an opening of an ear canal of at least one of the user's ears”; para 0110: “As described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 18, the process 1700 uses available information about the microphone array geometry, positional sensor information, optical sensor information, user input data, and characteristics of the audio signals received at block 1710 to determine the user's HRTF”; para 0118: “process 1800 evaluates the signal in the frequency and/or time domain”);
determine a second response by applying a filter to the first response (para 0067: “The composite HRTF may also undergo additional signal processing (e.g., signal processing that includes filtering and/or enhancement of the processed signals) prior to being applied to an audio signal.”; para 0090: “the entire HRTF/HRIR of the listener can be calculated using data captured with the pairing of the speaker 1202 and microphone 1210. Alternately, if the acoustical data is deemed unsuitable, as may be caused by reflections in a non-anechoic environment, the data may be processed. The processing may consist of gating to capture the high frequency spectral information.”); and
generate an audio stream based on the second response (para 0092: “applying the user's composite HRTF to an audio signal played back via the listening device” – Examiner notes that when further processing is applied to HRTF, the further processed HRTF will be applied to the audio signal).
Referring to claim 25, Riggs et al. teaches the electronic processor is configured to determine the first response by: determining a frame from the audio signal; and determining a transform frame by applying a transform for the frame (para 0122 – Examiner notes that “frame” is very broad and could refer to the audio signal itself. “Sub-band/frequency/time/phase analysis” also implies some sort of frame analysis. Also, HRTF, by definition, requires a transform to have occurred, therefore, determining the HRTF will transform a frame of the audio signal.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs et al., as applied to claims 1-2 and 24-25 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. US Publication No. 20080031462
Referring to claim 3, Riggs et al. does not teach determining a phase filter from the amplitude response, but Walsh et al. teaches determining the first response by: determining an amplitude response for the transform frame; and determining a phase filter from the amplitude response (para 0060). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a minimum phase filter from the amplitude response, as taught in Walsh et al., in the method of Riggs et al. because it helps to “ensure that the spatial attributes of the binaural signals are preserved at lower frequencies with greater (although less perceptually significant) errors at higher frequencies.”
Referring to claim 4, Riggs et al. teaches determining the first response by: applying at least one position label, based on the position data, to form the first response (para 0065: “At block 402, the process 400a identifies a source location of sounds in the audio signal within a reference coordinate system. In one embodiment, the location may be defined as range, azimuth, and elevation (r, θ, φ) with respect to the ear entrance point (EEP)) and Walsh et al. teaches determining the first response by: applying the phase filter to form the first response (para 0060). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 3.
Referring to claim 5, Walsh et al. teaches the phase filter is a minimum-phase filter (para 0060). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 3.
Referring to claim 26, Riggs et al. does not teach determining a phase filter from the amplitude response, but Walsh et al. teaches the electronic processor is configured to determine the first response by: determining an amplitude response for the transform frame; and determining a phase filter from the amplitude response (para 0060). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a minimum phase filter from the amplitude response, as taught in Walsh et al., in the system of Riggs et al. because it helps to “ensure that the spatial attributes of the binaural signals are preserved at lower frequencies with greater (although less perceptually significant) errors at higher frequencies.”
Referring to claim 27, Riggs et al. teaches the electronic processor is configured to determine the first response by: applying at least one position label, based on the position data, to form the first response (para 0065: “At block 402, the process 400a identifies a source location of sounds in the audio signal within a reference coordinate system. In one embodiment, the location may be defined as range, azimuth, and elevation (r, θ, φ) with respect to the ear entrance point (EEP)) and Walsh et al. teaches determine the first response by: applying the phase filter to form the first response (para 0060). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 26.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs et al., as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Thompson US Publication No. 20230132774.
Referring to claim 6, Riggs et al. does not teach overlapping frames, but Thompson teaches the frame is a first frame, the method further comprising determining the first response by: determining a second frame from the audio signal, wherein the second frame includes data that overlaps data in the first frame (para 0100). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process using overlapping frames, as taught in Thompson, in the method of Riggs et al. because “the resulting overlap-add region is guaranteed to be artifact-free (there will be no discontinuities even if the filtering functions are different from one another from frame to frame due to fast moving objects) and provides suitable cross-fading with adjacent frames.”
Referring to claim 7, Riggs et al. does not specify an FFT, but Thompson teaches the transform is a fast Fourier transform (para 0058). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of transforming a signal from the time domain to the frequency domain, therefore it would have been obvious to try transforming using an FFT, as taught in Thompson, as opposed to whatever transform is used in Riggs et al. because both transforms allow for frequency processing.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs et al., as applied to claims 1-2 and 8 above, and further in view of Woelfl et al. US Publication No. 20180192226.
Referring to claim 9, Riggs et al. does not teach compensating for amplitude response, but Woelfl et al. teaches before determining the frame based on the audio signal, compensating for an amplitude response of the audio source in the audio signal and the microphone (para 0176). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to compensate for amplitude response, as taught in Woelfl et al., in the method of Riggs et al. because it helps to “to gain the desired tonality and frequency range” of the transducer.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs et al., as applied to claims 1 and 14-18 above, and further in view of Boland US Publication No. 201702450852.
Referring to claim 19, Riggs et al. does not specify transform type, but Boland teaches the transform is a Z-transform or a Laplace transform (para 0005). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of transforming a signal from the time domain to the frequency domain, therefore it would have been obvious to try transforming using a z-transform, as taught in Boland, as opposed to whatever transform is used in Riggs et al. because both transforms allow for frequency processing.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693