DETAILED ACTION
Status
The present application claims priority to Chinese Patent application 202210191950.1 filed February 28, 2022, and is 371 continuing application of PCT/CN2023/076568 filed February 16, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 26, 2024 and May 14, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 19-20, 22-24, 26, 27 and 29-31 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. 20210143964 to Mattias Frenne et al. (hereinafter Frenne) in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 V16.8.0 (2021-12) (hereinafter 38.214).
Regarding claim 1, Frenne teaches A method for frequency density determination, comprising:
determining a first number of resource blocks (RBs) based on scheduled resources for a first physical channel, wherein the scheduled resources for the first physical channel cover a plurality of subbands; (Frenne teaches in para. [0097] that the determination of frequency density uses the number of resource blocks (RB) for the PDSCH , for example, “the PDSCH associated with the first TCI state”. Examiner interprets the “number of RB” in the PDSCH as the subbands associated with scheduled resources (PDSCH) since subbands are groups of RB.)
and
frequency density determination of a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in a first subband based on the first number of RBs; wherein: the first physical channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and [[the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources]] for the first physical channel; (Frenne teaches that the KPT-RS is determined from Table 5.1.6.3-2 in TS 38.214, which is a frequency density determination of a PT-RS.)
or
the first physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the first subband is any uplink subband covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Examiner notes the “or” negates requiring a teaching of the alternative element).
Frenne does NOT specifically teach the subband associated with the PDSCH, as “the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources”.
In the same field of endeavor, 38.214 teaches “the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources”. (38.214 teaches in Section 5.1.6.3 , page 44, Table 5.1.6.3-2:
Table 5.1.6.3-2 addresses PDSCH scheduled resources and identifies RB subbands in the Scheduled bandwidth column for the PDSCH as NRB where N is a subband.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Frenne and 38.214. Each of Frenne and 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine 38.214 with Frenne in order to meet the 3GPP characteristics for physical layer procedures for data channels for 5G-NR as recited on page 7, Section 1 of 38.214. Further, Frenne recites 38.214 in para. [0091], for example, thereby motivating a combination.
Regarding claim 2, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The method of claim 1 as stated. Frenne also teaches wherein the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0097] that the value used for scheme 2b is the number of resource blocks for PDSCH associated with, for example the first TCI state. Therefore the subbands (RBs) that overlap the PDSCH and the first TCI state are the first number of RBs.)
Regarding claim 3, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The method of claim 2 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between all subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0095] that determining the number of resource blocks for frequency density includes the number of resource blocks (RBs) for the PDSCH from one TRP, i.e. per PDSCH which is roughly 50% of the total number of scheduled RB, a subset of the RBs which Examiner interprets as corresponding to a “subband”.)
Regarding claim 4, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The method of claim 2 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first physical channel is the PDSCH; (Frenne para. [0092] teaches the number of RBs for the PRGs of the PDSCH) and the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between all downlink subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches as shown above with respect to Claim 3, para. [0095]-[0097] that the bandwidth value NRB is determined from the RB subset associated with a TCI stated. Further, in Fig. 10 and para. [0100] of Frenne teaches that scheduled PDSCHs are assigned to different TRPs and partitioned across multiple downlink resources (PRGs).)
Regarding claim 6, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between the first subband and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0097] that the value used for scheme 2b is the number of resource blocks for PDSCH associated with the first TCI state. The subbands (group of RBs) that overlap the PDSCH and the first TCI state are the first number of RBs.)
Regarding claim 7, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first number of RBs is a total number of RBs comprised in the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0097]-[0100] that 38.214 and table 5.1.6.3-2 determines a PT-RS inverse frequency density KPT-RS based on a scheduled bandwidth NRB, and that the number of scheduled RBs for a PDSCH is the scheduled bandwidth.)
Regarding claim 19, Frenne teaches An apparatus (Frenne Fig. 12 communication device 1200) for frequency density determination, comprising:
a memory configured to store a computer program, the computer program comprising program instructions; (Frenne Fig. 12, memory circuitry 1205, para. [0062])
and
a processor (Frenne Fig. 12 processor 1203) configured to invoke the program instructions to cause the apparatus for frequency density determination to perform
determining a first number of resource blocks (RBs) based on scheduled resources for a first physical channel, wherein the scheduled resources for the first physical channel cover a plurality of subbands; (Frenne teaches in para. [0097] that the determination of frequency density uses the number of resource blocks (RB) for the PDSCH , for example, “the PDSCH associated with the first TCI state”. Examiner interprets the “number of RB” in the PDSCH as the subbands associated with scheduled resources (PDSCH))
and
frequency density determination of a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in a first subband based on the first number of RBs; wherein
the first physical channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and [[the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources]] for the first physical channel; (Frenne teaches that the KPT-RS is determined from Table 5.1.6.3-2 in TS 38.214, which is a frequency density determination of a PT-RS.)
or
the first physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the first subband is any uplink subband covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Examiner notes the “or” negates requiring a teaching of the alternative element).
Frenne does NOT specifically teach the subband associated with the PDSCH, as “the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources”.
In the same field of endeavor, 38.214 teaches “the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources”. (38.214 teaches in Section 5.1.6.3 , page 44, Table 5.1.6.3-2:
Table 5.1.6.3-2 addresses PDSCH scheduled resources and identifies RB subbands in the Scheduled bandwidth column for the PDSCH as NRB where N is a subband.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Frenne and 38.214. Each of Frenne and 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine 38.214 with Frenne in order to meet the 3GPP characteristics for physical layer procedures for data channels for 5G-NR as recited on page 7, Section 1 of 38.214. Further, Frenne recites 38.214 in para. [0091], for example, thereby motivating a combination.
Regarding claim 20, Frenne teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store computer-readable instructions (Frenne Fig. 12, medium which, when executed on a communication apparatus, cause the communication apparatus to perform
determining a first number of resource blocks (RBs) based on scheduled resources for a first physical channel, wherein the scheduled resources for the first physical channel cover a plurality of subbands; (Frenne teaches in para. [0097] that the determination of frequency density uses the number of resource blocks (RB) for the PDSCH , for example, “the PDSCH associated with the first TCI state”. Examiner interprets the “number of RB” in the PDSCH as the subbands associated with scheduled resources (PDSCH))
and
frequency density determination of a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in a first subband based on the first number of RBs; wherein
the first physical channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and [[the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources]] for the first physical channel; (Frenne teaches that the KPT-RS is determined from Table 5.1.6.3-2 in TS 38.214, which is a frequency density determination of a PT-RS.)
or
the first physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the first subband is any uplink subband covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Examiner notes the “or” negates requiring a teaching of the alternative element).
Frenne does NOT specifically teach the subband associated with the PDSCH, as “the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources”.
In the same field of endeavor, 38.214 teaches “the first subband is any downlink subband covered by the scheduled resources”. (38.214 teaches in Section 5.1.6.3 , page 44, Table 5.1.6.3-2:
Table 5.1.6.3-2 addresses PDSCH scheduled resources and identifies RB subbands in the Scheduled bandwidth column for the PDSCH as NRB where N is a subband.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Frenne and 38.214. Each of Frenne and 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine 38.214 with Frenne in order to meet the 3GPP characteristics for physical layer procedures for data channels for 5G-NR as recited on page 7, Section 1 of 38.214. Further, Frenne recites 38.214 in para. [0091], for example, thereby motivating a combination.
Regarding claim 22, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The apparatus of claim 19 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0097] that the value used for scheme 2b is the number of resource blocks for PDSCH associated with, for example the first TCI state. Therefore the subbands (RBs) that overlap the PDSCH and the first TCI state are the first number of RBs.)
Regarding claim 23, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The apparatus of claim 22 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between all subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0095] that determining the number of resource blocks for frequency density includes the number of resource blocks (RBs) for the PDSCH from one TRP, i.e. per PDSCH which is roughly 50% of the total number of scheduled RB, a subset of the RBs which Examiner interprets as corresponding to a “subband”.)
Regarding claim 24, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The apparatus of claim 22 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first physical channel is the PDSCH; and the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between all downlink subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches as shown above with respect to Claim 3, para. [0095]-[0097] that the bandwidth value NRB is determined from the RB subset associated with a TCI stated. Further, in Fig. 10 and para. [0100] of Frenne teaches that scheduled PDSCHs are assigned to different TRPs and partitioned across multiple downlink resources (PRGs).)
Regarding claim 26, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The apparatus of claim 22 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between the first subband and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0095] that determining the number of resource blocks for frequency density includes the number of resource blocks (RBs) for the PDSCH from one TRP, i.e. per PDSCH which is roughly 50% of the total number of scheduled RB, a subset of the RBs which Examiner interprets as corresponding to a “subband”.)
Regarding claim 27, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The apparatus of claim 19 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs is a total number of RBs comprised in the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0097]-[0100] that 38.214 and table 5.1.6.3-2 determines a PT-RS inverse frequency density KPT-RS based on a scheduled bandwidth NRB, and that the number of scheduled RBs for a PDSCH is the scheduled bandwidth.)
Regarding claim 29, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0097] that the value used for scheme 2b is the number of resource blocks for PDSCH associated with, for example the first TCI state. Therefore the subbands (RBs) that overlap the PDSCH and the first TCI state are the first number of RBs.)
Regarding claim 30, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 29 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between all subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches in para. [0095] that determining the number of resource blocks for frequency density includes determining the number of resource blocks (RBs) for the PDSCH from one TRP, i.e. per PDSCH which is roughly 50% of the total number of scheduled RB, a subset of the RBs which Examiner interprets as corresponding to a “subband”.)
Regarding claim 31, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 29 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first physical channel is the PDSCH; (Frenne teaches
and
the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between all downlink subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches as shown above with respect to Claim 3, para. [0095]-[0097] that the bandwidth value NRB is determined from the RB subset associated with a TCI stated. Further, in Fig. 10 and para. [0100] of Frenne teaches that scheduled PDSCHs are assigned to different TRPs and partitioned across multiple downlink resources (PRGs).)
Claims 5 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenne in view of 38.214 further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20230283429 to Sungjin Park et al. (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 5, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The method of claim 2 as stated. Frenne teaches further wherein [[the first physical channel is the PUSCH;]] and the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between all uplink subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches as provided above in para. [0095], that determining the number of resource blocks for frequency density includes the number of resource blocks (RBs) for the PDSCH from one TRP, i.e. per PDSCH which is roughly 50% of the total number of scheduled RB, a subset of the RBs which Examiner interprets as corresponding to a “subband”)
Frenne does NOT teach the first physical channel is the PUSCH.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches the first physical channel is the PUSCH; (Park teaches in para. [0469]-[0470] PT-RS mapping resource blocks allocated for PDSCH are numbered and when transform precoding is disabled, and that PUSCH transmission is determined in the same manner. Therefore, the PDSCH methodologies apply to the PUSCH.)
In the same field of endeavor, 38.213 Section 6.2.3 also teaches “the first physical channel is the PUSCH”; (38.213 Section 6.2.3, page 146, Table 6.2.3.1-2 teaches for PUSCH:
which is specifically for PT-RS uplink configurations. As shown, the PT-RS frequency density is determined using a subset of NRB which examiner interprets as a subband because it is a group of RB.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Frenne with Park. Each of Park and Frenne are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Frenne and Park in order to support subsets in terms of frequency resource group (FRG) that enable separate measurements of channel and interference characteristics to support varying types of services as taught in Park para. [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Frenne and 38.214. Each of Frenne and 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine 38.214 with Frenne in order to meet the 3GPP characteristics for physical layer procedures for data channels for 5G-NR as recited on page 7, Section 1 of 38.214. Further, Frenne recites 38.214 in para. [0091], for example, thereby motivating a combination.
Regarding claim 25, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The apparatus of claim 22 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein [[the first physical channel is the PUSCH]];
and
the first number of RBs being the number of RBs overlapping between the subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel comprises:
the first number of RBs is the number of RBs overlapping between all uplink subbands covered by the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and the scheduled resources for the first physical channel. (Frenne teaches as provided above in para. [0095], that determining the number of resource blocks for frequency density includes the number of resource blocks (RBs) for the PDSCH from one TRP, i.e. per PDSCH which is roughly 50% of the total number of scheduled RB, a subset of the RBs which Examiner interprets as corresponding to a “subband”)
Frenne does NOT teach the first physical channel is the PUSCH.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches the first physical channel is the PUSCH; (Park teaches in para. [0469]-[0470] PT-RS mapping resource blocks allocated for PDSCH are numbered and when transform precoding is disabled, and that PUSCH transmission is determined in the same manner. Therefore, the PDSCH methodologies apply to the PUSCH.)
In the same field of endeavor, 38.213 Section 6.2.3 also teaches “the first physical channel is the PUSCH”; (38.213 Section 6.2.3, page 146, Table 6.2.3.1-2 teaches for PUSCH:
which is specifically for PT-RS uplink configurations. As shown, the PT-RS frequency density is determined using a subset of NRB which examiner interprets as a subband.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Frenne with Park. Each of Park and Frenne are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Frenne and Park in order to support subsets in terms of frequency resource group (FRG) that enable separate measurements of channel and interference characteristics to support varying types of services as taught in Park para. [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Frenne and 38.214. Each of Frenne and 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine 38.214 with Frenne in order to meet the 3GPP characteristics for physical layer procedures for data channels for 5G-NR as recited on page 7, Section 1 of 38.214. Further, Frenne recites 38.214 in para. [0091], for example, thereby motivating a combination.
Claim 8 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenne in view of 38.214 further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20220385419 to Daniel Paz et al. (hereinafter Paz).
Regarding claim 8, Frenne in view 38.214 teaches The method of claim 1 as stated. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs is a total number of all RBs comprised in the scheduled resources for the first physical channel minus a total number of RBs overlapping between the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and [[all guard bands]]. (Frenne para. teaches in para. [0097] that the NRB value for PT-RS density corresponds to the frequency domain resources carrying the information by stating that the determination of frequency density uses the number of resource blocks (RB) for the particular PDSCH, for example, “the PDSCH associated with the first TCI state”. The first number of RBs is therefore the total number of RB for all PDSCHs
Frenne does NOT teach “minus ... all guard bands”.
In the same field of endeavor, Paz teaches “minus ... all guard bands”; (Paz teaches in para. [0069] that a guard band may be placed adjacent to a sub-band on one side of PDSCH data as “an unused sub-band that separates resources allocated for different purposes, e.g., for two different UEs)” on the other side of a ePTRS sub-band. Thus, guard-band sub-bands are not part of a useable transmission region and removed from an RB count.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Frenne with Paz in order to teach subtracting guard bands for a frequency density calculation. Each of Frenne and Paz are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Frenne and Paz in order to increase throughput when using PT-RS as taught in Paz para. [0005].
Regarding claim 28, Frenne in view of 38.214 teaches The apparatus of claim 19 as state. Frenne further teaches wherein the first number of RBs is a total number of all RBs comprised in the scheduled resources for the first physical channel minus a total number of RBs overlapping between the scheduled resources for the first physical channel and [[all guard bands]]. (Frenne teaches in para. [0097] that the NRB value for PT-RS density corresponds to the frequency domain resources carrying the information by stating that the determination of frequency density uses the number of resource blocks (RB) for the particular PDSCH, for example, “the PDSCH associated with the first TCI state”. The first number of RBs is therefore the total number of RB for all PDSCHs).
Frenne does NOT teach “minus ... all guard bands”.
In the same field of endeavor, Paz teaches “minus ... all guard bands”; (Paz teaches in para. [0069] that a guard band may be placed adjacent to a sub-band on one side of PDSCH data as “an unused sub-band that separates resources allocated for different purposes, e.g., for two different UEs)” on the other side of a ePTRS sub-band. Thus, guard-band sub-bands are not part of a useable transmission region and removed from an RB count.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Frenne with Paz in order to teach subtracting guard bands for a frequency density calculation. Each of Frenne and Paz are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Frenne and Paz in order to increase throughput when using PT-RS as taught in Paz para. [0005].
Conclusion
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412