DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 79 and 84 are objected to because of the following informalities: “SiOx” and “SiO2” should have subscripted values (SiOx and SiO2). The specification should be similarly corrected. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings, Figures 9A, 9B, 11F, 11G, 11K-11N, 12H-12J, 15A, and 15D are objected to because missing scale bar or illegible scale bar. A clearly easily readable scale bar should be provided. The drawings, Figures 10A, 10B, 11H-11J, and 12J are objected to because the data/graph/text/axis is illegible being to small to read. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 73, 79, 80, and 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2015/0179294).
Regarding claims 73 and 79, Kim discloses a graphene-nanoparticle composite comprising:
graphene-nanoparticle complex composite including graphene plus Si (para 0090).
Nanocrystallized material (i.e., Si) is dispersed and bound to the surface of the graphene to form the above composite (para 0090).
Regarding claims 80 and 81, Kim discloses lithium-ion secondary batteries (para 0006).
Claims 73-76, 79-81, 87, 89, and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhamu et al. (US 2010/0143798).
Regarding claims 73 and 79, Zhamu discloses nanographene reinforced nanocomposite particles for lithium battery electrodes comprising:
a graphene nanoparticle, the graphene nanoparticle at least partially coated with silicon (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claims 74 and 89, Zhamu discloses the graphene as platelet (Fig. 2A), which is polyhedral.
Regarding claims 75 and 92, Zhamu discloses carbon protective matrix (Fid. 2A).
Regarding claim 76, Zhamu discloses the carbon protective matrix is conductive (para 0075).
Regarding claims 80 and 81, Zhamu discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising an anode (para 0086).
Regarding claim 87, Zhamu discloses a graphene nanoparticle, the graphene nanoparticle at least partially coated with silicon (Fig. 2A); graphene plates may be a part of a characteristic "turbostratic" structure (para 0114).
Claim 73, 74, 79, 87, and 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen et al. (Journal of Materials Science & Technology 35 (2019) 36–43).
Regarding claims 73 and 79, Shen discloses silica-coated onto graphene nanoplatelets (abstract).
Regarding claims 74, 87, and 89, Shen discloses the graphene is disordered, therefore, turbostratic (Section 3.3). Also, being nanoplatelets, the graphene would read on polyhedral.
Claim 82-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayner et al. (US 2021/0135209).
Regarding claims 82, 84, and 86, Hayner discloses an anode active material 102 including a turbostratic carbon coating comprising:
matrix 106 including SiO (para 0110);
the average primary particle size may be less than about 1 μm (para 0058); and
turbostratic carbon of the envelope 110 (Fig. 14A), envelopes 110 may include a graphene-based material (para 0107; Fig. 14A-14B).
Regarding claim 83, Hayner discloses the graphene is porous (para 0102); alternatively, the graphene may be a platelet reading on polyhedral (para 0107).
Regarding claim 85, Hayner discloses a particle morphology that exhibits numerous void spaces (area 3 is an example) having poor contact (i.e., lacks intimate contact) between the wrinkled rGO sheets and the SiOx primary particles (para 0090).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 77, 78, 88, 90, and 91 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723