DETAILED ACTION
This is on the merits of Application No. 18/841557, filed on 09/18/2026. Claims 1-6 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 20120049571 to Katou et al.
Katou discloses:
(Claim 1) A vehicle (Fig. 1) having a passenger compartment (5) and a crumple zone (Fig. 2, par. [0027], “The front side frame members 7 are configured and arranged to serve to absorb energy imparted during a front end collision by undergoing an axial collapse”), wherein the crumple zone has reduced impact resistance relative to the passenger compartment and is positioned forward of the passenger compartment, further comprising a first wheel (1) arranged to be driven by a first drive source (3) having a first axis of rotation for rotating the first wheel and a second wheel (see par. [0026] and Fig. 2, there are two front wheels 1) arranged to be driven by a second drive source (3) having a second axis of rotation for rotating the second wheel, wherein the first wheel and the second wheel are transversely located on the vehicle relative to each other, wherein the first axis of the first drive source and the second axis of the second drive source are positioned longitudinally between the front and rear of the crumple zone (see Fig. 1, within the crumple zone of 7).
Regarding claim 4, see par. [0061], this can be applied to a rear section vehicle body structure as well.
(Claims 2 and 5) wherein the first drive source is an in-wheel electric motor and the second drive source is an in-wheel electric motor (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2020086564 to Ishikawa et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 5442250 to Stridsberg.
Ishikawa discloses:
(Claim 1) A vehicle (Fig.2A) having a passenger compartment (L) and a crumple zone (43), wherein the crumple zone has reduced impact resistance relative to the passenger compartment and is positioned forward of the passenger compartment, further comprising a first wheel (unlabeled front wheel) and a second wheel (unlabeled second front wheel, see also Fig. 18, two wheels in wheel house 45c), wherein the first wheel and the second wheel are transversely located on the vehicle relative to each other (see Fig. 18), wherein the first axis of the first wheel and the second axis of the second wheel are positioned longitudinally between the front and rear of the crumple zone (see Fig. 2, axis of wheels cross between front and rear part of the crumple zone).
Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose:
(Claim 1) the first wheel arranged to be driven by a first drive source having a first axis of rotation for rotating the first wheel and a second wheel arranged to be driven by a second drive source having a second axis of rotation for rotating the second wheel.
wherein the first axis of the first drive source and the second axis of the second drive source are positioned longitudinally between the front and rear of the crumple zone.
(Claim 2) wherein the first drive source is an in-wheel electric motor and the second drive source is an in-wheel electric motor (see Fig. 4B and par. [0057], motors are in-wheel motors).
(Claim 3) wherein the in-wheel electric motor is coupled to the vehicle via a bearing.
Stridsberg teaches:
(Claim 1) the first wheel arranged to be driven by a first drive source having a first axis of rotation for rotating the first wheel and a second wheel arranged to be driven by a second drive source having a second axis of rotation for rotating the second wheel (see Figs. 1 and 9, front wheels can each have an electric motor drive the wheel).
(Claim 2) wherein the first drive source is an in-wheel electric motor and the second drive source is an in-wheel electric motor (see Figs. 1 and 9, motors 130 are in-wheel motors).
(Claim 3) wherein the in-wheel electric motor is coupled to the vehicle via a bearing (Fig. 1 element 105 106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Ishikawa to have an in-wheel electric motor drive source, as taught by Stridsberg, in order to drive the vehicle of Ishikawa. Ishikawa is silent towards what the drive source of the vehicle is. Stridsberg provides a teaching of an in-wheel electric motor that is well-known in the art. One of ordinary skill would be able to apply the teaching of Stridsberg to Ishikawa and produce predictable results. Such a drive source would allow for electrification of the vehicle and no longer rely on fossil fuels. Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Ishikawa to have each wheel having a bearing coupling the motor to the vehicle, as taught by Stridsberg, in order to balance out the weight and forces involved with the vehicle and motor. It is well-known in the art to use bearings to help distribute weight between two components that do not rotate together. One of ordinary skill would be able to apply the bearing of Stridsberg to Ishikawa and produce predictable results.
The combination of Ishikawa and Stridsberg would therefore teach:
(Claim 1) wherein the first axis of the first drive source and the second axis of the second drive source are positioned longitudinally between the front and rear of the crumple zone (the wheels of Ishikawa are inside the crumple zone, thus the drive sources would be as well).
(Claim 3) wherein the axis of the bearing is positioned between the front and rear of the crumple zone (the wheels of Ishikawa are inside the crumple zone, thus the bearing would be as well).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katou in view of Stridsberg.
Katou discloses:
The limitations of claims 2 and 5.
Katou does not explicitly disclose:
(Claims 3 and 6) wherein the in-wheel electric motor is coupled to the vehicle via a bearing, wherein the axis of the bearing is positioned between the front and rear of the crumple zone.
Stridsberg teaches:
(Claims 3 and 6) wherein the in-wheel electric motor is coupled to the vehicle via a bearing (Fig. 1 element 105 106)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Katou to have a bearing coupling the motor to the vehicle in order to balance out the weight and forces involved with the vehicle and motor. It is well-known in the art to use bearings to help distribute weight between two components that do not rotate together. One of ordinary skill would be able to apply the bearing of Stridsberg to Katou and produce predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-11, filed 09/18/2026, with respect to the 102(a)(1) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 05/19/2026 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection are made above.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY HANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655