DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
In light of the amendments, arguments, and filing of an RCE, the restriction requirement made in the final action mailed 03/30/2026 pertaining to the election by original presentation is hereby withdrawn, and no claims are currently held as being withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Younes (US 20210140684 A1).
With respect to claim 1, With respect to claim 1, Younes discloses a system comprising: a separator (210) for separating one or more of liquid, oil, gas, and debris from a fluid produced from a wellbore (160), the separator comprising: a vessel defining an interior chamber; an inlet (inlet for 202) for delivering the fluid produced from the wellbore into the vessel at a first pressure (pgph. 27); and a gas outlet (outlet for 204) for discharging the gas from the vessel at a pressure substantially equal to the first pressure (pgph. 27); an expander (250) configured to f expand the gas to a second pressure that is less than the first pressure (pgph. 30); a generator coupled to the expander for supplying electrical power produced by expansion of the gas by the expander (pgph. 30, converting to electrical energy requires a generator); and a molecular dryer (240 or portion of 240 with molecular gate materials, pgph. 29) configured to substantially remove water vapor from the gas (using molecular gates/filters to adsorb water (moisture) constitutes a molecular dryer, see pgph. 29), the molecular dryer configured to be fluidly coupled upstream of the expander (fig. 2) ;wherein the gas is directed out of the molecular dryer at a pressure substantially equal to the first pressure (pgph. 30, pressure drops are not mentioned before the stream reaches 250); and wherein the first pressure is substantially equal to the pressure at which the fluid exits the wellbore and of at least 1,500 psig (pgph. 27, fig. 1, no device which alters the pressure is shown or described between 160 and 210).
The limitations of claim 16 are substantially similar to those of claim 1, rejected supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Younes in light of Malone (US 20200141221 A1).
With respect to claim 25, Younes discloses an additional separator (portion of 240 which separates co2) fluidly coupled in series with the separator (pgph.29, shown in fig. 2).
However, Younes fails to disclose the elements on a skid.
Nevertheless, Malone discloses providing multiple elements of a separation system together on a skid (18, fig. 1, pgph. 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the elements of Younes on a skid in order to reduce set-up time as taught by Malone (pgph. 44). If applicant disagrees that another portion of 240 does not qualify as an additional separator, it would have been obvious to have added desander 12 of Malone to Younes either upstream or downstream of element 210 of Younes in order to remove sand as is well-known in the art.
With respect to claim 26, Younes discloses receiving the gas output from the separator into an additional separator (desander of Younes) at the first pressure, the additional separator being fluidly coupled in series with the separator on a skid (discussed supra in light of Malone);and directing the gas out of the additional separator at a pressure substantially equal to the first pressure (pgph. 29, 30, Younes); wherein the additional separator is configured to separate debris (sand) from the gas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13, 18, 19, 21, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 07/15/2026