DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not a concise statement describing what is new or an improvement to the art it pertains. Currently the abstract recites “the present disclosure has been devised to solve the problems a above”, however the abstract should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. The abstract should not vaguely direct to other sections of the application.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al US10320037 (hereinafter “Choi”) in view of Lim et al US9147872 (hereinafter “Lim”).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a device for detecting venting of a pouch cell (battery module-20 includes battery cells-10) that comprises a pouch case (pouch-11) and an electrode lead (lead tap-12) protruding to one side of the pouch case (See Fig 1), the device comprising: a body part (housing-34); a rotary part having one side provided with a connection surface that is configured to contact the electrode lead (switch-31 includes switch body-32 connected to lead tap-12); a support (guide member-35 positioned between cells-10 and switch-31) configured to face the pouch case at the other side of the rotary part; and a cell pressing block (first end portion-36) coupled to an end of the support (guide member-35) and having a pressing surface configured to press an outer surface of the pouch case. (Col 3 line 7-Col 5 line 5)
However, Choi fails to disclose a rotating part on one surface of the body part; a rotary part configured to rotatably couple to the one surface of the body part by the rotating part. Lim discloses disclose a rotating part (lever member-122) on one surface of the body part (connected using hole-122a); a rotary part (lever member-126) configured to rotatably couple (coupled using coil springs formed with linear sections) to the one surface of the body part by the rotating part. (See Fig 1, Col 2 line 47-Col 3 line 48)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Lim into Choi for the purpose of increasing rotation efficiency. The modification would allow for an increase in a definite restoring force to contact the pouch.
Regarding claim 2, Choi in view of Lim discloses the device according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Choi discloses the cell pressing block (first end portion-36) is configured to transmit a pressing force due to an increase in volume of the pouch case (pouch-11) to the rotary part (switch-31 includes switch body-32 connected to lead tap-12) through the support (guide member-35), and the rotary part is configured to rotate in a first direction by the pressing force transmitted through the support so that the connection surface connects to the electrode lead. (Col 4 line 59-Col 5 line 46)
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, Choi fails to disclose the rotating part comprises a first shaft protruding from the one surface of the body part; and a first torsion spring configured to: couple the first shaft and the rotary part to each others and supply torque to the rotary part. Lim discloses the rotating part (lever member-122) comprises a first shaft (linear part-116) protruding from the one surface of the body part; and a first torsion spring (coil spring-112) configured to: couple the first shaft and the rotary part to each others and supply torque to the rotary part. (See Fig 1, Col 2 line 47-Col 3 line 48)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Lim into Choi for the purpose of increasing rotation efficiency. The modification would allow for an increase in a definite restoring force to contact the pouch.
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, Choi fails to disclose the first torsion spring is configured to transmit the to the rotary part as the rotary part rotates in the first direction and the rotary part is configured to rotate in a second direction by the torque so that the connection surface is released from the electrode lead. Lim discloses the first torsion spring (coil spring-112) is configured to transmit the to the rotary part (switch-31 includes switch body-32 connected to lead tap-12) as the rotary part rotates in the first direction and the rotary part is configured to rotate in a second direction by the torque so that the connection surface is released from the electrode lead (Col 4 line 48-Col 5 line 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Lim into Choi for the purpose of increasing rotation efficiency. The modification would allow for an increase in a definite restoring force to contact the pouch.
Regarding claim 5, Choi in view of Lim discloses the device according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Choi discloses the body part (hosuing-34) comprises a lead seating part having a stepped shape configured to seat the electrode lead. (See Figs 1 and 5)
Regarding claim 6, Choi in view of Lim discloses the device according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Choi discloses the rotary part includes a conductor.(Col 3 line 7-Col 4 line 17)
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the device according to claim 1.
However, Choi fails to disclose the rotary part includes a connection terminal configured to connect to an external device at the other side based on the rotating part. Lim discloses the rotary part (member-122) includes a connection terminal configured to connect to an external device (rotation angle detector-150) at the other side based on the rotating part. (Col 4 line 17-Col 7 line 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Lim into Choi for the purpose of increasing rotation efficiency. The modification would allow for an increase in a definite restoring force to contact the pouch while maintain a secure connection to the angle detector.
Regarding claim 11, Choi in view of Lim discloses the device according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Choi discloses the cell pressing block (first end portion-36) includes an insulator. (Col 3 line 27-43) Regarding claim 12, Choi in view of Lim discloses the device according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Choi discloses the pressing surface (first end portion-36) includes a curved surface (member-41) that is convex outward.(Col 5 line 21-35)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art made available do not teach, or fairly suggest, a support part on the one surface of the body part and configured to press and support the rotary part on an end of the rotary part in a first direction, the support part comprises: a second shaft protruding from the one surface of the body part; a torsion arm configured to support the rotary part; and a second torsion spring configured to couple the second shaft and the torsion arm to each other and supply torque to the torsion arm or the support comprises: a first support including a hollow having one side open; a second support having a first end at one side, the first end is configured to couple to the cell pressing block, and a second end at the other side, the second end is configured to insert into the hollow of the first support; and a compression spring configured to insert into the hollow of the first support, wherein the compression spring is configured to be between the other side of the first support, which is closed, and the second support to supply elastic force to the second support as disclosed in claims 13-15 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855