CTNF 18/841,607 CTNF 84450 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Email Communication Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 5, & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2020/067169A1 hereafter referred to as Hayashi (reference in the rejection is made to US 2021/0391121 which is an English translation of WO2020/067169A1) . In regards to claim 1, Hayashi discloses An electrochemical device comprising: a positive electrode (21 – fig. 3; [0052]); a negative electrode (22 – fig. 3; [0052]); and a lithium ion conductive electrolyte ([0046-0049]), wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode mixture layer containing a positive electrode active material ([0034]), the positive electrode active material contains particles of a conductive polymer to and from which anions are reversibly dopable and de-dopable ([0034] & [0029]), and a ratio V1/V0 of a volume V1 of pores with a pore size of 0.2 µm or less to a volume V0 of all pores is 0.40 or more when a pore distribution of the positive electrode is measured using a mercury porosimeter (fig. 1; [0012], [0019], table 1, & table 2). In regards to claim 2, Hayashi discloses The electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive polymer includes a polymer of an aniline-based compound ([0031]). In regards to claim 5, Hayashi discloses The electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein a maximum peak is present in a region where the pore size is 0.2 µm or less in a log differential pore volume distribution of the positive electrode (table 1). In regards to claim 7, Hayashi discloses The electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode contains a negative electrode active material that reversibly absorbs and releases lithium ions ([0039-0041]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi in view of JP2013175396A hereafter referred to as Isshiki . In regards to claim 3, Hayashi further discloses further comprising: a current collector ([0034]). Hayashi fails to disclose a carbon layer disposed between the current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer. Isshiki discloses a carbon layer disposed between the current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer ([0131-0132]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a carbon adhesive layer as taught by Isshiki with the electrochemical device of Hayashi to improve the adhesion between the active material and collector. In regards to claim 4, Hayashi as modified by Isshiki further discloses wherein the carbon layer contains carboxymethyl cellulose ammonium ([0135] of Isshiki) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi in view of JP2009253168A hereafter referred to as Tokura . In regards to claim 6, Hayashi fails to disclose wherein the particles have an average particle size of 7 µm or less. Tokura discloses wherein the particles have an average particle size of 7 µm or less ([0012-0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conducive polymer particles of Hayashi to have a particle size as taught by Tokura to obtain an electrochemical device with a thin electrode and increased capacitance . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0328223 – [0084] US 2015/0235777 – [0036] JP2012138458A – table 1 Communication Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID M SINCLAIR whose telephone number is (571)270-5068. The examiner can normally be reached M-TH from 8AM-4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/841,607 Page 2 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/841,607 Page 3 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/841,607 Page 4 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/841,607 Page 5 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/841,607 Page 7 Art Unit: 2848