DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2023/055085, filed March 1, 2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) by application no. EP22159773.5, filed in the European Patent Office on march 2, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 26, 2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. The IDS document was considered. A signed copy of each form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Status of Claims
5. Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 10, 11, and 20 are objected to for depending on a rejected base claim.
7. Applicant is advised that should claim 4 or 5 be found allowable, the other of claim 4 or 5 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In the present case, the claims are identical. Claim 4 and claim 5 present the exact same subject matter, claim 4 in structure form and claim 5 in word/chemical name form. As written, the claims are identical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating a disease or disorder mediated by PDE5 activity and/or NO related endothelial dysfunction and treating a disease or disorder for promoting hair growth, does not reasonably provide enablement for prevention of the aforementioned conditions, diseases, or disorders. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
As a general rule, enablement must be commensurate with the scope of claim language. MPEP 2164.08 states, “The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that “the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation’.” In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)” (emphasis added). The “make and use the full scope of the invention without undue experimentation” language was repeated in 2005 in Warner-Lambert Co. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 75 USPQ2d 1865, and Scripps Research Institute v. Nemerson, 78 USPQ2d 1019 asserts: “A lack of enablement for the full scope of a claim, however, is a legitimate rejection.” The principle was explicitly affirmed most recently in Auto. Tech. Int’l, Inc. v. BMW of N. Am., Inc., 501 F.3d 1274, 84 USPQ2d 1108 (Fed. Cir. 2007), Monsanto Co. v. Syngenta Seeds, Inc., 503 F.3d 1352, 84 U.S.P.Q.2d 1705 (Fed. Cir. 2007), and Sitrick v. Dreamworks, LLC, 516 F.3d 993, 85 USPQ2d 1826 (Fed. Cir. 2008). See also In re Cortright, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1466 and Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Rhone-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 49 USPQ2d 1370.
Pursuant to In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), one considers the following factors to determine whether undue experimentation is required: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. Some experimentation is not fatal; the issue is whether the amount of experimentation is “undue”; see In re Vaeck, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1444.
The analysis is as follows:
A) Breadth of claims. The breadth of the claims is drawn to methods for treatment and prevention of a disease or disorder mediated by PDE5 activity and/or NO related endothelial dysfunction and treating/preventing a disease or disorder for promoting hair growth.
The prophylaxis or prevention means to anticipate or counter in advance, to keep from happening, etc. and there is no disclosure as to how one skilled in the art can reasonably establish the basis and the type of subject to which the instant compounds and compositions can be administered in order to have the "preventive" effect. How would one show a correlation that the diseases of the instant claims are prevented by the compounds of the invention, or that the subject would not have contracted the disease without administration of the instantly claimed compounds? How is the initial onset of the aforementioned diseases prevented?
B) The nature of the invention and predictability in the art. The invention is directed toward medicine and is therefore physiological in nature. It is well established that “the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved,” and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic or preventative regimen on its face.
C) Direction or Guidance and Working Examples. The direction provided is very limited.
The applicants have not provided any chemical or biological data and/or testing results to prevent any of the aforementioned diseases, as encompassed by this language. In addition, no definition within the specification to any extent as to what is encompassed by the claim language in the current application. An applicant must clearly identify these things.
The only direction or guidance present in the instant specification is the listing of diseases applicant considers as treatable and preventable by the claimed compounds.
There are absolutely no working examples present for the prevention of any disease or condition as claimed.
Pharmacological activity in general is a very unpredictable area. Note that in cases involving physiological activity such as the instant case, “the scope of enablement obviously varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved.” See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
Furthermore, there is no evidence of record, which would enable the skilled artisan in the identification of the people who have the potential of becoming afflicted with the broad list of disorders, as claimed herein, in order to prevent the initial onset of either disease. Applicant has not provided any competent evidence or disclosed tests that are highly predictive for the pharmaceutical use for preventing the diseases by administering the instantly claimed fibroblasts.
See MPEP 2164.02 (“Compliance with the enablement requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph, does not turn on whether an example is disclosed … Lack of a working example, however, is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.”). The specification merely sets forth assay data which are not “reasonably correlated” to the prevention of the claimed diseases and the entirety of claimed compounds. See MPEP 2164.02 (“The issue of “correlation” is related to the issue of the presence or absence of working examples. “Correlation” as used herein refers to the relationship between in vitro … assays and a disclosed or a claimed method of use. An in vitro … example, in the specification, in effect, constitutes a “working example” if that example “correlates with a disclosed or claimed method invention. If there is no correlation, then the examples do not constitute “working examples.” … For a claimed genus [e.g., metabolic disorders], representative examples together with a statement applicable to the genus as a whole will ordinarily be sufficient if one skilled in the art … would expect the claimed genus could be used in the manner without undue experimentation”). While Applicants do indeed make various statements in the specification that their claimed compounds will effectively treat the genus of diseases associated encompassed by the claims, such is not supported by examples. That is, the limited testing set forth in the specification does not constitute a “working example” within the meaning of MPEP 2164.02 let alone a “representative” set of examples that would be required the describe this enormous genus.
D) State of the Prior Art. Fibroblasts have not been successfully used as an agent for the prevention of the full scope of claimed diseases.
E) Skill of those in the art.
The state of the prior art is that the pharmacological art involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which fibroblasts exhibit the desired pharmacological activities (i.e. what compounds can prevent which specific disease by what mechanism). There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any preventative regimen on its face.
While a full discussion of each disease which is encompasses by Applicant’s claim language will not be given, the following examples teach that the state of the prior art with respect to the claimed diseases has not advanced to the point of being predictive of the treatment, and prevention of the breadth of diseases instantly claimed.
F) The quantity of experimentation needed. The quantity of experimentation needed is undue experimentation. One of skill in the art would need to determine what diseases, disorders, or conditions out of all diseases, disorders, or conditions would be benefited and would furthermore then have to determine which of the claimed compounds in the instant invention would provide prevention of the diseases claimed.
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would be faced with an undue amount of experimentation to use the fibroblasts for the full scope of the claimed intended uses.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. {In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)}.
The specification fails to provide sufficient support of the broad use of the methods of administering compounds of the formula (I) in the prevention of the claimed diseases as a result necessitating one of skill to perform an exhaustive search for which diseases can be treated or prevented by what compounds of the invention in order to practice the claimed invention.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors and In re Fisher (CCPA 1970) discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, a person of skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to test which diseases can be treated by the compounds encompassed in the instant claims, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 1-9, 12-13, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/215433 (‘433) in view of U.S. Patent no. 8,268,785 (‘785).
13. Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/215433 (‘433) in view of U.S. Patent no. 8,268,785 (‘785) in further view of US 2002/0182162 (‘162).
WO 2018/215433 teaches compositions comprising compounds of the present claims, formula 1b on page 29 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 3 of instant claims 2-5, formula 1d on page 30 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 4 of instant claims 2-5, formula 1i on page 31 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 2 of instant claims 2-6 and 17, formula 1k on page 32 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 5 of instant claims 2-5, formula 1l on page 32 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 6 of instant claims 2-5, formula 1m on page 32 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 7 of instant claims 2-5, formula 1n on page 33 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 1 of instant claims 2-6, 16, and 18-19, formula 1o on page 33 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 8 of instant claims 2-5, formula 1p on page 33 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 9 of instant claims 2-5, formula 1q on page 34 of ‘433 corresponding to compound 10 of instant claims 2-5. WO 2018/215433 teaches topical compositions generally, page 52 starting at line 10 and solvents generally, such as ethanol, on page 13. ‘433 also teaches methods for treating disorders ‘where a disturbed cGMP balance occurred and/or PDE5 inhibition is thought to be beneficial,’ such as skin conditions including skin aging and skin fibrosis, see page 3. WO 2018/215433 does not teach the concentration range of claims 1 for topical administration, nor the narrower ranges of claims 7-8 and 18-19. U.S. Patent no. 8,268,785 cures this deficiency.
U.S. Patent no. 8,268,785 teaches the use of PDE5 inhibitors for treating hypopigmentary disorders (skin conditions). ‘785 teaches PDE5 inhibitors in the form of topical compositions in columns 19-20. ‘785 also teaches solvents in composition such as water-propylene glycol in liquid topical preparations. Dosages for topical compositions are taught at columns 19-20, including ranges that overlap with the claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 14-15, US 2002/0182162 teaches topical drugs for the treatment of hair loss and alopecia, specifically comprising a mixture of nitric oxide donors, as in the compounds of the instant claims, and cGMP-PDE5 inhibitors, as in all three prior art references.
Regarding the dosages of ‘785, see MPEP 2144.05(I): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Applicants can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on ranges by showing the criticality of the claimed range. “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 716.02 - § 716.02(g) for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. Further see See MPEP 2144.05.I: I. OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS, In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range.")…Absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the methods and the criticality of the claimed amounts with the overlapping ranges, the determination of the optimum or workable range(s) given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan.
Regarding the combination of references, with respect to this difference, MPEP 2141 states, "The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusatory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) " Obvious to try " - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention."
Based on the teachings of the MPEP and KSR above, by employing the rationale in A and G above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the aforementioned modifications and arrive at the presently claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use PDE5 inhibitors of WO 2018/215433 in topical compositions, as taught by all references, with variations of the dosage amounts taught by U.S. Patent no. 8,268,785, for the treatment of conditions of the prior art.
If a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case. See, e.g., In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification, In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 750, 34 USPQ2d 1684, 1687 (Fed. Cir. 1995), by counsel, In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 299, 36 USPQ2d 1089, 1094-95 (Fed. Cir. 1995), or by way of an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, e.g., Soni, 54 F.3d at 750, 34 USPQ2d at 1687; In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468, 1474, 223 USPQ 785, 789-90 (Fed. Cir. 1984). However, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). See MPEP 2145.
Please note that if Applicant intends to rely on unexpected or unforeseen results, attention is invited to MPEP 716. Absent clear, convincing, side-by-side data demonstrating unobviousness vis-à-vis the prior art commensurate with the scope of protection sought, the claims are considered prima facie obviousness.
Double Patenting
15. Claims 1-9 and 12-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/843,591 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/843,591 teach topical (transdermal) compositions for the treatment of diseases of claim 1 of ‘591 comprising compounds of the present claims, see species claims 4-5, comprising overlapping concentrations as in the present claims (claim 8 of ‘591), render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding the dosage ranges, see MPEP 2144.05(I): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Applicants can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on ranges by showing the criticality of the claimed range. “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 716.02 - § 716.02(g) for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. Further see See MPEP 2144.05.I: I. OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS, In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range.")…Absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the methods and the criticality of the claimed amounts with the overlapping ranges, the determination of the optimum or workable range(s) given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
16. No claims allowed.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMANTHA L SHTERENGARTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623