Detailed Action
This Office action is made in response to Amendment, filed 16 January 2026 (“Reply”). Applicant has amended Claims 1, 4 – 5, 11, 22, and 31 - 32. As amended, Claims 1 – 13, 22, and 29 - 34 are presented for examination.
In Office action of 16 October 2025 (“Office Action”):
Claims 1 and 22 were objected to because of informalities.
The drawings were objected to because some text was blurry and difficult to decipher.
Claims 4 – 6 and 31 - 33 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6 – 10, 22, 29 – 31 and 33 - 34 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Griffin et al., US Pub. 2013/0064524 A1 (hereafter Griffin).
Claim(s) 5 and 32 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin in view Papish et al., US Pub. 2014/0049695 A1 (hereinafter Papish).
Claim(s) 11 - 13 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin in view YIN, US Pub. 2019/0251592 A1 (hereinafter Yin).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-10, 22, 29-31 and 33-34 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Although a new ground of rejection has been used to address additional limitations that have been added to Claims 1, 11 and 22, a response is considered necessary for several of applicant's arguments since the Griffin reference will continue to be used to meet several claimed limitations.
Applicant argues that Griffin fails to disclose all the limitation of independent claim 1, (Reply pp. 10 – 12). Specifically, applicant argues that Griffin does not disclose “sending first indication information to a first server” and “to change a virtual resource in account information of a user”, (Reply p. 12). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Griffin teaches that when the content consumption counter satisfies a time characteristic, for example, a minimum advertisement viewing time, the viewer gains the virtual resource of playback control, (Griffin: [0005], [0023], [0026] and [0028]). In other words, the ability of the user to control the playback of content is changed from not being able to control playback to being able to skip or fast forward, once the time characteristic is satisfied. The instant specification indicates that a type of virtual resource could include permissions to use specific functions of applications, ([0058]). The specific functions could include playback control such as skipping and fast forward.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Griffin does not teach sending first indication information to a first server, Griffin teaches that time characteristics and the minimum advertisement viewing can be configured server-side by the broadcaster of the original program, ([0028]). The content consumption counter tracks the amount of time the viewer has watched an online video, (Griffin: [0022]). When an online advertisement is being played, the viewer is prevented from controlling the playback until the minimum advertisement viewing time has elapsed, (Griffin: [0023]). The online content and online advertisements are not downloaded to the client device but are provided online, for example, from a server or broadcaster, (Griffin: [0030]). The broadest reasonable interpretation of first indication information could include the time characteristics which could be communicated via a server. Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection of independent Claim 1 and its dependent claims. For similar reasons, the examiner maintains the rejection of independent Claims 11 and 22 and their associated dependent claims.
The newly added limitations to independent claims are disclosed by Zweig as presented in the rejection below.
Response to Arguments - Claim Objections
Applicant has amended Claims 1 and 22 to correct the minor informalities. Therefore, the objection to Claims 1 and 22 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments - Drawings
Applicant has amended Fig. 4 and provided a replacement sheet. Therefore, the objection to the drawings is withdrawn. are objected to because the text for S302, S304, S305 and S308 in Fig. 4 is blurry and difficult to decipher.
Response to Arguments - Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant has amended Claims 4 – 6 and 31 – 33 to correct antecedent basis. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 4 – 6 and 31 – 33 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6 – 10, 22, 29 – 31 and 33 - 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al., US Pub. 2013/0064524 A1 (hereafter Griffin) in view of Zweig et al., US Pub. 2013/0219426 A1 (hereinafter Zweig).
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6 – 10, 22, 29 – 31 and 33 - 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Griffin et al., US Pub. 2013/0064524 A1 (hereafter Griffin) in view of Zweig et al., US Pub. 2013/0219426 A1 (hereinafter Zweig).
In response to Claim 1, Griffin discloses a method for playback control the method comprising:
obtaining a playback duration of a first playback content in a playback scene (Griffin: [0004], where the duration of online advertisement playback can be determined; [0005], where a content consumption counter tracks an amount of time the user has watched the video content [playback duration of a first playback content]; Fig. 2 and [0022], where upon the start of playback, a content consumption counter begins to track the amount of time the viewer has the video content portion [playback scene] 102 of the program [step 204]; Fig. 1 and [0020], where advertisement sections 104a, 104b and 104c have varying durations - 104a is 3 minutes in duration, 104b is also 3 minutes in duration, and 104c is two minutes in duration); and
in response the playback duration satisfying a target condition, sending first indication information to a first server, wherein the first indication information indicates to change a virtual resource in account information of a user, wherein the target condition corresponds to the playback scene of the first playback content (Griffin: [0023], where when the content consumption counter satisfies a time characteristic [target condition], i.e. minimum advertisement viewing MAV, the viewer gains playback control [virtual resource], such as skipping or fast-forwarding; [0005], where the duration of the portion of the advertisement section [playback scene] is dependent on the time characteristics; [0026], where the MAV time is dependent on the time characteristic; [0028], where the time characteristic and the MAV time can be configured server-side by the broadcaster of the original program). But Griffin fails to explicitly disclose wherein changing the virtual resource in the account information of the user comprises at least one of increasing a numerical value of the virtual resource in the account information of the user or adding a new virtual resource to the account information of the user.
Zweig from a similar endeavor teaches wherein changing the virtual resource in the account information of the user comprises at least one of increasing a numerical value of the virtual resource in the account information of the user or adding a new virtual resource to the account information of the user (Zweig: [0090], where a user may be shown a message that they will earn X virtual currency units for viewing content such that upon completion of the video the user is rewarded with the currency such that the user account is changed to reflect the addition of this currency; [0095], where the user device may contact the publisher or entity that tracks viewing of an advertisement and may record that the video was watched).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Griffin in view of Zweig such that the incentive rewards for watching advertisements can be reflected in the user account by increasing the numerical value of the reward, (Zweig: [0090]). As such, users can be incentivized to watch these videos by being awarded virtual currencies in exchange for having given their time to view the videos, (Zweig: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target condition comprises a target playback duration of the first playback content (Griffin: [0005], where a content consumption counter tracks an amount of time the user has watched the video content; Fig. 2 and [0022], where upon the start of playback, a content consumption counter begins to track the amount of time the viewer has watched the video content portion 102 of the program [step 204]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a timer is displayed on a playback page corresponding to the playback scene, the timer is configured to count a playback time of the first playback content, and a maximum counting duration of the timer is the target playback duration (Griffin: Fig. 5A and [0047], where a countdown timer is displayed to the user indicating the minimum advertisement viewing MAV time until the user will regain control of the playback; [0005], where the content consumption counter tracks an amount of time the user has watched the video content. Duration of the portion of the advertisement section is dependent on time characteristics; [0020], where different advertisement sections have varying durations; [0004], where duration of online advertisement playback is determined). .
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 3, wherein a timing mode of the timer comprises accumulative timing and reset timing, and the timing mode of the timer corresponds to the playback scene of the first playback content (Griffin: [0009], where the content consumption counter tracks a cumulative amount of time the user has watched the video over the multiple video content sections; [0024], where the content consumption counter is not reset, but continues to track the viewer’s cumulative content-viewing time; [0006], where the tracking module may reset the content consumption counter when the advertisement section has been viewed; [0023], where after a viewer has consumed the MAV-time worth of advertisement, the content consumption counter is reset; [0035], where after watching the advertisement section the content consumption counter can be reset).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the timer for the resetting timing resets upon a switch from the first playback content to a second playback content, and upon a switch from the second playback content back to the first playback content, the timer restarts from zero (Griffin: [0031], where a content consumption counter monitors program playback by the delivery module to track an amount of time the viewer has watched the video content of the program and determines if an advertisement needs to be shown to the viewer; [0032], where the delivery module presents the required amount of a portion of an advertisement and then resets the content consumption counter).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 1, wherein second indication information is further displayed on a playback page corresponding to the playback scene, and the second indication information indicates a change parameter of the virtual resource (Griffin: Figs. 6A-6B and [0048], where when a viewer’s control is unblocked during playback of an advertisement, the interface allows the view to advance to a different frame by interacting with the progress bar; Fig. 2 and [0023], where while the viewing is watching a video and indicates they want to skip, it is determined if the content consumption counter satisfies a time characteristic indicating the viewer has a minimum advertisement viewing MAV before they can skip. After the viewer has consumed the MAV-time worth of advertisement, the content consumption counter is reset).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises before obtaining the playback duration of the first playback content in the playback scene,
sending a first request to the first server, the first request being configured to request to obtain the first playback content played in the playback scene (Griffin: Fig. 2 and [0022], where an online program is provided to a viewer; [0023], where an input from the viewer to skip to a different frame [playback scene] is received);
wherein the first request includes an identifier of the playback scene and an identifier of the user (Griffin: [0023], where the viewer inputs a skip to a different frame; [0007], where online video content is provided to a user and a content consumption counter tracks the amount of time the user has watched the video content; Fig. 4A and [0035], where the viewer requests to jump to the beginning of video content section 102b and based on tracked viewing time of the user, the viewer is required to watch 180 second of the advertisement section).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises after sending the first request to the first server,
receiving first feedback sent by the first server, the first feedback including the first playback content to be played, the target condition and a change parameter of the virtual resource (Griffin: Fig. 4C and [0037]-[0038], where in response to user requesting to jump to the middle of the video content section 102c after watching portions of video content sections 102a and 102b, the MAV rules dictate that the viewer is required to watch 60 second of advertisements [target condition]. The viewer is prevented from controlling the playback [change parameter of the virtual resource] until he has watched the 60 seconds of advertisements. The desired content section in 102c is available for playback after the requisite advertisement viewing); and
playing the first playback content in the playback scene, based on the first feedback (Griffin: [0038], where after the viewer has watched the requisite amount of advertisements, the control is unblocked and the viewer can skip to another frame in the program or be redirected to video content section 102c).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first playback content comprises a video and/or a text (Griffin: Fig. 1 and [0018], where online program includes video content and advertisements where the program 100 is 30 minutes with 22 minutes of online video content 102 and eight minutes of online advertisements; Figs. 5A and [0047], where a message can be displayed notifying the viewer that his control is blocked).
In response to Claim 22, Griffin discloses a terminal device, comprising:
a processor (Griffin: [0007], computer program product); and
a memory configured to store a computer program (Griffin: [0007], non-transitory computer readable medium for playing online advertising);
wherein the processor is configured to, by executing the computer program, perform operations (Griffin: [0007], where the computer program product includes instruction being operable to cause data processing apparatus to provide online video content to a user) comprising:
obtaining a playback duration of a first playback content in a playback scene (Griffin: [0004], where the duration of online advertisement playback can be determined; [0005], where a content consumption counter tracks an amount of time the user has watched the video content [playback duration of a first playback content]; Fig. 2 and [0022], where upon the start of playback, a content consumption counter begins to track the amount of time the viewer has the video content portion [playback scene] 102 of the program [step 204]; Fig. 1 and [0020], where advertisement sections 104a, 104b and 104c have varying durations - 104a is 3 minutes in duration, 104b is also 3 minutes in duration, and 104c is two minutes in duration); and
in response the playback duration satisfying a target condition, sending first indication information to a first server, wherein the first indication information indicates to change a virtual resource in account information of a user, wherein the target condition corresponds to the playback scene of the first playback content (Griffin: [0023], where when the content consumption counter satisfies a time characteristic [target condition], i.e. minimum advertisement viewing MAV, the viewer gains playback control [virtual resource], such as skipping or fast-forwarding; [0005], where the duration of the portion of the advertisement section [playback scene] is dependent on the time characteristics; [0026], where the MAV time is dependent on the time characteristic; [0028], where the time characteristic and the MAV time can be configured server-side by the broadcaster of the original program). But Griffin fails to explicitly disclose wherein changing the virtual resource in the account information of the user comprises at least one of increasing a numerical value of the virtual resource in the account information of the user or adding a new virtual resource to the account information of the user.
Zweig from a similar endeavor teaches wherein changing the virtual resource in the account information of the user comprises at least one of increasing a numerical value of the virtual resource in the account information of the user or adding a new virtual resource to the account information of the user (Zweig: [0090], where a user may be shown a message that they will earn X virtual currency units for viewing content such that upon completion of the video the user is rewarded with the currency such that the user account is changed to reflect the addition of this currency; [0095], where the user device may contact the publisher or entity that tracks viewing of an advertisement and may record that the video was watched).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Griffin in view of Zweig such that the incentive rewards for watching advertisements can be reflected in the user account by increasing the numerical value of the reward, (Zweig: [0090]). As such, users can be incentivized to watch these videos by being awarded virtual currencies in exchange for having given their time to view the videos, (Zweig: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 29, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the terminal device of claim 22, wherein the target condition comprises a target playback duration of the first playback content (Griffin: [0005], where a content consumption counter tracks an amount of time the user has watched the video content; Fig. 2 and [0022], where upon the start of playback, a content consumption counter begins to track the amount of time the viewer has watched the video content portion 102 of the program [step 204]).
Regarding Claim 30, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the terminal device of claim 29, wherein a timer is displayed on a playback page corresponding to the playback scene, the timer is configured to count a playback time of the first playback content, and a maximum counting duration of the timer is the target playback duration (Griffin: Fig. 5A and [0047], where a countdown timer is displayed to the user indicating the minimum advertisement viewing MAV time until the user will regain control of the playback; [0005], where the content consumption counter tracks an amount of time the user has watched the video content. Duration of the portion of the advertisement section is dependent on time characteristics; [0020], where different advertisement sections have varying durations; [0004], where duration of online advertisement playback is determined).
Regarding Claim 31, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the terminal device of claim 30, wherein a timing mode of the timer comprises accumulative timing and reset timing, and the timing mode of the timer corresponds to the playback scene of the first playback content (Griffin: [0009], where the content consumption counter tracks a cumulative amount of time the user has watched the video over the multiple video content sections; [0024], where the content consumption counter is not reset, but continues to track the viewer’s cumulative content-viewing time; [0006], where the tracking module may reset the content consumption counter when the advertisement section has been viewed; [0023], where after a viewer has consumed the MAV-time worth of advertisement, the content consumption counter is reset; [0035], where after watching the advertisement section the content consumption counter can be reset).
Regarding Claim 33, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the terminal device of claim 31, wherein the timer for the resetting timing resets upon a switch from the first playback content to a second playback content, and upon a switch from the second playback content back to the first playback content, the timer restarts from zero (Griffin: [0031], where a content consumption counter monitors program playback by the delivery module to track an amount of time the viewer has watched the video content of the program and determines if an advertisement needs to be shown to the viewer; [0032], where the delivery module presents the required amount of a portion of an advertisement and then resets the content consumption counter).
Regarding Claim 34, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the terminal device of claim 22, wherein second indication information is further displayed on a playback page corresponding to the playback scene, and the second indication information indicates a change parameter of the virtual resource (Griffin: Figs. 6A-6B and [0048], where when a viewer’s control is unblocked during playback of an advertisement, the interface allows the view to advance to a different frame by interacting with the progress bar; Fig. 2 and [0023], where while the viewing is watching a video and indicates they want to skip, it is determined if the content consumption counter satisfies a time characteristic indicating the viewer has a minimum advertisement viewing MAV before they can skip. After the viewer has consumed the MAV-time worth of advertisement, the content consumption counter is reset).
Claim(s) 5 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin in view of Zweig as applied to claims 4 and 31 above, and further in view of Papish et al., US Pub. 2014/0049695 A1 (hereinafter Papish).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 4, wherein there is a timer for accumulating timing (Griffin: [0009], where content consumption counter tracks a cumulative amount of time the user has watched the video over the multiple video content sections; [0010], where if the content consumption counter indicates that a viewer has watched less than 60 seconds of video, the user is allowed to move to another video content) But the combination of Griffin and Zweig fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the timer for the accumulating timing suspends counting upon a switch from the first playback content to a second playback content, and upon a switch from the second playback content back to the first playback content, the timer resumes counting from a time when the counting is suspended.
Papish from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the timer for the accumulating timing suspends counting upon a switch from the first playback content to a second playback content, and upon a switch from the second playback content back to the first playback content, the timer resumes counting from a time when the counting is suspended (Papish: [0098], where a timer may be started when content meeting a criteria is started and the timer is paused when content meeting the criteria stops being presented, i.e. the content enters a commercial interruption. When the content meeting a criteria resumes, measuring time resumes, e.g. the timer continues; [0075], where it can be determined whether to start measuring time based on attributes/characteristics of the content being presented matching certain criteria. When it is determined that the content being presented stops matching the criteria, the current time measurement is paused or stopped. The time measurement resumes when the content being presented starts matching the criteria again).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Griffin and Zweig in view of Papish such that Griffin’s cumulative content consumption counter (Griffin: [0009]) could be modified in view of a timer disclosed by Papish which measures content viewing time and pauses/resumes content viewing timer for commercial interruptions, (Papish: [0098]) to more accurately record content viewing time. This allows for a personalized experience to be created as user activity is monitored to determine various user preferences (Papish: [0033]) such that user interfaces allow users to easily identify content that they may desire, (Papish: [0019]).
Regarding Claim 32, the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig discloses the terminal device of claim 31, wherein there is a timer for the accumulating timing (Griffin: [0009], where content consumption counter tracks a cumulative amount of time the user has watched the video over the multiple video content sections; [0010], where if the content consumption counter indicates that a viewer has watched less than 60 seconds of video, the user is allowed to move to another video content) But the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig fails to explicitly disclose wherein the timer for the accumulating timing suspends counting upon a switch from the first playback content to a second playback content, and upon a switch from the second playback content back to the first playback content, the timer resumes counting from a time when the counting is suspended.
Papish from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the timer for the accumulating timing suspends counting upon a switch from the first playback content to a second playback content, and upon a switch from the second playback content back to the first playback content, the timer resumes counting from a time when the counting is suspended (Papish: [0098], where a timer may be started when content meeting a criteria is started and the timer is paused when content meeting the criteria stops being presented, i.e. the content enters a commercial interruption. When the content meeting a criteria resumes, measuring time resumes, e.g. the timer continues; [0075], where it can be determined whether to start measuring time based on attributes/characteristics of the content being presented matching certain criteria. When it is determined that the content being presented stops matching the criteria, the current time measurement is paused or stopped. The time measurement resumes when the content being presented starts matching the criteria again).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Griffin and Zweig in view of Papish such that Griffin’s cumulative content consumption counter (Griffin: [0009]) could be modified in view of a timer disclosed by Papish which measures content viewing time and pauses/resumes content viewing timer for commercial interruptions, (Papish: [0098]) to more accurately record content viewing time. This allows for a personalized experience to be created as user activity is monitored to determine various user preferences (Papish: [0033]) such that user interfaces allow users to easily identify content that they may desire, (Papish: [0019]).
Claim(s) 11 - 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin in view YIN, US Pub. 2019/0251592 A1 (hereinafter Yin) and Zweig.
In response to Claim 11, Griffin discloses a method for playback control, the method comprising:
receiving a first request sent by a client, wherein the first request is configured to request to obtain a first playback content played in a playback scene and the first request includes an identifier of the playback scene (Griffin: Fig. 2 and [0022], where an online program is provided to a viewer; [0023], where an input from the viewer to skip to a different frame [playback scene] is received; [0023], where the viewer inputs a skip to a different frame; [0007], where online video content is provided to a user and a content consumption counter tracks the amount of time the user has watched the video content; Fig. 4A and [0035], where the viewer requests to jump to the beginning of video content section 102b and based on tracked viewing time of the user, the viewer is required to watch 180 second of the advertisement section);
determining, based on the identifier of the playback scene, a target condition corresponding to the first playback content to be played (Griffin: Fig. 4C and [0037]-[0038], where in response to user requesting to jump to the middle of the video content section 102c after watching portions of video content sections 102a and 102b, the MAV rules dictate that the viewer is required to watch 60 second of advertisements [target condition]).; and
sending first feedback to the client, wherein the first feedback includes the first playback content and the target condition (Griffin: Fig. 4C and [0037]-[0038], where in response to user requesting to jump to the middle of the video content section 102c after watching portions of video content sections 102a and 102b, the MAV rules dictate that the viewer is required to watch 60 second of advertisements [target condition]. The viewer is prevented from controlling the playback until he has watched the 60 seconds of advertisements. The desired content section in 102c is available for playback after the requisite advertisement viewing). But Griffin fails to explicitly disclose determining a target condition in account information of a user.
Yin from a similar endeavor teaches determining a target condition in account information of a user (Yin: [0034], where media content is presented to the user when duration of the user using the online service reaches a preset time length according to service data for the user account which may include usage information of the online service and records of accumulated rewards for using the online service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Griffin in view of Yin such that the time characteristic that Griffin’s content consumption counter must satisfy, (Griffin: [0023]), could be based on account information of a user, such as a preset time length, as disclosed by Yin, (Yin: [0034]). Some Internet services may provide a virtual or physical reward for a user based on an online time length of the user, thereby increasing adhesion of the user to the service based on statistics of online duration of using the online service by the user, (Yin: [0003]). The service provider directly provides a reward to the user when the duration reaches a preset time length, (Yin: [0003]).
But the combined teaching of Griffin and Yin fail to explicitly disclose generating indication information and sending the indication information to the client, wherein the indication information indicates a number of virtual items to be obtained by playing the first playback content in accordance with the target condition.
Zweig from a similar endeavor teaches generating indication information and sending the indication information to the client, wherein the indication information indicates a number of virtual items to be obtained by playing the first playback content in accordance with the target condition Zweig: [0090], where a user may be shown a message that they will earn X virtual currency units for viewing content such that upon completion of the video the user is rewarded with the currency such that the user account is changed to reflect the addition of this currency; [0095], where the user device may contact the publisher or entity that tracks viewing of an advertisement and may record that the video was watched).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Griffin and Yin in view of Zweig such that the incentive rewards for watching advertisements can be reflected in the user account by increasing the numerical value of the reward, (Zweig: [0090]). As such, users can be incentivized to watch these videos by being awarded virtual currencies in exchange for having given their time to view the videos, (Zweig: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teaching of Griffin, Yin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first request further includes an identifier of the user (Yin: [0053], where online service providing platform may obtain user identification), and the method further comprises after receiving an obtaining request sent by the client,
sending a second request to a second server, the second request being configured to request to match the first play content corresponding to the user and the second request including an identifier of the user (Yin: [0031], where the online service providing platform may comprise one or more servers that provide an online service which may provide an online service for a user and an online time length reward for the user; [0053], where online service providing platform may obtain user identification and target media content related to the user may be obtained from the media pushing device; [0055], where the user is authenticated); and
receiving second feedback sent by the second server, the second feedback including the first playback content and resource value information of the first playback content, and the resource value information of the first playback content being configured to determine a change parameter of the virtual resource (Yin: [0041], where information of the target media content is received from the media pushing device; [0050], where the service data corresponding to an account of the user is modified after the media content is presented; [0054], where the service data corresponding to the account of the user refers to a record of a virtual or physical possession in the account of the user, for example, recording information of a virtual coin, a point, a voucher, a gift in kind, etc.; [0017], where the service data of the user is modified after the media content is presented to provide a reward).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teaching of Griffin, Yin and Zweig discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the first feedback further includes the change parameter of the virtual resource content (Griffin: [0023], where when the content consumption counter satisfies a time characteristic, i.e. minimum advertisement viewing MAV, the viewer gains playback control, such as skipping or fast-forwarding); the method further comprises after receiving the second feedback sent by the second server,
sending the resource value information of the first playback content to a third server (Yin: [0031], where the online service providing platform may comprise one or more servers that provide an online service which may provide an online service for a user and an online time length reward for the user); and
receiving the change parameter of the virtual resource sent by the third server (Yin: [0003], where the service provider directly provides a reward to the user when the duration reaches a preset time length).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alhadeff et al., US Pub. 2010/0325646 A1 teach providing an incentive to a viewer to view an entire multimedia content where the item of value earned by the viewer are a number of units of virtual currency, ([0061] and [0072]).
Shea et al., US Pub. 2016/0005014 A1 teach that currency will be added to a user account once a user completes the viewing of a video after receiving a message indicating the they will earn virtual currency for viewing an advertisement, ([0090] and [0095]).
Kerns et al., US Pub. 2016/0366465 A1 teach that an interface can display an advertisement counter that displays the playing time left in the video advertisement as well as a skip counter that counts down for when the user can skip the video ad. A user may only be required to watch a certain portion, skip threshold, of a video ad before being able to view the content video, ([0037]).
Chalawsky, US Patent 8,468,056 B1 teaches detecting whether the inserted ad stream is skippable and hence, a skip-element may be presented upon playing a skippable ad stream. The skip-element may also include a countdown to show when the skip-element will become enabled, (Fig. 5 and col. 21 ll. 16 – 42).
Zalewski, US Patent 8,246,454 B2 teaches that when a user is watching a movie, the is given an interactive instruction, such as ‘Say “McDonalds” to end commercial’. A microphone captures the user’s words and the system proceeds to skip the rest of the commercial, (Fig. 9 and col. 10 ll. 13 – 33).
Mahadevan et al., US Pub. 2015/0149297 A1 teach that the user can be given advertising tokens/credits to access digital content by viewing advertisements. Each advertiser can pay for a number of advertising tokens that can be issued to the user, thus reducing the number of other advertisers with which it needs to share a given commercial break. The user is more likely to remember the advertisement if the user did not need to view additional advertisements before being allowed to continue viewing a movie, ([0088]).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/CYNTHIA M FOGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421