DETAILED ACTION
(1)
(2)
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant amended claims 1 and 20. No new matter is entered. Claims 1-18 and 20 are pending before the Office for review.
(3)
Claim Interpretation
Amended claims 1 and 20 require the first and/or second plurality of electrically conductive lines are exposed to the first or second charge transport layer, respectively, and disposed between the respective first or second TCO layer and respective first or second charge transport layer. Examiner is interpreting this requirement to mean the first and/or second plurality of electrically conductive lines are not covered by the TCO layer at the interface of the first or second charge transport layer. The claimed invention does not require direct contact; the claim merely requires the TCO layer not cover the plurality of electrically conductive lines.
(4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR-20200086506-A), which was previously cited. The citations to Kim et al. refer to the previously provided English language machine translation.
With respect to claims 1 and 2, Kim teaches a bifacial solar cell (Figure 1) comprising a first TCO (120) proximate to a first charge transport layer (140), a second TCO layer (170) proximate to a second charge transport layer (160), and a perovskite layer (150) disposed between the first and second charge transport layers. Figure 1 and Pages 3-4. Kim further teaches first and second pluralities of electrically conductive lines in the form of grids (130, 180) are disposed between the first and second TCO layers and the first and second charge transport layers, respectively. Figure 1 and Page 4.
Regarding whether the first and second plurality of electrically conductive lines are exposed to the first and second charge transport layer, respectively, within the scope of the claimed invention, Kim teaches the grids are formed by a metal deposition, patterning and etching process followed by forming the respective TCO layer in a space between the formed grids after masking the formed grid portion. Page 4. The formation process described by Kim masks the first and second grids during the TCO deposition step, meaning they are exposed to the respective charge transport layer within the scope of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 3, Kim teaches the first and second plurality of electrically conductive lines independently comprise aluminum, silver or copper. Page 4.
With respect to claims 6, 7, 8, and 9, Kim teaches the first and second plurality of electrically conductive lines are in the form of a grid, which satisfies the requirement of a periodic pattern of lines. Figure 3 and Page 4.
With respect to claims 10 and 11, Examiner notes the statement “configured to carry photogenerated current” is a statement of intended use that does not further limit the claimed invention. The cited statement recites a function performed by the first and/or second plurality of electrically conductive lines. Any first and/or second plurality of electrically conductive lines meeting the requirements of the claimed invention are capable of the same use absent evidence to the contrary.
In this case, Kim teaches the first and second plurality of electrically conductive grid lines enhance current conduction of the TCO layer by minimizing sheet resistance, meaning they are capable of performing the recited intended use. Kim, Page 5.
With respect to claim 20, Kim teaches a solar cell comprising a first TCO layer proximate to a first charge transport layer, a second TCO layer proximate to a second charge transport layer and a perovskite layer disposed between the first and second charge transport layers, wherein a first plurality of electrically conductive lines is disposed between the first TCO and the first charge transport layer and exposed to the first charge transport layer and a second plurality of electrically conductive lines is disposed between the second TCO layer and the second charge transport layer and exposed to the second charge transport layer. Kim, Figure 1 and Pages 3-4. Kim further teaches a method of illuminating the solar cell to thereby produce photogenerated current. Kim, Pages 3 and 6.
(5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20200086506-A) in view of Surya et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0335285).
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Kim teaches the solar cell comprises an ETL and an HTL but is silent as to the specific materials.
However, Surya, which deals with perovskite solar cells, teaches SnO2 is an effective ETL material and spiro-MeOTAD is an effective HTL materials. Paragraphs 28 and 29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of Kim with Surya is the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Both Kim and Surya teach perovskite solar cells comprising ETL and HTL materials. Surya specifically teaches SnO2 is an effective ETL and spiro-MeOTAD is an effective HTL. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the materials taught by Surya for Kim’s HTL and ETL because Surya teaches them to be effective for that purpose, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
(6)
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20200086506-A) in view of Okada et al. (EP 1 489 628). Middelman et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2005/0109389) and Seo et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0283757) are cited to support statements of fact.
With respect to claims 12, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 18, Kim teaches the composite electrode comprising TCO with a metal grid embedded therein, but is silent as to whether an adhesive layer is disposed between the respective TCO layer and the first or the second plurality of conductive lines.
However, Okada, which deals with solar cells, teaches a titanium or chromium adhesive film is disposed between a TCO material and a metallic grid to perform a diffusion-preventing function. Paragraphs 80 and 82.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electrically conductive chromium or titanium adhesive between the respective TCO and the first and second plurality of electrically conductive lines, respectively, because Okada teaches doing so performs a diffusion-preventing function.
Examiner further notes for the record that copper diffusion through the TCO layer is a known concern in the art. Examiner relies on Middelman to support this statement of fact. Middelman teaches copper has the tendency to diffuse through TCO. Paragraph 32. Kim, as explained above, teaches copper is an effective material for the metal grids. Page 4.
Accordingly, one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to use Okada’s titanium or chromium adhesive to prevent against copper diffusion, as evidenced by Middelman.
With respect to claim 15, modified Kim also teaches titanium oxide is an effective adhesive film that also functions to prevent diffusion. Okada, Paragraphs 80 and 82. Titanium oxide is an insulator. Examiner relies on Seo to support this statement of fact. Seo teaches titanium oxide is an insulator. Paragraph 233.
(7)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the rejection.
(8)
Allowable Subject Matter
Applicant is advised deleting “titanium (Ti)” from claim 17 and incorporating the remaining limitations into the independent claims will place the case in condition for allowance.
(9)
Conclusion
/ELI S MEKHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759