DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 11, 14-16, 19, 24, 26, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (EP3614766A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn et al. disclose a user equipment, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to: receive, via the transceiver, a first configuration identifying a plurality of timing advance values (paragraph [0019]; receiving, from the base station, configuration information indicating one or more preset timing advance values), receive, via the transceiver, a second configuration for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (paragraphs [0008] [0010]; receiving, from a base station, sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information for the transmission of an SRS, wherein the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information indicating at least one preset timing advance value for one or more SRS resources. The one or more SRS resources are grouped into a plurality of SRS resource groups, the timing advance value may be differently set for each SRS resource group), and transmit, via the transceiver, a first SRS on the first SRS resource set using a first timing advance value selected from the plurality of timing advance values based on a usage associated with the first SRS resource set or a time domain configuration associated with the first SRS resource set (paragraphs [0019] [0235]; transmitting the uplink signal at the uplink transmission timing configured using the timing advance value corresponding to the specific SRS resource. Defining an SRS resource type depends on the use (or purpose) of an SRS is taken into consideration. A Type A SRS resource for UL CSI acquisition, a Type B SRS resource for UL beam management, and a Type C SRS resource for DL CSI acquisition may be taken into consideration. An eNB may differently configure a CL TA process (TA value, paragraph [0216]) for each SRS resource type).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value comprises a default timing advance value associated with beam management SRS usage or antenna switching SRS usage (paragraph [0236]; the SRS resources configured (or allocated) for beam management may be configured to correspond to a pre-configured default CL TA process (TA value) (e.g., the CL TA process of a primary cell/TRP).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value comprises a default timing advance value associated with periodic SRS resource sets or semi-persistent SRS resource sets (paragraphs [0087] [0236]; UE may be configured with the following higher layer parameters for beam management that include time domain operation (e.g., an aperiodic operation, a periodic operation, semi-persistent operation. SRS resources configured (or allocated) for beam management may be configured to correspond to a pre-configured default CL TA process (value)).
Regarding claim 11, Ahn et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG); and a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values is associated with a second TAG configured after the first TAG (paragraph [0096]; the TAs for different TRPs may belong to different TA groups (TAGs). The wireless device may be configured to start or restart a timing alignment timer (e.g., timeAlignmentTimer) for a TRP (for the associated TAG) when it receives a TA command for the corresponding TRP).
Regarding claim 14, Ahn et al. disclose a method for wireless communication at a user equipment, comprising: receiving a first configuration identifying a plurality of timing advance values (paragraph [0019]; receiving, from the base station, configuration information indicating one or more preset timing advance values); receiving a second configuration for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (paragraphs [0008] [0010]; receiving, from a base station, sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information for the transmission of an SRS, wherein the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information indicating at least one preset timing advance value for one or more SRS resources. The one or more SRS resources are grouped into a plurality of SRS resource groups, the timing advance value may be differently set for each SRS resource group); and transmitting a first SRS on the first SRS resource set using a first timing advance value selected from the plurality of timing advance values based on a usage associated with the first SRS resource set or a time domain configuration associated with the first SRS resource set (paragraphs [0019] [0235]; transmitting the uplink signal at the uplink transmission timing configured using the timing advance value corresponding to the specific SRS resource. Defining an SRS resource type depends on the use (or purpose) of an SRS is taken into consideration. A Type A SRS resource for UL CSI acquisition, a Type B SRS resource for UL beam management, and a Type C SRS resource for DL CSI acquisition may be taken into consideration. An eNB may differently configure a CL TA process (TA value, paragraph [0216]) for each SRS resource type).
Regarding claim 15, Ahn et al. disclose a user equipment, comprising: means for receiving a first configuration identifying a plurality of timing advance values (paragraph [0019]; receiving, from the base station, configuration information indicating one or more preset timing advance values); means for receiving a second configuration for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (paragraphs [0008] [0010]; receiving, from a base station, sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information for the transmission of an SRS, wherein the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information indicating at least one preset timing advance value for one or more SRS resources. The one or more SRS resources are grouped into a plurality of SRS resource groups, the timing advance value may be differently set for each SRS resource group); and means for transmitting a first SRS on the first SRS resource set using a first timing advance value selected from the plurality of timing advance values based on a usage associated with the first SRS resource set or a time domain configuration associated with the first SRS resource set (paragraphs [0019] [0235]; transmitting the uplink signal at the uplink transmission timing configured using the timing advance value corresponding to the specific SRS resource. Defining an SRS resource type depends on the use (or purpose) of an SRS is taken into consideration. A Type A SRS resource for UL CSI acquisition, a Type B SRS resource for UL beam management, and a Type C SRS resource for DL CSI acquisition may be taken into consideration. An eNB may differently configure a CL TA process (TA value, paragraph [0216]) for each SRS resource type).
Regarding claim 16, Ahn et al. disclose a network entity, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, a first configuration identifying a plurality of timing advance values (paragraph [0019]; receiving, from the base station, configuration information indicating one or more preset timing advance values), transmit, via the transceiver, a second configuration for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (paragraphs [0008] [0010]; receiving, from a base station, sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information for the transmission of an SRS, wherein the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information indicating at least one preset timing advance value for one or more SRS resources. The one or more SRS resources are grouped into a plurality of SRS resource groups, the timing advance value may be differently set for each SRS resource group), and receive, via the transceiver, a first SRS on the first SRS resource set based on a first timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values, the first timing advance value being associated with a usage associated with the first SRS resource set or a time domain configuration associated with the first SRS resource set (paragraphs [0019] [0235]; transmitting the uplink signal at the uplink transmission timing configured using the timing advance value corresponding to the specific SRS resource. Defining an SRS resource type depends on the use (or purpose) of an SRS is taken into consideration. A Type A SRS resource for UL CSI acquisition, a Type B SRS resource for UL beam management, and a Type C SRS resource for DL CSI acquisition may be taken into consideration. An eNB may differently configure a CL TA process (TA value, paragraph [0216]) for each SRS resource type).
Regarding claim 19, Ahn et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value comprises a default timing advance value associated with beam management SRS usage or antenna switching SRS usage (paragraph [0236]; the SRS resources configured (or allocated) for beam management may be configured to correspond to a pre-configured default CL TA process (TA value) (e.g., the CL TA process of a primary cell/TRP).
Regarding claim 24, Ahn et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value comprises a default timing advance value associated with periodic SRS resource sets or semi-persistent SRS resource sets (paragraphs [0087] [0236]; UE may be configured with the following higher layer parameters for beam management that include time domain operation (e.g., an aperiodic operation, a periodic operation, semi-persistent operation. SRS resources configured (or allocated) for beam management may be configured to correspond to a pre-configured default CL TA process (value)).
Regarding claim 26, Ahn et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG); and a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values is associated with a second TAG configured after the first TAG (paragraph [0096]; the TAs for different TRPs may belong to different TA groups (TAGs). The wireless device may be configured to start or restart a timing alignment timer (e.g., timeAlignmentTimer) for a TRP (for the associated TAG) when it receives a TA command for the corresponding TRP).
Regarding claim 29, Ahn et al. disclose a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting a first configuration identifying a plurality of timing advance values (paragraph [0019]; receiving, from the base station, configuration information indicating one or more preset timing advance values); transmitting a second configuration for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (paragraphs [0008] [0010]; receiving, from a base station, sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information for the transmission of an SRS, wherein the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information indicating at least one preset timing advance value for one or more SRS resources. The one or more SRS resources are grouped into a plurality of SRS resource groups, the timing advance value may be differently set for each SRS resource group); and receiving a first SRS on the first SRS resource set based on a first timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values, the first timing advance value being associated with a usage associated with the first SRS resource set or a time domain configuration associated with the first SRS resource set (paragraphs [0019] [0235]; transmitting the uplink signal at the uplink transmission timing configured using the timing advance value corresponding to the specific SRS resource. Defining an SRS resource type depends on the use (or purpose) of an SRS is taken into consideration. A Type A SRS resource for UL CSI acquisition, a Type B SRS resource for UL beam management, and a Type C SRS resource for DL CSI acquisition may be taken into consideration. An eNB may differently configure a CL TA process (TA value, paragraph [0216]) for each SRS resource type).
Regarding claim 30, Ahn et al. disclose a network entity, comprising: means for transmitting a first configuration identifying a plurality of timing advance values (paragraph [0019]; receiving, from the base station, configuration information indicating one or more preset timing advance values); means for transmitting a second configuration for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (paragraphs [0008] [0010]; receiving, from a base station, sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information for the transmission of an SRS, wherein the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information indicating at least one preset timing advance value for one or more SRS resources. The one or more SRS resources are grouped into a plurality of SRS resource groups, the timing advance value may be differently set for each SRS resource group); and means for receiving a first SRS on the first SRS resource set based on a first timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values, the first timing advance value being associated with a usage associated with the first SRS resource set or a time domain configuration associated with the first SRS resource set (paragraphs [0019] [0235]; transmitting the uplink signal at the uplink transmission timing configured using the timing advance value corresponding to the specific SRS resource. Defining an SRS resource type depends on the use (or purpose) of an SRS is taken into consideration. A Type A SRS resource for UL CSI acquisition, a Type B SRS resource for UL beam management, and a Type C SRS resource for DL CSI acquisition may be taken into consideration. An eNB may differently configure a CL TA process (TA value, paragraph [0216]) for each SRS resource type).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12, 17, 18, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (EP3614766A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20250159631 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Ahn et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest receive a third configuration including a first control resource set pool value and a second control resource set pool value, the first control resource set pool value being associated with the first timing advance value, and the second control resource set pool value being associated with a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values. However, Zhang et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest receive a configuration including a first control resource set pool value and a second control resource set pool value, the first control resource set pool value being associated with the first timing advance value, and the second control resource set pool value being associated with a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values (paragraph [0114]; configuring, by RRC, different CORESET pool index values for different TRPs. UE communicates with first TRP with CORESET pool index = 0 and TA0 and second TRP with CORESET pool index = 1 and TA1). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ahn et al.’s method/system the step of receiving a configuration including a first control resource set pool value and a second control resource set pool value, the first control resource set pool value being associated with the first timing advance value, and the second control resource set pool value being associated with a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values as suggested by Zhang et al. The motivation would have been to allow the UE to maintain good transmit/receive abilities for improved communications (paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al. further suggest wherein: the first control resource set pool value is associated with a first transmit receive point; and the second control resource set pool value is associated with a second transmit receive point (paragraph [0114]; configuring, by RRC, different CORESET pool index values for different TRPs. UE communicates with first TRP with CORESET pool index = 0 and TA0 and second TRP with CORESET pool index = 1 and TA1).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) associated with a first TAG identifier; a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values is associated with a second TAG associated with a second TAG identifier; and the first TAG identifier has a lower identifier value than the second TAG identifier (paragraphs [0096] [0113]; Separate timing advances (TAs) may be maintained for the different TRPs. According to some embodiments, the TAs for different TRPs may belong to different TA groups. TAG-Id may be configured in the RRC parameter servingCellConfig. A TA for the first TRP belongs to a first TA group (TAG), wherein a TA for the second TRP belongs to a second TAG).
Regarding claim 17, Ahn et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 16 above without explicitly suggest transmit a third configuration including a first control resource set pool value and a second control resource set pool value, the first control resource set pool value being associated with the first timing advance value, and the second control resource set pool value being associated with a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values. However, Zhang et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest transmit a configuration including a first control resource set pool value and a second control resource set pool value, the first control resource set pool value being associated with the first timing advance value, and the second control resource set pool value being associated with a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values (paragraph [0114]; configuring, by RRC, different CORESET pool index values for different TRPs. UE communicates with first TRP with CORESET pool index = 0 and TA0 and second TRP with CORESET pool index = 1 and TA1). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ahn et al.’s method/system the step of transmitting a configuration including a first control resource set pool value and a second control resource set pool value, the first control resource set pool value being associated with the first timing advance value, and the second control resource set pool value being associated with a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values as suggested by Zhang et al. The motivation would have been to allow the UE to maintain good transmit/receive abilities for improved communications (paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang et al. further suggest wherein: the first control resource set pool value is associated with a first transmit receive point; and the second control resource set pool value is associated with a second transmit receive point (paragraph [0114]; configuring, by RRC, different CORESET pool index values for different TRPs. UE communicates with first TRP with CORESET pool index = 0 and TA0 and second TRP with CORESET pool index = 1 and TA1).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) associated with a first TAG identifier; a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values is associated with a second TAG associated with a second TAG identifier; and the first TAG identifier has a lower identifier value than the second TAG identifier (paragraphs [0096] [0113]; Separate timing advances (TAs) may be maintained for the different TRPs. According to some embodiments, the TAs for different TRPs may belong to different TA groups. TAG-Id may be configured in the RRC parameter servingCellConfig. A TA for the first TRP belongs to a first TA group (TAG), wherein a TA for the second TRP belongs to a second TAG).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 13, 20, 22, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (EP3614766A1) in view of Gao et al. (US 20210321355 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest wherein: the first SRS resource set is associated with codebook SRS usage or non-codebook SRS usage. However, Gao et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein first SRS resource set is associated with codebook SRS usage or non-codebook SRS usage (paragraph [0048]; for codebook based UL transmissions or non-codebook based UL transmissions, an UL transmission over PUSCH may be scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) in format 0_1 which may include an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field which indicates one or more SRS resources to be used for PUSCH transmissions. If a PUSCH transmission is scheduled by the DCI in format 0_1, the terminal device may determine, based on the SRI from the DCI in format 0_1 received from the network device, that which one of the first and second procedures is to be applied). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ahn et al.’s method/system wherein first SRS resource set is associated with codebook SRS usage or non-codebook SRS usage as suggested by Gao et al. The motivation would have been to apply appropriate timing advance so that a UE and network device can be aligned to reduce interference (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn et al. further suggest selecting the first timing advance value based on a first identifier associated with the first SRS resource set (paragraph [0007]; SRS resource configuration information may include one or more identifiers indicating the one or more SRS resources, and the at least one preset timing advance value may be set using the one or more identifiers).
Regarding claim 13, Gao et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG); and a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values is defined based on an offset time value relative to the first timing advance value (paragraph [0046]; the first TA value T.sub.TA-1 is for the first procedure. Second TA value T.sub.TA-2 for the second procedure may be an additional TA value for the cell. The second TA value T.sub.TA-2 may be determined as an offset with relative to the first TA value T.sub.TA-1).
Regarding claim 20, Ahn et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 16 above without explicitly suggesting wherein: the first SRS resource set is associated with codebook SRS usage or non-codebook SRS usage. However, Gao et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein first SRS resource set is associated with codebook SRS usage or non-codebook SRS usage (paragraph [0048]; for codebook based UL transmissions or non-codebook based UL transmissions, an UL transmission over PUSCH may be scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) in format 0_1 which may include an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field which indicates one or more SRS resources to be used for PUSCH transmissions. If a PUSCH transmission is scheduled by the DCI in format 0_1, the terminal device may determine, based on the SRI from the DCI in format 0_1 received from the network device, that which one of the first and second procedures is to be applied). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ahn et al.’s method/system wherein first SRS resource set is associated with codebook SRS usage or non-codebook SRS usage as suggested by Gao et al. The motivation would have been to apply appropriate timing advance so that a UE and network device can be aligned to reduce interference (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 22, Ahn et al. further suggest selecting the first timing advance value based on a first identifier associated with the first SRS resource set (paragraph [0007]; SRS resource configuration information may include one or more identifiers indicating the one or more SRS resources, and the at least one preset timing advance value may be set using the one or more identifiers).
Regarding claim 28, Gao et al. further suggest wherein: the first timing advance value is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG); and a second timing advance value of the plurality of timing advance values is defined based on an offset time value relative to the first timing advance value (paragraph [0046]; the first TA value T.sub.TA-1 is for the first procedure. Second TA value T.sub.TA-2 for the second procedure may be an additional TA value for the cell. The second TA value T.sub.TA-2 may be determined as an offset with relative to the first TA value T.sub.TA-1).
Claim(s) 10, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (EP3614766A1) in view of Xiong et al. (US 20250119909 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn et al. further suggest DCI scheduling SRS resource set as an aperiodic SRS resource set (paragraphs [0087]; UE may be configured with the following higher layer parameters for beam management (SRS) with aperiodic operation in time domain. Signaling for beam indication for PDCCH includes DCI signaling). However Ahn et al. may not explicitly suggest receiving, on a first control resource set, first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the first SRS resource set; the first control resource set is associated with a first control resource set pool value of a plurality of control resource set pool values; and the first timing advance value is associated with the first control resource set pool value. Xiong et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest receiving, on a first control resource set, first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the first SRS resource set; the first control resource set is associated with a first control resource set pool value of a plurality of control resource set pool values; and the first timing advance value is associated with the first control resource set pool value (paragraph [0078]; TA1 and TA2 can be linked to the reference signals that are associated with TRP1 and TRP2 respectively via DCI indication. For instance, TA1 can be associated with several SRS resources or TCI states, TA2 can be associated with other SRS resources or TCI states. In one instance, application of TA1 and TA2 can be associated with uplink transmission associated with CORESETPoolIndex values 0 and 1−TA1 is applied to an uplink transmission (PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) scheduled from a PDCCH associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 while TA2 is applied to an uplink transmission (PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) scheduled from a PDCCH associated with CORESETPoolIndex =1). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ahn et al.’s method/system the step of receiving, on a first control resource set, first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the first SRS resource set; the first control resource set is associated with a first control resource set pool value of a plurality of control resource set pool values; and the first timing advance value is associated with the first control resource set pool value as suggested by Xiong et al. The motivation would have been to improve the reliability for communication (paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 25, Ahn et al. further suggest DCI scheduling SRS resource set as an aperiodic SRS resource set (paragraphs [0087]; UE may be configured with the following higher layer parameters for beam management (SRS) with aperiodic operation in time domain. Signaling for beam indication for PDCCH includes DCI signaling). However Ahn et al. may not explicitly suggest transmitting, on a first control resource set, first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the first SRS resource set; the first control resource set is associated with a first control resource set pool value of a plurality of control resource set pool values; and the first timing advance value is associated with the first control resource set pool value. Xiong et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest transmitting, on a first control resource set, first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the first SRS resource set; the first control resource set is associated with a first control resource set pool value of a plurality of control resource set pool values; and the first timing advance value is associated with the first control resource set pool value (paragraph [0078]; TA1 and TA2 can be linked to the reference signals that are associated with TRP1 and TRP2 respectively via DCI indication. For instance, TA1 can be associated with several SRS resources or TCI states, TA2 can be associated with other SRS resources or TCI states. In one instance, application of TA1 and TA2 can be associated with uplink transmission associated with CORESETPoolIndex values 0 and 1−TA1 is applied to an uplink transmission (PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) scheduled from a PDCCH associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 while TA2 is applied to an uplink transmission (PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) scheduled from a PDCCH associated with CORESETPoolIndex =1). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ahn et al.’s method/system the step of transmitting, on a first control resource set, first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the first SRS resource set; the first control resource set is associated with a first control resource set pool value of a plurality of control resource set pool values; and the first timing advance value is associated with the first control resource set pool value as suggested by Xiong et al. The motivation would have been to improve the reliability for communication (paragraph [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 21, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HOANG-CHUONG Q. VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/HOANG-CHUONG Q VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476