DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Regarding Claim 17, it is not clear what claim it depends on. For purposes of this examination, the examiner is assuming Claim 17, depends on Claim 4. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "wherein generation of the random key". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13, recites the limitation "wherein the third hash-based message authentication code”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hui et al., (US 20110202767 A1) hereinafter referred to as Hui.
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, Hui discloses A pseudonymisation method, wherein the pseudonymisation method comprises: receiving a data subject identifier from a first data controller, the first data controller having a first data controller identifier, [paragraph 0003, In the pseudonymization method, the association between the real identity of a user and his health records has been removed, and the relationship of correspondence is established between the user's health records and one or more of his pseudonyms] [paragraph 0012, receiving a user identity ID.sub.user from a user device]
computing a pseudonym seed based on the data subject identifier using a cryptographic mixing function based on a pseudonym seed generation key, [paragraph 0012, determining a set of public parameters and a set of private parameters] [paragraph 0037, on the basis of an identity-based encryption (IBE) method. In the initial setup phase S210, the PIM D220 determines a set of public parameters and a set of private parameters used for pseudonym generation and authentication based on the IBE method]
computing a global pseudonym as a first hash-based message authentication code on the pseudonym seed with a global pseudonym key.[paragraph 0012, generating a prime pseudonym Pprime=<H1 (1Duser),H1 <ᵊ>(IDuser)> based on the determined set of private parameters and the IDuser, in which H1 is a one-way hash function, ᵊ is a random number selected from a domain Zp, and p is a selected prime number]
Regarding Claim 7, Hui discloses wherein different keys, the global pseudonym, the local pseudonym and the data controller identifier are bit sequences of a predetermined length [paragraph 0038, H.sub.1 is a first one-way hash function which maps a sequence of 0 and 1 having an arbitrary length]
and the cryptographic mixing function is exclusive or function. [paragraph 0057, in which .sym. represents an XOR operation]
Regarding Claim 15, Hui discloses wherein the separate entities comprise separate computers programmed for performing the pseudonymisation method respectively performed at the separate entities, the separate computers being interconnected by a computer network. [paragraph 0004, teaches multiple different computing devices performing the pseudonymisation]
Regarding Claim 16, Hui discloses wherein the pseudonym seed is computed based on an encrypted data subject identifier using the cryptographic mixing function based on a pseudonym seed key, the pseudonym seed key being computed based on the pseudonym seed generation key as a cryptographic mixing function based on a random key and wherein the encrypted data subject identifier is computed based on the data subject identifier using the cryptographic mixing function based on the random key and wherein the first hash-based message authentication code is computed on the cryptographic mixing function of the encrypted data subject identifier based on the pseudonym seed key. [paragraph 0012, determining a set of public parameters and a set of private parameters…generating a prime pseudonym Pprime=<H1 (1Duser),H1 <ᵊ>(IDuser)> based on the determined set of private parameters and the IDuser, in which H1 is a one-way hash function, ᵊ is a random number selected from a domain Zp, and p is a selected prime number]] [paragraph 0037, on the basis of an identity-based encryption (IBE) method. In the initial setup phase S210, the PIM D220 determines a set of public parameters and a set of private parameters used for pseudonym generation and authentication based on the IBE method]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui, as applied to Claim 1, above, in view of Chase et al., (US 20100185861 A1) hereinafter referred to as Chase.
Regarding Claim 5, Hui does not explicitly teach wherein steps of receiving the data subject identifier, computing the pseudonym seed, computing the global pseudonym, computing the local pseudonym key, computing the local pseudonym, and providing the local pseudonym are performed by a second entity separate from the data controller.
Chase teaches wherein steps of receiving the data subject identifier, computing the pseudonym seed, computing the global pseudonym, computing the local pseudonym key, computing the local pseudonym, and providing the local pseudonym are performed by a second entity separate from the data controller. [Figure 5, element 506, “Attribute Authority”]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chase with the disclosure of Hui. The motivation or suggestion would have been “for protecting user privacy with a pseudonym.” (paragraph 0001)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8-12, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claims 2-4, 8-12, and 19-20, the closest prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor suggest in detail, the limitations of these claims in view of other limitations of the intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 6 and 13 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims if the 112(b) rejections were obviated.
Thus the prior arts of record taking singly or in combination do not teach or suggest the above-stated limitations taking wholly in combination with all the elements of each independent claim.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J STEINLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497