DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The instant application employs “means” limitations in instant claims 1-3:
Urea concentration measuring means which is interpreted as a urea meter or equivalents thereof [0030 of the instant specification];
Control means which is not associated with any particular structure in the specification as currently understood;
Chlorine demand measuring means which is interpreted as a chlorine demand meter or equivalents thereof [0030];
Residual chlorine concentration measuring means which is interpreted as a residual chlorine meter [0044].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
See the claim interpretation section above. Claim 1 recites a control means for adding hypochlorite and the like to the water being treated by the system, but the instant specification does not disclose structure for performing the recited “control” function, instead only repeating the term “control means”; see MPEP 2181 II.A. As such, the metes and bounds of claims 1-3 are unclear and the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (JP 2019-063768 A) in view of Yui et al (US PGPub 2023/0373826 A1 – also available as JP 2022-030031 A) and Tomita et al (JP 2009-006316 A).
Arai was cited by applicant on an IDS; a machine translation of the description is provided with this action for reference. The US publication of Yui is cited in this action for convenience.
With respect to claims 1 and 4, Arai teaches systems and processes for water treatment to remove urea which includes treating with a water-soluble bromide salt and a hypochlorite [Abs]. The system and process operate by measuring residual chlorine downstream of the treatment section (which implicitly provides a measurement or indication of chlorine consumption, or at minimum renders such determination obvious) and using this to control the dosing of the hypochlorite to the system, in order to ensure stable decomposition [0029].
Arai is silent to a urea concentration sensor or to performing measurements of the concentration of urea upstream of the treatment section, and using such measurements to provide further control of the hypochlorite dosage in a feed-forward manner.
Yui teaches systems and methods for treating water [Abs] including water containing urea [0005] in which control of the dosing of chemicals uses data from an upstream urea concentration measurement with a suitable sensor [0023]; the chemicals for dosing may include sodium hypochlorite and sodium bromide [0024]. Yui is silent to downstream measurements to provide further control of the hypochlorite dosage in a feedback manner.
Tomita teaches a system and process for treating wastewater with oxidizers [Abs] and teaches employing a combination of feed-forward and feedback control of the dosage of oxidizing agent, and that this provides improved results, both in terms of avoiding the use of too much oxidizing agent, but also situations in which the water quality deteriorates beyond acceptable limits due to the use of too little oxidizing agent [0050, Figs. 10-11]. This is accomplished by employing a controller (30) which is connected to both upstream (28) and downstream (32) sensors [0047, Fig. 7] to control dosage in a treatment section (27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Arai to feature upstream urea sensors for feed-forward control because, as in Yui, this is similarly useful for controlling the dosage of a bromine salt and hypochlorite for the purpose of urea decomposition and, in view of Tomita, the combination of feed-forward (upstream) and feedback (downstream) controls may beneficially be employed in oxidative water treatment processes to improve the process, avoiding both undertreatment and overtreatment and thereby maintaining stable treatment levels.
With respect to claims 2 and 5, as above the upstream urea sensor such as that employed by Yui may be considered at least an estimate of the chlorine demand, absent clarification of the specific requirements. Alternatively, Tomita suggests the use of further upstream sensors e.g. (22) for further oxidative treatments [0047] and the use of additional sensors to measure various aspects of demand would at least have been obvious. Regarding specific concentrations employed, Arai teaches adding hypochlorite in a concentration range that results in 1-10 mg/L available chlorine [0038].
With respect to claims 7 and 8, as above at least Yui suggests controlling the amount of a bromide salt based on upstream urea concentration measurements, using feed-forward control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is rejected under 112(b) for the reasons discussed above but, as best understood, is free from the prior art.
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Arai and Yui, as discussed above, which teach downstream measurements of residual chlorine and upstream measurements of urea concentration, respectively. Neither Arai nor Yui teach or fairly suggest upstream measurements of residual chlorine, and there is no indication that one of ordinary skill in the art would further modify the combination to incorporate this feature, as there is no indication it would be useful for feed-forward control of the type employed by Yui. The teachings of Tomita which combine feed-forward and feedback elements into a single system and process for improvements do not remedy this; there is no teaching or suggestion of upstream residual chlorine measurements and the prior art, alone or in combination, would not have led one of ordinary skill in the art to implement them.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776