DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on August 27, 2024 has been entered and made of record. Currently, claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 13-14, 17, 23, 26-28, 31, 33-34, 39, 41-42, and 45-48 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 13-14, 17, 23, 26-28, 31, 33-34, 39, and 41-42 are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they are all method claims.
Claims 45-46 are is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the recitations of “processor” provide sufficient structure to perform all claimed limitations.
Claims 47-48 are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because each of these claims is an article of manufacture claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 13-14, 26-27, 31, 33, 41-42, and 45-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Scheidegger et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 20220180497A1, referred as Scheidegger hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1 as a representative claim, Scheidegger teaches a method for characterizing microspheric materials comprising:
acquiring tiled image data representative of microscopic images of a microspheric material, spectroscopic images of a microspheric material, or a combination of microscopic and spectroscopic images of a microspheric material (see figure 2 and para. [0044] – [0046] (image 202 comprises a plurality of image tiles); figure 3 and para. [0047] (tiles); para. [0059] (identified object in an image tile is the material defect wherein the material is, for example, rebar which is metal and comprises iron; thus, the rebar, for example, corresponds to the so-called microspheric material; this interpretation, in view of BRI, is consistent with applicant’s spec. paras. [0082], for example));
stitching the tiled image data into a composite image (see fig. 5 and para. [0051] (mering tiles 502 and 504 to form tile 510, for example))
classifying, by a trained machine-learning model, one or more regions of the composite image (see paras. [0002] and [0016] (machine learning (i.e., deep learning, RCNN) is used for image classification, detection and segmentation), [0041] (identifying and classifying defect), [0060] (using CNN for object detection and classification)); and
characterizing, by the trained machine-learning model, one or more classified regions of the composite image according to at least one of the following properties: composition, composition-specific size distribution, crystalline phase, degree of crystallinity, or crystallite-specific size distribution (see para. [0059] (material defect or surface such as rebar corrosion, crack, rust, spalling, algae)).
The advanced statements as applied to claim 1 above are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 8, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the tiled image data is two- or three-dimensional image data (see fig. 5 (2D image tiles 502 and 504, for example); fig. 2 and paras. [0044] – [0046] (24 image tiles included in image 206, each image tile is a rectangular, thus a 2D)).
Regarding claim 10, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the tiled image data is acquired in a partially automated process, or a fully automated process, or an unsupervised process (see paras. [0003] (automated defect detection), [0054] (present invention is fully automated) and [0063] (system 600 comprises a processor communicatively couple to a memory 602 storing instructions for causing the system to receive then generate image tiles from the received image; this process is performed by system 600 so it is an automated process partially, fully or unsupervised)).
Regarding claim 13, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the tiled image data is acquired by grid segmentation in a row-column pattern (see fig. 2 and paras. [0044] – [0046] (24 image tiles included in image 206, for example)).
Regarding claim 14, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the tiled image data comprises partially overlapping image tiles (see fig. 5, tiles 510 and 512).
Regarding claim 26, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the one or more regions of the composite image are classified as corresponding to at least one of a particle, an intra-particle pore, or an interparticle void (see para. [0059] (material defect or surface such as rebar corrosion, crack, rust, spalling, algae)).
Regarding claim 27, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the one or more regions of the composite image are classified as corresponding to at least one of clay, alumina, or pores (see para. [0059] (material defect or surface such as rebar corrosion, crack, rust, spalling, algae)).
Regarding claim 31, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the particle-classified regions are further classified as comprising at least one of potassium, cesium, calcium, barium, strontium, copper, yttrium, phosphorus, sulfur, selenium, fluorine, chlorine, bromine, iodine, lanthanum, cerium, aluminum, silicon, sodium, carbon, oxygen, iron, vanadium, or nickel (see para. [0059] (identified object in an image tile is the material defect wherein the material is, for example, rebar which is metal and comprises iron; thus, the rebar, for example, corresponds to the so-called microspheric material; this interpretation, in view of BRI, is consistent with applicant’s spec. paras. [0082], for example)).
Regarding claim 33, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the microspheric material is nodulated (see para. [0059] (material defect or surface such as rebar corrosion, crack, rust, spalling, algae)).
Regarding claim 41, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the machine-learning model is trained to distinguish particles, intra-particle pores, and inter-particle voids using manually-annotated image data as a ground truth reference (see paras. [0002] and [0016] (machine learning (i.e., deep learning, RCNN) is used for image classification, detection and segmentation), [0041] (identifying and classifying defect), [0055] (annotated training patterns), [0059] (material defect or surface such as rebar corrosion, crack, rust, spalling, algae), and [0060] (using CNN for object detection and classification)).
Regarding claim 42, Scheidegger further teaches wherein the machine-learning model comprises a convolutional neural network or a recurrent neural network. (see paras. [0002] and [0016] (machine learning (i.e., deep learning, RCNN) is used for image classification, detection and segmentation) and [0060] (using CNN for object detection and classification)).
Regarding claim 45, it is noted that claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 1. Thus, the advanced statements as applied to claim 1 are incorporated hereinafter. Scheidegger further teaches at least one processor (see abstract (one or more processors), paras. [0004] (one or more processors), [0063] (processor), and [0068] (one or more processors)).
Regarding claim 46, it is noted that claim recites similar claim limitations called for in claim 45. Thus, claim 46 is rejected for same reasons as applied to claim 45 above.
Regarding claim 47, it is noted that claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 45. Thus, the advanced statements as applied to claim 45 are incorporated hereinafter. Scheidegger further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions encoded thereon and at least one processor (see abstract (one or more processors), paras. [0004] (one or more processors), [0063] (processor), 0068] (one or more processors) and [0074] (medium having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out the prevent invention)).
Regarding claim 48, it is noted that claim recites similar claim limitations called for in claim 47. Thus, claim 48 is rejected for same reasons as applied to claim 47 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 7, 17, 23, 28, 34, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheidegger.
The advanced statements as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, 13-14, 26-27, 31, 33, 41-42, and 45-48 are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 2, Scheidegger does not teach claim limitation “wherein the tiled image data is obtained by scanning electron microscopy (SEM) and/or by transmission electron spectroscopy (TEM)”.
However, such claim limitation is well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motivation for doing so is to obtain more information about the object being detected/inspected because SEM and/or TEM uses electron to generate image.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate such claim limitation in combination with Scheidegger for that reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Scheidegger does not teach claim limitation “wherein the tiled image data is obtained by cross-sectional scanning electron microscopy or by backscatter electron scanning electron microscopy (BSE-SEM)”.
However, such claim limitation is well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motivation for doing so is to obtain more information about the object being detected/inspected because SEM and/or BSE-SEM uses electron to generate image.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate such claim limitation in combination with Scheidegger for that reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Scheidegger does not teach claim limitation “wherein the tiled image data is obtained by energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX)”.
However, such claim limitation is well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motivation for doing so is to obtain more information about the object being detected/inspected because EDX uses electron to generate image. Also, it is non-destructive and simple to use.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate such claim limitation in combination with Scheidegger for that reasons.
Regarding claim 17, Scheidegger does not teach claim limitation “wherein the tiled image data is acquired at a magnification between the range of l00X and 6,000X or at a magnification between the range of 20,000X and 500,000X”.
However, such claim limitation is well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motivation for doing so is to obtain more information about the object being detected/inspected so that it would improve the detection and/or inspection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate such claim limitation in combination with Scheidegger for that reasons.
Regarding claim 23, Scheidegger does not teach claim limitation “wherein the tiled image data includes microscopic images and spectroscopic images obtained at substantially the same magnification and/or obtained at substantially the same field of view”.
However, such claim limitation is well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motivation for doing so is to obtain the same images so that it would improve the detection and/or inspection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate such claim limitation in combination with Scheidegger for that reasons.
Regarding claim 28, Scheidegger does not teach claim limitation “wherein the microspheric material comprises at least one clay-based silica-alumina or alumina, the alumina optionally comprising at least one of gibbsite, flash-calcined gibbsite, bayerite, or boehmite”.
However, such claim limitation is well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motivation for doing so is to allow other type of material to be detected/inspected so that it would improve the detection and/or inspection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate such claim limitation in combination with Scheidegger for that reasons.
Regarding claim 34, Scheidegger does not teach claim limitation “wherein the microspheric material is a fluid catalytic cracking (FCC) catalyst”.
However, such claim limitation is well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motivation for doing so is to allow other type of material to be detected/inspected so that it would improve the detection and/or inspection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate such claim limitation in combination with Scheidegger for that reasons.
Regarding claim 39, Scheidegger does not teach claim limitation “wherein the microspheric material is embedded in an epoxy resin prior to imaging”.
However, such claim limitation is well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motivation for doing so is to protect the material being inspected/detected from destructive/damage.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate such claim limitation in combination with Scheidegger for that reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morishita et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2014/0361167 A1) teaches SEM (para. [0051]) and backscrattered electron (para. [0045]).
/DUY M DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662