DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of the present application is a National Stage Entry of PCT/JP2023/010479 filed on March 16, 2023, which claims priority from GB Patent Application 2204294.9 filed on March 25, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of information disclosure statement (IDS), dated on August 27, 2024 and July 14, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner's Notes
4. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Preliminary Amendment
5. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of the preliminary amendment on August 27, 2024. Claims 1-30 have been canceled; claims 31-43 are new.
Upon entering the amendment, claims 31-43 are pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Specification
6. The title of the invention is not descriptive.
The title of this application is “COMMUNICATION SYSTEM.” The examiner objects the usage of this title as it is not clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
A substitution of a new title is anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 31, it recites, “A method performed by a distributed unit of a base station for providing Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) in a cell for a user equipment (UE) in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state, the method comprising:
receiving, from a central unit of the base station, MBS session information indicating whether a transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated; and
determining to activate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell or deactivate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session, based on the MBS information.”
It is a method-step claim, comprising multiple steps, e.g., receiving, determining, etc. There are several limitations related to the MBS, such as “Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS),” “MBS session information,” and “at least one MBS session,” as indicated in italics above.
The examiner rejects claim 31, since there is a lack of antecedent basis for the usage of the ending term “the MBS information.”
Claims 32-37 are rejected since they all depend from claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 31, 33-38, and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2020/0351818).
Regarding claim 31, Park et al. teach the method performed by a distributed unit of a base station for providing Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) in a cell for a user equipment (UE) in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state (paragraphs [0156] lines 1-16 & [0163] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: wireless device, e.g., 110 depicted in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a user equipment (UE);”
base station, e.g., gNB/base station 1 120A depicted in both FIG. 3 and FIG. 14, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station;”
gNB-DU 1430A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a distributed unit of a base station;”
In fact, gNB-DU 1430A broadcasting/multicasting in the cell for a UE, e.g., 110, in an RRC inactive state, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches this preamble), the method comprising:
receiving, from a central unit of the base station, MBS session information indicating whether a transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated (paragraph [0160] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: gNB-CU 1420A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a central unit of the base station;”
UE/wireless device in RRC inactive, as illustrated in 1520 in FIG. 15, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated;”
In fact, receiving, from gNB-CU 1420A in gNB 120A, multicating/broadcasting information indicating a UE transmission mode, as from the RRC inactive state 1520 to be activated in the cell to RRC connected 1530, as illustrated in FIG. 15 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, from a central unit of the base station, MBS session information indicating whether a transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated” in the instant application); and
determining to activate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell or deactivate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session, based on the MBS information (paragraph [0265] lines 1-11; Examiner’s Notes: determining to activate the transmission mode, e.g., UE in RRC inactive state 1520 on the multicasting/broadcasting in the cell as illustrated in FIG. 15, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining to activate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell or deactivate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session, based on the MBS information” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 33, Park et al. further teach the method, wherein the MBS session information indicates the at least one MBS session (paragraph [0163] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: multicasting and broadcasting message indicating information, e.g., the paging session in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the MBS session information indicates the at least one MBS session” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 34, Park et al. further teach the method, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, configuration information for configuring a respective multicast radio bearer for the at least one MBS session (paragraphs [0159] lines 1-23 & [0163] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the bearers, e.g., signaling radio bearer (SRB), in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a respective multicast radio bearer;”
In fact, broadcasting/multicasting, to UE 110, information for configuring a SRB for the signaling session, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, to the UE, configuration information for configuring a respective multicast radio bearer for the at least one MBS session” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 35, Park et al. further teach the method, wherein the configuration information is transmitted using at least one of:
a message for releasing a connection of the UE; a message for releasing a UE context associated with the UE; a message for moving the UE to the RRC inactive state; a message for setting up or modifying a multicast context associated with the at least one MBS session; a system information block; or a multicast control channel (MCCH) (paragraph [0265] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: the connection release message, as shown in step 1560 in FIG. 15 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a message for releasing a connection of the UE;”
In fact, transmitting the configuration using the connection release message, as shown in step 1560 in FIG. 15 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the configuration information is transmitted using at least one of:
a message for releasing a connection of the UE; a message for releasing a UE context associated with the UE; a message for moving the UE to the RRC inactive state; a message for setting up or modifying a multicast context associated with the at least one MBS session; a system information block; or a multicast control channel (MCCH)” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 36, Park et al. further teach the method, wherein the configuration information includes configuration for at least one of:
a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP); a Radio Link Control (RLC); a Medium Access Control (MAC); a Multicast Control Channel (MCCH); or a Multicast Traffic Channel (MTCH) associated with the at least one MBS session (paragraph [0159] lines 1-23; Examiner’s Notes: the PDCP layer configuration in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP);”
In fact, the PDCP layer configuration in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the configuration information includes configuration for at least one of:
a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP); a Radio Link Control (RLC); a Medium Access Control (MAC); a Multicast Control Channel (MCCH); or a Multicast Traffic Channel (MTCH) associated with the at least one MBS session” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 37, Park et al. further teach the method, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, information indicating that the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session has been activated in the cell (paragraph [0265] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: RRC inactive 1520 as shown in FIG. 15 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “in the RRC inactive state;”
In fact, transmitting, to UE, the information indicating activating the RRC inactive state in the cell, as shown in step 1580 in FIG. 15 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, to the UE, information indicating that the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session has been activated in the cell” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 38, Park et al. teach the method performed by a central unit of a base station for providing Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) in a cell for a user equipment (UE) in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state (paragraphs [0156] lines 1-16 & [0163] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: wireless device, e.g., 110 depicted in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a user equipment (UE);”
base station, e.g., gNB/base station 1 120A depicted in both FIG. 3 and FIG. 14, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station;”
gNB-CU 1420A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a central unit of a base station;”
In fact, gNB-CU 1420A providing broadcasting/multicasting service in the cell for a UE, e.g., 110, in an RRC inactive state, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches this preamble), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a distributed unit of the base station, MBS session information identifying whether a transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell via multicast or to be deactivated (paragraph [0160] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: gNB-DU 1430A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a distributed unit of a base station;”
UE/wireless device in RRC inactive, as illustrated in 1520 in FIG. 15, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated;”
In fact, transmitting, to gNB-DU 1430A in gNB 120A, multicating/broadcasting information indicating a UE transmission mode, as from the RRC inactive state 1520 to be activated in the cell to RRC connected 1530, as illustrated in FIG. 15 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, to a distributed unit of the base station, MBS session information identifying whether a transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell via multicast or to be deactivated” in the instant application),
wherein the MBS session information is used by the distributed unit for determining to activate the transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell via multicast or deactivate the transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session (paragraph [0265] lines 1-11; Examiner’s Notes: determining to activate the transmission mode, e.g., UE in RRC inactive state 1520 on the multicasting/broadcasting in the cell as illustrated in FIG. 15, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the MBS session information is used by the distributed unit for determining to activate the transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell via multicast or deactivate the transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 40, Park et al. further teach the method, wherein the MBS session information indicates the at least one MBS session (paragraph [0163] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: multicasting and broadcasting message indicating information, e.g., the paging session in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the MBS session information indicates the at least one MBS session” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 41, Park et al. further teach the method, wherein the MBS session information is transmitted in a case where the central unit receives at least one of: a request for a UE context, from another base station; or
information indicating that a UE has reselected another cell, from a core network node for mobility management (paragraph [0164] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: the UE context request message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a request for a UE context;”
In fact, gNB-CU 1420A receiving a UE context request message from gNB 120B as illustrated in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the MBS session information is transmitted in a case where the central unit receives at least one of: a request for a UE context, from another base station; or
information indicating that a UE has reselected another cell, from a core network node for mobility management” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 42, Park et al. teach the distributed unit of a base station for providing Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) in a cell for a user equipment (UE) in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state (paragraphs [0156] lines 1-16 & [0163] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: wireless device, e.g., 110 depicted in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a user equipment (UE);”
base station, e.g., gNB/base station 1 120A depicted in both FIG. 3 and FIG. 14, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station;”
gNB-DU 1430A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a distributed unit of a base station;”
In fact, gNB-DU 1430A broadcasting/multicasting in the cell for a UE, e.g., 110, in an RRC inactive state, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches this preamble), the distributed unit comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (paragraph [0060] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: memory 322A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one memory” in the instant application); and
at least one processor configured to process the instructions to (paragraph [0060] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: processor 321A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one processor” in the instant application):
receive, from a central unit of the base station, MBS session information indicating whether a transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated (paragraph [0160] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: gNB-CU 1420A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a central unit of the base station;”
UE/wireless device in RRC inactive, as illustrated in 1520 in FIG. 15, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated;”
In fact, receiving, from gNB-CU 1420A in gNB 120A, multicating/broadcasting information indicating a UE transmission mode, as from the RRC inactive state 1520 to be activated in the cell to RRC connected 1530, as illustrated in FIG. 15 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from a central unit of the base station, MBS session information indicating whether a transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated” in the instant application); and
determine to activate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell or deactivate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session, based on the MBS information (paragraph [0265] lines 1-11; Examiner’s Notes: determining to activate the transmission mode, e.g., UE in RRC inactive state 1520 on the multicasting/broadcasting in the cell as illustrated in FIG. 15, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determine to activate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell or deactivate the transmission mode via multicast to the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session, based on the MBS information” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 43, Park et al. teach the central unit of a base station for providing Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) in a cell for a user equipment (UE) in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state (paragraphs [0156] lines 1-16 & [0163] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: wireless device, e.g., 110 depicted in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a user equipment (UE);”
base station, e.g., gNB/base station 1 120A depicted in both FIG. 3 and FIG. 14, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station;”
gNB-CU 1420A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a central unit of a base station;”
In fact, gNB-CU 1420A providing broadcasting/multicasting service in the cell for a UE, e.g., 110, in an RRC inactive state, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in the prior art teaches this preamble), the central unit comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (paragraph [0060] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: memory 322A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one memory” in the instant application); and
at least one processor configured to process the instructions to (paragraph [0060] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: processor 321A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one processor” in the instant application):
transmit, to a distributed unit of the base station, MBS session information identifying whether a transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell via multicast or to be deactivated (paragraph [0160] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: gNB-DU 1430A in gNB 120A depicted in FIG. 14 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a distributed unit of a base station;”
UE/wireless device in RRC inactive, as illustrated in 1520 in FIG. 15, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell or to be deactivated;”
In fact, transmitting, to gNB-DU 1430A in gNB 120A, multicating/broadcasting information indicating a UE transmission mode, as from the RRC inactive state 1520 to be activated in the cell to RRC connected 1530, as illustrated in FIG. 15 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, to a distributed unit of the base station, MBS session information identifying whether a transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on at least one MBS session is to be activated in the cell via multicast or to be deactivated” in the instant application),
wherein the MBS session information is used by the distributed unit for determining to activate the transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell via multicast or deactivate the transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session (paragraph [0265] lines 1-11; Examiner’s Notes: determining to activate the transmission mode, e.g., UE in RRC inactive state 1520 on the multicasting/broadcasting in the cell as illustrated in FIG. 15, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the MBS session information is used by the distributed unit for determining to activate the transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session in the cell via multicast or deactivate the transmission mode for the UE in the RRC inactive state on the at least one MBS session” in the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 32 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0351818) in view of Byun et al. (US 2023/0072861).
Regarding claim 32, Park et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching implementing Multicast Context Setup Request message or a Multicast Context Modification Request message.
Byun et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the MBS session information is included in a Multicast Context Setup Request message or a Multicast Context Modification Request message (paragraph [0308] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the bearer context setup/modification request message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “Multicast Context Setup Request message or a Multicast Context Modification Request message;”
In fact, the bearer context setup/modification request message regards to the MBS session in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the MBS session information is included in a Multicast Context Setup Request message or a Multicast Context Modification Request message” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Byun et al. in the system of Park et al.
The motivation for implementing the Multicast Context Setup Request message or a Multicast Context Modification Request message, is to further enhance the mechanism for switching of multicast and broadcast service between multicast and unicast in a wireless communication system, wherein a CU-CP establishes a connection with a wireless device for a Multicast and Broadcast Service (MBS), the CU-CP receives, from the CU-UP, a first message including a retransmission information on data transmission related to the MBS, and the CU-CP determines whether to perform a switch of the first transmission to a second transmission for the MBS based on the retransmission information.
Same rejection applies to claim 39.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Xiong et al. (US 10,666,334) is cited to show an apparatus of an e-NodeB (eNB) capable to establish a communication connection with a user equipment (UE) in a communication network, the eNB comprising processing circuitry to transmit a downlink (DL) beamforming training reference signal (BF-TRS) to a user equipment (UE) using transmit beamforming weights.
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479