DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on August 27, 2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment also filed on August 27, 2024. Claims 1-30 are still pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, and 12-14, 17, 18, 20-24, and 28-30 are rejected under 35
U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. (US 20210297853 A1) hereinafter LEE.
Regarding claim 1, LEE discloses a wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (not shown but inherent in all RANs such as the one disclosed in FIG. 1: 104 RAN, and in par [0008]); and
one or more processors (not shown but inherent in all RANs such as the one disclosed in FIG. 1: 104 RAN, and in par [0008]), coupled to the memory, configured to: ([0150] “The broadcast information 1300 may be transmitted by a RAN node (e.g., a base station, such as an eNB or gNB)”);
generate a signature associated with one or more reference signals to be transmitted by the wireless communication device, wherein the signature is associated with verifying that the one or more reference signals are legitimate reference signals, ([0162], [0191] [0101] [0152], "The second acquisition signal 1304 may be fully encrypted and integrity protected using the cell-specific broadcast key ... The second acquisition signal 1304 may include a PSS, a SSS, and a normal PBCH");
transmit the one or more reference signals; and transmit the signature associated with the one or more reference signals, ((FIG. 13, ref. 1304), [0150] “the first acquisition signal 1302 and second acquisition signal 1304 are transmitted in alternating frames […]”, [0162] “[…] The encrypted broadcast information may further be integrity protected based on the cell-specific broadcast key”).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, LEE discloses wherein the one or more reference signals include at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), a tracking reference signal (TRS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), a radio frequency (RF) sensing reference signal, or an ambient Internet-of-Things (IoT) tag reference signal, ([0092] [0003] [0088] “The base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS); a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS); and a synchronization signal block (SSB). SSBs may be broadcast at regular intervals based on a periodicity (e.g., 5, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 140 ms). An SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast control channel (PBCH) […]”).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, LEE discloses wherein the signature is generated based at least in part on a key and at least one of: an identifier of a receiving wireless communication device that is to receive the one or more reference signals, a configuration associated with the one or more reference signals, time allocation information associated with the one or more reference signals, frequency allocation information associated with the one or more reference signals, or a timestamp associated with the one or more reference signals, ([0105]- [0106] [0111]- [0112] [0101] [0044] “The broadcast information may be encrypted using a cell-specific broadcast key that may be derived from a broadcast root key that is refreshed periodically in a wireless communication network. “[…] the cell-specific broadcast key may be derived using a key derivation function of the broadcast root key and at least cell identifying information associated with the secure cell. Here, the term secure cell refers to a cell communicating encrypted and/or integrity protected broadcast information related to cell access”).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 3 above, LEE discloses wherein the key is a unicast key associated with a symmetric encryption scheme, ([0169] FIG. 16 is a diagram illustrating an example of provisioning a cell-specific unicast key according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 16, a device (e.g., UE) 1602 is located within a secure cell served by a RAN node 1604 (e.g., base station, such as a gNB). […] The provisioning server 1608 is configured to generate one or more broadcast keys (e.g., broadcast root keys or long-term keys) for use in encrypting and integrity protecting broadcast information related to cell access. [0207] [0007] deriving a cell-specific broadcast key […] receiving encrypted broadcast information related to cell access, and decrypting the encrypted broadcast information using the cell-specific broadcast key to produce decrypted broadcast information” (using the same key to encrypt and decrypt data is equivalent to "symmetric encryption scheme").
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, LEE discloses wherein the one or more reference signals include a synchronization signal block (SSB), ([0088] “The base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); […] and a synchronization signal block (SSB). [0092] In addition, one or more reference signals, such as a sidelink SSB, a sidelink CSI-RS, a sidelink SRS, and/or a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) may be transmitted within the slot 410”).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 9 above, LEE discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to secure a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of the SSB, a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the SSB, a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) of the SSB, or a PBCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the SSB using a key, ([0096] [0160] [0162] “At 1416, the RAN node 1404 may broadcast a second acquisition signal (e.g., a second SSB) including encrypted broadcast information related to cell access. The encrypted broadcast information may include, […] the PSS, the SSS, and the PBCH. […] The encrypted broadcast information may further be integrity protected based on the cell-specific broadcast key ”) [0133] The device 902 may then receive broadcast information 920 including encrypted and unencrypted broadcast information related to cell access broadcast by the RAN node 904 within the secure cell 900a. […] the broadcast information 920 may include an acquisition signal, such as an SSB, […]”).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, LEE discloses wherein the key is derived based at least in part on at least one of: a timestamp, a refresh time duration, an identifier signaled via layer 3 signaling, a cell identifier, a zone identifier, or an expected angle of arrival associated with the SSB, ([0108] [0111] “At 614, the device 602 may derive the cell-specific broadcast key based on the broadcast root key and the cell identifying information (e.g., the PCI or PCI|ARFCN”).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 9 above, LEE discloses wherein the signature is generated using a key that is derived based at least in part on at least one of: a timestamp, a refresh time duration, an identifier signaled via layer 3 signaling, a cell identifier, a zone identifier, or an expected angle of arrival associated with the SSB, ([0106] [0101] [0155] “A provisioning server 1406 is configured to generate one or more broadcast keys for use in encrypting and integrity protecting broadcast information related to cell access. […] The broadcast root key(s) may expire after a certain, predetermined duration of time, and therefore, the provisioning server 1406 may generate new broadcast root key(s) prior to expiration of the current broadcast root key(s). [0128] The provisioning server 906 is configured to generate one or more broadcast keys (e.g., broadcast root keys or long term keys) for use in encrypting and integrity protecting broadcast information related to cell access”).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 9 above, LEE discloses wherein the signature is a first signature, and the one or more processors are further to: generate a second signature associated with the SSB, and transmit the second signature associated with the SSB, ([0162], [0191] [0101] “server 606 is configured to generate one or more broadcast keys for use in encrypting and integrity protecting broadcast information related to cell access […] [0152], "The second acquisition signal 1304 may be fully encrypted and integrity protected using the cell-specific broadcast key ... The second acquisition signal 1304 may include a PSS, a SSS, and a normal PBCH"), [0150] “the first acquisition signal 1302 and second acquisition signal 1304 are transmitted in alternating frames […]”, [0162] “[…] The encrypted broadcast information may further be integrity protected based on the cell-specific broadcast key”).
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 9 above, LEE discloses wherein the SSB is a first SSB, and the one or more processors are further to transmit configuration information associated with a second SSB, ([0187] “processing circuitry 1744 may be configured to transmit, via the transceiver 1710, a first acquisition signal (e.g., a first SSB) including unencrypted broadcast information related to cell access and a second acquisition signal (e.g., a second SSB) including encrypted broadcast information”).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 1 above, LEE discloses, wherein the
wireless communication device is a network entity, ([0150] “The broadcast information 1300 may be transmitted by a RAN node (e.g., a base station, such as an eNB or gNB)”).
Regarding claim 21, as applied to claim 1 above, LEE discloses, wherein the wireless communication device is a user equipment (UE), ([0053] “Wireless communication between a RAN 104 and a UE 106 may be described as utilizing an air interface. Transmissions over the air interface from a base station (e.g., base station 108) to one or more UEs (e.g., UE 106) may be referred to as downlink (DL) transmission”).
Regarding claim 22, LEE discloses, a wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (not shown but inherent in all RANs such as the one disclosed in FIG. 1: 104 RAN, and in par [0008]); and one or more processors (not shown but inherent in all RANs such as the one disclosed in FIG. 1: 104 RAN, and in par [0008]), coupled to the memory, configured to: ([0150] “The broadcast information 1300 may be transmitted by a RAN node (e.g., a base station, such as an eNB or gNB)”),
receive one or more reference signals; receive a signature associated with the one or more reference signals, ([0162], [0191] [0152], "The second acquisition signal 1304 may be fully encrypted and integrity protected using the cell-specific broadcast key ... The second acquisition signal 1304 may include a PSS, a SSS, and a normal PBCH");
and perform a verification of the signature to determine whether the one or more reference signals are legitimate reference signals, ((FIG. 13, ref. 1304), [0150] “the first acquisition signal 1302 and second acquisition signal 1304 are transmitted in alternating frames […]”, [0162] “[…] The encrypted broadcast information may further be integrity protected based on the cell-specific broadcast key”).
Regarding claim 23, as applied to claim 22 above, LEE discloses, wherein the one or more reference signals include at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), a tracking reference signal (TRS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), a radio frequency (RF) sensing reference signal, or an ambient Internet-of-Things (IoT) tag reference signal, ([0092] [0003] [0088] “The base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS); a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS); and a synchronization signal block (SSB). SSBs may be broadcast at regular intervals based on a periodicity (e.g., 5, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 140 ms). An SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast control channel (PBCH) […]”).
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 22 above, LEE discloses, wherein the verification of the signature is performed based at least in part on a key and at least one of: an identifier of the wireless communication device, a configuration associated with the one or more reference signals, time allocation information associated with the one or more reference signals, frequency allocation information associated with the one or more reference signals, or a timestamp associated with the one or more reference signals, ([0105]- [0106] [0111]- [0112] [0044] “The broadcast information may be encrypted using a cell-specific broadcast key that may be derived from a broadcast root key that is refreshed periodically in a wireless communication network. “[…] the cell-specific broadcast key may be derived using a key derivation function of the broadcast root key and at least cell identifying information associated with the secure cell. Here, the term secure cell refers to a cell communicating encrypted and/or integrity protected broadcast information related to cell access”).
Regarding claim 28, as applied to claim 22 above, LEE discloses, wherein the one or more reference signals include a synchronization signal block (SSB), ([0088] “The base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); […] and a synchronization signal block (SSB). [0092] In addition, one or more reference signals, such as a sidelink SSB, a sidelink CSI-RS, a sidelink SRS, and/or a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) may be transmitted within the slot 410”).
Regarding claim 29, LEE discloses, a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device, comprising:
generating a signature associated with one or more reference signals to be transmitted by the wireless communication device, wherein the signature is associated with verifying that the one or more reference signals are legitimate reference signals, ([0150] “The broadcast information 1300 may be transmitted by a RAN node (e.g., a base station, such as an eNB or gNB), [0162], [0191] [0152], "The second acquisition signal 1304 may be fully encrypted and integrity protected using the cell-specific broadcast key ... The second acquisition signal 1304 may include a PSS, a SSS, and a normal PBCH");
transmitting the one or more reference signals; and transmitting the signature associated with the one or more reference signals, ((FIG. 13, ref. 1304), [0150] “the first acquisition signal 1302 and second acquisition signal 1304 are transmitted in alternating frames […]”, [0162] “[…] The encrypted broadcast information may further be integrity protected based on the cell-specific broadcast key”).
Regarding claim 30, LEE discloses, a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device, comprising: receiving one or more reference signals; receiving a signature associated with the one or more reference signals,([0150] “The broadcast information 1300 may be transmitted by a RAN node (e.g., a base station, such as an eNB or gNB), [0162], [0191] [0152], "The second acquisition signal 1304 may be fully encrypted and integrity protected using the cell-specific broadcast key ... The second acquisition signal 1304 may include a PSS, a SSS, and a normal PBCH");
and performing a verification of the signature to determine whether the one or more reference signals are legitimate reference signals, ((FIG. 13, ref. 1304), [0150] “the first acquisition signal 1302 and second acquisition signal 1304 are transmitted in alternating frames […]”, [0162] “[…] The encrypted broadcast information may further be integrity protected based on the cell-specific broadcast key”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20210297853 A1) hereinafter LEE, in view of WANG et al. (US 20200322805 A1) hereinafter WANG.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, LEE does not disclose wherein the key is a private key associated with an asymmetric encryption scheme.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses wherein the key is a private key associated with an asymmetric encryption scheme, ([0041] “As another example, the security key generator 310 generates a pair of asymmetric keys 340, which includes a public key 341 and a private key 342 that are mathematically linked and differ from one another”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the security key generator 310, disclosed by WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to generate the private key 342, WANG ([0041]).
Claims 6 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20210297853 A1) hereinafter LEE, in view of Little; Herb A. (US 20100174910 A1) hereinafter Little.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, LEE does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further to modify the signature to reduce a size of the signature, wherein modifying the signature includes at least one of compressing the signature or puncturing the signature.
In the same field of endeavor, Little discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to modify the signature to reduce a size of the signature, wherein modifying the signature includes at least one of compressing the signature or puncturing the signature, ([0044] [0015] “in the present invention, there is provided an improved encryption and digital signature scheme that reuses an ephemeral key pair from the encryption process in the signature process. Advantageously, the reuse of the ephemeral key allows the digital signature to be reduced in byte size”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the ephemeral key, disclosed by Little. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the digital signature in byte size, Little ([0044] [0015]).
Regarding claim 25, as applied to claim 22 above, LEE does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further to modify the signature to restore a size of the signature, wherein modifying the signature includes at least one of decompressing the signature or un-puncturing the signature.
In the same field of endeavor, Little discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to modify the signature to restore a size of the signature, wherein modifying the signature includes at least one of decompressing the signature or un-puncturing the signature, ([0044] [0015] “in the present invention, there is provided an improved encryption and digital signature scheme that reuses an ephemeral key pair from the encryption process in the signature process. Advantageously, the reuse of the ephemeral key allows the digital signature to be reduced in byte size”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the ephemeral key, disclosed by Little. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the digital signature in byte size, Little ([0044] [0015]).
Claims 7 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20210297853 A1) hereinafter LEE, in view of YU et al. (KR 20190131552 A) hereinafter YU.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, LEE does not disclose wherein the signature is multiplexed with at least one reference signal of the one or more reference signals.
In the same field of endeavor, YU discloses wherein the signature is multiplexed with at least one reference signal of the one or more reference signals, ((see page 6, 1st paragraph of the attached translated document) “As part of the action taken in step 207, if activity detection is successful, the base station 230 attempts to perform channel estimation based on the optional additional reference signal multiplexed with the MA signature and data message, and then the base station 230 Decode the data”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the base station 230, disclosed by YU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to multiplex the reference signal with the MA signature, thus enable the base station 230 to Decode the data, YU (see page 6, 1st paragraph of the attached translated document).
Regarding claim 26, as applied to claim 22 above, LEE does not disclose wherein the signature is multiplexed with at least one reference signal of the one or more reference signals.
In the same field of endeavor, YU discloses wherein the signature is multiplexed with at least one reference signal of the one or more reference signals, ((see page 6, 1st paragraph of the attached translated document) “As part of the action taken in step 207, if activity detection is successful, the base station 230 attempts to perform channel estimation based on the optional additional reference signal multiplexed with the MA signature and data message, and then the base station 230 Decode the data”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the base station 230, disclosed by YU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to multiplex the reference signal with the MA signature, thus enable the base station 230 to Decode the data, YU (see page 6, 1st paragraph of the attached translated document).
Claims 8 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20210297853 A1) hereinafter LEE, in view of Wang et al. (US 20220103314 A1) hereinafter Wang2.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, LEE does not disclose, wherein the signature is transmitted in a set of resources that is separate from another set of resources in which the one or more reference signals are transmitted.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang2 discloses wherein the signature is transmitted in a set of resources that is separate from another set of resources in which the one or more reference signals are transmitted, ([0002] “In a wireless communication system, for different transmission types or transmission scenarios, […] different sequences may be selected for the same or different operations of a UE. […] when the UE wants to add a multiple access signature to a symbol to be transmitted, it is necessary to preset a multiple access signature sequence table […] and when the UE needs to transmit a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), it is necessary to preset a demodulation reference signal table related to the DMRS transmission and determine a corresponding demodulation reference signal”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the UE, disclosed by Wang2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE may perform different transmission types, hence multiple access signature and DMRS, Wang2 ([0002]).
Regarding claim 27, as applied to claim 22 above, LEE does not disclose, wherein the signature is received in a set of resources that is separate from another set of resources in which the one or more reference signals are received.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang2 discloses wherein the signature is received in a set of resources that is separate from another set of resources in which the one or more reference signals are received, ([0002] “In a wireless communication system, for different transmission types or transmission scenarios, […] different sequences may be selected for the same or different operations of a UE. […] when the UE wants to add a multiple access signature to a symbol to be transmitted, it is necessary to preset a multiple access signature sequence table […] and when the UE needs to transmit a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), it is necessary to preset a demodulation reference signal table related to the DMRS transmission and determine a corresponding demodulation reference signal”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the UE, disclosed by Wang2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE may perform different transmission types, hence multiple access signature and DMRS, Wang2 ([0002]).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20210297853 A1) hereinafter LEE, in view of XU et al. (US 20240324023 A1) hereinafter XU.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, LEE does not disclose, wherein the one or more processors are further to map the SSB to a particular set of resources, wherein the signature is transmitted in the particular set of resources.
In the same field of endeavor, XU discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to map the SSB to a particular set of resources, wherein the signature is transmitted in the particular set of resources, ([0169] [0166] “There is a mapping relationship between a plurality of SSBs and a plurality of resources, and there is a mapping relationship between a plurality of resources and a plurality of signatures. [0022] [0004] [0014] applying the signature during random access is provided, to help increase a quantity of terminal devices that are allowed to access the network device, and improve random access and data transmission performance”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the mapping relationship, disclosed by XU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve data transmission performance, XU ([0166] [0004] [0014]).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, LEE further discloses wherein the SSB is mapped to the particular set of resources based at least in part on at least one of an identifier of a receiving wireless communication device to which the SSB is to be transmitted, a zone identifier, or a cell identifier, ([0096] [0088] “SSBs may be broadcast at regular intervals based on a periodicity (e.g., 5, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 140 ms). An SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), […] A UE may utilize the PSS and SSS to achieve radio frame, […], identify the center of the channel (system) bandwidth in the frequency domain, and identify the physical cell identity (PCI) of the cell”).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20210297853 A1) hereinafter LEE, in view of Novlan et al. (US 20190350023 A1) hereinafter Novlan.
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 9 above, LEE does not disclose, wherein the SSB is a legacy SSB.
In the same field of endeavor, Novlan discloses wherein the SSB is a legacy SSB, ([0042] “the IAB node UE function can perform initial access procedures (e.g., synchronization signal detection and random access procedure) to connect to one or potentially multiple parent IAB nodes. In one example, parameters for initial access such as one or more cell IDs of parent nodes, synchronization signal block (SSB) indices, synchronization measurement timing configurations (SMTC), and other parameters can be preconfigured or signalled by an anchor carrier (e.g., LTE) (SSB in an LTE environment can be perceived as “legacy SSB”, relative to 5G NR)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate anchor carrier such as LTE, disclosed by Novlan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to signal initial access parameter such as SSB indices, Novlan ([0042]).
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 9 above, LEE does not disclose wherein the SSB is a secure SSB to be used in a connected mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Novlan discloses wherein the SSB is a secure SSB to be used in a connected mode, ([0049] [0047] [0042] “the IAB node UE function can perform initial access procedures (e.g., synchronization signal detection and random access procedure) to connect to one or potentially multiple parent IAB nodes. In one example, parameters for initial access such as one or more cell IDs of parent nodes, synchronization signal block (SSB) indices, synchronization measurement timing configurations (SMTC), and other parameters can be preconfigured or signalled by an anchor carrier (e.g., LTE) […] the IAB nodes can perform blind detection of the SSBs upon initial power-up. Once the IAB node UE function is connected to the network (e.g. in RRC connected mode), the network can provide an updated measurement configuration or SMTC for the IAB node UE, which can comprise the timing of SSB transmissions (including periodicity) and/or a list of SSB indices”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to incorporate the IAB nodes, disclosed by Novlan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the IAB nodes may detect the SSBs, and once connected, enable the network to then provide updated measurement configuration for the IAB node UE, Novlan ([0049] [0047] [0042]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20210297853 A1) hereinafter LEE, in view of LIM et al. (US 20230007599 A1) hereinafter LIM.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, LEE does not disclose wherein the configuration information includes information associated with at least one of: a frequency synchronization roster of the second SSB, a first time/frequency configuration of the second SSB, a second time/frequency configuration for a second signature associated with the second SSB, an indication that the second signature is to be included in a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) payload of the second SSB, a primary synchronization signal (PSS) configuration, a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) configuration, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration, a sequence associated with the second SSB, a periodicity of the second SSB, or a time offset of the second SSB.
In the same field of endeavor, LIM discloses wherein the configuration information includes information associated with at least one of: a frequency synchronization roster of the second SSB, a first time/frequency configuration of the second SSB, a second time/frequency configuration for a second signature associated with the second SSB, an indication that the second signature is to be included in a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) payload of the second SSB, a primary synchronization signal (PSS) configuration, a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) configuration, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration, a sequence associated with the second SSB, a periodicity of the second SSB, or a time offset of the second SSB, ([0114] “In Table 8, tci-StatesPDCCH (simply referred to as a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state) configuration information may include information about an index or indices of one or multiple SS/PBCH blocks having a QCL relationship with a DMRS transmitted on a corresponding CORESET, or information about an index of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the function of the broadcast root key, disclosed by LEE ([0044]) to include the configuration information, disclosed by LIM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to establish the QCL relationship between the SS/PBCH blocks and the DMRS transmitted on respective CORESET, LIM ([0114]).
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to GILBERT GRANT whose telephone number is (703)756-1136. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 am - 7:00 pm, Monday - Thursday.
/GILBERT M. GRANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642