DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/841,730 filed on 08/27/2024.
Claims 3 and 6 are amended.
Claims 9 – 19 are cancelled.
Claims 20 – 24 are added as new.
Claims 1 – 8 and 20 – 24 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a National Stage Entry of PCT/JP2023/004130 filed on February 8, 2023, which claims priority from Japanese Patent Application 2022-038089 filed on March 11, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 8 and 20 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HOSSEINI et al. (HOSSEINI hereinafter referred to HOSSEINI) (US 2022/0200737 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HOSSEINI teaches (Title, HYBRID AUTOMATIC REPEAT REQUEST FEEDBACK RESOURCE CONFIGURATION FOR SIDELINK WITH CARRIER AGGREGATION), a radio terminal (Fig.1 and Fig.2, UE 120; [0082], a first UE (e.g., a receiver UE)) comprising:
at least one radio transceiver (Fig.2 and [0046], UE 120 includes a transceiver); and
at least one processor (Fig.2 and [0046], controller/processor 280) coupled to the at least one radio transceiver ([0046], The transceiver is used by a processor (e.g., controller/processor 280)) and configured to:
receive a first sidelink transmission from a peer radio terminal ([0082], second UE (e.g., a transmitter UE)) on a first sidelink carrier (Fig.6 and [0083], the first UE receives one or more PSSCHs on the first component carrier (CC); [0082], first CC (CC0); [0126], receiving the plurality of PSSCH communications comprises receiving the first PSSCH communication on a first component carrier. Here, the first PSSCH communication is a first sidelink transmission);
receive a second sidelink transmission from the peer radio terminal ([0082], second UE (e.g., a transmitter UE)) on a second sidelink carrier (Fig.6 and [0083], the first UE receives one or more PSSCHs on second CC; [0082], second CC (CC1); [0126], receiving the second PSSCH communication on a second component carrier. Here, the second PSSCH communication is a second sidelink transmission); and
transmit a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for the first sidelink transmission ([0091], a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication corresponds to a first PSSCH communication) and a second HARQ feedback for the second sidelink transmission ([0091], a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication corresponds to a second PSSCH communication) using a plurality of Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) resources ([0076], PSFCH resources are used to transmit HARQ feedback regarding PSSCHs received; [0088], the first UE transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback indications using a set of resources on a subset of sidelink component carriers; e.g., the set of resources includes a set of PSFCH resources) within an identical time slot ([0094], PSFCH transmissions are supported on different symbols of a slot; UE transmits a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication using a first set of symbols corresponding to a slot and transmits a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication using a second set of symbols corresponding to the slot. Here, the same/ an identical time slot is used for transmitting the two HARQ feedbacks) in the first sidelink carrier ([0081], a mapping is defined between PSSCH occasions across multiple carriers and PSFCH resources on a single carrier; Fig.6 and [0083], the UE provides HARQ feedback regarding the plurality of PSSCHs on a PSFCH transmitted via a designated set of CCs; e.g., the designated set of CCs includes only CC0. Here, the first and the second HARQ feedbacks are transmitted using a plurality of PSFCH resources in the first CC, i.e. the first sidelink carrier).
Regarding claim 7, HOSSEINI teaches a method (Title, HYBRID AUTOMATIC REPEAT REQUEST FEEDBACK RESOURCE CONFIGURATION FOR SIDELINK WITH CARRIER AGGREGATION) performed by a radio terminal (Fig.1 and Fig.2, UE 120; [0082], a first UE (e.g., a receiver UE)), the method comprising:
receiving a first sidelink transmission from a peer radio terminal ([0082], second UE (e.g., a transmitter UE)) on a first sidelink carrier (Fig.6 and [0083], the first UE receives one or more PSSCHs on the first component carrier (CC); [0082], first CC (CC0); [0126], receiving the plurality of PSSCH communications comprises receiving the first PSSCH communication on a first component carrier. Here, the first PSSCH communication is a first sidelink transmission);
receiving a second sidelink transmission from the peer radio terminal ([0082], second UE (e.g., a transmitter UE)) on a second sidelink carrier (Fig.6 and [0083], the first UE receives one or more PSSCHs on second CC; [0082], second CC (CC1); [0126], receiving the second PSSCH communication on a second component carrier. Here, the second PSSCH communication is a second sidelink transmission); and
transmitting a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for the first sidelink transmission ([0091], a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication corresponds to a first PSSCH communication) and a second HARQ feedback for the second sidelink transmission ([0091], a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication corresponds to a second PSSCH communication) using a plurality of Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) resources ([0076], PSFCH resources are used to transmit HARQ feedback regarding PSSCHs received; [0088], the first UE transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback indications using a set of resources on a subset of sidelink component carriers; e.g., the set of resources includes a set of PSFCH resources) within an identical time slot ([0094], PSFCH transmissions are supported on different symbols of a slot; UE transmits a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication using a first set of symbols corresponding to a slot and transmits a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication using a second set of symbols corresponding to the slot. Here, the same/ an identical time slot is used for transmitting the two HARQ feedbacks) in the first sidelink carrier ([0081], a mapping is defined between PSSCH occasions across multiple carriers and PSFCH resources on a single carrier; Fig.6 and [0083], the UE provides HARQ feedback regarding the plurality of PSSCHs on a PSFCH transmitted via a designated set of CCs; e.g., the designated set of CCs includes only CC0. Here, the first and the second HARQ feedbacks are transmitted using a plurality of PSFCH resources in the first CC, i.e. the first sidelink carrier).
Regarding claim 9, HOSSEINI teaches (Title, HYBRID AUTOMATIC REPEAT REQUEST FEEDBACK RESOURCE CONFIGURATION FOR SIDELINK WITH CARRIER AGGREGATION) a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform a method ([0009], a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication includes one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a UE, cause the UE to: …) for a radio terminal (Fig.1 and Fig.2, UE 120; [0082], a first UE (e.g., a receiver UE)), the method comprising:
receiving a first sidelink transmission from a peer radio terminal ([0082], second UE (e.g., a transmitter UE)) on a first sidelink carrier (Fig.6 and [0083], the first UE receives one or more PSSCHs on the first component carrier (CC); [0082], first CC (CC0); [0126], receiving the plurality of PSSCH communications comprises receiving the first PSSCH communication on a first component carrier. Here, the first PSSCH communication is a first sidelink transmission);
receiving a second sidelink transmission from the peer radio terminal ([0082], second UE (e.g., a transmitter UE)) on a second sidelink carrier (Fig.6 and [0083], the first UE receives one or more PSSCHs on second CC; [0082], second CC (CC1); [0126], receiving the second PSSCH communication on a second component carrier. Here, the second PSSCH communication is a second sidelink transmission); and
transmitting a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for the first sidelink transmission ([0091], a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication corresponds to a first PSSCH communication) and a second HARQ feedback for the second sidelink transmission ([0091], a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication corresponds to a second PSSCH communication) using a plurality of Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) resources ([0076], PSFCH resources are used to transmit HARQ feedback regarding PSSCHs received; [0088], the first UE transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback indications using a set of resources on a subset of sidelink component carriers; e.g., the set of resources includes a set of PSFCH resources) within an identical time slot ([0094], PSFCH transmissions are supported on different symbols of a slot; UE transmits a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication using a first set of symbols corresponding to a slot and transmits a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication using a second set of symbols corresponding to the slot. Here, the same/ an identical time slot is used for transmitting the two HARQ feedbacks) in the first sidelink carrier ([0081], a mapping is defined between PSSCH occasions across multiple carriers and PSFCH resources on a single carrier; Fig.6 and [0083], the UE provides HARQ feedback regarding the plurality of PSSCHs on a PSFCH transmitted via a designated set of CCs; e.g., the designated set of CCs includes only CC0. Here, the first and the second HARQ feedbacks are transmitted using a plurality of PSFCH resources in the first CC, i.e. the first sidelink carrier).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, HOSSEINI teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 7, respectively as outlined above.
HOSSEINI further teaches
wherein the plurality of PSFCH resources is located in different symbols (Fig.5 and [0076], PSFCH resources 510 are used to transmit HARQ feedback regarding PSSCHs received; Sidelink HARQ is sent on two consecutive symbols; [0094], PSFCH transmissions are supported on different symbols of a slot), different resource blocks ([0075], UE allocates a configured number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) for the PSFCH resources 510), or different symbols and different resource blocks within the identical time slot ([0094], UE transmits a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication using a first set of symbols corresponding to a slot and transmits a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication using a second set of symbols corresponding to the slot. Here, different symbols or resource blocks of the PSFCH resources are within the same/ identical time slot).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, HOSSEINI teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 7, respectively as outlined above.
HOSSEINI further teaches
determine the plurality of PSFCH resources based on a resource pool configuration (Fig.5 and [0074], resource pool 505 is configured with a PSFCH periodicity of 4; PSFCH resources 510 indicated by the PSFCH periodicity are in the fourth slot of the resource pool 505) of the first sidelink carrier (Fig.11 and [0112], a sidelink environment includes a component carrier, CC0), wherein
the resource pool configuration of the first sidelink carrier ([0081] and [0091], a mapping is defined between the PSSCHs, across carriers, to PSFCH resources on a single carrier) indicates an arrangement of a plurality of PSFCH symbols to be used for HARQ feedback for sidelink transmission on the first sidelink carrier and an arrangement of a plurality of PSFCH symbols to be used for HARQ feedback for sidelink transmission on the second sidelink carrier ([0091], a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication corresponds to a first PSSCH communication received using a first component carrier, and a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication corresponds to a second PSSCH communication received using a second component carrier; [0092], a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication is transmitted using a first PSFCH Format 2 transmission, and a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication is transmitted using a second PSFCH Format 2 transmission; [0094], UE transmits a first HARQ-ACK feedback indication using less than or equal to two symbols and a second HARQ-ACK feedback indication using less than or equal to two symbols).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, HOSSEINI teaches all the features with respect to claims 3 and 21, respectively as outlined above.
HOSSEINI further teaches
wherein the resource pool configuration ([0074], A resource pool is configured with a PSFCH periodicity, which indicates a periodicity of PSFCH transmissions associated with the resource pool; [0075], A UE allocates a configured number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) for the PSFCH resources) of the first sidelink carrier is preconfigured ([0078], multiple resource pools are configured on a single CC) in a non-volatile memory of a Mobile Equipment (ME), or in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM), of the radio terminal ([0035], A UE is also referred as an access terminal, a terminal, a mobile station, a subscriber unit, a station, or the like; Fig.2 and [0046], memory 282 to perform aspects of any of the methods described. Here, the UE configures a plurality of resources (i.e. resource pool) on a single CC. Since, the first carrier is used for the plurality of PSFCH resources; therefore, it is implicit that the resource pool configuration of the first sidelink carrier is preconfigured in a non-volatile memory of the UE).
Regarding claims 5 and 23, HOSSEINI teaches all the features with respect to claims 3 and 21, respectively as outlined above.
HOSSEINI further teaches
receive the resource pool configuration of the first sidelink carrier from a radio access network ([0005], UE receives a plurality of physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communications on a plurality of sidelink component carriers of a sidelink network having carrier aggregation; Fig.2 and [0048], Controller/ processor 240 of base station 110, controller/ processor 280 of UE 120, and/or any other component(s) perform one or more techniques associated with HARD feedback resource configuration for sidelink with carrier aggregation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSSEINI in view of HWANG et al. (HWANG hereinafter referred to HWANG) (US 2022/0132471 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, HOSSEINI teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 7, respectively as outlined above.
HOSSEINI does not specifically teach
wherein the reception of the first sidelink transmission is performed in a same time slot as the reception of the second sidelink transmission.
However, HWANG teaches (Title, METHOD AND DEVICE FOR DETERMINING FEEDBACK RESOURCE IN NR V2X)
wherein the reception of the first sidelink transmission is performed in a same time slot as the reception of the second sidelink transmission (Fig.20 and [0177], a plurality of PSFCH resources related to a plurality of PSSCHs (i.e., PSSCH #1 and PSSCH #2) transmitted in the same slot and different sub-channels. As shown in Fig. 20, PSSCH #1 (i.e. first sidelink transmission) and PSSCH #2 (i.e. second sidelink transmission) are received in a same time slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HOSSEINI as mentioned in claims 1 and 7 and further incorporate the teaching of HWANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and apparatus for efficiently perform SL communication, in which PSFCH resources for PSSCHs transmitted in a plurality of slots occur in the same slot. Considering latency requirements and performance of the corresponding service, it is inefficient for a UE to transmit a PSFCH corresponding to a PSSCH transmitted in a slot far in time from a slot in which PSFCH resources exist (HWANG, Title, [0018] and [00145]).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoang et al. (Pub. No. 2025/0175948 A1) – “NEW RADIO (NR) VEHICLE TO EVERYTHING (V2X) METHODS FOR SENSING AND RESOURCE ALLOCATION” discloses a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) receives first data on a first physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission. Further, the WTRU transmits second data on a second PSSCH transmission. The WTRU then determines, based on a first priority associated with the first data and a second priority associated with the second data, prioritization between a transmission of a first physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission associated with the first data and a reception of a second PSFCH transmission associated with the second data. Moreover, the WTRU either, based on the prioritization determination, transmits, on the first PSFCH transmission, first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK)/negative ACK (NACK) feedback associated with the first data, or receive, on the second PSFCH transmission, second HARQ ACK/NACK feedback associated with the second data.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474